Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 14, 2006
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 214 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
175
Mixed:
22
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
PaulK.Jul 11, 2006
There are definitely some laughs here, but the story gets bogged down in cliches. Tighter editing and better casting would have been a good starting point. Check this out on video, if you must.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
FredG.Jul 14, 2006
A few hearty laughs meld this disjointed comedy. It's not a bad movie, but it's just not that good either. There are some very good undertones and some witty dialogue between Wilson and Dillon.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JeffS.Nov 22, 2006
Mediocre comedy, at best. I really wanted to like the movie, but, when it ended, I felt a little let down. I think the potential is there for a good flick, and I really like the members of the cast, but the comedy is a little few and far Mediocre comedy, at best. I really wanted to like the movie, but, when it ended, I felt a little let down. I think the potential is there for a good flick, and I really like the members of the cast, but the comedy is a little few and far between. The film began to drag on, for me at least, a little past the half-way point. It seemed as though the film-makers tried to add a 'feel-good' / romantic comedy aspect to the movie, but I was never drawn into that story. Perhaps it was a chemistry issue between Dillon and Hudson, or perhaps it was that I never really sympathized with the two characters, but it succeeded as a 'buddy flick' much more than a 'romantic comedy', which was disappointing considering my liking of Hudson. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
EliC.Nov 30, 2006
Watched this while trapped on a trans-Atlantic flight. Only think it has going for it is that it made the time pass.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
jp992751Jan 25, 2011
A plot that is so overplayed and a movie that really shouldn't have been very good made better by the likable Owen Wilson. You, Me and Dupree shouldn't have been a good movie, the plot is over-used, and the situations were so extreme it wasA plot that is so overplayed and a movie that really shouldn't have been very good made better by the likable Owen Wilson. You, Me and Dupree shouldn't have been a good movie, the plot is over-used, and the situations were so extreme it was almost not even believable, but Owen Wilson brings a charisma to the screen that allows you to enjoy the movie even when in the back of your mind you are wondering why you are watching something so worn out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Only sparingly funny, and emotionally forced, this movie in the end finds itself wallowing within the realm of predictability.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
JamesT.Dec 23, 2006
This pretty much the defiinition of mediocre comedy. If you like to laugh at thoughtful comedy with a good punchline or meaning don't look here, but if you like basic comedic situations based around a somewhat dragging pace then this is This pretty much the defiinition of mediocre comedy. If you like to laugh at thoughtful comedy with a good punchline or meaning don't look here, but if you like basic comedic situations based around a somewhat dragging pace then this is for your. Overall mediocre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful