User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 156
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 11, 2012
    5
    After colorful Juno and very enjoyable Up in the Air, Young Adult seems to be too grim to really like it. Sometimes it's comedy, sometimes it's drama, sometimes artistic and sometimes not. The movie is honest and Charlize Theron does her best, but it is not enough - the result is an unexciting production which leaves the viewer indifferent.
  2. Apr 8, 2012
    5
    Not exactly what I thought I was in store for. The movie played on unsympathetically. There was no room for cliche endings where the character is drastically changed. The movie was itself odd and uninterestingly made. However, Charlize was quite spectacular.
  3. Dec 10, 2011
    7
    I probably watched about half of this film through my fingers on both hands - there are more than a few cringe-worthy moments - but in a good way. It taps into some truly genuine feelings we have about high school, whether or not you're part of one of those pre-defined groups (popular, nerdy, jocks, drama, etc.) It's not a perfect film, and it won't go down as one of the best in the genre,I probably watched about half of this film through my fingers on both hands - there are more than a few cringe-worthy moments - but in a good way. It taps into some truly genuine feelings we have about high school, whether or not you're part of one of those pre-defined groups (popular, nerdy, jocks, drama, etc.) It's not a perfect film, and it won't go down as one of the best in the genre, but it's absolutely worth seeing. Elizabeth Reaser is terrific in it in a smaller role. And Patton Oswalt is PERFECT casting here - the ideal person to serve as the truth-teller that Mavis (Theron) needs. It's not an unqualified recommendation, but if you went to high school in the late 80's / early 90's, it should ring true for you Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2012
    5
    I was beginning to think that Jason Reitman could not get a foot wrong. But he did by reteaming with the one hit wonder writer Cody Diablo who although gave him the wonderful Juno, in her new script for Young Adult, she goes to the zone where it is neither funny, nor dramatic enough. And besides the exceptional performance of Charlize Theron and his apt directing, this falls quite shortI was beginning to think that Jason Reitman could not get a foot wrong. But he did by reteaming with the one hit wonder writer Cody Diablo who although gave him the wonderful Juno, in her new script for Young Adult, she goes to the zone where it is neither funny, nor dramatic enough. And besides the exceptional performance of Charlize Theron and his apt directing, this falls quite short of the high standards he has set and achieved in the past. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2011
    5
    Director Jason Reitman and writer Diablo Cody created "Juno" and have teamed up again, but not as successfully. Charlize Theron stars as a beautiful, but unhappy woman who returns home to her small town to reclaim her college beau (Patrick Wilson), who's happily married. Her character isn't sympathetic, but worse, the film isn't darkly funny. It's just mean and miserable. Cody manages aDirector Jason Reitman and writer Diablo Cody created "Juno" and have teamed up again, but not as successfully. Charlize Theron stars as a beautiful, but unhappy woman who returns home to her small town to reclaim her college beau (Patrick Wilson), who's happily married. Her character isn't sympathetic, but worse, the film isn't darkly funny. It's just mean and miserable. Cody manages a few cute quips, but nothing especially smart. The whole film lumbers along just waiting to take off and when it finally does, it's not worth the trouble. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Young Adult touches so close to home for me, not being able to let go. One can't help but to ponder and contemplate the supposedly glorious days of the past and reflect on our past mistakes, on what could've been and what should've been. The opportunity that we're given now in the present is all that matters. The past is in the past, we just have to pick ourselves up, dust ourselves offYoung Adult touches so close to home for me, not being able to let go. One can't help but to ponder and contemplate the supposedly glorious days of the past and reflect on our past mistakes, on what could've been and what should've been. The opportunity that we're given now in the present is all that matters. The past is in the past, we just have to pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off and get ready for what lies ahead. Our best years are still ahead of us, it's time to look into the future, start a new chapter. Life, here I come. Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2012
    5
    This is a movie that doesn't know if it wants to be a comedy, a satire, or a dark cautionary tale. The story is weak and even though Charlize Theron does a decent job I simply couldn't buy in. Is anyone seriously expecting me to believe that anyone who gets drunk every night to the point of passing out and survives on a diet of junk food looks like Charlize Theron by the age of 37?This is a movie that doesn't know if it wants to be a comedy, a satire, or a dark cautionary tale. The story is weak and even though Charlize Theron does a decent job I simply couldn't buy in. Is anyone seriously expecting me to believe that anyone who gets drunk every night to the point of passing out and survives on a diet of junk food looks like Charlize Theron by the age of 37? Please! Too much product placement too: three shots of Charlize drinking Coke (logo facing the camera of course), how much did they pay for that? Expand
  8. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    I always wondered what happened to that girl from high school. You know the one, her locker was right next to yours for four straight years, but she never knew your name. She spent more time staring into the pocket mirror attached to the inside of her locker than at any of her classmates. She was homecoming and prom queen, she was socially above the common man, and all she wanted to doI always wondered what happened to that girl from high school. You know the one, her locker was right next to yours for four straight years, but she never knew your name. She spent more time staring into the pocket mirror attached to the inside of her locker than at any of her classmates. She was homecoming and prom queen, she was socially above the common man, and all she wanted to do was see your small town in her rearview mirror as she escaped to the big city after graduation. Luckily for us, director Jason Reitman and screenwriter Diablo Cody have reconnected (they first worked together on Juno) to let us know exactly what happened to that girl from high school.

    Mavis (Charlize Theron) is now 37, lives in Minneapolis, and is a ghostwriter for a young adult series (think Sweet Valley High) whose popularity is in severe decline. She wakes up every morning severely hung over from the night before, ignores her pocket-sized dog, and always has a dating website open on her web browser while she attempts to writer her next chapter just in case she gets a notification of a potential match. In other words, Mavis is not doing very well. An unexpected e-mail shakes her out of her stumbling stupor one morning when a birth announcement arrives from her long ago high school ex-boyfriend Buddy Slade (Patrick Wilson); he is now the father of a brand new baby girl.

    Events are now set in motion as Mavis impulsively packs a suitcase, drives a few hours to her old and small hometown, and aims to break up Buddy and his wife Beth (Elizabeth Reaser). With no evidence whatsoever, Mavis just knows Buddy is unhappy in his marriage and longs to be rescued by the one girl he was meant to be with, Mavis. She considers the institution of marriage as a disease, a problem which can be cured through a quick divorce. Mavis also brings her old habits back to town with her; she continues to wake up slobbering drunk every morning, wears revealing clothes which would not only seem out of place in Minneapolis, but downright foreign in small town America, and whether intentionally or just plain out of habit, talks down condescendingly to anyone who never left town the way she did.

    While guzzling one of her many double whiskeys at a local dive bar one night, Mavis runs into Matt (Patton Oswalt), a guy who she barely remembers from school. Matt reminds her his locker was right next to hers for four years and through a combination of proximity and drunkenness, Matt becomes Mavis
    Expand
  9. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    There are no redeeming elements to this story whatsoever. The story tries to find some aspect of heartfelt emotion only to display awkward unbelievable moment after moment. With incomprehensible situations that leave the viewer cringing. By the climax you are holding on with a last thread of investment for some type of redemption for this waste of time only to be utterly disappointed.
  10. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Young Adult is a comedy like no other. It's well written with plenty of laughs and something we can all relate to. Mavis Gary (Charlize Theron) is a successful author of a young adult series who, after escaping her small hometown, lives in the city of Minneapolis. After receiving an email that her high school boyfriend, Buddy Slade (Patrick Wilson), who is married to Beth (Elizabeth Reaser), had a kid, she somehow she gets the idea of returning Mercury, Minn. and getting him back. While she's back in her hometown she also reunites and develops a weird relationship with her fellow classmate Matt (Patton Oswalt), who was involved in a hate crime his senior year.

    Mavis is an alcoholic who is yes, somewhat crazy. The only person who seems to realize and understand this is Matt, played by Patton Oswalt who gives an exceptional performance. The relationship created between the two is unlike so many others and interesting to watch grow. Mavis is such an unlikeable character with an incredibly ugly personality who doesn't seem to learn from past mistakes or realize that she needs to grow up. Charlize Theron is at her best with every shot she takes down and every disgusted look on her face, she is fascinating to watch. Young Adult is definitely one of the best comedies of the year.
    Expand
  11. Dec 18, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's great that Young Adult is bombing, because it's a terrible movie. Charlize Theron is pretty, but she is an emotional and sexual zero on screen. A laughable ending occurs when Charlize decides to bed Patton Oswalt's character who has a broken dick, busted body, but a good heart. Then screenwriter Diablo Cody has a strange, contempt for Small Town America where the town is no good because the people are "Fat and Stupid." Hollywood and Paramount are really missing John Hughes movies at this point. Expand
  12. Mar 23, 2012
    2
    I had no idea what this movie was supposed to be. At times it resembled a black comedy, at times a tragedy, and at other times a drama. I also have no idea what message this movie was trying to portray. Don't get me wrong, I know not all movies have some underlying moral they want to get across, but this one seemed like it was trying to, and failing. Charlize Theron's character isI had no idea what this movie was supposed to be. At times it resembled a black comedy, at times a tragedy, and at other times a drama. I also have no idea what message this movie was trying to portray. Don't get me wrong, I know not all movies have some underlying moral they want to get across, but this one seemed like it was trying to, and failing. Charlize Theron's character is completely unrelateable, unlikeable, and impossible to feel sympathy for. She does nothing but spend an hour and a half cementing her place in the "horrible people" coffee table book, before having a thoroughly unbelieveable epiphany, and driving into the sunset. The climax of her non-journey was when she bedded Pattin Oswald's character, which should have been a tender moment, and ended up coming off as nothing but creepy. The absolute hatred the writer(s) of this movie have for small-town life is amazing. Some movies poke fun at small-town life, like Groundhog Day or Welcome to Mooseport, but THIS movie is absolutely virulently mean about its portrayal of small towns. It seems like the writer(s) is saying that everyone in a small town is a backwards hick, who deserves nothing but contempt. It saddens me that this movie got so much critical acclaim. Overall, it seemed like an interesting concept executed in the worst possible way. It's not often I'm upset with spending money on movies, but I walked out of this one angry. Expand
  13. Dec 17, 2011
    5
    So who did the producers of this movie pay the license fee for the "man-child" format, which they have used in this Charlize Theron vehicle? They should have made sure they had a few dollars left over to punch up the script with some comedy, or at least some dialogue, which seemed in short supply for a number of stretches. Man-children are usually a little round around the edges - Ms.So who did the producers of this movie pay the license fee for the "man-child" format, which they have used in this Charlize Theron vehicle? They should have made sure they had a few dollars left over to punch up the script with some comedy, or at least some dialogue, which seemed in short supply for a number of stretches. Man-children are usually a little round around the edges - Ms. Theron belts bourbon and scarfs KFC and could bounce a quarter off her navel. The kinship between Theron and the male man-child in the film, townie geek Patton Oswalt, seems a vehicle for speeches, rather than at all believable. Unless the message is that booze makes all things possible - maybe I should have had a couple pops before taking in this offering. The difference between the comedic tone of the trailer and the dramatic - or rather, non-comic - tone of the movie is pretty startling. The audience does not get the promised laughs, and messages were never the strong suit of the man-child format. Expand
  14. Dec 24, 2011
    1
    Not Worth the Time or Money
    This movie was a big disappointment, except fo r the acting of the beautiful Charlize Theron. The movie was not the movie that was portrayed in the trailer. It's more like One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest than Juno. The movie has an identity crisis. At some times it's a comedy (the best parts) and at times it's the story of a sad midlife crisis of a woman
    Not Worth the Time or Money
    This movie was a big disappointment, except fo r the acting of the beautiful Charlize Theron. The movie was not the movie that was portrayed in the trailer. It's more like One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest than Juno. The movie has an identity crisis. At some times it's a comedy (the best parts) and at times it's the story of a sad midlife crisis of a woman who is mentally ill. The sad and upsetting parts eventually take over and it's hard to laugh at the funny parts since there's no real humor in the deranged acts of a delusional person. All in all, the movie is not much fun and one feels manipulated when it's all over. I would skip it.
    Expand
  15. Dec 29, 2011
    1
    Charlize is one of my favorite actresses but this movie really sucked. It appeared to be a desperate attempt to put out a movie headlining a popular actress to create the draw. The storyline was pathetic -- a girl that is trying to steal a married man who's wife had just give birth to their first child (that was her boyfriend in high school) from his wife. Great message for the kids.Charlize is one of my favorite actresses but this movie really sucked. It appeared to be a desperate attempt to put out a movie headlining a popular actress to create the draw. The storyline was pathetic -- a girl that is trying to steal a married man who's wife had just give birth to their first child (that was her boyfriend in high school) from his wife. Great message for the kids. Bad acting, bad plot, waste of time.
    I thought Charlize had more class than to get sucked into such a flop but apparently not...
    Expand
  16. Apr 8, 2012
    2
    There is no way in hell this was a comedy. There's no redemption, no funny lines, no character growth, nothing really clever about it and a 100% unlikable lead. The movie was a complete mess, like Charlize Theron, right from the start to the very end.
  17. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mavis Gary could easily pass for a much younger woman, but she gives herself away, soon after receiving a baby announcement from an old beau via e-mail, in the opening sequence of Young Adult. A person in their twenties, disdainful of old media, would be satisfied with keeping the image on the screen. Today's generation aren't as hands-on as prior ones, who were raised on Polaroids and Kodak. Mavis downloads the infant. She prints it out, because people of a certain age are tactilely-oriented; they like to hold things. Mavis goes outside on the patio with the papery child and reads the documented photograph like a text. She deconstructs. The fanciful woman reads between the lines, and against the grain, thereby deluding herself into believing an alternate narrative in which Buddy needs to be rescued from the domestic trappings of a small-town she surmises as being hell. Mavis is a searcher. Not for nothing does Young Adult evoke Native Americans through her old school's nickname. Mavis loathes the Mercury townsfolk, or in other words, Indians(formerly the "Injuns"), whom she abandoned so long ago. The filmmaker sees her as a John Ford cowboy; she's Ethan Edwards(John Wayne) and Buddy is her "Little Debbie"(Natalie Wood), the "hostage" that she's going to take home with her. 2011 is the new 1956. The MINI Cooper is her horse. Quite pointedly, the first line of "The Concept" makes reference to her outlaw image: "She wears denim wherever she goes." Later in the song, the lyric "says she likes my hair 'cause it's down my back," suggests the Indian in Mavis, since long hair for Indians is representative of a strong spirit. Her old flame's short hair, in a sense, empowers Mavis with the idea that Buddy will put up no resistance against such practiced feminine wiles. "The Concept" was the signature track off one of Buddy's old mix-tapes that Mavis plays repeatedly on her long drive back to the "reservation". He must have owned the album Bandwagonesque. Incidental or not, the root word "bandwagon", defined as "a wagon which carries a band of musicians in a parade," has connotations to the old west, through the traveling show "Buffalo Bill's Wild West", put on by William Frederick Cody, who also starred in The Scouts of the Prairie, an 1876 stage play that gave birth to the western myth. Mavis' bout of obsessive nostalgia over the Teenage Fanclub song not only has a harmful effect on her emotional development, but it also calls into question our affection for the past, a troubled history filled with unrepentant racism. As late as the early-nineties, this fictional high school used a racial slur to identify themselves. In The Searchers, Debbie, a full-fledged member of the Comanche tribe, is married to Scar, as are several other women. Beth, Buddy's wife, perchance, plays the drums(an instrument that is heavily prevalent in Native American culture), and wears a Breeders t-shirt(a "half-breed" reference), in an all-woman band that indirectly references the Comanche chief's wives. By covering "The Concept", Nipple Confusion steals the song back from the cowgirl, who appropriated it as the song of the "white woman" when she left Mercury. Now the song belongs once again to its rightful owners. Suddenly songless, the hopeless, albeit psychotic, romantic, perhaps, with some distance, now realizes that "The Concept" smacked more of being a break-up song. "I didn't want to hurt you," goes the refrain, which raises the question: Exactly why did Mavis leave her old stomping grounds? In The Searchers title song, the singer asks, "What makes a man to wander? What makes a man to roam?" At a baby-naming ceremony, we find out, when Beth spills red wine on Mavis' blouse(read: the Indian slays the cowboy), propelling the big-shot city girl to reveal that she had lost Buddy's baby, which casts this flinty woman in a whole different light. At 20, while still a young adult, Mavis was apparently ready to bear children, unlike Juno, or Mark Loring, the adoptive parent who flakes out on the titular teen. Uncannily, Mark just happens to be a perfect match for this thirty-something adolescent, with his comic book collection and rock star aspirations. To escape the pain of her personal loss, she fled. It's no accident that Mavis befriends Matt, "the hate-crime guy", upon her return from Minneapolis. She dovetails with the disabled survivor, because it should've been him, not the queen bee, who needed reinventing. Mavis could have gone on to rule Mercury beyond high school, in perpetuity, and be perfectly happy. The queen bee invented her ambition. Still grieving, Mavis doesn't realize that, by some standards, she's led a very successful life. But despite being a published writer, motherhood still haunts her. Playing a monster without the makeup, Mavis would have never given Aileen Wuornos the time of the day, but like the serial killer, all she ever wanted was to be loved. Expand
  18. Feb 25, 2012
    3
    I officially don't like Diablo Cody.  Juno was nice and quirky, made even more appealing by Ellen Page.  However, after that abysmal show, The United States of Tara and now this poorly written movie, I'm convicted that, while performances, like the superb ones by Patton Oswalt and Charlize Theron in Young Adult, can enhance bad writing, it can't mask it.I officially don't like Diablo Cody.  Juno was nice and quirky, made even more appealing by Ellen Page.  However, after that abysmal show, The United States of Tara and now this poorly written movie, I'm convicted that, while performances, like the superb ones by Patton Oswalt and Charlize Theron in Young Adult, can enhance bad writing, it can't mask it.  This movie is full of holes, the inability to stay focused on a solid story and, at the beginning, painfully dull.  By the end, I'm affected by Charlize's near-perfect portrayal of a self-righteous, arrogant, narcissistic depressive, so she played the part well.  In fact, I'd even go so far as to say that Diablo's screenplay could have had a hand I how this messed up character is displayed, but the overall story is choppy, poorly plotted and void of basic comprehension in certain areas that I feel as though I could have written it.   Expand
  19. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    I've never been too good with names.
    The cellar door was open, I could never stay away.
    I know it's prob'ly not my place. It's either or, I'm hoping for a simple way to say. It's a shame about Ray. In the stone, under the dust, his name is still engraved. Some things need to go away. It's a shame about Ray. If I make it through today, I'll know tomorrow not to leave my feelings out on
    I've never been too good with names.
    The cellar door was open, I could never stay away.
    I know it's prob'ly not my place.
    It's either or, I'm hoping for a simple way to say.

    It's a shame about Ray.
    In the stone, under the dust,
    his name is still engraved.
    Some things need to go away.
    It's a shame about Ray.

    If I make it through today,
    I'll know tomorrow not to leave my feelings out on display.
    I'll put the cobwebs back in place.
    I've never been too good with names,
    but I remember faces.
    Expand
  20. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    This film does not offer a clean-cut ending. You're left wondering whether Theron learned an important lesson or whether she's receding into the delusional life-style of the urban dream. It's certainly not a film that will appeal to the blockbuster crowd. HOWEVER, the acting is exceptional and the story is compelling. The character's motives are ambiguous, and intentionally so. Diablo CodyThis film does not offer a clean-cut ending. You're left wondering whether Theron learned an important lesson or whether she's receding into the delusional life-style of the urban dream. It's certainly not a film that will appeal to the blockbuster crowd. HOWEVER, the acting is exceptional and the story is compelling. The character's motives are ambiguous, and intentionally so. Diablo Cody has clearly graduated from Juno to a subtler level of film-making that a sympathetic (albeit perhaps pretentious?) crowd will appreciate. If you saw Hugo and absolutely loved it, this film is a perfect counterpart to take you back down to earth. Expand
  21. Mar 2, 2012
    1
    What a load of rubbish. There is no real story and it has one of the strangest endings i have ever seen. Its a nothing story with a nothing ending. They must have left half of the movie on the editing floor because that was a piece of disjointed nonsense.
  22. Jan 4, 2012
    7
    Young adult is a dark comedy done more than right. Delusional, diabolical, sad, are all characteristics that permeates through our flawed-hero, Mavis Gary (Charlize Theron), who is trying to rekindle a romance with her ex-boyfriend, who is now a family man. Reitman's direction is subtle and effective, but the real star here is Diablo Cody, who writes a pitch-black character study that goesYoung adult is a dark comedy done more than right. Delusional, diabolical, sad, are all characteristics that permeates through our flawed-hero, Mavis Gary (Charlize Theron), who is trying to rekindle a romance with her ex-boyfriend, who is now a family man. Reitman's direction is subtle and effective, but the real star here is Diablo Cody, who writes a pitch-black character study that goes outside conventional story telling. The other star is Charlize Theron, who delivers a convincingly "unlikable", cool, and complex performance. This is not the sort of film in which characters grow and change for the best, it takes a different route (for better or worse), which is why it boldly stands out from the rest. Expand
  23. Mar 15, 2012
    2
    This movie fails as a comedy. At the end of the movie, you feel sorry for the main character. Theres nothing funny about the situation. The trailer was very misleading, the movie is not a comedy. But I very bad drama movie.
  24. Dec 16, 2011
    8
    It's so hard to find a great dark comedy these days. Often times, a movie will play it dark at first, then so it doesn't lose viewers, it tends to lighten up at the end. Not this puppy! "Young Adult" focuses on a rather unlikable character named Mavis (Charlize Theron) doing some pretty twisted things. You see, this was a girl who was popular in high school. She dated the most popular guyIt's so hard to find a great dark comedy these days. Often times, a movie will play it dark at first, then so it doesn't lose viewers, it tends to lighten up at the end. Not this puppy! "Young Adult" focuses on a rather unlikable character named Mavis (Charlize Theron) doing some pretty twisted things. You see, this was a girl who was popular in high school. She dated the most popular guy and the less popular all wanted to be like her. Then real life hit. Now she's an alcoholic writing a failed young adult book series. But after receiving an e-mail that her high school sweetheart is having a baby with his happily married wife, she attempts to steal him back. But not out of love for him. The only reason she wants to tear him away from his happy life is so she can experience happiness and relive her glory days. You see, Mavis is not a nice person. The movie establishes this early on, and thanks to Cody's most mature script to date, and a knock-out performance from Theron, Mavis never becomes a nice person by the end of this. The entertainment then comes from Mavis' constant despicable behavior. Just when you think she can't go any lower, she does, and it's here where the laughs come, but only when they don't get stuck in your throat. Theron continues to show her versatility in a role that allows her to branch out and bring out her **** side. I also enjoyed the relationship between Theron and Patton Oswalt. They establish a strange friendship, but it helps to bring out the complexities of both of the characters. The only drawback to "Young Adult" is the character of Mavis herself. She is brilliantly played by Theron, and her characters' action are what drive all of the laughs, but a selfish person can only be so fascinating. Cody, Reitman, and Theron bring the most out of her that they can, but by the end of the movie, the only thing that remains in your mind is happiness that you are in no way like her. Still, "Young Adult" is a terrific comedy for those who like their comedy extra dark. Expand
  25. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    If left to his own devices, Reitman might be Alexander Payne-lite, but heâ
  26. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    An all-too-real look into the life of a young adult struggling to find purpose and stimulation. This film is appropriately uncomfortable at times, as Charlize's character is so tragically beautiful as she not only lacks confidence but also direction. A very relatable film that is capable of giving proper perspective to the viewers who are brave enough to see a bit of themselves in the mainAn all-too-real look into the life of a young adult struggling to find purpose and stimulation. This film is appropriately uncomfortable at times, as Charlize's character is so tragically beautiful as she not only lacks confidence but also direction. A very relatable film that is capable of giving proper perspective to the viewers who are brave enough to see a bit of themselves in the main character. Expand
  27. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    A week has gone by since I have seen Young Adult and I still can't get this movie out of my head. Charlize Theron gives unarguably one of the best performances of the year that deserves Oscar attention. Patton Oswalt is superb in a supporting role but is a long-shot in a crowded field of veterans vying for a supporting Oscar nom. This is Reitman and Cody's most refined and mature piece ofA week has gone by since I have seen Young Adult and I still can't get this movie out of my head. Charlize Theron gives unarguably one of the best performances of the year that deserves Oscar attention. Patton Oswalt is superb in a supporting role but is a long-shot in a crowded field of veterans vying for a supporting Oscar nom. This is Reitman and Cody's most refined and mature piece of work, and I for one would like to see them work together more often. Theron gives such a savagely sad and at times **** performance that you can't believe this train wreck is unfolding in front of you, yet it's almost impossible to look away. She makes Mavis sympathetic and relatable and each scene is set up and executed in a delicate and realistic manner. The front-lawn scene is what makes the film, in my opinion and Theron NAILS it. Young Adult has all the makings to becoming a cult classic and I for one am thrilled about it. Expand
  28. Jan 22, 2012
    8
    As a huge fan of both Jason Reitman and Diablo Cody, I definitely had high expectations for Young Adult. I was not disappointed in the slightest. Charlize Theron does a wonderful job as the film's disturbed and eternally dissatisfied lead. The movie is heavily sprinkled with hilarious quippy remarks and quirky details. The subtle trichotillomania scenes really got me. To be cliche, thisAs a huge fan of both Jason Reitman and Diablo Cody, I definitely had high expectations for Young Adult. I was not disappointed in the slightest. Charlize Theron does a wonderful job as the film's disturbed and eternally dissatisfied lead. The movie is heavily sprinkled with hilarious quippy remarks and quirky details. The subtle trichotillomania scenes really got me. To be cliche, this movie was a bit of an "emotional roller coaster". If you are a Jason Reitman/Diablo Cody fan, definitely go see it, it was, in my opinion, excellent. Expand
  29. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    OMG! This is a new classic, and why is the reason? Is fantastic, have much interesting stories, with an excellent cast, the rhytm is great. Young Adult is not the best film of Jason, but is interesting, and funny.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Jan 30, 2012
    80
    Smart, honest, sickeningly funny and supremely well judged in the writing, direction and acting.
  2. 30
    The movie spreads bad vibes like a virus.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 16, 2011
    88
    Clear-eyed, fearless and ferociously funny, Young Adult is mature filmmaking.