Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: April 9, 2008
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 15 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
11
Mixed:
3
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
MelindaS.Jun 21, 2008
I hope Bob Cilman, the chorus director, has a long and successful career. What he does with - and for - these amazing performers (and they are all performers first, singers second) is inspirational. Rock music is a complex and compelling I hope Bob Cilman, the chorus director, has a long and successful career. What he does with - and for - these amazing performers (and they are all performers first, singers second) is inspirational. Rock music is a complex and compelling thing, and this documentary gives it yet another dimension. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatriciaB.Apr 11, 2008
This movie is a true gem. I haven't laughed -- or cried -- so much in ages! The "Fix You" segment alone is worth the price of admission. What's so great is that this isn't just a corny "look at all the old people, aren't This movie is a true gem. I haven't laughed -- or cried -- so much in ages! The "Fix You" segment alone is worth the price of admission. What's so great is that this isn't just a corny "look at all the old people, aren't they cute" kind of movie. Instead, we get to see several members of the chorus profiled on a more individual basis so you get a sense of their personalities. "Old people" aren't a nameless, faceless group separate from the rest of society. They're US many years from now. Just like folks in their teens, 20's, 30's and so on - they have their likes and dislikes... their strengths and weaknesses. And the filmmakers here really captured that sense of individuality, while at the same time really keeping the throughline focused on how the chorus comes together to put on these shows. There are even little "music videos" peppered throughout the film that are absolutely delightful. A must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinN.Apr 18, 2008
Really quite good. Fix You is absolutely marvelous. a bit slow at time though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisMay 13, 2008
I was astonished to see that this film is not in the top 5 on the list. This is one of those films that everyone should see, especially those who are sitting on the pity pot. It is beautiful, touching, life-affirming story that will make you I was astonished to see that this film is not in the top 5 on the list. This is one of those films that everyone should see, especially those who are sitting on the pity pot. It is beautiful, touching, life-affirming story that will make you laugh and make you cry - and when you walk out of the theater you'll just want to start singing - take advantage of the fact that this film is in theaters and go see it ! You'll be glad you did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DaleMMay 23, 2008
I feel this movie has very limited appeal. If you like reality tv especially shows that give you a vicarious feeling of doing good while sitting in your armchair, you might like this movie. If you want a good storyline, don't go see I feel this movie has very limited appeal. If you like reality tv especially shows that give you a vicarious feeling of doing good while sitting in your armchair, you might like this movie. If you want a good storyline, don't go see this movie. The musical numbers are good, but there are surprisingly few of them. I felt the movie was somewhat condescending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.May 23, 2008
Avant-garde composer/musician John Zorn said this about the Langley School Music Project, "This is is beauty. This is truth. This is music that touches the heart in a way no other music ever has, or ever could." Unlike the field recordings Avant-garde composer/musician John Zorn said this about the Langley School Music Project, "This is is beauty. This is truth. This is music that touches the heart in a way no other music ever has, or ever could." Unlike the field recordings of the seventies era-Canadian school children(led by music teacher Hans Fenger) who would go on to inspire Richard Linklater's "The School of Rock", there's a knowingness behind the retirement home chorus renditions of post-punk standards like "Life During Wartime"(David Byrne) and "Schizophrenia"(Thurston Moore), which has the subtle reek of exploitation. The manipulation is deliberative and a little too choreographed. The music director knows exactly how these fragile people, who quite literally throughout "Young at Heart", drop like flies, will impact an audience, when interpreting songs about their impending mortality(most astonishingly, we hear The Police's "Every Breath You Take", a song about romantic obsession, with new ears). So you have to negotiate a little calculation with your "up with old people" uplift. But there are exceptions; most notably, the guy in the wheelchair whose modest, plaintive voice finds the truth in Coldplay's "Fix You". I'm cynical, but not that cynical. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ImOnFireMar 18, 2013
This movie is as inspiring as it is emotional as it is funny. It is a must watch music documentary. I did not like the background comments made by the director and following members of the group to the hospital was unnecessary and insensitiveThis movie is as inspiring as it is emotional as it is funny. It is a must watch music documentary. I did not like the background comments made by the director and following members of the group to the hospital was unnecessary and insensitive as well, but I looked past these flaws and thought it was incredible from start to finish. You have no reason not to watch this, seriously (and you don't even have to be a rock fan). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews