Your Highness

Your Highness Image
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Throughout history, tales of chivalry have burnished the legends of brave, handsome knights who rescue fair damsels, slay dragons and conquer evil. But behind many a hero is a good-for-nothing younger brother trying just to stay out of the way of those dragons, evil and trouble in general.Throughout history, tales of chivalry have burnished the legends of brave, handsome knights who rescue fair damsels, slay dragons and conquer evil. But behind many a hero is a good-for-nothing younger brother trying just to stay out of the way of those dragons, evil and trouble in general. Danny McBride and James Franco team up for an epic comedy adventure set in a fantastical world--"Your Highness." As two princes on a daring mission to save their land, they must rescue the heir apparent's fiancée before their kingdom is destroyed. (Universal Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 17 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 7, 2011
    67
    Your Highness is awfully vulgar fun when it works, which is much of the time (although it could've benefited from a few judicious cuts here and there).
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Apr 6, 2011
    60
    The belly laughs do come, many of them courtesy of the mechanical bird companion.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Apr 7, 2011
    50
    While the chemistry between characters is impressive and the comic delivery spot-on, the jokes feel unoriginal.
  4. 38
    By comparison to this effort, "Pineapple Express" seems like a model of thoughtful maturity.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Apr 8, 2011
    25
    Full disclosure: I have to say I did laugh during Your Highness. Twice, I think.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Apr 7, 2011
    25
    Nothing works. Nothing.
  7. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Apr 5, 2011
    0
    There is little worse in the movie world than a spoof that falls flat on its over-costumed butt, but that's what you get with Your Highness.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 63
  2. Negative: 22 out of 63
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    this movie is one of the funniest and original movies i have seen in my entire life

    the wise wizard scene had me cracking up so hard...watch
    this movie is one of the funniest and original movies i have seen in my entire life

    the wise wizard scene had me cracking up so hard...watch this movie
    Expand
  2. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    This movie appealed to my sense of humour in the best way possible. I simply loved the movie and I wish to see more like it. It has to be oneThis movie appealed to my sense of humour in the best way possible. I simply loved the movie and I wish to see more like it. It has to be one of my favourite movies and everyone I recommend it to loved it as well. I was actually quite shocked to see the critic reviews. Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    I would love to give this film a 10 but there were just too many moments I felt where unnecessary. So the film is basically Pineapple ExpressI would love to give this film a 10 but there were just too many moments I felt where unnecessary. So the film is basically Pineapple Express set in Medieval times with less weed, but just as many penis jokes. Don't get me wrong, I love the this humor, I though Pineapple Express was brilliant, which made me even more excited to see this movie. I can't say I was disappointed, I set very high expectations for this movie and they were definitely met, it made me laugh and I was thoroughly entertained. But there were some moments I wish didn't happen or where toned down a bit, I won't say what they were because they may be a bit of a spoiler but I will say it involved a penis. All in all I enjoyed this film a lot, but you must know this is not a film for everyone, if you enjoy smoking the leaf then you'll probably love this movie, but if you enjoy smart sophisticated comedy you may not like it as much. But I wouldn't mind seeing this again. Expand
  4. May 6, 2011
    5
    This movie is designed as a spoof movie to knight adventure movies and it almost pulls it off. The real problem with this movie is that theThis movie is designed as a spoof movie to knight adventure movies and it almost pulls it off. The real problem with this movie is that the crude humor is too painful too frequently. There we elements that we rewarding, there were elements that were funny, the plot was alright but there are several moments where you are saying to yourself. "Really?" and "oh god make it stop" I would love to have the full version of this movie in an editing room so I could fix it. It could have been much better than it was, but alas it was not to be and the painfully crude humor ruins what could have been a decent movie. Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    4
    Everybody though this movie was funny, but like did you watch the same think as I did, Poor Choices all over the thing. Natalie Portman andEverybody though this movie was funny, but like did you watch the same think as I did, Poor Choices all over the thing. Natalie Portman and James Franco were not in their right minds when they accepted to do this movie, honestly. If you pay attention, in some scenes you can clearly see obvious mistakes. I didn't like this film that much, It is from the same director of Pineapple Express so I was expecting something funny and good, but it didn't happen at all. Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2014
    2
    Awful comedy starts (and pretty much ends) with the dubious premise of setting a raunchy, profanity-laden stoner comedy amongst the knightsAwful comedy starts (and pretty much ends) with the dubious premise of setting a raunchy, profanity-laden stoner comedy amongst the knights and damsels of the middle ages - kind of like Monty Python and the Holy Grail, but with a lot more weed and almost no laughs. Perhaps the writers and director should have set down the bong and slept it off before asking the studio to invest millions in this overlong, under-inspired mess. (Then again, what were the suits at Universal smoking when they green-lighted it?) And while you may be tempted to rent this just for the opportunity to see Natalie Portman briefly in a thong, I must warn you that first you have to sit through the spectacle of seeing Toby Jones WITHOUT the benefit of a thong; that's right, you're going to get mooned by Dobby the House Elf. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    This movie was horrible! Disgusting! I am so upset I saw it. I hated it! Please do not go see this movie. Save your time and money. Very bad.This movie was horrible! Disgusting! I am so upset I saw it. I hated it! Please do not go see this movie. Save your time and money. Very bad. Not funny at all. Very stupid and annoying. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget

    24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget Image
    Published: April 25, 2016
    Even good actors have a few duds on their resumes. We look at 24 highly forgettable roles from some of Hollywood's biggest stars.
  2. DVD Release Calendar: August 2011

    DVD Release Calendar: August 2011 Image
    Published: July 27, 2011
    Find out which movies and TV shows are coming to DVD and Blu-ray in the next month. August's calendar includes films ranging from "Your Highness" to "Win Win" as well as the latest seasons of "Sons of Anarchy" and "Dexter."
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: November 19, 2010
    This week's installment has several major new trailers -- including the first looks at "Cars 2," "Green Lantern," "Your Highness," and "Cowboys & Aliens" -- plus news on upcoming projects for Steven Soderbergh, Baz Luhrmann, and Sacha Baron Cohen.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  6. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  7. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.