User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 684 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MelB.
    Jun 2, 2006
    7
    I saw this movie twice. The first time, I did NOT like it whatsoever. I was shocked and kind of upset. HOWEVER...going to see it a second time, knowing what was going to happen, I have to admit it is definitely entertaining. Its not the best movie in the world, but its by NO means the worst. Wolverine rocks, the Beast was awesome, but I was disappointed that Mystique wasn't in it I saw this movie twice. The first time, I did NOT like it whatsoever. I was shocked and kind of upset. HOWEVER...going to see it a second time, knowing what was going to happen, I have to admit it is definitely entertaining. Its not the best movie in the world, but its by NO means the worst. Wolverine rocks, the Beast was awesome, but I was disappointed that Mystique wasn't in it more. Also Rouge too...Stay after the credits for the last scene at the end. It gives you hope! Expand
  2. JamesH.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    It was the perfext way to end a series. I still hope for X4 though.
  3. GaryE.
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    I bought into the anti-Ratner bit. I wanted to be let down, but found myself entertained through its entirety. Even through the cheese I found myself winching less than I thought. This is popcorn more than substance but the inner child in me said "Cool!"
  4. Conundrum
    May 30, 2006
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. If you like comics based action movies, this film is for you. If you like to analyse things to death, then skip it. It seems that the bitter criticisms fall into two groups: The official critics who pan it for not being Shakespeare; and the hard-core X-Men fans who pan it for not precisely copying every detail of the original comics. If you go in realizing I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. If you like comics based action movies, this film is for you. If you like to analyse things to death, then skip it. It seems that the bitter criticisms fall into two groups: The official critics who pan it for not being Shakespeare; and the hard-core X-Men fans who pan it for not precisely copying every detail of the original comics. If you go in realizing that it's not going to be high-brow commentary, and also that it's not the original comics, you'll probably like it. Besides, Halle Berry is really hot. Expand
  5. JaredC.
    May 26, 2006
    10
    Brett "the rat" ratner couldn't of done any better. I mean come on this is the dude who did rush hour 2!For me, it falls in between the first and the second. It was a great movie!
  6. jrd
    May 28, 2006
    10
    This movie is awesome. There really isn't anything more to say about it. What more did you want? 2 hours of boring talking (da vinci code) or more character backstory? Yes, the movie skimps on backstory but that is because there were already 2 movies before it. And yes, it jumps around and has a ton of characters, but so does any xmen story. Essentially, this movie is a lot of fun This movie is awesome. There really isn't anything more to say about it. What more did you want? 2 hours of boring talking (da vinci code) or more character backstory? Yes, the movie skimps on backstory but that is because there were already 2 movies before it. And yes, it jumps around and has a ton of characters, but so does any xmen story. Essentially, this movie is a lot of fun and just as good as X2. The haters obviously were expecting something completely different...which makes me wonder what they possibly could have been thinking when going to see an x-men movie in the first place. Expand
  7. GutierrezL.
    May 30, 2006
    9
    Muy buena.
  8. ScottA.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Best movie I have seen in last few years. Love the storyline and the surprises. Great action sequences too!
  9. BillG.
    Jun 3, 2006
    7
    I actually still have some issues from the original "Dark Phoenix" saga from the X-Men, and the mutilation of the original plot somewhat disturbs me. The over-focus on Wolverine in this movie, combined with the absence of Nightcrawler, marred the overall experience. It's good, but nowhere near the jaw-dropping experience I've come to expect from the X-movies.
  10. TMoney
    Jun 4, 2006
    7
    A solid summer movie going experience. Nothing spectacular but suprisingly better than I expected. The first two films in the franchise were good...nothing spectacular, but good. So I guess, this third (and possibly) last falls right around the same level of quality. The last act of the film was the best with some of the best action sequences I've seen in this genre of film.
  11. Rob
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    Sorry to all the hard core comic fans who have problems with this movie. I've never read the comics, barely remember the cartoon, and the only thing I could honestly recall from the second movie was that Jean Gray died at the end. I went into this movie expecting an entertaining, popcorn eating, special effects driven action flick, and to that end, I left feeling hugely satisfied. My Sorry to all the hard core comic fans who have problems with this movie. I've never read the comics, barely remember the cartoon, and the only thing I could honestly recall from the second movie was that Jean Gray died at the end. I went into this movie expecting an entertaining, popcorn eating, special effects driven action flick, and to that end, I left feeling hugely satisfied. My only complaint was that there wasn't more screen time for Rogue. Anna Paquin's pretty hot. Expand
  12. ALVARO
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    Great movie, some characters have not been well developed but for instance wolverine is still wolverine and the movie is still great because is pure entertaining even better than the previous X-Men movies.
  13. SheliaC.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    better than superman better than all of them but spiderman 1 and 2.
  14. William
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    [***SPOILERS***] The movie is not a finale as any who has read the comic (or watched pass the credits know) however for a closer to events in the first two it is a great movie! I liked the fact they went with the more human looking Beast, however I was confused on where Night Crawler went, and why he was not even included in the background of this movie..
  15. AnonymousMC
    Oct 14, 2006
    8
    Overall, a satisfying conclusion, but like a dark phoenix/Jean Grey in itself. It's good enough, but with so much happening in so little time, one wishes things were fleshed out a bit more, especially with the characters, Phoenix and the cure issues. One wishes Brett Ratner went full Phoenix and threw in more character development to go with all the action, which was great, to make a Overall, a satisfying conclusion, but like a dark phoenix/Jean Grey in itself. It's good enough, but with so much happening in so little time, one wishes things were fleshed out a bit more, especially with the characters, Phoenix and the cure issues. One wishes Brett Ratner went full Phoenix and threw in more character development to go with all the action, which was great, to make a great, fully fleshed out epic conclusion, not just a slightly weightier action flick. Expand
  16. SeldoV.
    May 25, 2006
    7
    Worse than the second, marginally better than the first, the missing ingredient is definitely Bryan Singer.
  17. MichelleC.
    May 25, 2006
    9
    While this movie started out slightly cheesey, It goes out with a bang. X3 is action packed and, at times, shocking. If you liked the previous two, I have little doubt that this too will be enjoyable.
  18. CarlosF.
    May 26, 2006
    8
    Whoa, I still can't believe what I see. The director's change is noticeable since the first minute and again most of the characters are wasted. Phoenix deserved a bigger role, but thanks to Halle Berry's huge ego that was not possible. Still, it's an apocalyptic look to the mutant universe that Singer created, which was really kiddy friendly. On the other side, Whoa, I still can't believe what I see. The director's change is noticeable since the first minute and again most of the characters are wasted. Phoenix deserved a bigger role, but thanks to Halle Berry's huge ego that was not possible. Still, it's an apocalyptic look to the mutant universe that Singer created, which was really kiddy friendly. On the other side, Rattner's vision is more ambitious... the problem is that it feels kind of out of place and really forced in other to close the trilogy. It took me a lot to digest it. Expand
  19. JonH.
    May 26, 2006
    10
    I thought it was very good. A few parts that were suprising and parts where they didn't follow the comic books at all, but that left for alot of suprises and entertaining twists. I'm giving it a 10 because well I can. :)
  20. tonydannie
    May 26, 2006
    8
    It is what it is suppose to be. A summer blockbuster with lots of action. The movie picks up pretty much were it left off. Lost ones are being missed, villains are still...well villains. And The fight against mutant racism still going on. You Know all that noise! Is this the best one out of the bunch? Well... You can definetly tell this is a Brett Ratner Film Rather then a Brian Synger. It is what it is suppose to be. A summer blockbuster with lots of action. The movie picks up pretty much were it left off. Lost ones are being missed, villains are still...well villains. And The fight against mutant racism still going on. You Know all that noise! Is this the best one out of the bunch? Well... You can definetly tell this is a Brett Ratner Film Rather then a Brian Synger. For a moment I was expecting Chris Tucker to show up and ask for some mushu! However I was Entertained! lots of Action and some Expected but shocking none the less moments. If yu enjoyed the last 2 X-men flicks you will appreciate this one. Go see it. Expand
  21. Chaseman
    May 26, 2006
    8
    Wow, some of these guys are taking this thing WAYYY too serious, and I'm fairly serious about superhero movies. Collected many X-Men comics back in the day. People, this is a MOVIE. It has to tell a story AND entertain, all in the span of 2 hours. I give Ratner credit for 3 things: 1. pace of the ACTION. 2. willingness to have actual devastating consequences in this movie, versus a Wow, some of these guys are taking this thing WAYYY too serious, and I'm fairly serious about superhero movies. Collected many X-Men comics back in the day. People, this is a MOVIE. It has to tell a story AND entertain, all in the span of 2 hours. I give Ratner credit for 3 things: 1. pace of the ACTION. 2. willingness to have actual devastating consequences in this movie, versus a boring storyline where we all know everyone will survive. (if you saw the movie, you know what I'm talking about) 3. introducing themes that haven't seen a lot of consideration in movies: willful/unwillful PERMANENT (here's where Spidey 2 is excepted) loss of powers, death of critical characters, true sacrifice. All in all, I think this movie has been underrated. Singer it was not, but give Ratner credit for having a different vision and DELIVERING. Expand
  22. DylanS.
    May 26, 2006
    7
    No where near as good as it should have been. Singer should never have left, but Ratner did the series justice. I wonder if the continuation of this franchise will lead to him becoming more honed in the craft.
  23. Wongit
    May 26, 2006
    8
    Great movie overall with a couple flaws. [***SPOILERS***] They could of used some more of the X-men, Jubilee is in the movie they just didnt use her to her advantage. Also where was Gambit?? They kill off some key characters rather early in this one and its action packed from beginning to end. Good picks on all of the characters, great way of closing off a great trilogy. Stay tuned after Great movie overall with a couple flaws. [***SPOILERS***] They could of used some more of the X-men, Jubilee is in the movie they just didnt use her to her advantage. Also where was Gambit?? They kill off some key characters rather early in this one and its action packed from beginning to end. Good picks on all of the characters, great way of closing off a great trilogy. Stay tuned after the credits! Expand
  24. AkisK.
    May 27, 2006
    10
    If you like the two other,you will love it!
  25. BobbyH.
    May 27, 2006
    10
    Great action scenes and special effects - which was expected, but the payoff was getting to see all-new X-Men and the hope for anyone who has ever felt like an outsider. They will identify with need to feel special nad accepted. Hugh Jackman is hot as hell, and Vinnie Jones played a fierce brute, playing Juggernaut.
  26. ChadT.
    May 28, 2006
    8
    Aside from a few obvious logical blunders, I actually liked this more than the first two. Better special effects, better characterization, and more emphasis on Wolvie made this a highly entertaining action film.
  27. DaveB.
    May 28, 2006
    9
    Let me say that i have been an X-Men geek since the original Dark Phoenix storyline. I have always wanted to see the Fastball Special and i was thrilled to see it at last. That being said if i wanted more character development and emotional attachment to these characters i would read the comics. I wanted to see these dearly loved characters finally cut loose that is what i expected from anLet me say that i have been an X-Men geek since the original Dark Phoenix storyline. I have always wanted to see the Fastball Special and i was thrilled to see it at last. That being said if i wanted more character development and emotional attachment to these characters i would read the comics. I wanted to see these dearly loved characters finally cut loose that is what i expected from an X-Man movie. Lets not give Singer too much credit as he even strayed from the books and that whole Magneto machine plot ending was kind of awkward and cheesy in the first movie. If you want character development read the comics....if you want to see Wolverine get chucked around by Colossus go see this movie. Expand
  28. JaspreetS.
    May 31, 2006
    7
    pretty good movie, but seems like they left a bit of an opening to make more movies at the end.
  29. FoxL.
    May 30, 2006
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] Now I know some people are having problems with this film but I found it to ... satisfy quite a few things I would have liked to see in the film. And killing 2 major characters like that caught me slightly of guard . However to be fair anyone that died ... died or was thought dead at some point in the past in the comics anyways. A 4th film could easyly involve Sinster [***SPOILERS***] Now I know some people are having problems with this film but I found it to ... satisfy quite a few things I would have liked to see in the film. And killing 2 major characters like that caught me slightly of guard . However to be fair anyone that died ... died or was thought dead at some point in the past in the comics anyways. A 4th film could easyly involve Sinster and/or Apocolypse. In which case Scott could be revived... or cloned. As Prof. X could have maybe escaped to the Astral plane. And knowing Jean's habit of coming back to life she could always come back and return Scott and Prof. X to life. Deaths are NOT ever final in the comics. Save Jean after... what... a handfull of death and resurections. Also the complaint about Juggernaut... well. Yeah, tradionally he wasnt a mutant ... but ... if you want to be technical... I believe in the Ultimate Universe he was a mutant... and only later got stronger because of the gem... but a mutant ... probaly not related to the Prof. So... since the movie univerce isnt ... exactly the same one as the films... and the films kinda draw from many sources... then technically... this film didnt break to many rules or anything. I liked the Sentinal head and bobby going ice form... nice fan moments. The fight scenes were put together nicely. The paceing was pretty good. On the downside Too much Storm... yet too little substance from her. Rogue was almost as non existant as Scott was. Angel was only there to be the reason his father made the cure in the first place and to save his dad from death. So characters we was under used at times... I got the feeling that they were trying to please people with new characters and get as many people happy with as many new people... while they pushed other chars into the background. They pretty much wanted as much 'new' to work with as possible with out pissing too many fans off. Which ment that Magneto and Wolverine live and play major roles. My only /real/ disapointment is that the series made it thru 3 films with no : Sinister, Apocolypse, Shadow King, Prof X fighting in the Astral Plane, more then a cameo of a sentinal, any sign of alien races like the brood etc. Otherwise I found this variant of the X-men lore to have a pretty nice balance of fan moments + entertainment. Expand
  30. SeamusS
    May 30, 2006
    7
    Once you get over yourself and the bad dialouge....It's lots of fun.
  31. Mase
    Jun 11, 2006
    8
    Still the best superhero franchcise around imo. Ratner obviously drops the ball in terms of direction obviously. Singer's shoes are huge to fill, and it's felt here. But these characters are still the best and most exciting to watch. I had a great time.
  32. BobD.
    Jun 13, 2006
    10
    I love x-men and this thirth film of the serie was so preety good.
  33. MarkZ.
    Jun 2, 2006
    8
    Ian McKellan stole the show.
  34. RogerB.
    Jun 4, 2006
    8
    Best of the bunch!! Amazing how few are catching the final scene after the credits!
  35. MarcL.
    Jun 5, 2006
    9
    this movie is pure entertainment, but be warned: it pushes a really obvious conservative agenda...when watching the film, think of being a "mutant" as being "gay," and it is not so obvious who the "good guys" are anymore...also very silly symbolism regarding the guy with white wings, but the movie can be enjoyed at face value for many funny things happen with the cgi. I hope there is a this movie is pure entertainment, but be warned: it pushes a really obvious conservative agenda...when watching the film, think of being a "mutant" as being "gay," and it is not so obvious who the "good guys" are anymore...also very silly symbolism regarding the guy with white wings, but the movie can be enjoyed at face value for many funny things happen with the cgi. I hope there is a Magneto spin-off in the works, he is the REAL people's hero. Expand
  36. SarahG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    This movie was freakin' awesome!!!!!! i don't know what the hell is the matter w/ the people who thought that it was bad. this movie was pure entertainment and if you wanted to be let down you should have gone to another movie! this is by far a beter movie than any released so far. the x-men movies are the greatest movies created. hugh jackman is so hot!!!!! and wolverine is theThis movie was freakin' awesome!!!!!! i don't know what the hell is the matter w/ the people who thought that it was bad. this movie was pure entertainment and if you wanted to be let down you should have gone to another movie! this is by far a beter movie than any released so far. the x-men movies are the greatest movies created. hugh jackman is so hot!!!!! and wolverine is the coolest mutant! you need to start some kind of medicine if you though that this movie could have been any better than it was! Expand
  37. TonyC.
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    This movie was great. I definately agree with Shelia, this movie is better than Superman. With action at every turn of the movie, you'll never say that this movie lags. It's difficult to get a well develped story line with so many characters that have to be showcased. None the less, it was still pretty good story line. You need to remember this is a comic book story, so out of This movie was great. I definately agree with Shelia, this movie is better than Superman. With action at every turn of the movie, you'll never say that this movie lags. It's difficult to get a well develped story line with so many characters that have to be showcased. None the less, it was still pretty good story line. You need to remember this is a comic book story, so out of the average occurences are going to happen. Expand
  38. Giovanna
    Jul 6, 2006
    9
    I am a HUGE X-Men fan, I've read the comics and read books for it and everything. Personally, I loved this movie simply because it's X-Men and it was hard for me to be critical towards it. I'm an aspiring movie maker and I know how hard it can be to do something this big and continue where someone left off. Everyone who gives this movie less than a 5 is truly missing the I am a HUGE X-Men fan, I've read the comics and read books for it and everything. Personally, I loved this movie simply because it's X-Men and it was hard for me to be critical towards it. I'm an aspiring movie maker and I know how hard it can be to do something this big and continue where someone left off. Everyone who gives this movie less than a 5 is truly missing the point. There were a lot of things that it was missing but I blame that on the writers and on 20th Century FOX, because they were rushing through it and trying to make it a blockbuster instead of making it thorough. Like its true, the characters forgot completely about Scott...what did happen to Nightcrawler? Why are there all these new mutants when this is supposed to be the end? But if you look past that and judge the movie as is, you'll see that it's fun, exciting and pretty damn good. Brett Ratner is an awesome director the acting was superb the only thing missing was plot wise. The movie didn't have enough, I admitt that...it was all cut so short, but I'm just hoping for the next installment as promised. It was true to a lot of things that are in the comics and some other stuff was purely Hollywood but it was still awesome. Make sure you stick around after the credits too, b/c if you didn't then you missed out on something very important. Expand
  39. JoeAverage
    Jul 9, 2006
    8
    Could Bryan Singer have directed a better version? Sure. But karma being what it is, he's now associated with Superman (Doesn't Quite) Returns. Personal bitterness aside, I was surprised at the quantity of numerous memerable scenes. The ending felt rushed though. Still the best 'summer flick' I've seen this year.
  40. alexr
    Apr 8, 2009
    8
    I liked this movie. It was very exciting and there was a genuine tension as to who would make it out alive in the end. It wasn't quite as good as X-2, which is a genre definer, but certainly a worthy addition to the X-men series. I thought it was better than the first movie too.
  41. SuperFriend
    Oct 3, 2006
    7
    Not as tight as the first two. Scott/Cyclops and Jean situation was kind of rushed. A lot of the other characters kind of got lost in the story except for Wolverine, Storm, Magneto, and Xavier. Still it was an interesting story to look at individuality vs. conformity and how each of us sacrifices to a degree to fit in, and the fight for individuality in the right way and the wrong way. Not as tight as the first two. Scott/Cyclops and Jean situation was kind of rushed. A lot of the other characters kind of got lost in the story except for Wolverine, Storm, Magneto, and Xavier. Still it was an interesting story to look at individuality vs. conformity and how each of us sacrifices to a degree to fit in, and the fight for individuality in the right way and the wrong way. The action is pretty good, but a few scenes were flat. [***SPOILERS***] Beast needed more action. Nightcrawler never shows up. This is a movie that really needed to be longer or split into two parts for me. At times it was rushed and kind of simple and not as smart as before, and at other times the story dragged or something with the characters just "happened" and now were on to the next part of the story. The problem with X-Men is that it really is something that needs to be like an HBO series or Battlestar Galactica (the new and much improved version), where each year we get 10-12 solid episodes that explore more of the story like the comic book did. This movie really couldn't do what it needed in the limited time to explain everything...this easily could of been a 10 episode plot with more depth revealed. Good but not what it could of been. Collapse
  42. AlexanderH.
    Oct 7, 2006
    8
    What's up with the bad press this film seems to be getting from both critics and user standby? I don't know, but I do know some of you users agree with everything the 'official' critics say whether you liked it or not, and to tell you the truth, that ain't cool. So to set the record straight, I had more fun with this X-men than I did with any other one in the What's up with the bad press this film seems to be getting from both critics and user standby? I don't know, but I do know some of you users agree with everything the 'official' critics say whether you liked it or not, and to tell you the truth, that ain't cool. So to set the record straight, I had more fun with this X-men than I did with any other one in the series. [***SPOILERS***] Maybe it was the popcorn, but to see Wolverine knocked into a tree, falling three stories down, crashing into the ground, AND knowing that he's gonna walk through another door all scratch-free and bloodless was one of the tightest things X-men ever conjured up. And let's not get started on the badass end sequence with everything getting dissolved apart. I won't say the film is perfect though. I mean, common, if you bring a new character, say, the wing dude, in the universe, showing him as a kid and everything, than why not DO something with him, instead of him showing up at the school being all quiet and such! And sometimes the conversation and fights ended without much resolution at all, which is kinda weird. So, there may be more personality, as some say, in the earlier films, but you know what? I had more fun with this entry, and more likely than not, you will too. Expand
  43. PaulK.
    May 24, 2006
    9
    I'm a HUGE fan of the comics and the movies and my expectations were through the roof. Given that, I'd say I was just a hair disappointed. While the action and CGI are top notch(minus parts of the bay bridge and angel's wings), I wanted more character development, especially of the young X-men, like Collosus...he barely said three words and don't even get me started on I'm a HUGE fan of the comics and the movies and my expectations were through the roof. Given that, I'd say I was just a hair disappointed. While the action and CGI are top notch(minus parts of the bay bridge and angel's wings), I wanted more character development, especially of the young X-men, like Collosus...he barely said three words and don't even get me started on the screen time for rogue. Building character arcs for the new X-men is crucial and it's not like there isn't time...with the run time being 104 minutes, X3 could have definitely been a good 20/30 minutes longer.
    [***SPOILERS***] A less frenetic pace would have been more than welcome especially after the mindblowing "house scene" towards the beginning. Oh and I hated the explanation for the Phoenix force...it doesn't have to mimic the comic book, since it would seem out of place in the movies, but a more vague version that resembled the comics would have been better...sheesh. Diehard fans will definitely appreciate the action and the inclusion of lots of cameos and short roles for minor mutants displaying their powers. And one last thing: stay through the entire credits because there's a final snippet that builds towards whatever form X4 will take and you know it's happening despite all the media speculation. It's one of Fox's strongest franchises...I just hope X4 includes at least a few of the New Mutants(X-force), like Cannonball, Havoc, and well of course Cable!
    Expand
  44. GregW.
    May 25, 2006
    8
    This is by far the best superhero movie I've seen. It did things that were completely unseen and possibly hated but without would only have been an average movie.
  45. SuleimanM.
    May 26, 2006
    9
    Fantastic, how about you gusy watch it before saying it's bad, that would be vital. By the way, Halle berry was HOT!
  46. PJG
    May 26, 2006
    7
    Not bad, still wish Singer was involved... Stay after the credits... It really saved it for me.
  47. TimF.
    May 26, 2006
    9
    Very very entertaining, I really enjoyed the movie. A few unexpected twists and not the least bit boring!!! Some of the action sequences are amazing. I don't mind that it strays from the comic a bit it is still a good story. C'mon you can't make it exactly the same, if it was why make the movie? I really give it a mid to high 8 because, like the others, the movie is Very very entertaining, I really enjoyed the movie. A few unexpected twists and not the least bit boring!!! Some of the action sequences are amazing. I don't mind that it strays from the comic a bit it is still a good story. C'mon you can't make it exactly the same, if it was why make the movie? I really give it a mid to high 8 because, like the others, the movie is centered around Wolverine a bit too much, I would liked to have seen the other characters a bit more. It's a good movie, Martin L. I'm sorry, but you make no sense complaining about the questioning of the script, I think you may have lost sense of the movie, it's about mutants so implying something is beyond you in a movie about something already far fetched is a bit ridiculous, just my opinion. Although I walked away wanting a bit more from the movie, (mostly the other characters) I highly recommend to going to see it. Expand
  48. JamesT.
    May 26, 2006
    8
    My score is really 7.5, but I rounded up. X-Men: The Last Stand has been described by some reviewers as the Return of the Jedi of the X-Trilogy, which is probably the most apt way to think of it. While the pace of Ratner's rendition of the mutant-laden X-Men world is far more frantic and toyetic than Singer's other two, more slow-paced and ceberal offerings in X-Men and X2, he My score is really 7.5, but I rounded up. X-Men: The Last Stand has been described by some reviewers as the Return of the Jedi of the X-Trilogy, which is probably the most apt way to think of it. While the pace of Ratner's rendition of the mutant-laden X-Men world is far more frantic and toyetic than Singer's other two, more slow-paced and ceberal offerings in X-Men and X2, he also hits the high notes. [***SPOILERS***] Mystique in her short storyline in the film is brilliant, the reformation of the Brotherhood with a cadre of new baddies, while spread thing, makes some interesting visuals. The overall feel of the film has a certain finality to it, allowing viewers to sit back and enjoy something that while not as enjoyable as X2, transcends the level of exposition that slow downs the first film. Ratner moves the film a breakneck speed, setting up all the pieces fairly early and then letting them carry the film. Only for viewers of the first two films; the screenwriters and director have dedicated almost no time to catching Johnny-come-latelies up, opting instead to dive head-fist into things with the impression that people know what to expect. Never transcends into being something more than what is expected, but never falls short of it's sight, this movie will entertain anyone who goes into it with the right headspace and appreciation for fantasy. Expand
  49. EricY.
    May 27, 2006
    8
    The effects are awesome. Most of the complaints come from fans that don't like that changes were made in the plot from the original comics. Well, if people would read more book they would find that it is done all of the time. I liked the movie alot. I could care less if it went along w/ the comics or not. Just be glad that somebody wants to make movies w/ characters from comics! The effects are awesome. Most of the complaints come from fans that don't like that changes were made in the plot from the original comics. Well, if people would read more book they would find that it is done all of the time. I liked the movie alot. I could care less if it went along w/ the comics or not. Just be glad that somebody wants to make movies w/ characters from comics! Nothing is perfect, be glad that the movie is cool, has great effects, a decent plot, good acting, and a lot of action! Expand
  50. NigelE.
    May 28, 2006
    10
    Appreciated that, since this was the third, they were able to get down to business as we had already met the cast of characters.
  51. JackK.
    May 28, 2006
    9
    The single reason this movie has received negative reviews, in my opinion, is because people are trying to tie the comics with the movie. I am a big fan of the X-Men comics and storyline, but the minute I started seeing this movie as an "alternate reality" or "What if..."of the X-Men I REALLY started enjoying it for what it is, a great superhero action movie and instead of being angry of The single reason this movie has received negative reviews, in my opinion, is because people are trying to tie the comics with the movie. I am a big fan of the X-Men comics and storyline, but the minute I started seeing this movie as an "alternate reality" or "What if..."of the X-Men I REALLY started enjoying it for what it is, a great superhero action movie and instead of being angry of the liberties taken with the storyline, I'm actually excited because for me it means a completely new direction in which the X-Men can head and it keeps new surprises for us old time fans that want something new instead of seeing a reenactment of what we already know was going to happen. My recommendation is that you head to the theater with an open mind to see an "alternate reality" or "alternate storyline" and I guarantee you won't be dissapointed. This is obviously not the last X-Men picture, so just think of the possibilities that open up for the future if Marvel has permitted the series to carry in this direction and just enjoy the movie without being an inflexible fanboi. Expand
  52. Totto
    May 29, 2006
    8
    It's ok... too much special effects, regular story, innecesary deaths, but it is ok.
  53. BrutusO.
    May 29, 2006
    8
    Pretty good. A notch down from X-Men 2, admittedly, but not a failure by any means. [**SPOILERS**] Lots of stupid plot holes - why not just drop the Golden Gate on Alcatraz, Magneto, in the first place? - but who really cares? This is a comic book adaptation, not a taut political thriller, after all. Lots of references and in-jokes from the comic books to keep the fans happy, and as a Pretty good. A notch down from X-Men 2, admittedly, but not a failure by any means. [**SPOILERS**] Lots of stupid plot holes - why not just drop the Golden Gate on Alcatraz, Magneto, in the first place? - but who really cares? This is a comic book adaptation, not a taut political thriller, after all. Lots of references and in-jokes from the comic books to keep the fans happy, and as a bonus, we get to see a number of the most irritating characters annihilated. Spectacular stuff, entertaining, and mercifully short. The film does suffer from too many characters (just like the comic book, in fact) and the mutant/homosexuality/ethnic cure allegory thing is a bit heavy-handed, as are the endless shots of soldiers running around and arming themselves with needle guns (another Iraq allegory no doubt). But quite a lot better than Mission Impossible III, with a bit of humour, a bit of romance, lots of action, terrific special effects and some mildly thought provoking messages. Expand
  54. JeanneC.
    May 29, 2006
    8
    I enjoyed it very much even though I felt it was not necessarily as good as 2, which would have gotten a ten from me. I enjoyed seeing mutants kicking ass, I LOVED Dark Phoenix, and I think there's plenty left to tackle in a fourth movie (hey, they ccould use the danger room sequence as a hint!). I do feel some characters were shortchanged and I refuse to accept one character is I enjoyed it very much even though I felt it was not necessarily as good as 2, which would have gotten a ten from me. I enjoyed seeing mutants kicking ass, I LOVED Dark Phoenix, and I think there's plenty left to tackle in a fourth movie (hey, they ccould use the danger room sequence as a hint!). I do feel some characters were shortchanged and I refuse to accept one character is really dead (no he's not! he's just resting!) SPOILER I loved the hint that the cure was only temporary: long live the X-men! Expand
  55. MarcusD.
    May 30, 2006
    9
    Different from the others. Great action and special effects. Good acting. Script was kinda corny.
  56. RussellW.
    May 30, 2006
    7
    Like others said, the script was corny and there was a lack in character development. They certainly could have done a better job. I am not a comic book xmen fan but can understand why someone with that background would be upset at the movie. However, I went to this movie with the expectation that I would be entertained and I was. The fight scenes were great and Wolverine is cool as hell. Like others said, the script was corny and there was a lack in character development. They certainly could have done a better job. I am not a comic book xmen fan but can understand why someone with that background would be upset at the movie. However, I went to this movie with the expectation that I would be entertained and I was. The fight scenes were great and Wolverine is cool as hell. That morphing lady is hot. Expand
  57. MarkL.
    Jun 11, 2006
    8
    Movies are meant to entertain, and this movie does that very well so it rates pretty for me. [***SPOILERS***] It might not have the same level of character development as the previous 2 movies, but for every character they butcher up (Cyclops, oh dear) they get a few spot on (Kitty Pryde, the Beast). Short of getting Joss Whedon to replace Singer, I don't think much more could have Movies are meant to entertain, and this movie does that very well so it rates pretty for me. [***SPOILERS***] It might not have the same level of character development as the previous 2 movies, but for every character they butcher up (Cyclops, oh dear) they get a few spot on (Kitty Pryde, the Beast). Short of getting Joss Whedon to replace Singer, I don't think much more could have been expected out of this. An enjoyable and highly recommended movie. Oh and make sure you stay till after the credits - very major scene at the end! Expand
  58. TimB.
    Jun 14, 2006
    8
    I was dreading seeing this movie, being much a critic. My mom of all people wanted to see it, and even though I told her that this addition to the franchise could be of lesser quality than the others, she still insisted on going. I was presently suprised to see solid, dare i say exceptional acting in the part of Jackman and Mckellen. Though it was a different taste with Singer's I was dreading seeing this movie, being much a critic. My mom of all people wanted to see it, and even though I told her that this addition to the franchise could be of lesser quality than the others, she still insisted on going. I was presently suprised to see solid, dare i say exceptional acting in the part of Jackman and Mckellen. Though it was a different taste with Singer's absence, i felt that Ratners style is much more sutible for the comic book feel of the story. A very stylish, solid film for a summer block buster. Expand
  59. KrukawK.
    Jun 15, 2006
    8
    The movie was "alright"... if that means anything to you.
  60. KarthikG.
    Jun 17, 2006
    9
    I dont know what everyone expects the director to do? After the first two movies, everyone expected so much from this movie. and i think Ratner delivered. If u try to mix emotion in an action-packed movie like this what u end up with is "Matrix Revolutions". I for one think this is an excellent action movie worthy of the name X-Men.
  61. KenG.
    Jun 18, 2006
    7
    It's true this is the weakest of the series. It doesn't have the heart and soul of the first 2 X-men movies, despite the fact that it is probably trying harder to have them then either of those movies. (so the lesson is, it takes more then just effort). Still, X-men 3 works well on the level of an enjoyable, entertaining action-comic book. The first 2 movies were more then this, It's true this is the weakest of the series. It doesn't have the heart and soul of the first 2 X-men movies, despite the fact that it is probably trying harder to have them then either of those movies. (so the lesson is, it takes more then just effort). Still, X-men 3 works well on the level of an enjoyable, entertaining action-comic book. The first 2 movies were more then this, but this is still better then alot of the action movies that come out of Hollywood. Expand
  62. DanielP.
    Jun 18, 2006
    7
    Ratner has taken the helm of the X-Men franchise, and boy, what a mixed package it is. The Last Stand's greatest strength is it's amazing battle scenes. Unfortunately, these action sequences are numerous and long enough to corrode the emotional strength that the X-Men movie franchise previously had. If you're looking for all that brilliance and emotion that rested within Ratner has taken the helm of the X-Men franchise, and boy, what a mixed package it is. The Last Stand's greatest strength is it's amazing battle scenes. Unfortunately, these action sequences are numerous and long enough to corrode the emotional strength that the X-Men movie franchise previously had. If you're looking for all that brilliance and emotion that rested within the first two movies, turn away now and go to another movie, Expand
  63. DreezyB.
    Jun 2, 2006
    8
    Not a bad movie, builds up momentum relentlessly till right till the very end where it counts most and then falls flat on it's face. A lot like the Juggernaut... pitty. Still good, go see it on a 60 foot screen at your local movie theater.
  64. ChantalM.
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    I watch movies all the time and with the latest technology directors and producers seem to try to use way too much graphic design but in this movie the techniques aren't over used like they are in other big motion pictures. Although the movie was very different from the comics when it came to the pheonix and how she kills people the story blended perfectly. The actors couldnt have I watch movies all the time and with the latest technology directors and producers seem to try to use way too much graphic design but in this movie the techniques aren't over used like they are in other big motion pictures. Although the movie was very different from the comics when it came to the pheonix and how she kills people the story blended perfectly. The actors couldnt have done a better job with their characters. With every new x-men movie the actors seem to become more and more comfortable with their characters. I also believe the writers did an excellent job at the end of the picture. Suspense is always the best way to finish a movie. Great Movie, if you havn't seen it...go. Expand
  65. TysonJ.
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    This movie was the best in the series and the years best movie. The action was breathtaking, the emotions were off the hook! The storyline was pretty good with a lot of twists and turns. You never know what's next. And the visual effects were so real and attractive! Brett Ratner did an X-TREMELY great job with this movie making nearly $500 million. if there is X4 Bryan Singer and This movie was the best in the series and the years best movie. The action was breathtaking, the emotions were off the hook! The storyline was pretty good with a lot of twists and turns. You never know what's next. And the visual effects were so real and attractive! Brett Ratner did an X-TREMELY great job with this movie making nearly $500 million. if there is X4 Bryan Singer and Brett Ratner should direct this movie together! Expand
  66. Ryencoke
    May 26, 2006
    9
    Great movie. Suprising though, I'm shocked to see so many twists in the movie. They should have kept Brian Singer for director though. The worst out of the 3. Still awesome.
  67. RodC.
    May 26, 2006
    9
    Great movie / many surprises.
  68. JJR.
    May 27, 2006
    10
    Awesome Movie. A lot of action. The Juggernaut owned.
  69. JinC.
    May 27, 2006
    7
    The movie is really good. Ratner does TREMENDOUS violence to the franchise, in almost ever sense, and in turn makes a good xmen movie for once. as prologue and point of reference: i am a long time xmen comic fan (kitpride, collossus, nightcrawler, wolverine team), i disliked the first lord of the rings movie, hated the second but loved the third. i did NOT like xmen1 or 2 (you will notThe movie is really good. Ratner does TREMENDOUS violence to the franchise, in almost ever sense, and in turn makes a good xmen movie for once. as prologue and point of reference: i am a long time xmen comic fan (kitpride, collossus, nightcrawler, wolverine team), i disliked the first lord of the rings movie, hated the second but loved the third. i did NOT like xmen1 or 2 (you will not find any of those dvds in my collection). i thought singer was way too timid and pulled too many punches. magneto discovers his power when he and his parents are lined up with other concentration camp prisoners and executed by a nazi firingsquad. magneto is buried with his parents... only to crawl out of the mass grave later, alive - his power manifesting itself enough and in time to save himself but not his family. this is the guilt, fear and hatred that will warp this man. and this entire backstory and the horror of the holocaust is watered down to irrelevance in xmen1. singer dealt in mere semblances and footnotes and left you emotionally unaffected. ratner goes the other way. he lays waste to great swaths of marvel continuity but the result is that it creates a GENUINE SENSE OF PERIL that was completely missing in the first two movies. for some, the changes in marvel continuity and canon will be a deal breaker and that's understandable in its way. but if it's possible to take the movie itself on its own merits, it pulls its own weight as singer's movies never could. and YES, the phoenix continuity is changed to the point of being unrecognizable... but it WORKS in the context of the movie. it WORKS in a way it could not possibly have if the comics plotline was taken. i couldn't imagine a phoenix subplot working before i saw it. but it amazingly does! take the movie on its own merits. it's not citizen kane but it's a really good summer movie. Expand
  70. DonL.
    May 27, 2006
    8
    After all the negative reviews, I was pleasantly surprised by X3. Not as good as X2, but very enjoyable for what it is. I think the backlash because Singer is not the director is unfounded, although I have to agree that the dialogue leaves something to be desired, especially in comparison to X2. Stay until the credits are over or you won't have seen the entire film.
  71. WillieG.
    May 28, 2006
    8
    I enjoyed this more than the first 2 films. Ignore the negative user reviews that obsess over the film not being faithful enough to the comics. Some people just need to get out more instead of living vicariously through action figures in tights. See the film and decide for yourself, the 3rd installment emphasizes action over slow and cumbersome character development, which was a downfall I enjoyed this more than the first 2 films. Ignore the negative user reviews that obsess over the film not being faithful enough to the comics. Some people just need to get out more instead of living vicariously through action figures in tights. See the film and decide for yourself, the 3rd installment emphasizes action over slow and cumbersome character development, which was a downfall of the first 2 films imo. One glaring downfall of this film was Kelsey Grammer, he's totally miscast, had bad makeup, and was useless as could be. Expand
  72. AngeloS.
    May 29, 2006
    9
    Although more action paced than the first 2, as long as you have seen the prior 2 it is a smash that moves briskly, is entertaining, and has a lot of shocking events!
  73. PaulF.
    May 29, 2006
    8
    Actually this movie deserves an 8.5 but the rating system doesn't allow such refinement. This movie was almost a nine, almost, however it only had half a soul, tons of special effects, decent acting, and a good plot. I felt the grief scenes were either cliche and or I didn't really buy it. In part I think this movie needed to be longer to flesh out some of the interpersonal Actually this movie deserves an 8.5 but the rating system doesn't allow such refinement. This movie was almost a nine, almost, however it only had half a soul, tons of special effects, decent acting, and a good plot. I felt the grief scenes were either cliche and or I didn't really buy it. In part I think this movie needed to be longer to flesh out some of the interpersonal drama. This movie was all about the wow (and that it did) but couldn't quite deliver the emotional component. All in all it was X-Men 3 was entertaining and definitely worth seeing. I can imagine if I was a pubescent and hadn't been jaded by so many movies I might think this was an extra special film. Am I spoiled or just more refined in my tastes? In anycase go see it, but watch out when bring young children because there is quite a bit of violence and death though presented in a buffered way. Expand
  74. TeddyK.
    May 29, 2006
    7
    Plenty of great action, but where is the heart?
  75. AndrewR.
    May 29, 2006
    7
    SeemS to me this movie is getting a bad rap. Not as good as the first too, but pretty good. could have used a better script.
  76. AdamG.
    Jun 13, 2006
    8
    Having not read the comics, I was thoroughly impressed with this movie. Giving us super-heroes we can somewhat relate to (a feat at which Spiderman fails at horribly) and great action scenes, this movie ranks up with its previous two.
  77. ChristopherA.
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    Is everybody crazy? I'm hard on movies. There are hardly any that dont bore me. But this movie was great! This was an excellent X-Men movie, and far better than most movies made about comic books. I dont know why it got average reviews from both critics and viewers alike. Anyway, I'm glad I saw this movie.
  78. Eli
    Jun 17, 2006
    7
    More dissapointing than anything but nevertheless still worth a trip to the theater.
  79. DarkeverS.
    Jun 17, 2006
    7
    Singer's absence can be felt by anyone who saw the first two films... Btw it's still enjoyable.
  80. BenY.
    Jun 17, 2006
    7
    I felt that the movie didn't adhere to the comic book enough, but I felt entertained after watching the movie. There were some cheesey parts that didn't quite make any sense, and it seemed like they made up some mutants for no reason. The Juggernaut was almost the most entertaining character.
  81. DanaM.
    Jun 25, 2006
    7
    It was exactly as I expected. Entertaining with some great special effects. Worth seeing going in knowing its a "B" movie. Worth my $9. Bring the earplugs.
  82. GeorgeM
    Aug 13, 2007
