Dimension Films | Release Date: January 8, 2010
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 298 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
249
Mixed:
39
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
Compi24Oct 16, 2015
In a kind of "Fight Club" meets "Rushmore" mish-mash, the film "Youth In Revolt" does merit offbeat laughs and high-art drama, but it also clearly seems like a condensed, streamlined film version of a novel with much more expressive scope to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
StevenFFeb 23, 2013
Youth In Revolt is the sort of film that perhaps asks too much of the viewer, there is different things going on around the central character of Nick Twisp, played by Michael Cera, who we finally see a glimpse of a different sort ofYouth In Revolt is the sort of film that perhaps asks too much of the viewer, there is different things going on around the central character of Nick Twisp, played by Michael Cera, who we finally see a glimpse of a different sort of character. There are different things going on and plenty of characters to maybe forget, but Youth In Revolt is careful not too mimic other split personality films, and for that, it does it brilliantly.
Nick goes along to a family 'vacation', which is actually his mother and her boyfriend evading a few sailors who her boyfriend, Jerry, who is played by Zach Galifianakis (who doesn't get nearly enough screen time) sold a dodgy car to. At their retreat, he meets the free spirited Sheeni Saunders, (Porta Doubledaywho, and in typical Cera fashion, he falls in love, with the girl, but this time the plot is a little different.
When he is forced to move back to Oakland, Nick decides to create an alter-ego, Francois Dillinger, who is everything Nick cannot be, smooth, sexy, crude, and downright badass. Heard it before, well what is striking about this take on an alter-ego is Nicks awareness of Francois being there, and embracing him, its quite the unique comedy element that is perfect for the film, building Nick's confidence,while still letting him enjoy the finer things in life.
The limited screen time of Justin Long was just unnecessary, he brought very little to his part but I suppose he can't be blamed, this really is where the plot went on a downward spiral, it was just messy, muddled with not very much happening in terms of a plot and character development.
Youth in Revolt isn't a bad film, but it fails in terms of driving and delivering a sound story, it loses its way on too many occasions and introduces an array of characters who are unnecessary and wasted, Justin Long, Zach Galifianakis, Ray Liotta and the talented Steve Buscemi in particular, a powerful cast, but with very little to do.
Michael Cera does excel in his role and it was good to see a more confident role for him, but it is a case of being too comfortable in the same persona, and I would welcome a change of pace.
Its has its moments, but this film needed to deliver its story with a more progressive attitude, rather than stray on vital moments.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DiezmartinezAug 13, 2010
Uneven film, but it's saved mostly for the cast. Michael Cera is the über-nerd of Hollywood and this movie knows how to use him. His deadpan is priceless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ninja_dolphinJul 16, 2013
A fairly enjoyable movie that is worth a watch on Netflix but not a full purchase by any means. Michael Cera is great in the role and provides some laughs with his two personas. The rest of the characters all feel unlikable and mean spiritedA fairly enjoyable movie that is worth a watch on Netflix but not a full purchase by any means. Michael Cera is great in the role and provides some laughs with his two personas. The rest of the characters all feel unlikable and mean spirited however. The movie has a few stand out memorable moments eclipsed by some unfunny gags. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Berry-TanJan 13, 2016
Michael Cera as a mustache evil alter ego is entertaining enough, but the rest of the boy-ruins-his-life-for-a-girl story is: This film was so bad, It didn't get better or funnier. Michael Cera does well as Nick Twisp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JamesTJan 12, 2010
I watched this film and it was so lame a bit like chad the reviewer who's trying to make out hes an clever johnothan ross yes we all know a few classics and who directed them but unfortunetly this is not one of them. i have watched the I watched this film and it was so lame a bit like chad the reviewer who's trying to make out hes an clever johnothan ross yes we all know a few classics and who directed them but unfortunetly this is not one of them. i have watched the lead actor in other movies and feel that the actor had nothing to work with . how someone can give the film a 8 as a score putting it along side classic movies i just don't know . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TimG.Jan 13, 2010
The movie is too busy trying to be artistic to succeed in actually being funny.
1 of 2 users found this helpful