• Studio: IFC
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2002
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 177
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    2
    I cannot believe this movie has this high score! It is soooo overrated! I mean, there is no real story, it is just sex and the end is so corny! This is the type of Spanish movie that in Europe (especially Spain) is known as 'made to sell, because sex sells' but of course in our Anglo-Saxon countries, we believe that just because a movie comes from Europe -especially Spain, or France- isI cannot believe this movie has this high score! It is soooo overrated! I mean, there is no real story, it is just sex and the end is so corny! This is the type of Spanish movie that in Europe (especially Spain) is known as 'made to sell, because sex sells' but of course in our Anglo-Saxon countries, we believe that just because a movie comes from Europe -especially Spain, or France- is good, but that way of thinking is so naive!!!. Honestly, this movie is so disappointing! If I give him a 2 is because well, because ...I don't even know why, perhaps there are worse movies that I don't manage to finish watching, and I did finish watching this one! Anyway, I have no intentions to ever watch this movie again. It is slow, and doesn't have a good storyline. The performances are plain, so is the photography; and even the actors's looks (male and female) were nothing but plain...so absolutely nothing to enjoy, or applaud! PS: Did you know that many Spaniards- I mean many- avoid watching Spanish movies precisely because the abuse of sex and the lack of argument...?and many of those movies that there are considered movies for the taste of the 'masses' (and by 'masses' they do not mean, merely 'working class', but has more of a 'cheap' 'vulgar' connotation) are praised outside Spain! Embarrasing! Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    F ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff.
  3. SamS.
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Very good film. Better than I thought it would be. Storyline is excellent.
  4. TyeN.
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    This is an excellent film and, like Maria Full of Grace, is almost too real in it's subject. The actors, along with the excellent script, convey these characters and these situations with such authenticity it's almost a documentary. Gael Garcia Bernal and Diego Luna are great, but Maribel Verdu is fantastic as the glue that holds the film together. Her performance is stunning. This is an excellent film and, like Maria Full of Grace, is almost too real in it's subject. The actors, along with the excellent script, convey these characters and these situations with such authenticity it's almost a documentary. Gael Garcia Bernal and Diego Luna are great, but Maribel Verdu is fantastic as the glue that holds the film together. Her performance is stunning. Alfonso Cuaron's direction is amazing, and this film is most definitely a must see. Expand
  5. Neal
    May 26, 2006
    10
    Pure captivation!!!
  6. tonys.
    May 10, 2006
    10
    Excellent film. spontaneous acting, fun and riveting.
  7. DaveS.
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    My favourite movie of all time. The writing is second to none, and Maribel Verdu's performance is a revelation.
  8. DaveC.
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    The relationship between the two male protagonists is often insipid and Cuaron fails to make them sympathetic to the audience and muster up enough quite tha mount of homoerotic tension it appears he is opting for. Leaving that aside however, Y Tu Mama Tambien is a beautiful film and in spite the obvious of nouvelle vague influences and jump-cuts, every scene has an amazingly convincing The relationship between the two male protagonists is often insipid and Cuaron fails to make them sympathetic to the audience and muster up enough quite tha mount of homoerotic tension it appears he is opting for. Leaving that aside however, Y Tu Mama Tambien is a beautiful film and in spite the obvious of nouvelle vague influences and jump-cuts, every scene has an amazingly convincing and natural fluidity to it. Difficult not to recommend. Expand
  9. AugustG.
    Dec 30, 2005
    0
    You call this a movie? It's hardcore/softcore porn with a plot. If the director added a few more sex scenes this movie would've premiered on the Spice Channel. The director might as well said "We're gonna film two Mexican boys getting their brains screwed out by a 28 year old harlot as they traypse across Mexico in search of a beach that doesn't even exist." which is You call this a movie? It's hardcore/softcore porn with a plot. If the director added a few more sex scenes this movie would've premiered on the Spice Channel. The director might as well said "We're gonna film two Mexican boys getting their brains screwed out by a 28 year old harlot as they traypse across Mexico in search of a beach that doesn't even exist." which is wrong from the get go. If I want to entertain myself with something like this nature I'd read Madame Bovary than watch this sexed up piece of crap. Expand
  10. EduardoR.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    One of the best films of the year.
  11. J.RyanG.
    May 23, 2005
    9
    The most appreciable aspect of this film is that it gets very complex without feeling complex. The road trip narrative covers a lot of territory without slowing down or losing control. The sex scenes are brilliant and realistic. They do not serve as pornographic exploitation of attractive actors, but build characterization and develop the underlying tension right up to the steamy and The most appreciable aspect of this film is that it gets very complex without feeling complex. The road trip narrative covers a lot of territory without slowing down or losing control. The sex scenes are brilliant and realistic. They do not serve as pornographic exploitation of attractive actors, but build characterization and develop the underlying tension right up to the steamy and shocking climax. That's not to say that those scenes don't thrill. They are among the greatest sex scenes in the cinema. Expand
  12. Dan
    Feb 17, 2005
    0
    Just a string of sex scenes.
  13. JezreelM.
    Aug 26, 2004
    10
    The movie was superb!!!!!! in the beginning was lust but hey it was quiet fun and in the end there was knowledge i gain so much from this movie....two thumbs up!
  14. JedM.
    Aug 9, 2004
    9
    I've never seen this kind of movie with such vulgarity but very truthful. A fusion of unrelated genre, teenage sex,drugs & alcohol, political statement and coming of age drama. Diego Luna's hot! I praised the Cuaron brothers, i've learned and appreciate how mexicans create films. This movie will alway top my list as one of the unforgettable films i've ever seen.
  15. MasonJ.
    Jul 25, 2004
    10
    A wonderful breath of fresh air from inhibited American cinematography.
  16. SaschaH.
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    Diego Luna is HOT ! :)
  17. JerryT.
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    Fantastic.
  18. ArleneC.
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    The movie was good! It was different, how in the first 2 seconds in the movie there was a sex scene! It gave it a little spunk! The trip was cool it relates well with teens these days! And the actors are hott! Especially Diego Luna!!lol The plot of the story is good! It's a very funny movie and it has a cool twist at the end!It's a very enjoyable movie!
  19. GaborA.
    Mar 1, 2004
    4
    This movie gets in your face but only in an attempt to blcok you from the fact that there is really nothing behind it. When making a movie about ideas that everyone is allready familiar with it takes more than honesty to be convincing, but also a perspective on the matter that the audience had not yet been exposed to. This movie did nothing of the such.
  20. JanieT.
    Feb 20, 2004
    8
    I think this movie was really good it tells about many teen situations. and it shows a lot of sex parts!!!!!! oh i really liked the sex parts!!!!!!
  21. MarkoR.
    Feb 9, 2004
    1
    Packed with cliches, this movie is far from being original and funny as everyone claims it to be. Humour is mainly low-brow, teenage characters are irritating (which is not necessarily bad in itself, but can be quite annoying if the director pushes you to identify with them), plot is predicatable. Big revelation for most viewers, it seems, was the discovery that Mexico was not all beaches Packed with cliches, this movie is far from being original and funny as everyone claims it to be. Humour is mainly low-brow, teenage characters are irritating (which is not necessarily bad in itself, but can be quite annoying if the director pushes you to identify with them), plot is predicatable. Big revelation for most viewers, it seems, was the discovery that Mexico was not all beaches (there are also some lovely inland sites) and poverty. But it simply goes to show how shallow their views were in the first place. The unexpected provocative twist at the end is unexpected, provocative and twisty only if you're a senior citizen of Peyton Place who has not been to the movies in the last 35 years. Expand
  22. YoonMinC.
    Jan 16, 2004
    10
    Cuaron has done his homework. He is steeped in cinematic history and well-versed in the language of film from Godard to the Hollywood Teen pic. But, what makes Y Tu Mama Tambien unforgettable is the smart and subtle way Cuaron infuses his brilliant technique with sincere concerns about the meaning of life and social values. One of the finest ever.
  23. FredF.
    Jan 5, 2004
    1
    After 15 minutes we decided to see the movie in fast-forward, as the whole story was as predicatable as silly. So by far not as good as expected!
  24. DavidL.
    Oct 9, 2003
    10
    You would be a fool to miss this great field trip to the heart of Mexico. Great writing and directing make for a fantastic ride.
  25. CesarR.
    Jul 4, 2003
    10
    I think this is a very elocuent movie... Also, It shows some of stereotypes of people in LatinAmerican.. (I'm writting from Colombia) About the youngs, they're teenagers and what else they can do. The trip is amazing.. even it is the desire for many men... hehehe !
  26. AnnaP.
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    Beautiful film about people discovering their personalities. Breath-taking pictures and love scenes. A panorama of the Mexican people from different social classes. Amazing and very erotic...Really worth seeing it!
  27. AnnaP.
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    Beautiful film about people discovering their personalities. Breath-taking pictures and love scenes. A panorama of the Mexican people from different social classes. Amazing and very erotic...Really worth seeing it!
  28. Bill
    Apr 19, 2003
    9
    Even though it's not hard to figure out how it's going to end, it's a great film that's lots of fun to watch.
  29. KatieF.
    Mar 25, 2003
    9
    Great but not perfect.
  30. CynthiaA.
    Mar 24, 2003
    10
    GREAT MOVIE!!!!!
  31. JASONF.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    From the erotic beginning till the devastating end this movie is a classic forever.
  32. MaríadeLourdesCruzH.
    Mar 3, 2003
    10
    Ahead of its time.
  33. FredR.
    Feb 24, 2003
    1
    A movie that nevers gets over being juvenile. There are glimpses of the movies it might have been but that movie flashes by the window as we're trapped in the car with two goodballs and a sadly underdeveloped female character. SKip it.
  34. RyanM.
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    One of the very best films of the year.
  35. OmarM.
    Dec 31, 2002
    10
    ¡Great!
  36. SteveD.
    Dec 6, 2002
    4
    This movie seems to be liked more for what it isn't than what it is. Yes its frankness about sex gives it a charm missing from most American sex comedies, but calling it the best film of the year because it is smarter than Sorority Boys is like saying I should go to the olympics because I can run faster than a guy with two broken legs. Yes the acting is good. Verdu gives about as This movie seems to be liked more for what it isn't than what it is. Yes its frankness about sex gives it a charm missing from most American sex comedies, but calling it the best film of the year because it is smarter than Sorority Boys is like saying I should go to the olympics because I can run faster than a guy with two broken legs. Yes the acting is good. Verdu gives about as good a performance as the narration (which seems to explain every one of her character's emotions) and her constantly changing motivation will let her. Nothing else about this movie, however, is even adequate. The narration is annoying and pointless, one time even crossing into unintentionally funny. The ruminations on socioeconomic conditions in Mexico was so tenuously connected to the plot that it didn't make the movie seem deep (which is what I'm assuming is what they were going for), but rather just plain pretentious. This is the most overrated movie I've seen in a long time. Expand
  37. HectorR.
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    Buena.
  38. SpeedyMulroneycakes
    Nov 29, 2002
    9
    An intoxicating, compelling little ride through the dust of Mexico. This bloke's going to direct the next Harry Potter film; can't wait.
  39. FilazaferX.
    Nov 25, 2002
    9
    This is one of those movies where nothing really happens in it, yet you never find yourself bored or uninterested and when the end does come you don't get up to turn it off, instead you just kind of sit there contemplating what you just saw. I love those kind of movies.
  40. ZootsiD.
    Nov 22, 2002
    6
    After all the hype, I was disappointed. Pretty shallow, the film was aimed at the high school crowd, lots of sex, drugs and rock and roll. Does anybody really want to see a couple of 18 year olds peeing, smoking pot, and playing with themselves? The only reason I even gave it a 6 was the interesting look at the various social classes in Mexico; and the travelog quality of driving thru After all the hype, I was disappointed. Pretty shallow, the film was aimed at the high school crowd, lots of sex, drugs and rock and roll. Does anybody really want to see a couple of 18 year olds peeing, smoking pot, and playing with themselves? The only reason I even gave it a 6 was the interesting look at the various social classes in Mexico; and the travelog quality of driving thru little seen parts of the country. In short, a Mexican Waynes World with lots of sex. Expand
  41. ButteredPopcorn
    Nov 17, 2002
    10
    This movie is simply intoxicating. It is as raw and as fresh as the lives of the two teanagers and their beautful companion. We sense that we are witnessing some late adolescent force of nature at work here, and the creation likewise has a bitterswweet undertone in its acknowledgement that this ephemeral phase of life cannot last. I wouldn't focus so much on whether this is a This movie is simply intoxicating. It is as raw and as fresh as the lives of the two teanagers and their beautful companion. We sense that we are witnessing some late adolescent force of nature at work here, and the creation likewise has a bitterswweet undertone in its acknowledgement that this ephemeral phase of life cannot last. I wouldn't focus so much on whether this is a 'good' movie, though i suppose it is; rather, i would remark at how truthful this movie is in capturing the giddyness of youth, and revealing its meaning. Credit goes to the creators of this film for taking a very simple and baudy tale and by telling it so truthfully and candidly, that it rings with meaning far beyond its rather crude origins. Quite a gem! Expand
  42. RolandC.
    Nov 10, 2002
    9
    I did not find the movie that funny. It was a great sad film about friendship and maturity. What makes it great is that you are subtly hit with a lot of different social and political issues. What makes it sad is that you realize these boys were never really true friends. In life we often have people who pass through our lives to hang out with and as we mature the thin bonds that bind us I did not find the movie that funny. It was a great sad film about friendship and maturity. What makes it great is that you are subtly hit with a lot of different social and political issues. What makes it sad is that you realize these boys were never really true friends. In life we often have people who pass through our lives to hang out with and as we mature the thin bonds that bind us together melt away and we move on. My only criticism of this movie is that the boys were too stereotypically portrayed at the start and I found little reason to care about them throughout the film. But it is a minor thing in a movie that was very solid and fascinating to watch. Expand
  43. LeeP.
    Nov 2, 2002
    9
    It's funny, sad, beautifully made. It's more than just a road movie, its a film about youth, friendship, and the uncertainty of life.
  44. StephanieV.
    Sep 23, 2002
    10
    What makes the movie a masterpiece is it's way of making one care for the characters. I mean, you get to understand each one of them, it has everything it needs: melancholy, reality checks, bestfriends experiencing life for the first time, death, love, you get suprised, passion, guilt, truth, deception, lust, family. And it all conects perfectly. I see no flaws in it.
  45. D.
    Jul 24, 2002
    0
    This muvie is bad and boring, Amores perros is a lot better.
  46. MikeyG
    Jul 22, 2002
    8
    This movie works on many levels and you really get more out of it if you're familiar with Mexico, Mexican politics, and Mexican high society. As a silly road movie, it's funny enough without being a typical gross-out comedy. As a more serious movie tackling emotional and political issues, it makes its points subtly without hitting you over the head with them. At the beginning, I This movie works on many levels and you really get more out of it if you're familiar with Mexico, Mexican politics, and Mexican high society. As a silly road movie, it's funny enough without being a typical gross-out comedy. As a more serious movie tackling emotional and political issues, it makes its points subtly without hitting you over the head with them. At the beginning, I thought the two kids were jerks. At the end, I understood them and their environment better and I could relate to them. Any movie that can do that is pretty darn good. The only complaint is the crappy translation, but that really can't be helped as the boys speak almost exclusively in colloquiallisms. A good movie to check out, specially if you're interested in multi-dimensional stories. Expand
  47. Richard
    Jul 15, 2002
    7
    The sex is messier, funnier, and scarier than most American teen flicks. The cast is uniformly excellent in a sharp film about how rapidly things change and not always for the better.
  48. LeslieM.
    Jun 25, 2002
    9
    I felt that the underlying themes in this movie in combination with the coming of age drama was extremely memorable. The scenics transport you for at least 2 hours. enjoy.
  49. Michael
    Jun 6, 2002
    9
    This movie was sexy as hell, beautiful actors acting beautifully. So very real...funny, sad and true all at the same time. An experience I will never forget.
  50. AndrewL.
    Jun 5, 2002
    1
    It was a porno in a different language... the called it art... I call it soft-core. Even if it was a porno it still sucked. The story line was so rediculously unbelievable, the sex was too much and too sloppy and the end left you thinking "I should have went to Starbucks and saved a few dollars."
  51. WalkenM.
    Jun 4, 2002
    9
    Brilliant, one of the most powerful and sexually frank movies I have ever seen.
  52. ChadS.
    May 24, 2002
    10
    Don't go to "Y Tu Mama Tambien" solely for the bare breasts and implicit sex. If you do, a masterpiece might pass you by. This is my favorite Mexican film since "Santa Sangre", which is to say, I enjoyed this road movie a little more than "Central Station". Maribel Verdu is terrific.
  53. EmilyM.
    May 9, 2002
    10
    I thought this movie was brilliant: funny in the way that real things are funny; dark in the same way that real things are dark. Politics and life blend perfectly. Well shot, well written, and perfectly acted; and who cares if you can see the ending coming a mile away? I loved this movie.
  54. JamesL.
    May 8, 2002
    6
    Like most foreign movies, we adults were able to view a movie with sexual content as adults unlike some teenager. A little too much like an American roadtrip movie for my tastes but it was funny in more parts than most.
  55. IanW.
    May 8, 2002
    7
    Interesting south-of-th-border tenn road trip with more to offer the viewer than the average Hollywood Fair. If you think a vacant 3-line bitch followed by a depracation of viewers who didn't "guess the ending" is not pretentious or pathetic, you need to check your IQ.
  56. MrA.
    May 8, 2002
    0
    Well.. that was 105 minutes I will never get back..
  57. Q-vo
    Apr 28, 2002
    10
    Richard de V: "If you can't see the end coming then check your iq, your not as bright as you think." Well we can't all be highly gifted art critics now can we? Go you, its a good flick. Unless you are a genius...
  58. JinC.
    Apr 28, 2002
    7
    I haven't decided yet if this movie is truly good or simply different. although i suppose if difference in and of itself is a virtue, then it is unquestionably good. and after seeing so many trite and predictable hollywood flicks, it does feel like a breath of fresh air. there are really wonderful things about the movie however that are not in question. the movie tackles a segment ofI haven't decided yet if this movie is truly good or simply different. although i suppose if difference in and of itself is a virtue, then it is unquestionably good. and after seeing so many trite and predictable hollywood flicks, it does feel like a breath of fresh air. there are really wonderful things about the movie however that are not in question. the movie tackles a segment of teenage culture with an unblinking honesty that most probably could never have been accomplished in an american film. and the expose style of giving us a glimpse of life in mexico is truly fascinating. especially for us americans. mexico is an important southern neighbor but i would venture that few americans know anything at all about what life south of the boarder is like. though at times, the mise en scene confirms our guesses that it may resemble a post apocalyptic los angeles. but the movie does seem to have a rather insular point of view with little perspective or distance from its subject matter. to a certain extent, it makes you feel like all kids in mexico are affluent, over sexed and highly medicated. there are a few mentions of other aspects of mexican society but most, if not all, seem to be obligatory concessions that life outside of the protagonists' drug and sex infused bubble does in fact exist in mexico. but then again, that may have been the point and may not necessarily be a flaw. perhaps it strikes foreign audiences more strongly as we are not intimately familiar with mexican life in general and so there is not a inherent counterpoint that the film can play off of.... did i mention that there's a lot of nudity and sex? if that's what ya like, you'll like this film. there are shots and situations where i couldn't imagine much of what was happening was being 'simulated'. the willingness to actually engage in sex must have been one of the prerequisites for cast. keep an eye out for off handed remarks that foreshadow payoffs further down the road. that payoff itself? errrr... it seems to intimate, "whatever the waves of life happen to toss you onto -- commence humping". Expand
  59. RicharddeV.
    Apr 12, 2002
    0
    A storyline so transparent and lacking in subtlety that it would make Oliver Stone blush. Melodramatic, overwrought, preachy and completely in love with its self. Pathetic as well as pretentious. If you can't see the end coming then check your iq, your not as bright as you think.
  60. ArthurJ.
    Apr 7, 2002
    9
    A combination American road and buddy movie blended with French sex farce and the Italian poignancy of Il Postino or Rocco and His Brothers. Sooo real and unself-conscious. Predictable, but moving and superbly acted. Sexy, too, but probably a little too real for most American males.
  61. TonyB.
    Apr 5, 2002
    10
    Totally enjoyable. In fact, two of the best movies I've seen in the past year have been foreign films ("Amelie" is the other one). Funny, touching, worth seeing again.
  62. ArnoldP.
    Apr 2, 2002
    9
    A terrific ribald reactivation of French "new wave", but this time it's Jules and Jim in Mexico, and the salsa is hot. Reflected in the prism of this "menage on the road" is a kaleidoscope of Mexico; the rich, the poor peasant, the ugly and the beautiful. Masterfully directed with wonderfully talented young actors. This is surely the movie to beat for the best foreign film of the new A terrific ribald reactivation of French "new wave", but this time it's Jules and Jim in Mexico, and the salsa is hot. Reflected in the prism of this "menage on the road" is a kaleidoscope of Mexico; the rich, the poor peasant, the ugly and the beautiful. Masterfully directed with wonderfully talented young actors. This is surely the movie to beat for the best foreign film of the new year. I loved it, and I'm a senior citizen. Should appeal to many looking for an alternative to the mediocrity of Hollywood formula. Expand
  63. StefanoS.
    Mar 17, 2002
    10
    Fantastic, marvelous movie. Probably the best movie so far this year.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Aug 18, 2014
    90
    The digressiveness of Y Tu Mamá También is its masterstroke.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    The eroticism in Cuaron’s road movie (which broke all box-office records in Mexico) is the real deal: tactile, sexy, psychologically charged.
  3. 100
    One of those movies where "after that summer, nothing would ever be the same again." Yes, but it redefines "nothing."