    7
    It's not nearly as bad as it could have been. Still, Singer's perfect sense of atmosphere that was featured throughout most of the second film is missing, and the ending is waaay overly dramatic. Still fun though.
  83. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes, I thought Professor X and Cyclops were killed off way too fast. But was I completely disappointed? No. Was it better than the first two? No. But in the end, I still enjoyed the movie for what it is. Expand
  84. Aug 19, 2011
    7
    This one isn't quite as good as X-MEN or X2, but this first trilogy can still manage to maintain a good-enough last stand. Hugh Jackman and Halle Berry are still doing great, and now we have Ellen Page as Shadowcat, plus a little more focus on Phoenix (Famke Janssen, though I thought she was Anne Hathaway).
  85. Aug 22, 2012
    8
    This was almost strong enough to stand on its own two feet. The action doesn't overshadow the plot or the emotional aspect too much and there's a beautiful collection of individuals that moves smoothly along, bringing some amazing variety without forgetting about them. This doesn't necessarily have a particular main character and I enjoyed the twist of Jean Grey along with the epic,This was almost strong enough to stand on its own two feet. The action doesn't overshadow the plot or the emotional aspect too much and there's a beautiful collection of individuals that moves smoothly along, bringing some amazing variety without forgetting about them. This doesn't necessarily have a particular main character and I enjoyed the twist of Jean Grey along with the epic, all-out war between different sides. I liked how the mutants particularly were working during this, because it was different to how it was when they were just fighting in the previous two films. Of course, Ratner didn't seem to have much grip on how Singer did it because from the way I saw it, the emotional aspects were difficult to control. Despite the variety, there was a lot of running and unnecessary fighting. Overall, although it wasn't as good as the previous two films, I thoroughly very much enjoyed it. Expand
  86. May 25, 2012
    10
    I feel that this is the 1st x-men movie where something actually happens. The action scenes are very epic. The story may leave you wanting a bit more because characters die but I feel that this is the best x-men of them all.
  87. May 26, 2013
    7
    Brett Ratner takes over directing duties for the anticipated end to a powerful trilogy, its big, explosive, occasionally touching but overall, thats about it.
    The Last Stand never really amounts to the powerhouse sequel of X2, nor does it have the introductory prowess or flare of the original, the message given throughout the film is really to show off what was established before, throw
    Brett Ratner takes over directing duties for the anticipated end to a powerful trilogy, its big, explosive, occasionally touching but overall, thats about it.
    The Last Stand never really amounts to the powerhouse sequel of X2, nor does it have the introductory prowess or flare of the original, the message given throughout the film is really to show off what was established before, throw in a new batch of flashy characters with sometimes pointless powers in relevance to the plot, but thats ok, because we already have two explanatory films, or not.
    All is peaceful for now on the mutant front, but when a cure coming from a mutants genes is found, there is outrage and relief amongst the superhuman community, some just don't feel accepted or find it harder to fit in than others, this point is brought up by new character Hank McCoy, or Beast (Kelsey Grammar) who is a diplomat to heal relations between the mutants and humans.
    He warns Xaviers school of the threat of the cure, and what potential trouble it could spell for the mutant community. But something else is rising from the depths that nobody can quite anticipate, as Magneto continues to unite the mutants for war, Xavier (Patrick Stewart) and his team face a larger problem than they have ever witnessed, all in their own midst, something Xavier must confront and perhaps reveal the true nature behind it.
    All of the original cast return to The Last Stand, but with the different direction and more blockbuster story, the tension of their past troubles and their current concerns get lost in the fast paced story, there just isn't enough room created to let everything explain itself, and unfortunately there is very little emotional depth in this third instalment. Rogue mainly deals with her powers and the potential she possesses, but makes her mind up far too quickly in this. When a monumental scene occurs, the aftermath just feels to rushed and is almost disrespectful of what had been developed in previous instalments.
    In terms of the action, it truly is non-stop, with very impressive set pieces including a particular mutant a bridge, there is also the fact of the returning and expanded cast, including Hugh Jackman as Wolverine, Ian McKellan as Magneto and Halle Berry as Storm, a few others, some unnecessary, make appearances.
    A diminished sequel, while not as thoughtful and emotionally driven as the other two, its hard to ignore the magnificent action pieces and still some interesting characters in this different sort of X-Men.
    Expand
  88. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    An enjoyable close to the trilogy. With dazzling special effects, an amazing score and great emotion really lift the film high. Just don't pay too much attention to the plot.
  89. Dec 1, 2011
    8
    This film proves that Xmen has finally comes into its own and has given us a decent film that is worth watching. While it may seem a bit corny at times, The Last Stand is a solid film overall.
  90. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    This third installment in the series was mostly enjoyable. It also has more humor than the previous two films. However, is it as good as its predecessors? No, the second one was better. The film lacks emotional scenes between characters.
  91. May 22, 2013
    7
    The change of director and script were accelerated factor detrimental to the film, but that does not mean that the film is bad, the battle scenes are the best in the series, Storm came out of the shadows and became important part in the plot, but lacks content to give life to the film.
  92. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    Spectacular special effects, but lack in details. Action scenes in this movie seem rushed but they are nicely executed and presented. A very good plot and character development make this movie great. Only thing that pissed me off is that Magneto didn't seem to mind very much the murder of his life long friend.
  93. May 24, 2014
    9
    I actually liked this movie. Unlike X-Men: First Class this movie has some popular X-Men characters in it. I thought Professor X and Magneto had a real Martin Luther King Jr. vs. Malcolm X philosophy which I found really interesting. Magneto stole the show in this movie.
  94. Jul 8, 2014
    8
    הסרט מתקן את הטעויות של בריאן סינגר עם אקס-מן 2, ואפשר לומר שהוא אחד מסרטי האקס-מן הכי טובים בסדרה הארוכה הזו. יכול שזה הרס כמה דמויות מהקומיקס, אבל זה לא ממש משנה כי הסרט הוא טוב
  95. MarcC
    Feb 13, 2008
    7
    An exciting climax to the trilogy with some great moments. It needed to be longer with more depth and they should have cut out some of the minor characters. But, overall, I loved it - as an action-packed finale, it worked pretty well. Critics want everything to be Schindler's List or Atonement and as soon as you have movies about fantastic superpowers, that is not possible, so you An exciting climax to the trilogy with some great moments. It needed to be longer with more depth and they should have cut out some of the minor characters. But, overall, I loved it - as an action-packed finale, it worked pretty well. Critics want everything to be Schindler's List or Atonement and as soon as you have movies about fantastic superpowers, that is not possible, so you have to embrace the fact this is a comicbook movie. It's far from perfect, but then no movie ever is, so I acceoted that, Expand
  96. NickH.
    Nov 1, 2006
    7
    Enertaining with great effects, but not as good quality-wise as its predecessors. Worth seeing.
  97. Aug 28, 2014
    8
    "Massive" is the right word to describe this movie. In the previous two films, the use of mutant powers was nice and quite tame. This time, they build a bridge to an entirely another level - literally.

    The special effects are amazing! The film also dares to cut off its supporting pillars, which for a while can leave the viewer to a state of shock - and possibly disappointment and sorrow
    "Massive" is the right word to describe this movie. In the previous two films, the use of mutant powers was nice and quite tame. This time, they build a bridge to an entirely another level - literally.

    The special effects are amazing! The film also dares to cut off its supporting pillars, which for a while can leave the viewer to a state of shock - and possibly disappointment and sorrow as well.

    Why the movie does not get 5 starts in my book is because the characters were lacking a lot. This could be amended with extending the length of the movie - it seemed too short, anyway.

    The already familiar cast, with only few additions of whom only Kitty rises above the others, provides us with nothing new. Storm is perhaps a bit angrier, and Rogue more desperate, but other than that, there's nothing new there.

    Other than Jean, of course, who is not quite what she used to be. (Famke Janssen looks absolutely fabulous in this one!)

    A must see piece, which stands side by side with its predecessors, yet still with a lot of room to explore.
    Expand
  98. Oct 19, 2014
    7
    As an X-men-fan I totally agree that it’s not as great as the previous movies, but it’s not bad either.

    The first thing that truly bothers me is that there's not as much action in this film than in X-Men 1 and 2, and there’s not as much unique things either. Brian Singer should have been the one to direct all X-Men films, especially this one! Another aspect that’s horrible about this
    As an X-men-fan I totally agree that it’s not as great as the previous movies, but it’s not bad either.

    The first thing that truly bothers me is that there's not as much action in this film than in X-Men 1 and 2, and there’s not as much unique things either. Brian Singer should have been the one to direct all X-Men films, especially this one! Another aspect that’s horrible about this movie is the soundtrack, it’s not as touching as in X-Men 2. The CGI however is incredible, and the few action-sequences that this film got are all awesome (but they are not many). The actors are of course awesome, there's no one that I would consider as a bad actor!

    Overall is X-Men: The Last Stand a great movie, but the choice of director truly is the worst thing. But it’s still an entertaining and groovy movie.

    X-Men: The Last Stand get a 7.8/10
    Expand
  99. Dec 8, 2014
    8
    Featuring more action and better special effects than previous films, this movie is pretty good and I think you should watch it if you are a comic book fan. Thumbs up for this movie!
  100. Sep 6, 2015
    9
    Aw X Men The Last Stand the film that most fans regard as the bane of the franchise and one of worst superhero movies of the last decade is this true. no in fact the popular thing these days that people regard as great leave baffled in a day and age where Guardians of the galaxy is considered great yeah I'm not seeing it so to the public is this movie good no not really does that matterAw X Men The Last Stand the film that most fans regard as the bane of the franchise and one of worst superhero movies of the last decade is this true. no in fact the popular thing these days that people regard as great leave baffled in a day and age where Guardians of the galaxy is considered great yeah I'm not seeing it so to the public is this movie good no not really does that matter no. X men the last stand is the most ambitious movie in the franchise even surpassing Days of future past in a lot of areas though not always successfully the general complaints of this movie seem to be that for whatever reason fans wanted everything in this movie to have a big role which is impossible but this movie did a good enough job most of it's material.

    Characters: while not balancing out every character X3 did the best with almost all of them Logan, Jean, Magneto, storm, Xaiver, bobby and Rogue all had actual arcs and more importantly arcs that mattered to the story some probably the best arcs given to their characters.

    Story: The plot of this movie is good and does tie together provided you're not overly strict the movie has a lot of deep themes that are explored in literally every scene the story works well and is emotionally powerful and complex.

    Pacing: While a little rushed at some points this movie moves at a fast pace this doesn't need to be a problem in truth when you face a problem you actually don't have a vast amount of time to decide what you are going to do Rogue's opinion on her powers are obvious we don't need multiple scenes establishing this even the show had one scene of her struggling a fight and then she changed her mind the movie presented enough. The pace of this movie is an improvement of X2 which was bloated and had entire sections that while good didn't contribute to the story at all every moment in X3 matters.

    Action: The action is great nothing more to say.

    Emotion: This movie is still one of the most emotional movies Marvel has ever done it is constant while the death of one character and depowering of another are not as focused on as they could be everything else the movie drips with emotion that marvel studios needs to learn in other words characters can cry every now and then.

    Unpredictability: This film pulls no punches giving it true tension lacking in any other marvel movie the story goes in unexpected directions which makes the film all the more exciting.

    Final note take your favorite comics and toss them aside this is not that story this is it's own once you realize this you should be able to enjoy this movie for it is not what you want it to be also numerous mutants are introduced and get no development or even focus this is irrelevant none of them are important to the story the characters actually important to the story get their dues.

    The final verdict featuring a plot with true depth and moral themes as well as a high level of emotion and tension with deep and meaningful arcs and great action scenes X3 is an incredible finish to the trilogy that is way better than most of the whiny fans would lead you to believe which is every bit as good as X2 maybe better I would give the movie a solid 9.5/10.
    Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Though the picture is not without its wow-inducing, SFX-driven moments, that potent X-factor is considerably diminished in Singer's absence.
  2. It's a fast and enjoyable B-movie, though, and Hugh Jackman’s Wolverine brings some good stormy drama to the proceedings.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    60
    Singer's absence is felt but not fatal. By adding too much new blood Ratner loses some of the original DNA, but with its nifty set-pieces and a few nasty surprises, X3's still a worthy enough sequel to ensure it’s no Last Stand.