Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 6, 2008
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 270 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
118
Mixed:
60
Negative:
92
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
bbbabettenJun 5, 2008
So funny and memorable.
5 of 5 users found this helpful
9
MichaelK.Jun 7, 2008
I don't care what anyone says...Apatow has a great formula for success. Of course, the movie is stupid, but what do you really expect? Well, expect to have quite a few belly laughs because Sandler and friends are grossly inappropriate I don't care what anyone says...Apatow has a great formula for success. Of course, the movie is stupid, but what do you really expect? Well, expect to have quite a few belly laughs because Sandler and friends are grossly inappropriate and crude. If you expect smart and witty humor then don't expect this to be a comedic masterpiece because it is not. It is, however, hilarious and that is all I was looking for. I would definitely see it if you want to laugh. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DanMJul 4, 2008
Ok, first off, if you didnt like this movie, go watch Cloverfield, then i guarantee you will give "You Dont Mess With The Zohan" a 7,8, or 9. Enough said.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
BDubOct 9, 2008
This movie is stupid, lets get that out of the way. This is one of those movies where i cringe from some parts of the movie, or just have to simply ask why they included some of the rediculous parts. But if you are the type that can look This movie is stupid, lets get that out of the way. This is one of those movies where i cringe from some parts of the movie, or just have to simply ask why they included some of the rediculous parts. But if you are the type that can look past the moments of stupidity and not let that effect you from finding the other parts funny then you should enjoy this. Grandmas Boy, Zoolander, Anchorman, and Harold and Kumar go to White Castle. That is the level of humor we are dealing with. I was laughing so hard at some parts that i could overlook the stupid. I don't think that the racial humor between the jewish and lebanese was that bad, and interesting because i've never seen it before depicted on screen. The dancing celebrations that lebanese break out in are pretty hilarious. Don't pay attention to those that don't read reviews before seeing movies or don't know what to expect going in. Because if you are reading this you aren't like them anyways. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BenK.Jun 6, 2008
This is not only a hilarious film, it is a brave attempt at finding comedy on current issues. Being Jewish myself, I laughed hysterically at all the Israeli and Jewish jokes, and thought that apart from too many crotch and Hummus jokes, it This is not only a hilarious film, it is a brave attempt at finding comedy on current issues. Being Jewish myself, I laughed hysterically at all the Israeli and Jewish jokes, and thought that apart from too many crotch and Hummus jokes, it was an outstanding comedy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MikeNJun 8, 2008
Went with a group of friends and didn't really expect much; but I laughed the whole way through. The movie is so over the top and filled with one WTF moment after the next. The plot is just there to provide the jokes. I'm not a big Went with a group of friends and didn't really expect much; but I laughed the whole way through. The movie is so over the top and filled with one WTF moment after the next. The plot is just there to provide the jokes. I'm not a big Sandler fan, but I found this movie to be pretty funny. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JacobL.Jul 6, 2008
You Don't Mess with The Zohan is perhaps one of the funniest movies you'll ever see this summer. However, be warned there are a lot of sex jokes, along with some other inappropriate humor. If you are under 18 I suggest you look You Don't Mess with The Zohan is perhaps one of the funniest movies you'll ever see this summer. However, be warned there are a lot of sex jokes, along with some other inappropriate humor. If you are under 18 I suggest you look away from the screen at certain points like I did. Trust me. Despite all the inappropriate humor and some jokes I did not quite get, the real humor comes from the way Zohan talks. All and all You Don't Mess with a Zohan is a great movie and I wouldn't like it any other way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MikeU.nJun 15, 2008
As a comedy, "you don't mess with the zohan" is, for the most part, funny. Although a few good jokes were already in the trailer, it still manages to be hilarious. There are constant chuckles here and there, as well as a few moments As a comedy, "you don't mess with the zohan" is, for the most part, funny. Although a few good jokes were already in the trailer, it still manages to be hilarious. There are constant chuckles here and there, as well as a few moments that really make you laugh out loud. In addition, the plot is quite interesting and it fits in with the comedy rather nicely. I also think the acting was generally good, although some people may have trouble listening to the accents. However, there are also a few cons, One being that the ending was confusing and short. Also, even though it was funny, I can't help but notice that they could have put a little bit more jokes in or make them more funny. In conclusion, Zohan is great if you're looking for some quick laughs. At the end of the day, Zohan is a winner, and likely to be one of the best comedies of the year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
HaruhiS.Jun 19, 2008
I certainly didn't expect a movie like Don't Mess With the Zohan. It was funny, and enjoyable. I didn't know what to expect before watching the movie because I didn't know anything about it. When my friend told me that it I certainly didn't expect a movie like Don't Mess With the Zohan. It was funny, and enjoyable. I didn't know what to expect before watching the movie because I didn't know anything about it. When my friend told me that it would be good, I decided to give it a chance. I'm glad I did. The humor might not please all audiences. It is sexual humor meaning middle schoolers will be instantly disgusted, while high school and college students will have a good laugh. Go watch it, you won't regret it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jun 7, 2008
For a comedy, this movie was largely entertaining. If you enjoy laughing what-so-ever, this movie will do it for you. Do yourself a favor and watch this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JE.Jul 2, 2008
Come on--political over the top satire is funny.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
NikkoC.Jul 9, 2008
Please Lindsey, stop being an earnest, humourless embarrassment to American woman. The ultimate subversion IS humour, not your boring, pious, I-am-a-martyr, super-sensitive political correctness. The people you worry will be offended will Please Lindsey, stop being an earnest, humourless embarrassment to American woman. The ultimate subversion IS humour, not your boring, pious, I-am-a-martyr, super-sensitive political correctness. The people you worry will be offended will not see this film b/c they have no sense of humour and b/c they like to complain and preach hate - much like yourself. The worst movie you have ever seen!? Um, Bio-dome? Battlefield Earth? No, Zohan. Yeah, whatever. Try a little more humour and a little less embellishment specifically used to try and reinforce your views on events like 9/11 which were joke material - whether you like it or not - three years ago. If they aren't, then the perpetrators have won b/c your spirit is not the kind worth saving. Stop choking up metacritic with your total BS. ta, ta. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AbdallahA.Sep 7, 2008
It's really funny how the Arab-Israeli conflict is portrayed. Has a message and made me laugh.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JuicyTOct 2, 2008
I agree with Nikko. Yes, Zohan pushes the PG-13 rating and maybe some younger audiences shouldn't be allowed to see it, that's the one part Lindsey is right about. However, this movie is vulgar, but it's not offensive to our I agree with Nikko. Yes, Zohan pushes the PG-13 rating and maybe some younger audiences shouldn't be allowed to see it, that's the one part Lindsey is right about. However, this movie is vulgar, but it's not offensive to our nation, nor does it make references to 9-11, the only thing i can draw from it is that he was an ex-terrorist who wanted to style hair. I also think it brings satisfaction and laughs to Americans when they see terrorists being depicted as bumbling idiots rather than ruthless killers. So if you thought this movie was offensive, watch "postal", it makes "zohan" look like The Lion King. P.S. how many movies HAVE you seen? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BatmanC.Jun 13, 2008
Fun movie...yes!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SteveJun 14, 2008
This movie is hilarious if you are in the right mood when you go to see it. It is very entertaining and has some good jokes, but it it still utterly stupid at some points. Only go to see this if you are in the mood for a ridiculous, over the This movie is hilarious if you are in the right mood when you go to see it. It is very entertaining and has some good jokes, but it it still utterly stupid at some points. Only go to see this if you are in the mood for a ridiculous, over the top, hilarious movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
TravisS.Jul 8, 2008
I must say I laugh a more then I have in a wile. He sure does bang a lot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JonBAug 3, 2008
Cheesy lines, sexual puns, and satire. Descent movie overall, though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
mauriciol.Sep 26, 2008
this movie was great, i laughed alot and really enjoyed it , the zohan is crasy and loves old women
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GinnyOct 17, 2008
Somehow it's mezmorizingly stupid...yet funny.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattTDec 7, 2008
Love It. This is a great movie, full of giggles, in earlier reviews it was described as a ''Teen Movie'' ,well, im a teen, and I loved it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NemoM.Jun 13, 2008
Hilarious, witty, and intelligent, this movie rocked me and moved me off of my seat, and celebrating for joyous happiness.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GeraldoK.Nov 21, 2008
I absoulutely loved this movie. One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. It even got my DAD to laugh. Adam Sandler knows how to make a movie and how to be funny in one.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TheQuietGamerJun 12, 2012
One of the most bizarre Sandler movies yet, honestly it doesn't even feel like Sandler movie most of the time so this may be enjoyed by people who don't typically enjoy his work. One thing is for sure however and that is that this movie isOne of the most bizarre Sandler movies yet, honestly it doesn't even feel like Sandler movie most of the time so this may be enjoyed by people who don't typically enjoy his work. One thing is for sure however and that is that this movie is hilarious, and has good intentions. This movie is incredibly over the top and at times completely gonzo, and that's what makes it so enjoyable, and The Zohan is now one of my new favorite Adam Sandler characters. It's truly a hilarious movie that in no way should be viewed by younger audiences as it's also, I guess you could say, one of the more raunchy movies from Happy Madison and Sandler. but for older audiences I definitely recommend. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Jul 10, 2012
This movie was awesome! Great over the top ridiculousness but in a thoughtful way. This is my favorite Adam sander movie. Its great from start to finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TECfilmsNov 1, 2012
Really funny comedy, with laughing fits guaranteed. Adam Sandler as Isreali super soldier and sexual hairdresser and John Torturro as villain and friend at the same time appear with unbelievable action mixed with awesome laughs. WorthReally funny comedy, with laughing fits guaranteed. Adam Sandler as Isreali super soldier and sexual hairdresser and John Torturro as villain and friend at the same time appear with unbelievable action mixed with awesome laughs. Worth watching and at any rate better than another of the uncountable amount of romantic comedies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
This one is different from the rest of the Sandler slapsticks, because here, he's putting forth everything he has to make his character utterly hilarious.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
L34DJan 2, 2013
One of the funniest movies i ever seen! Great acting from Adam Sandler. The jokes are quiet nice and not such standard thing like in other funny movies. 2h of great comedy stuff.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
prituMay 13, 2013
stupidity at it's best,if u wanna prove U r clasy by dislikn dis stupid mastrpc..U lack stupid depth lol..john turturro as phatush is quite remarkable n adam O stupid adam only U n only U r funny widout a funny bone ha ha
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
PvtJacksonJun 28, 2014
I have no idea why critics rate this movie so low, because it is actually very good. Since it's a comedy, and we see a lot of funny moments during this nearly 2-hour long movie thanks to Sandler's commitment to his character, were i a filmI have no idea why critics rate this movie so low, because it is actually very good. Since it's a comedy, and we see a lot of funny moments during this nearly 2-hour long movie thanks to Sandler's commitment to his character, were i a film critic i would certainly grade "You Don't Mess with the Zohan" somewhere between 60 and 64 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
bladeagentMar 2, 2014
Dennis Dugan and Adam Sandler have worked together several times before in the past, however they've never made a movie quite as funny as this! Definitely one of Sandler's best films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
youlouzJan 20, 2015
This one of there most funny movies I have ever seen! From start to finish it has been hilarious and entertaining! This movie is easily worth watching!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MEFzelderMay 25, 2016
"Don't Mess With The Zohan" no es una película para todo el mundo, su humor es muy exagerado y sexual, aún más que antiguas películas de Adam Sandler. La comedia funciona bastante y el mensaje esta un poco perdido porque puede llegar a ser"Don't Mess With The Zohan" no es una película para todo el mundo, su humor es muy exagerado y sexual, aún más que antiguas películas de Adam Sandler. La comedia funciona bastante y el mensaje esta un poco perdido porque puede llegar a ser insensiblemente racial pero a mi gusto eso sirve para calificarla como buena.
Zohan Dvir es el mejor soldado del ejercito Israelí, siendo tan bueno en lo que hace que él solo es un ejercito de un solo hombre, pero a pesar de ser tan increíble y ser aclamado por su gente por su eficacia contra los Palestinos sus deseos son otros, ser peluquero. Sueño por el cual escapa a Estados Unidos y con esfuerzo busca obtener su empleo añorado.
En general la película tiene un ritmo bastante frenético que se acopla bien al humor que Sandler aplica en su papel de Zohan La relación amorosa de la película es aceptable, no se siente que haya una conexión entre los personajes pero tampoco es forzada.
"Don't Mess With The Zohan" es una buena película, pero la audiencia que la disfrutaría no es muy numerosa, es para quien quiere divertirse y puede aceptar una serie de bromas adultas, hay un poco de romance y algo de acción pero sin ser tanto como para perder el foco de la comedia.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DavidS.Jan 31, 2009
This has to be one of funniest movies i've seen in a long time. Adam Sandler might be a little bit over the top in some movies. But this entire movie is just over the top, and really takes up some issues that is usually taboo. The movie This has to be one of funniest movies i've seen in a long time. Adam Sandler might be a little bit over the top in some movies. But this entire movie is just over the top, and really takes up some issues that is usually taboo. The movie does contain alot of sex, no actual nudity no wories. I think that is the reason for the bad reviews could unfortunetly also be that some people simple don't like jews. If anyone think that this movie is purely pro-Israeli probaganda think again, hard to say more without spoiling it. The movie is great, creative and well made with a budget of over 90 Million dollars. If you have just some crude humour element in you this movie is a must see. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
RobbH.Jun 29, 2008
This was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. My face hurt from laughing for two hours. I follow Israel closely, so I probably get and appreciate the humor here more than those who don't know a lot about Israel. But judging This was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. My face hurt from laughing for two hours. I follow Israel closely, so I probably get and appreciate the humor here more than those who don't know a lot about Israel. But judging from those in the theater, everyone was laughing pretty hard. Enjoy. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
YouarewrongDecDec 31, 2010
Only the best film ever. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

________________________________________________________________________________
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
JunedAliJun 16, 2009
Exceptional movie, i enjoyed everything.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
BárbaraEMay 16, 2009
Made me laugh out loud during the entire movie, which is no small feat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanM.Jun 13, 2008
The funniest movie since Happy Gilmore, probably of the decade. Take that critics! I mean....haters!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IndianaJonesJun 13, 2008
Adam Sandler is a comic genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jun 13, 2008
Hysterical! It's much more like Adam Sandler's earlier comedy so fans of Happy Gilmour and Billy Madison are going to be pleased. I was laughing from almost the moment it started until the ending credits rolled. It's stupid, Hysterical! It's much more like Adam Sandler's earlier comedy so fans of Happy Gilmour and Billy Madison are going to be pleased. I was laughing from almost the moment it started until the ending credits rolled. It's stupid, it's wonderful, it's hilarious! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichardW.Jun 22, 2008
Hysteria tempered by redundancy and cinematic penis envy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AMovieCriticJun 22, 2008
Actually a very funny movie with very funny performances and a good message. Among Sandler's funniest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful