Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 19, 2009
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 165 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
43
Negative:
65
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
MikeWJun 22, 2009
Ok seriously, 95% of the time I agree with most of the critical concensus here. But on this one, I can't believe it has such a low score. The movie was FUNNY, it just was. Sure there were holes in the plot, sure the writers took short Ok seriously, 95% of the time I agree with most of the critical concensus here. But on this one, I can't believe it has such a low score. The movie was FUNNY, it just was. Sure there were holes in the plot, sure the writers took short cuts, sure the ending wasn't great. But for my money, it was just a simple mostly hilarious movie and my friends and I laughed our asses off to it. Michael Cera was hilarious as he usually is, and he basically stole the best lines from Jack Black David Cross was great too. Year One, don't entirely buy the critical dismissiveness on this one. If you want to laugh, consider seeing this. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RickJun 20, 2009
This is an example of don't trust the critics. I just saw this movie a few hours ago, and couldn't stop laughing. The entire theater seemed to be in agreement as at times the laughter was drowning out the lines. GREAT comedic movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesMJul 6, 2009
This movie is so funny I laughed my pants off my thought is that Michael Cera was better than Jack Black I would say this is a great summer comedy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobZhouJun 22, 2009
BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!! who cares if everything about it sucked. THis movie is the best movie ever its so epic!!! Screw everyone saying that its, " FLAWED" this movie doesn't rip off anything, its so origional
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanielWJul 3, 2009
Excellent movie, everyone who disliked it can go watch the proposal or maybe enjoy some shindler's list whilst your at it, keep your boring movies to yourselves and let us have our great and fantastic bible spoof films like this its Excellent movie, everyone who disliked it can go watch the proposal or maybe enjoy some shindler's list whilst your at it, keep your boring movies to yourselves and let us have our great and fantastic bible spoof films like this its definitely better than any Monty python film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DamianFeb 4, 2011
I really don't understand the low rating because I absolutely loved this movie. I've watched it several times and could keep on watching it again and again. I wasn't a Jack Black fan before seeing this, but now I'm more interested in seeingI really don't understand the low rating because I absolutely loved this movie. I've watched it several times and could keep on watching it again and again. I wasn't a Jack Black fan before seeing this, but now I'm more interested in seeing his movies. Michael Cera was terrific, as one might expect. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JayFJul 3, 2009
Awesome movie. The entire theater was in tears it was so funny.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ColinAug 5, 2009
I thought it was a really funny, well made movie. Does not suck. At all.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
RazvT.Nov 21, 2009
I don't agree with all the negative grades. It was a good movie, funny scenes, jack black is funny as always and everything is ok.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
disorrisoJul 24, 2012
Very funny, with jokes very well done, this is really an example of "do not trust blindly in the critical", it is worth watching and be sure the writers had a lot of work on the jokes, because they are perfect! To give a low grade for jokesVery funny, with jokes very well done, this is really an example of "do not trust blindly in the critical", it is worth watching and be sure the writers had a lot of work on the jokes, because they are perfect! To give a low grade for jokes so good, one must be very boring, and is running with all work very well executed! In short: It's worth seeing, and give a good grade, to show these critics that they are jerks! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
XouX.Jun 20, 2009
Hilarious film throughout. what it lacked though was that the storyline was weak and it had to many sexual preference that you felt it was an rated R film. i did enjoy the chemistry between cera and black and how they always seem to findHilarious film throughout. what it lacked though was that the storyline was weak and it had to many sexual preference that you felt it was an rated R film. i did enjoy the chemistry between cera and black and how they always seem to find trouble. however some of the jokes are to outdated and often times overused like jacks weight and cera's virginity. not your top ten movie but it does deliver what its supposed to...laughs Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrodeeKJul 11, 2009
I watched this movie at the cinema and was 15 mins into the movie when i arrived yet i still thought this movie was completely hilarious all the critics that gave it bad rating obviously don't know anything about films, of course there I watched this movie at the cinema and was 15 mins into the movie when i arrived yet i still thought this movie was completely hilarious all the critics that gave it bad rating obviously don't know anything about films, of course there are better parody's out there but none with awesome actors like jack black and/or michael cera their addition to this film helped it place in MY top ten greatest movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoseHJul 14, 2009
I thought that this movie was hilarious and the actors were the icing on the cake. I didn't think that Jack Black was very funny but Michael Cera was very comical and the pure stupidity of the movie was hysterical!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisG.Nov 10, 2009
While nothing special, this movie moves along nicely and provides some good laughs provided that one (a) like this sort of mindless movies (b) is in the mood for some light entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CamilleJun 21, 2009
Is this movie really, really stupid? Yes, absolutely. I expected as much. But I did not expect to laugh and enjoy it as much as I did. Perhaps my low, low expectations for this film is what made me enjoy it as much as I did, but I'm not Is this movie really, really stupid? Yes, absolutely. I expected as much. But I did not expect to laugh and enjoy it as much as I did. Perhaps my low, low expectations for this film is what made me enjoy it as much as I did, but I'm not gonna lie, I had an enjoyable movie-going experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JacobLJul 1, 2009
I loved this movie. However, the reason while it isn't a 9 or 10 is because as at this certain point (when the two cave men enter the barbaric city) the jokes sudden stop becoming as fun as they were before and I found myself either not I loved this movie. However, the reason while it isn't a 9 or 10 is because as at this certain point (when the two cave men enter the barbaric city) the jokes sudden stop becoming as fun as they were before and I found myself either not laughing as hard as I was before or not laughing at all. Nonetheless, this is a movie definitely worth checking out that anyone who loves a good comedy should see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlSJul 30, 2009
This is possibly the best movie of the year. The jokes, from lesbian innuendo to deadpan virginity references, are infinitely funnier than anything that "great comedies" like Dr. Strangelove or The Producers could ever come up with. Anyone This is possibly the best movie of the year. The jokes, from lesbian innuendo to deadpan virginity references, are infinitely funnier than anything that "great comedies" like Dr. Strangelove or The Producers could ever come up with. Anyone who didn't like this movie either "had an IQ of above 80" or has no knowledge of what great film really is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinBJul 4, 2009
Hysterically funny from about 10 minutes in to the very end, of course being very susceptible to sexual humor definitely helps.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnDOct 27, 2009
Best movie of the year. Micheal Cera should win best supporting actor award. I would rank this as #3 all time behind Felini's 8 1/2 and Citizen Kane, and slightly ahead of Godfather part 1.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DerekH.Jun 19, 2009
I will admit, the movie could have been a little more funny then what it actually was, but a decent script and some decent actors, with a decent concept and you got a decent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillH.Jun 19, 2009
You'll be getting stoned....TODAY!!!!! Classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelOJun 21, 2009
Are you kidding? Hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TDKinDallasJun 21, 2009
This movie is very funny. If you were expecting some kind of re-invention of comedy then you went to the wrong movie. It is just a stupid comedy and it is very funny. After reading the reviews I was already disappointed, but it turned out to This movie is very funny. If you were expecting some kind of re-invention of comedy then you went to the wrong movie. It is just a stupid comedy and it is very funny. After reading the reviews I was already disappointed, but it turned out to be just about what I expected. The only sad thing is that there were a lot of places where they could have taken the comedy a lot further, but I guess somebody somewhere was satisfied with it as it was. I actually give it 6 out of 10 stars because it is a stupid movie, but it's funny as **** and I am recommending it to 16 and up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaxMJun 25, 2009
This movie wasn't great, but it wasn't bad either. For a PG-13 movie, it really did quite well and managed to give me a few laughs. Jack Black and Michael Cera are a good combo and the laid-back-sort-of-stoner humor was a good This movie wasn't great, but it wasn't bad either. For a PG-13 movie, it really did quite well and managed to give me a few laughs. Jack Black and Michael Cera are a good combo and the laid-back-sort-of-stoner humor was a good touch. I didn't care for the moralistic crap and Jack Black's "everyone is the chosen one" speech in the end. But hey, it's a PG-13 movie. Don't push your expectations to their highest then give it a 36. I mean come on, get real. Newsweek gives a good review saying, "A thoroughly, sometimes gaggingly broad and sly conceptual laugh-in". That's a pretty good way to describe it. Whereas LA Weekly calls it "Unbearably painful from shrugging start to outtakes-laden finish". Uhhhh.... if you don't wanna stay for the credit's, JUST LEAVE. Don't add criticism to the credits. Only the worst movie critics will resort to that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanKJun 26, 2009
This film was a very comical film despite critical complaints. I began watching this film with the belief it would be terrible or unwatchable, however it was very enjoyable and funny. It spoofed many Bible stories which was offensive when it This film was a very comical film despite critical complaints. I began watching this film with the belief it would be terrible or unwatchable, however it was very enjoyable and funny. It spoofed many Bible stories which was offensive when it first began, but it improved and became central to the story's development. Jack Black played his usual rebellious character who does not agree with the "norm" who in the end comes out on top. Michael Cera plays his character with a sense of logic and intelligence who is sexually attracted to the female lead. Their were awkward moments which were for some particular reason entertaining such as Michael Cera saving the main female lead through sex (Don't ask me why). Overall it was an entertaining film and one which is not appreciated by the critics. When viewing this film, a person is to let their mind go and not question the movie, but simply enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KeenanSJul 12, 2009
I'm not going to lie, if Jack Black and Michael Cera had not been in this film, it would have been an utter failure. They're the only actors who keep this film afloat. The film was decent, and provided some pretty good laughs, but I'm not going to lie, if Jack Black and Michael Cera had not been in this film, it would have been an utter failure. They're the only actors who keep this film afloat. The film was decent, and provided some pretty good laughs, but sometimes the jokes were overkilled. The other actors also lend a helping hand in dragging down the experience, especially the guy who played Cain. Still, this film does provide good entertainment that won't ruin your day. At the end of the day, you walk out of the theater satisfied and entertained. Not the best comedy ever, but it certainly is better than some of the other recent ones (Let's not talk about Disaster Movie). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
moviefanAug 31, 2010
I had very low expectations about this movie since Jack Black has made some real duds (be kind, rewind, Nacho Libre, etc) but I was very surprised to find myself laughing out load at times and overall I enjoyed this movie very much. The plotI had very low expectations about this movie since Jack Black has made some real duds (be kind, rewind, Nacho Libre, etc) but I was very surprised to find myself laughing out load at times and overall I enjoyed this movie very much. The plot is simplistic but the comedy is very witty and fresh.Cera's character is great and his rumblings and lines are witty and funny, there were several surprise cameo appearance's also, one of the funnier ones involves Paul Rudd who I really enjoy. This movie is not a 10 but is definitely worth seeing if you like funny movies because the vast majority of them are stinkers, I have recommended this movie to several friends and all have said the same thing after watching it, they thought that it was very funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JB-Nov 6, 2012
It was very funny I loved this movie.. .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SpaceGeekSep 17, 2014
There are few movies I can watch over and over. The Matrix, LotR - The Fellowship of the Ring, The Hobbit and I've recently added Year One to this short list. The first time I saw it, I think there was just too much to take in. It's crammedThere are few movies I can watch over and over. The Matrix, LotR - The Fellowship of the Ring, The Hobbit and I've recently added Year One to this short list. The first time I saw it, I think there was just too much to take in. It's crammed with jokes and subtle body language. If you're stuck up or don't like outrageous humor like Dumb and Dumber, don't bother. I don't feel like reading another "Woe is me, this movie is so disgusting/offensive/gross". Go back to your Downton Abbey.

Best parts: Michael Cera dancing, "You can stick your finger in it's hole", "Ribbit... Go Away Marlack", Michael Cera Sleep Over with gassy kid, "muscle tribe of danger and excellence", "What does this look like?", "I've seen what you do with your right hand, no thanks."
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
thujoneJul 4, 2016
Do you really think a movie written and directed by Harold Ramis (Animal House, Caddyshack, Stripes, Ghostbusters, Groundhog Day) could be that bad? It's the kind of movie that critics love to hate, which is why critics suck.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21May 2, 2016
'Year One' wants to be seen as a freeform, knockabout trawl through Biblical history, perfect for an undemanding Saturday night.

Check out the movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1777-Year-One-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews