Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 14, 2006
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 213 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
175
Mixed:
21
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
Resist4GodMar 30, 2014
This is the best movie I have seen in a long time. I cannot believe how low the ratings are for this movies, it is astonishing. This movie presents Owen Wilson at his finest, it's got laughs, romance, drama, and action: all of the recipes forThis is the best movie I have seen in a long time. I cannot believe how low the ratings are for this movies, it is astonishing. This movie presents Owen Wilson at his finest, it's got laughs, romance, drama, and action: all of the recipes for an amazing movie, but it takes it a step further. The chemistry between characters is wonderful and hilarious at the same time, and the movie is definitely relatable to anyone who has seen how a jealous father acts. It's funny and action packed from start to finish, and I feel that everyone should give it a watch. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SusanM.Jul 17, 2006
Best movie I have seen so far this summer, it is absolutely hilarious and I would see it again in a heartbeat! Owen Wilson is so funny, and the chemistry between all the characters is great. Best ending since the 40 year old virgin!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoelTAug 8, 2006
Loved it! Very funny.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MichelleC.Jul 12, 2006
This movie has an awesome cast and delivered quite a few laughs. There is, however, nothing new about it. The story has been told many times before. Worth your time on video or if you really like the cast.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GaryM.Jul 15, 2006
Not doing anything? Bored to death? Want to watch a (new) movie, but you've seen them all? THEN, watch this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Rev.RikardJul 24, 2006
A riot! Hilarious! Some people don't know good humor when they see it, but I really enjoyed this one. Wonderful!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AmberK.Aug 3, 2006
Now I don't really think it deserves a 10..maybe a 8 and a half or 9. But it was Really funny! It deffinitely kept me laughing, and it was interesting. I liked it veryy much.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JakeB.Aug 9, 2006
'You Me and Dupree', the new comedy starring the Texas charmer Owen Wilson, represents two of the breeziest hours in film this year. Quirky and funny 'You Me and Dupree' might be a film likely to catch you by surprise. It 'You Me and Dupree', the new comedy starring the Texas charmer Owen Wilson, represents two of the breeziest hours in film this year. Quirky and funny 'You Me and Dupree' might be a film likely to catch you by surprise. It involves two newlyweds (Dillon and Hudson) and their oafish house guest Dupree (Wilson), who is turning their new world upside down. I can't tell you what makes 'Dupree' tick so well, but something does. As far as plotting nothing seemed to be "filler" to me. Everything seems to drive the plot forward. Though it might just be "going through the paces" the film makes those paces as quick and lively as possible. Performance wise, Wilson brings the right amount of charm needed for us to accept Dupree. Dillon and Hudson are solid in thankless roles. And Douglas creates a good supporting character of Hudson's father and Dillon's boss. I'd also like to point out the effortless comedic flow of 'The 40 Year Old Virgin' 's Seth Rogen also seen here. In closing, 'Dupree' represents some very breezy summer fun in the air conditioned comfort of a theater. Overall: B Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MiguelG.Sep 15, 2006
I laughed a lot seeing this film eventhough it is childish and predictable. I must admit I find Owen Wilson funny, and have enjoyed all his recent movies
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MaxS.Nov 27, 2006
I haven't laughed this hard in a long time and there are some scenes in this movie that still make me giggle when I am not doing anything. Owen Wilson makes this movie and I was surprised it was as entertaining as it was.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MovieG.Jul 22, 2006
Who DOESN'T know a guy like Dupree?! If you're in the mood for a cute, funny movie with lots of laughs, check this one out!! Owen Wilson is hilarious and Kate Hudson is lovable as always!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
EnanAug 23, 2010
Me, You and Dupree had too much potential. The genuinity of the film's concept actually prompted its own downfall. The trailer snagged me early spring; having everything to do with Hudson and Wilson. The idea proved especially poignant afterMe, You and Dupree had too much potential. The genuinity of the film's concept actually prompted its own downfall. The trailer snagged me early spring; having everything to do with Hudson and Wilson. The idea proved especially poignant after a near two week stint, of my own, in a friends spare room. The circumstances of both Dupree and my own living circumstances were sickly similar. Movies just sometimes come out around the perfect time in your own life.

First time writer Mike LeSieur must have dealt with a similar nomadic friend to prompt such a likable device for a film. A more likely scenario might be that LeSieur was a nomad himself. Writers, though keen to point out truths, are restricted by their own experience. LeSieur saw something grand in what it means to float, but in the end, relied on Owen Wilsons tried and true interpretation skills to bring any substance to Dupree. Wilson fleshed out somewhat of a character in a script laden with skeletal characterization. The ideas were solid, but storytelling is more than initial concept.

Owen Wilson was a producer on the film. Turning out to be more of a business man than I, or even Wes Anderson might have imagined, Wilson has manifested his own path to success. His best films are the Anderson compilations, and outside of those I can only truly commend him for Minus Man, Zoolander, and Meet the Parents. I cant help but appreciate Wilson, but I am getting distracted by his motives of late. There is the off chance he is diabolically exploiting his own pigeonhole to get the power to present himself with more diverse roles. Yet, by producing the film, it seems Wilson defies any altruist hypothetical.

Me, You and Dupree had moments. The soundtrack was great(Blind Melon/Coldplay), the career day pep talk by Wilson was a gem, and Seth Rogen turned in another scene stealing performance. Having been so enraptured by the characters of Wilson(Bottle Rocket, Royal Tenenbaums, Life Aquatic), Dillon(Drugstore Cowboy, Wild Things, Crash), Douglas(Game, Falling Down, Traffic) and even Hudson(Almost Famous) in the past, I couldnt buy into their hollow nature here. I was grateful when the film had ended, but cursed knowing Id have wanted another hour were it done right.

Interestingly, the director had worked on a handful of episodes of Arrested Development. For the very reason that show worked, this film does not. The off the wall antics of Arrested Development could not sustain a theater going audience. With such derivative scripting, Me You and Dupree couldnt get us to care enough. Feeling detached in a 22 minute sitcom is appropriate, but when devoting over 100 minutes certain expectations must be met.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Lambo442Jan 3, 2015
I don't get the low scores on this one. Owen Wilson is on top form and some of the scenes are hilarious. The whole idea of your nightmare of a friend moving into your marital home and wrecking your marriage is really great. It may not standI don't get the low scores on this one. Owen Wilson is on top form and some of the scenes are hilarious. The whole idea of your nightmare of a friend moving into your marital home and wrecking your marriage is really great. It may not stand the tests of time but I've seen it a couple of times now and watching Matt Dillon's reactions at some points are priceless.

It's a shame to think of what happened to Owen Wilson afterwards though. Kate Hudson really did a umber on him and broke his hard. The guy was close to ending it. I can see why. She's smoking in this film
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
AndyMar 1, 2007
Most pornos have better laughs and storylines.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DanA.Jan 11, 2007
I wasted 4.99 on paying for this on PPV. It's a good thing I didn't actually buy it cause it's complete crap. All Owen Wilson does is piss you off 90% of the movie and somhow the newlyweds just dismiss all the previous mayhem I wasted 4.99 on paying for this on PPV. It's a good thing I didn't actually buy it cause it's complete crap. All Owen Wilson does is piss you off 90% of the movie and somhow the newlyweds just dismiss all the previous mayhem he has caused and "live happily ever after" well if that was me, Owen would have been kicked out in the first 25 minutes of the movie, and the romatic comedy part really ruined it. Some good humor here and there but not much (the final blow out was the most "funny" part of the movie and maybe the flaming butter couch). Owen Wilson really needs to change his agent to get into BETTER CASTING and definately READ the script and KNOW when its a CRAP movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ChrisW.Feb 2, 2007
There's only one good thing about this movie... Kate Hudson. She looks smokin'! Other than that, the movie is unwatchable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RobertxxxxOct 9, 2006
Did anyone make it past the 15 minute mark before heading for fresh air? Stinkero...
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
PaulK.Jul 11, 2006
There are definitely some laughs here, but the story gets bogged down in cliches. Tighter editing and better casting would have been a good starting point. Check this out on video, if you must.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
FredG.Jul 14, 2006
A few hearty laughs meld this disjointed comedy. It's not a bad movie, but it's just not that good either. There are some very good undertones and some witty dialogue between Wilson and Dillon.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MarkB.Jul 22, 2006
Comedies about the Houseguest From Hell (aka The Thing That Wouldn't Leave) are notoriously difficult to pull off, largely because one tends to sympathize too much with the beleaguered captive hosts to find their inability to unload the Comedies about the Houseguest From Hell (aka The Thing That Wouldn't Leave) are notoriously difficult to pull off, largely because one tends to sympathize too much with the beleaguered captive hosts to find their inability to unload the obnoxious, overbearing jerks who've taken up permanent residence too terribly funny. That's why I never much enjoyed The Man Who Came To Dinner, although What About Bob? tweaked the formula perfectly: the psychiatrist/author played by Richard Dreyfuss was such an unlikable, self-centered prig that it was a real pleasure watching childlike neurotic Bill Murray innocently torture him. My reservations about this subgenre, however, are no excuse or explanation for why the latest example of it is so astonishingly, jaw-droppingly inept on nearly every possible level. Newlyweds Carl and Molly (Matt Dillon, Kate Hudson) take in Carl's recently unemployed, mega-slacker buddy Dupree (Owen Wilson); since the two guys have been best buds for 25 years, Carl's apparently complete naivete about Dupree's triple-digit bad habits and total lack of consideration for his hosts (or the possibility that Carl knew all about them but still subjects his wife to Dupree anyway) seems to indicate a marriage whose lifespan is doomed to make that of Britney Spears and Jason Allen Alexander look like Paul Newman's and Joanne Woodward's by comparison. Mark Twain, in a hilarious essay, excoriated James Fenimore Cooper for blatant character inconsistencies in his most famous character, frontiersman Natty Bumppo, pointing out that Cooper had Bumppo talking like a British nobleman in one chapter in one chapter and an illiterate field hand the next. Twain would have a field day with this script! The three major characters arbitrarily change personalities and qualities for no other reason than to allow the screenwriter to sledgehammer his logistical giant round pegs through a seemingly endless number of square holes: Carl shifts from loving husband to inconsiderate workaholic to near-psycho; Molly from understandably detesting Dupree to becoming his closest confidant; Dupree himself from infantile, self-absorbed creep to naueseatingly beatific New Age Leo Buscaglia clone with no logic, apparent pattern or satiric intent. It's no surprise that directors Anthony and Joe Russo were involved with TV's Arrested Development because this movie looks like eight different sitcom scripts by eight different writers randomly shuffled and run through a shredder. (Hmmm, not a bad idea, actually.) Gags so deadeningly predictable as to possibly make this movie the subject of a drinking game once it hits DVD (although participants shouldn't even TRY to walk home much less drive afterward) and a singularly pointless climactric chase scene in and of themselves wouldn't relegate You, Me & Dupree to its own unique, fetid little circle of Movie Hell, but the moviemakers' truly puzzling, apparent hatred and fear of women (or at the very least, their absolute refusal to try to understand them) is more than enough to do the job. Not only do the Russos not even bother to show us the school librarian that Molly, in one of the film's too-numerous-to-enumarate improbabilities, fixes Dupree up with, but the character is disparagingly referred to BY HER FRIEND MOLLY as a "slut"; Annie, the wife of Carl's second-best friend Neil (Seth Rogen, who was wonderful in The 40-Year-Old Virgin, and totally wasted here) is ALSO never seen but is depicted as a shrill, nagging harpy who's a PSA for permanent bachelorhood. (Poor Amanda Detmer!) And in keeping with the general pattern, I guess, even though we see plenty of Carl's manipulative boss and father-in-law (Michael Douglas), we never get to see Molly's mom--didn't she even bother to show up at the wedding?!? Of the leads, Hudson at least manages a few wry facial expressions that make her performance this movie's closest thing to passable; Dillon, who so brilliantly navigated the inherent contradictions of his racist-with-reasons cop in last year's Crash, is totally defeated here; and Douglas, between this and 2006's earlier The Sentinel, seems to be throwing in the towel completely. Worst of all is Wilson as the sock-abusing Dupree; what this movie would describe as his essential "Owen-ness" is nothing more than evidence that he's a one-trick pony who's getting more and more tiresome in movie after movie. For every Wedding crashers, where clever writing and fresh direction are temporary diversionary factors (or Cars, which allows Wilson to depart from the formula entirely) there are three or four Starsky and Hutches, Big Bounces or You, Me & Duprees to reveal how shopworn his bliseed-out stoner act has gotten. Wilson truly is becoming a very annoying houseguest, and he's definitely overstayed his welcome. Time to polish up the act...or start packing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DouglasH.Jan 13, 2007
Owen Wilson is very annoying in this movie. The movie is only good for one or two laughs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
IsaacB.Oct 24, 2007
I really wanted to laugh, and I had hopes at the start of the movie since "Wedding Crashers" was so good... but this is the worst movie that Owen Wilson has even made, and Owen Wilson is a great comedian. I never laughed, and that's odd I really wanted to laugh, and I had hopes at the start of the movie since "Wedding Crashers" was so good... but this is the worst movie that Owen Wilson has even made, and Owen Wilson is a great comedian. I never laughed, and that's odd considering I like pretty much every American comedy ever made, including those of Mel Brooks, Woody Allen, Adam Sandler and his bunch, Will Ferrell and his bunch, and Ben Stiller and the Frat Pack, which includes Owen Wilson. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JeffS.Nov 22, 2006
Mediocre comedy, at best. I really wanted to like the movie, but, when it ended, I felt a little let down. I think the potential is there for a good flick, and I really like the members of the cast, but the comedy is a little few and far Mediocre comedy, at best. I really wanted to like the movie, but, when it ended, I felt a little let down. I think the potential is there for a good flick, and I really like the members of the cast, but the comedy is a little few and far between. The film began to drag on, for me at least, a little past the half-way point. It seemed as though the film-makers tried to add a 'feel-good' / romantic comedy aspect to the movie, but I was never drawn into that story. Perhaps it was a chemistry issue between Dillon and Hudson, or perhaps it was that I never really sympathized with the two characters, but it succeeded as a 'buddy flick' much more than a 'romantic comedy', which was disappointing considering my liking of Hudson. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
EliC.Nov 30, 2006
Watched this while trapped on a trans-Atlantic flight. Only think it has going for it is that it made the time pass.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BrentR.Jul 18, 2006
What a dumb movie! Who made this crap! I would have to say this movie wins the award for worst screenplay of the year. It's an absolute disaster. I enjoyed Kate Hudson and Matt Dillon together, but Owen Wilson, ugh! And I can't What a dumb movie! Who made this crap! I would have to say this movie wins the award for worst screenplay of the year. It's an absolute disaster. I enjoyed Kate Hudson and Matt Dillon together, but Owen Wilson, ugh! And I can't even talk about how awful Michael Douglas is. Skip this mess of a movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
jp992751Jan 25, 2011
A plot that is so overplayed and a movie that really shouldn't have been very good made better by the likable Owen Wilson. You, Me and Dupree shouldn't have been a good movie, the plot is over-used, and the situations were so extreme it wasA plot that is so overplayed and a movie that really shouldn't have been very good made better by the likable Owen Wilson. You, Me and Dupree shouldn't have been a good movie, the plot is over-used, and the situations were so extreme it was almost not even believable, but Owen Wilson brings a charisma to the screen that allows you to enjoy the movie even when in the back of your mind you are wondering why you are watching something so worn out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Only sparingly funny, and emotionally forced, this movie in the end finds itself wallowing within the realm of predictability.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
JamesT.Dec 23, 2006
This pretty much the defiinition of mediocre comedy. If you like to laugh at thoughtful comedy with a good punchline or meaning don't look here, but if you like basic comedic situations based around a somewhat dragging pace then this is This pretty much the defiinition of mediocre comedy. If you like to laugh at thoughtful comedy with a good punchline or meaning don't look here, but if you like basic comedic situations based around a somewhat dragging pace then this is for your. Overall mediocre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Meth-dudeOct 24, 2016
The movie was funny, entertaining, interesting and well acted. Owen Wilson did a very good job as Dupree. It might not always be believable, it was sometimes predictable and the movie was pretty cliché, but it's still a very good comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JSpice50Jul 20, 2016
I thought was gonna be a great movie,due to the directors(Anthony and Joe Russo)making amazing movies nowadays,while I didn't get that exactly,I did get an above average movie that feels more like a drama than a comedy.

PROS: *Owen Wilson
I thought was gonna be a great movie,due to the directors(Anthony and Joe Russo)making amazing movies nowadays,while I didn't get that exactly,I did get an above average movie that feels more like a drama than a comedy.

PROS:
*Owen Wilson
*The characters have actual chemistry
*Owen Wilson's speech
*Feels realistic

CONS:
*None of the jokes are that funny(besides the bike scene)
*Cliche
*Predictable
*Goes on for way too long
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews