User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 152

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    charlize theron is the reason of me to watching this movie. she is rare beauty in hollywood without make ups or lighting effect. story and acting is suprisingly good and even though plot is not lengthy or clever, this movie made me think about what a life is.
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    user score 6.2?? Seriously??
    This movie deserves 8/10 at least. I loved it. The screenplay is great and Charlize Theron is amazing as the ''psychotic prom queen **** Mavis Gary. The movie is a smart, original, cynical and funny dark comedy. 10/10.
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    At first I felt bored, because it is a drama style of movie and it doesn't include action or comical situations or anything else that would be interesting for audience. But it has an amazing real life story, which is sad. You realise how difficult is to find your true love and how you would fight for it. The main character is doing a huge mistake if we judge her on ethical terms, but she was just trying to be happy in her life. At the end she realised that she had been doing a mistake. This movie is also interesting because it shows us how we judge people by their appearance. Expand
  4. May 28, 2012
    9
    Young Adult is a darkly humorous look into the life of Mavis Gary, the author of a once-bestselling series of YA novels. Upon learning that her high school sweetheart is happily married, she determinedly sets out to steal him back. Having enjoyed popularity in high school and fleeting fame in the subsequent years, Mavis has become self-centered and spoiled. The diction of her current novel, which doubles as the film's narration, offers an often hilarious glimpse at how she views herself, her past, and her current situation. This is a deeply disturbed character, but an endlessly fascinating one as well. Directed by Jason Reitman from a script by Diablo Cody, Young Adult is expertly handled. Reitman's heroes all have an abundance of confidence with films to match, and perhaps here, he has found the best combination. Cody's dialogue is concise and well written, lacking the all-too-knowing-ness of her previous work. Though occasionally the typical teen vernacular works its way into the movie, Cody makes good use of it. Charlize Theron is excellent as Mavis, in a simultaneously hilarious and horrifying role. Patrick Wilson does well as the high school sweetheart, who is indeed happily married but reluctant to be cruel. Patton Oswalt proves a surprisingly good choice to play Matt, a logical and sane counterpoint to Mavis's delusions. The film's success is dependent upon the performances; with less capable leads, it would sink under some of the weightier material. As things are Young Adult is an excellent character study with some wonderfully poignant moments. It may be too bleak for some and too caustic for others, but if you enjoy scathing humor and subtle wit, Young Adult is your kind of movie. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    A brilliant as much as realistic depiction of modern society's fears and psychosis, especially for this part of the populace that had grown up in idyllic nineties. Sharp and cynic throughout, with a fantastic performance from Charlize Theron, one of the better actresses of her era, the film hasn't really a dull moment. It portraits the disillusion, to the point of madness of the previous generation and scorns what we know as beautiful people, without losing touch with its comic side. It is scary realistic at times and I could really see myself in many moments of the film. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    This is the best movie of the year. Charlize Theron deserves an oscar for her performance. A funny and very sad story that is engaging to the last minute.
  7. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    OMG! This is a new classic, and why is the reason? Is fantastic, have much interesting stories, with an excellent cast, the rhytm is great. Young Adult is not the best film of Jason, but is interesting, and funny.
  8. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Young Adult touches so close to home for me, not being able to let go. One can't help but to ponder and contemplate the supposedly glorious days of the past and reflect on our past mistakes, on what could've been and what should've been. The opportunity that we're given now in the present is all that matters. The past is in the past, we just have to pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off and get ready for what lies ahead. Our best years are still ahead of us, it's time to look into the future, start a new chapter. Life, here I come. Expand
  9. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    This film does not offer a clean-cut ending. You're left wondering whether Theron learned an important lesson or whether she's receding into the delusional life-style of the urban dream. It's certainly not a film that will appeal to the blockbuster crowd. HOWEVER, the acting is exceptional and the story is compelling. The character's motives are ambiguous, and intentionally so. Diablo Cody has clearly graduated from Juno to a subtler level of film-making that a sympathetic (albeit perhaps pretentious?) crowd will appreciate. If you saw Hugo and absolutely loved it, this film is a perfect counterpart to take you back down to earth. Expand
  10. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    A week has gone by since I have seen Young Adult and I still can't get this movie out of my head. Charlize Theron gives unarguably one of the best performances of the year that deserves Oscar attention. Patton Oswalt is superb in a supporting role but is a long-shot in a crowded field of veterans vying for a supporting Oscar nom. This is Reitman and Cody's most refined and mature piece of work, and I for one would like to see them work together more often. Theron gives such a savagely sad and at times **** performance that you can't believe this train wreck is unfolding in front of you, yet it's almost impossible to look away. She makes Mavis sympathetic and relatable and each scene is set up and executed in a delicate and realistic manner. The front-lawn scene is what makes the film, in my opinion and Theron NAILS it. Young Adult has all the makings to becoming a cult classic and I for one am thrilled about it. Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    An all-too-real look into the life of a young adult struggling to find purpose and stimulation. This film is appropriately uncomfortable at times, as Charlize's character is so tragically beautiful as she not only lacks confidence but also direction. A very relatable film that is capable of giving proper perspective to the viewers who are brave enough to see a bit of themselves in the main character. Expand
  12. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    I've never been too good with names. The cellar door was open, I could never stay away. I know it's prob'ly not my place. It's either or, I'm hoping for a simple way to say. It's a shame about Ray. In the stone, under the dust, his name is still engraved. Some things need to go away. It's a shame about Ray. If I make it through today, I'll know tomorrow not to leave my feelings out on display.
    I'll put the cobwebs back in place.
    I've never been too good with names,
    but I remember faces.
    Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Jan 30, 2012
    80
    Smart, honest, sickeningly funny and supremely well judged in the writing, direction and acting.
  2. 30
    The movie spreads bad vibes like a virus.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 16, 2011
    88
    Clear-eyed, fearless and ferociously funny, Young Adult is mature filmmaking.