User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 8 out of 40

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    3
    My goodness, why is this movie getting reviews so high?
    Yes the setting is nice, cinematography is well done in general. By dialogs? Silly, empty at best.
    The acting is not convincing. I was waiting and waiting for the movie to get better. Time wasted, alas.
    Overall I find the movie just pathetic. It does not happen that often that I would disagree with critics that much. Oh well. Be warned.
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    1
    The idea of this movie is very intriguing, but the execution was really bad. Much of the dialogue of this movie was obviously ad-lib, which can be great with the right kinds of actors, but these actors weren't that kind. Yes, the dialogue was 'every day authentic'', but that just means it was as banal as most every day conversations. Good writers write good dialogue for a reason. Lazy directors forgo good writers for vapid ad-lib dialogue. This kind of movie may excite some reviewers because it is 'different', but for the average audience member it just makes for a lousy movie. Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    I love coming across a gem of a movie unexpectedly and
  4. Jul 1, 2012
    1
    from the opening minutes of this film it was trite, tedious, and extremely amateurish. I struggled to keep from walking out after a third of the way through, but stayed only because I didn't want to go home and had no other good option. When I thought the story line was coming to life the plot just got dumber. The characters were unappealing, unconvincing, and extremely boring. The only good thing, was the scenery and cinematography, which was very excellent. Poor story, poor writing, poor performances, albeit if the actors had more to work with they might have been more convincing. Collapse
  5. Sep 30, 2012
    2
    Do not go to this movie if you are tired, or you will truly fall asleep. Stupid, ridiculous and seriously, if they didn't use the "f" word, the script would probably be two pages! Love Emily Blunt and she did the best she could considering the boring and stupid story line. Lovely scenery.
  6. Dec 15, 2012
    0
    Terrible. We gave it 20 mins and then dispatched it to the briny deep. The Duplass guy was just fat and obnoxious, had zero screen personality/charisma, and, like the DeWitt character, couldn't articulate a thought or even make a simple declarative statement without dropping the F-bomb every other word. Maybe it's the infantile screenwriters who think people actually "converse" this way, or, more likely, it's just that the writers have no writing talent so they air drop the F-bomb to substitute for thought. In any event, don't waste your time. And avoid any future painful eliminations by this crowd (Emily Blunt excepted, who must be ashamed of herself for attaching her name to this mess). Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Jun 29, 2012
    88
    This is a smart, moving film that's also very, very funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 28, 2012
    100
    So many movies try to capture human relationships and fail miserably. A few come close. Your Sister's Sister nails it with grace, humor and winning charm.
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jun 27, 2012
    67
    The film's conceits may be a bit too contrived and conventional, but nothing about these characters' interactions are forced. Your Sister's Sister is a welcome guest.