You Can Count on Me

You Can Count on Me Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A young mother (Laura Linney) is cheating on her fiancĂ© (Jon Tenney) with her boss (Matthew Broderick), and her life becomes further complicated by the return home of her wild brother (Mark Ruffalo).

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Newsweek
    Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    Few films have explored the complicated bonds of love and resentment between brother and sister with such delightful honesty.
  2. It's simply a quiet and heartbreaking look at the dynamics of one family. That's the beauty of it.
  3. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    100
    The best American movie of the year. Has a subtext so powerful that it reaches out and pulls you under. Even when the surface is tranquil, you know in your guts what's at stake.
  4. Reviewed by: Emanuel Levy
    90
    A sensitive, intimate, enormously touching drama.
  5. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    88
    The best drama you've seen about Anytown, USA, since "American Beauty."
  6. (Linney and Ruffalo) are just beautiful enough, in fact, to be in the movies and still remain convincing as authentic folk, and their performances are tremendously moving.
  7. Visually flat and uninteresting and too often feels like a (leisurely paced) filmed play.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    This film was so simple in such a perfect sense. The unpretentiousness of the film leads to the deeper greatness that can be overwhelminglyThis film was so simple in such a perfect sense. The unpretentiousness of the film leads to the deeper greatness that can be overwhelmingly emotionally touched by viewers. The love, the warmth, the bond everything about the film was so true that it somehow connects to our lives one way or another. A Beautiful Film. Collapse
  2. JoeW.
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    I know how pretentious this sounds but I liked the religious ambiguity of the movie...Terry's view on life is so well presented and I know how pretentious this sounds but I liked the religious ambiguity of the movie...Terry's view on life is so well presented and rings true of most people I know --especially when he talks to the priest--and the priest is not a foreboding feature either--he's reasonable-- the writing is awesome--ken lonergan's commentary is great! really worth a listen--see this movie! Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    A wonderful tender film that beautifully explores the complex relationship between a brother, sister, and child. Has a small town authenticityA wonderful tender film that beautifully explores the complex relationship between a brother, sister, and child. Has a small town authenticity rarely seen in films, and has left me waiting patiently for over a decade to see Mr. Lonergan's follow up. A streak which will be broken next week when the infamous and anticipated "Margaret" reaches the big screen. Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    You Can Count on Me is one of the best 'slice of life' movies that I have ever seen. Laura Linney is at her usual best, perfectly cast for theYou Can Count on Me is one of the best 'slice of life' movies that I have ever seen. Laura Linney is at her usual best, perfectly cast for the role and Mark Ruffalo, is extraordinarily raw and funny and is key to most of the unforgettable moments in the film. Kenneth Lonergan has written a refreshingly original script and pulled it off exceptionally well despite having two siblings fighting with the vicissitudes of life as the protagonists. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Rarely is it so much fun to watch the interaction of characters on screen - not because their actions are so unbelievable (though they areRarely is it so much fun to watch the interaction of characters on screen - not because their actions are so unbelievable (though they are almost always unpredictable), but more because they are all so grounded in reality and truth. Expand
  6. BKM
    Feb 1, 2012
    8
    A smart, complex and honest look at the ties that bind siblings together for better or worse. Linney and Ruffalo are terrific as a brotherA smart, complex and honest look at the ties that bind siblings together for better or worse. Linney and Ruffalo are terrific as a brother and sister working out their issues and the film is constantly challenging our preconceptions about who these people are and what drives their behaviors. Expand
  7. MarkR.
    Feb 9, 2001
    3
    Average TV-movie drivel that I click past on Lifetime nearly every night. Boring characters, tepid dialogue, unbelievable Average TV-movie drivel that I click past on Lifetime nearly every night. Boring characters, tepid dialogue, unbelievable situations--it's claim to fame is supposedly how real it is, but that don't mean it ain't boring. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Directorial Debuts Since 1990

    Ranked: Best and Worst Directorial Debuts Since 1990 Image
    Published: August 4, 2011
    A pair of new films from first-time directors, "Attack the Block" and "Bellflower," are receiving strong reviews. Where do they rank among the best and worst directorial debuts in recent years? Find out inside.
  2. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.