Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Throughout history, tales of chivalry have burnished the legends of brave, handsome knights who rescue fair damsels, slay dragons and conquer evil. But behind many a hero is a good-for-nothing younger brother trying just to stay out of the way of those dragons, evil and trouble in general. Danny McBride and James Franco team up for an epic comedy adventure set in a fantastical world--"Your Highness." As two princes on a daring mission to save their land, they must rescue the heir apparent's fiancée before their kingdom is destroyed. (Universal Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 17 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 7, 2011
    67
    Your Highness is awfully vulgar fun when it works, which is much of the time (although it could've benefited from a few judicious cuts here and there).
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Apr 6, 2011
    60
    The belly laughs do come, many of them courtesy of the mechanical bird companion.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Apr 7, 2011
    50
    While the chemistry between characters is impressive and the comic delivery spot-on, the jokes feel unoriginal.
  4. 38
    By comparison to this effort, "Pineapple Express" seems like a model of thoughtful maturity.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Apr 8, 2011
    25
    Full disclosure: I have to say I did laugh during Your Highness. Twice, I think.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Apr 7, 2011
    25
    Nothing works. Nothing.
  7. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Apr 5, 2011
    0
    There is little worse in the movie world than a spoof that falls flat on its over-costumed butt, but that's what you get with Your Highness.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 59
  2. Negative: 21 out of 59
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    this movie is one of the funniest and original movies i have seen in my entire life

    the wise wizard scene had me cracking up so hard...watch
    this movie Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. I just love this film. Well, first - you have to "play by the film rules", if you do, and accept, that it's not really real, or a graphic orgasm like new film's, i guess you can fall in love with this movie. For me, totally epic. I love it's arrogantly humor, it's adventuring environment, ... everything. Someone don't like it because of it's crap. YEAH! It is ... BUT that's what is going on ... it's crap, but it's seriously FUNNY piece of crap. Collapse
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    I would love to give this film a 10 but there were just too many moments I felt where unnecessary. So the film is basically Pineapple Express set in Medieval times with less weed, but just as many penis jokes. Don't get me wrong, I love the this humor, I though Pineapple Express was brilliant, which made me even more excited to see this movie. I can't say I was disappointed, I set very high expectations for this movie and they were definitely met, it made me laugh and I was thoroughly entertained. But there were some moments I wish didn't happen or where toned down a bit, I won't say what they were because they may be a bit of a spoiler but I will say it involved a penis. All in all I enjoyed this film a lot, but you must know this is not a film for everyone, if you enjoy smoking the leaf then you'll probably love this movie, but if you enjoy smart sophisticated comedy you may not like it as much. But I wouldn't mind seeing this again. Expand
  4. May 6, 2011
    5
    This movie is designed as a spoof movie to knight adventure movies and it almost pulls it off. The real problem with this movie is that the crude humor is too painful too frequently. There we elements that we rewarding, there were elements that were funny, the plot was alright but there are several moments where you are saying to yourself. "Really?" and "oh god make it stop" I would love to have the full version of this movie in an editing room so I could fix it. It could have been much better than it was, but alas it was not to be and the painfully crude humor ruins what could have been a decent movie. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2011
    4
    When I first heard of the movie '' Your Highness " , I was really exited to go see it, especially when Natalie Portman (as Isabel) and James Franco (as Fabious) are casted. After seeing it, I was terribly disappointed. I only had a few chuckles throw the hole movie. There was a lot of silly, stupid, immature jokes, especially with penises. '' Pineapple Express '' was way better. The only good and fun thing about this film is Natalie Portman. I feel sorry for her for being apart of this embarrassing comedy. It's a shame because she's such a great actress. Also, I heard that the budget was limited. Danny McBride said that the first draft of the script worth 200 million dollar. When David Gordon Green (the director of the movie) and Danny presented it to the studio, they said that it wasn't possible. So they had to cut of some scenes from the movie. That also means that some of the special effects were failed. There was this character (I think is Manious the Bold), is not human by the way, looked like Leonardo from the movie '' Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles '' (1990), which had a horrible look. Anyway, this movie is a huge disappointment for me. Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2012
    2
    Danny McBride was very poor in a film which definitely required an amazing performance from the lead. Natalie Portman and James Franco must have realised their mistake in taking on a film with McBride when they were at the premiere. It is a bit weird how they were duped into making a comedy which seems to aimed at people without a single brain cell. Still, even I admit that it was funny in parts. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    This movie was horrible! Disgusting! I am so upset I saw it. I hated it! Please do not go see this movie. Save your time and money. Very bad. Not funny at all. Very stupid and annoying. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Trailers