Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Everyone's favorite pic-a-nic basket-stealing bear comes to the big screen in Yogi Bear. Jellystone Park has been losing business, so greedy Mayor Brown decides to shut it down and sell the land. That means families will no longer be able to experience the natural beauty of the outdoors --Everyone's favorite pic-a-nic basket-stealing bear comes to the big screen in Yogi Bear. Jellystone Park has been losing business, so greedy Mayor Brown decides to shut it down and sell the land. That means families will no longer be able to experience the natural beauty of the outdoors -- and, even worse, Yogi and Boo Boo will be tossed out of the only home they've ever known. Faced with his biggest challenge ever, Yogi must prove that he really is "smarter than the average bear" as he and Boo Boo join forces with their old nemesis Ranger Smith to find a way to save Jellystone Park from closing forever. (Warner Bros.) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 11 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 16, 2010
    75
    This is a cute movie, a kid's movie, and a rather good one.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Dec 14, 2010
    60
    Adults will be thrilled to see Anna Faris as nature documentarian Rachel. Greeting Yogi by speaking in "brown bear," the actress never fails to be seriously goofy.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 17, 2010
    50
    Here, Dan Aykroyd mimics the original voice, but the three-dimensional CGI isn't loose and lively enough to compensate for the unimaginative story.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Dec 16, 2010
    40
    There's exactly one thing about the misbegotten big-screen Yogi Bear that might make you think back with any fondness to the Hanna-Barbera cartoons on which it's based. That would be Justin Timberlake's charming performance as the voice of Boo-Boo Bear.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Kois
    Dec 16, 2010
    38
    An uninspired studio product that demands as little from the audience as it did from its writers, directors and actors.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 16, 2010
    25
    Picture Timberlake in the booth recording his lines and you have the best joke in the movie. Everything else is actively painful, a frenetic, unfunny mix of action, romance, dud dialogue, and icky things popping out of the screen.
  7. 20
    Even the presence of Dan Aykroyd as Yogi and Justin Timberlake as his pint-sized straight man Boo Boo, couldn't save the movie.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 14 out of 35
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    My 2 sons liked it but it wasn't to the level of Toy Story. The movie was the same kind of animated/live action like the Garfield movies.My 2 sons liked it but it wasn't to the level of Toy Story. The movie was the same kind of animated/live action like the Garfield movies. BUT... the 3-D was very evident, it was even more then the Toy Story movies which is a surprise since, well... they're supposedly the king of all things animation--they gotta work on the 3-D thing a bit more. Jon Stewart's "twin" Ed Cavanaugh played the head ranger, I could see why his tv show went off the air--his humor is very dry and actually kind of rude. Anna Farris actually outperformed him in the movie--she's from the Scary Movie set of movies. Yogi's voice was Dan Akroyd, he was pretty spot-on but Boo-Boo sounded like he was voiced by Pee Wee Herman--kind of creepy actually. Overall, I gave the movie a 5... 3-D was great but the movie as a whole--rent it. Expand
  2. May 4, 2015
    10
    n save for a few solid laughs. I laughed, a LOT - far more than I expected to. With all of the cookie cutter schlock that has "something forn save for a few solid laughs. I laughed, a LOT - far more than I expected to. With all of the cookie cutter schlock that has "something for everyone" box office appeal these days, my standards have become ridiculously low for comedies. This raised them right back up there, kinda like the original Hangover did. Cameron Diaz's Teacher is as fun as Billy Bob's Santa was. Hollywood should embrace the Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    7
    Definitely a kids movie, but it's still enjoyable, very funny, and a little predictable, still it's an enjoyable movie for the family, justDefinitely a kids movie, but it's still enjoyable, very funny, and a little predictable, still it's an enjoyable movie for the family, just keep in mind this is aimed at younger audiences. Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2011
    4
    Hmm... When I went to see this movie, I though it was going to suck real bad. Turns out, you really just need to remove the words "real andHmm... When I went to see this movie, I though it was going to suck real bad. Turns out, you really just need to remove the words "real and "bad". It just sucks. It was a lot better than I though it was going to be and I can usually tell if anything will be a flop before the reviews come in. Yes, it was a flop. Why? Well, the animation feels old, you can tell it's green-screened in some parts, the story is bad and most of the jokes are lame. On the upside, some jokes DID work, the voice acting for Yogi Bear was good and the fireworks scene was pretty cool but unless you're a kid under 8 years old, I say it's best to leave this one. Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2011
    3
    Oh please. "Yogi Bear" is terrible film with nothing useful. From acting (oh I forgot, there IS no acting) to story, everything tastesOh please. "Yogi Bear" is terrible film with nothing useful. From acting (oh I forgot, there IS no acting) to story, everything tastes extremely bland. Just... just don't watch it. It's meaningless as hell. Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2011
    2
    Yogi Bear is a bad film with good parts. The only good parts in the film is remembering how the yogi bear cartoon series was like. TheYogi Bear is a bad film with good parts. The only good parts in the film is remembering how the yogi bear cartoon series was like. The problems with the film is boring, dull, not funny and dosent do a great job on yogi bear that they should have done. I would only see this if you want but i wouldnt watch this again. Expand
  7. May 4, 2011
    0
    This was probably the worst movie ever there was no story it was funny at all and it is a total waist of money.Either rent this or never seeThis was probably the worst movie ever there was no story it was funny at all and it is a total waist of money.Either rent this or never see this movie! Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers