Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Everyone's favorite pic-a-nic basket-stealing bear comes to the big screen in Yogi Bear. Jellystone Park has been losing business, so greedy Mayor Brown decides to shut it down and sell the land. That means families will no longer be able to experience the natural beauty of the outdoors -- and, even worse, Yogi and Boo Boo will be tossed out of the only home they've ever known. Faced with his biggest challenge ever, Yogi must prove that he really is "smarter than the average bear" as he and Boo Boo join forces with their old nemesis Ranger Smith to find a way to save Jellystone Park from closing forever. (Warner Bros.) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 11 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 16, 2010
    75
    This is a cute movie, a kid's movie, and a rather good one.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Dec 14, 2010
    60
    Adults will be thrilled to see Anna Faris as nature documentarian Rachel. Greeting Yogi by speaking in "brown bear," the actress never fails to be seriously goofy.
  3. 50
    While the outdoor sequences were filmed in New Zealand's Woodhill State Forest – the movie's most stunning 3-D moments – Yogi Bear does feature notable "Canadian content" via two Ottawa-born thespians.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Dec 16, 2010
    40
    There's exactly one thing about the misbegotten big-screen Yogi Bear that might make you think back with any fondness to the Hanna-Barbera cartoons on which it's based. That would be Justin Timberlake's charming performance as the voice of Boo-Boo Bear.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Kois
    Dec 16, 2010
    38
    An uninspired studio product that demands as little from the audience as it did from its writers, directors and actors.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 16, 2010
    25
    Picture Timberlake in the booth recording his lines and you have the best joke in the movie. Everything else is actively painful, a frenetic, unfunny mix of action, romance, dud dialogue, and icky things popping out of the screen.
  7. 20
    Even the presence of Dan Aykroyd as Yogi and Justin Timberlake as his pint-sized straight man Boo Boo, couldn't save the movie.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 32
  2. Negative: 14 out of 32
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    My 2 sons liked it but it wasn't to the level of Toy Story. The movie was the same kind of animated/live action like the Garfield movies. BUT... the 3-D was very evident, it was even more then the Toy Story movies which is a surprise since, well... they're supposedly the king of all things animation--they gotta work on the 3-D thing a bit more. Jon Stewart's "twin" Ed Cavanaugh played the head ranger, I could see why his tv show went off the air--his humor is very dry and actually kind of rude. Anna Farris actually outperformed him in the movie--she's from the Scary Movie set of movies. Yogi's voice was Dan Akroyd, he was pretty spot-on but Boo-Boo sounded like he was voiced by Pee Wee Herman--kind of creepy actually. Overall, I gave the movie a 5... 3-D was great but the movie as a whole--rent it. Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    Overall good movie...pretty interesting and for the most part lives to the hype..the voice acting is spot-on, the story-line is quite enjoyable, and the actors do a great job making the movie fun for kids, but funny for adults. Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2012
    6
    This was not very great. But it is still very entertaining and if you have a good sense of humor you will definitely love this movie. The only thing is DO NOT expect it to be a four star movie. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2011
    4
    When i first heard about this movie I was excited to see it. But I was disappointed about the movie.
    The acting was pretty bad. Except Yogi
    and Booboo they were the only good characters in the movie.
    I saw this in 3-D, the 3-D was ok in some parts but i don't think this needed to be in 3-D.

    All and all i thought it was a bit average.
    Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2011
    3
    Oh please. "Yogi Bear" is terrible film with nothing useful. From acting (oh I forgot, there IS no acting) to story, everything tastes extremely bland. Just... just don't watch it. It's meaningless as hell. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2011
    3
    Oh ho-ho, I see what they are trying to do here: they're using the image of an iconic, beloved character who has been living with us for generations just to cover up the messiness present on his deplorable script and lamentable acting. Sorry Yogi-bear, but nothing on this film was worthy of my money. Expand
  7. May 4, 2011
    0
    This was probably the worst movie ever there was no story it was funny at all and it is a total waist of money.Either rent this or never see this movie! Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers