Dimension Films | Release Date: January 8, 2010
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 303 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
251
Mixed:
41
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BobbyS.Jan 10, 2010
Awesome movie freakin hilarious.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
TimG.Jan 13, 2010
The movie is too busy trying to be artistic to succeed in actually being funny.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
walrusgodAug 13, 2010
Almost painfully unfunny, Youth in Revolt is just another step in the downward progression of Michael Cera. I like Cera, and will, at least for a while, continue to see his movies. Youth in Revolt, however, was not good. Cera was playingAlmost painfully unfunny, Youth in Revolt is just another step in the downward progression of Michael Cera. I like Cera, and will, at least for a while, continue to see his movies. Youth in Revolt, however, was not good. Cera was playing what is basically the only character he is ever asked to play, many of the people I was interested in seeing had disappointingly small roles (Zach Galifianakis, Fred Willard), and the plot was surprisingly dull. Portia Doubleday's character was painfully annoying, and I had absolutely no vesting interest in seeing what happened to any of the characters. In addition, there were a couple of distractingly out-of-place animated sequences that, albeit short, were nonetheless distracting. The only thing keeping this from being worse than a 3/10 is the fact that I've seen movies that weren't just bad, but flagrantly offensive to my sensibilities. Youth in Revolt was merely bad. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
RodrigoBGCOct 14, 2011
Im tire of stupid comedy, stupid jokes and unreal situations when anithing happens and everything ends on a stupid way, i give it 3/10 because this movie is just stuip
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
Tranquilbez22Jun 3, 2012
God I hate this movie so much, Cera sucks! Even with the cast that features Steve Bucemi, Zach Galifinakis,Fred Willard and Ray Lolita, it still sucked! the plot was terrible, the jokes were not funny, I just wanted to shoot myself throughoutGod I hate this movie so much, Cera sucks! Even with the cast that features Steve Bucemi, Zach Galifinakis,Fred Willard and Ray Lolita, it still sucked! the plot was terrible, the jokes were not funny, I just wanted to shoot myself throughout the entire thing. I watched all of it to see if something good happened but NOTHING! Do yourself a favour and watch a GOOD Michael Cera movie like Scott Pilgrim Vs The World. but don't watch this Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
JamesTJan 12, 2010
I watched this film and it was so lame a bit like chad the reviewer who's trying to make out hes an clever johnothan ross yes we all know a few classics and who directed them but unfortunetly this is not one of them. i have watched the I watched this film and it was so lame a bit like chad the reviewer who's trying to make out hes an clever johnothan ross yes we all know a few classics and who directed them but unfortunetly this is not one of them. i have watched the lead actor in other movies and feel that the actor had nothing to work with . how someone can give the film a 8 as a score putting it along side classic movies i just don't know . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jan 8, 2010
In the referenced film "A bit de souffle", a fugitive on the lam, Michel Poiccard(Jean-Paul Belmondo), hunts through the newspaper for coverage of the motorcycle cop he had recently shot to death, because that's what a felon would do In the referenced film "A bit de souffle", a fugitive on the lam, Michel Poiccard(Jean-Paul Belmondo), hunts through the newspaper for coverage of the motorcycle cop he had recently shot to death, because that's what a felon would do back in 1959 to stay informed. But it's not there, yet, so Michel reconfigures the pages of media ephemera for a slapdash shoeshine. Half-a-century later, there's no paper to crush after Nick Twist(Michael Cera) becomes an accidental arsonist, as "Youth in Revolt" pays homage to "A bout de souffle" without being slavishly imitative about it(i.e. it doesn't self-consciously refer to the old media so prevalent in the French New Wave classic). Known as "Breathless" to the English-speaking world, Nick becomes Belmondo to impress Sheeni(Portia Doubleday), who improbably lives in a trailer park and shares his geeky passion for old movies. Whereas Michel had his persona molded by watching Humphrey Bogart movies, Nick, too, creates an alter-ego, and makes himself more attractive to his own modern-day Patricia Franchini(Jean Seberg). When the virgin manages to seduce Sheeni in a private school dorm room, he does so with the help of Francois, as both his masculine(the alter-ego) and feminine(himself) sides work in tandem to ingratitate the reconstructed self into her bed. (Six years following "A bout de souffle", this filmmaker made "Masculin/feminin".) Sharing, perhaps, the same deadpan comic sensibility as Wes Anderson's "Rushmore", both serious-minded comedies demonstrate how a taste in the vintage arts can lead to a loveless existence. (Max was into British Invasion rock.) To Nick's amazing fortune, he meets an old soul like himself, who just happens to know that "Tokyo Story" was an Ozu film, not Kurosawa. In the film's best joke, this careless cineaste probably thinks "Breathless" was directed by Francois Truffaut. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EthanD.Jan 9, 2010
Very good, kind of surprised by how good. Will be strongly recommending it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AntonC.Jan 11, 2010
First of all, this movie was great. I laughed a lot, and Cera did a good job of being Cera. However, against his other high school epic Superbad, this movie doesn't quite live up to expectations. It was good, but not amazing. If you First of all, this movie was great. I laughed a lot, and Cera did a good job of being Cera. However, against his other high school epic Superbad, this movie doesn't quite live up to expectations. It was good, but not amazing. If you like Cera, definitely check it out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenH.Jan 19, 2010
Great love story gone awry story. Worth watching if you like Michael Cera. If you don't like him, you won't like this movie as the story revolves around him. My expectations were exceeded.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GKJan 8, 2010
The whole feel to the movie, not taking anything seriously, along with the ending, made it a great movie to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NicholasF.Jan 9, 2010
Although it was plagued by delays from the messy Weinstein Co., to me, Youth in Revolt does not feel old or outdated. Cera looks young as always, but delivers two very funny and very solid performances. His role as Francois especially is Although it was plagued by delays from the messy Weinstein Co., to me, Youth in Revolt does not feel old or outdated. Cera looks young as always, but delivers two very funny and very solid performances. His role as Francois especially is quite unexpected and wholly welcomed by me. Although I was one of the few laughing in the theaters, I was laughing the whole way through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DiezmartinezAug 13, 2010
Uneven film, but it's saved mostly for the cast. Michael Cera is the über-nerd of Hollywood and this movie knows how to use him. His deadpan is priceless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
txrangersfan72Mar 12, 2011
In what is becoming a type-cast role for Michael Cera as the soft-spoken, horny teen, Youth in Revolt continues to allow Michael to successfully stay employed in said type-cast role. While his agent may want to spread out his roleIn what is becoming a type-cast role for Michael Cera as the soft-spoken, horny teen, Youth in Revolt continues to allow Michael to successfully stay employed in said type-cast role. While his agent may want to spread out his role flexibility a bit, Michael shows he's perfected it with intellectual, social retard, Nick Twisp. His humorous courtship of Sheeni Saunders via the rebellious Francois is adorable and just sweet enough to root for. Surrounded by a surprising cast, including Steve Buscemi, Jean Smart, Ray Liotta, Fred Willard, Justin Long and Zach Galifianakis, this ensemble lends a very strong comedic foundation to the dark story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KingmushMar 13, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/youth-in-revolt.html

Don't go running away after seeing Micheal Cera's face. I know that loads of people for whatever reason dislike him, but I'll throw this out here. Note that I love Micheal Cera.
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/youth-in-revolt.html

Don't go running away after seeing Micheal Cera's face. I know that loads of people for whatever reason dislike him, but I'll throw this out here. Note that I love Micheal Cera. I think he's a great actor, and while he may only play one type of character, plenty other actors do the same with no one criticizing them.

With that out of the way I'll get to the movie. I think this is probably the best Micheal Cera movie where he's in the lead role, I mean he's essentially playing two characters! One, his typical self, and the other his anti self. Story wise I thought this was great. Guy wants to get girl so he changes himself...to the extreme. Very funny but also smart humor. Not the dumb humor Superbad was riddled with (not saying that's a bad thing). I also feel this movie was took a simple concept (stated earlier) and made it incredible unique and very well done.

If you like Micheal Cera, definitely go see this if. If not...I still say go see it as he may surprise you.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MartyJOct 12, 2010
Youth in Revolt is a clever and witty film, the only problem for me was the portrayal of the alter ego/split personality when he was trying to win the girl its not a bad way to do it but its not the best either. Overall a good film
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lovemusicMay 21, 2011
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahah funny and good at the same time. Michael Cera is pretty good for playing nerds. i enjoyed this movie a lot. 7 out of 10. good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
destroya1artAug 18, 2011
This movie is really good, its funny, witty and has a original story. This movie is also based on a Novel of the same name. The acting is pretty good Michael Cera Is AMAZING! He plays himself a shy teenager like in most movies, and he alsoThis movie is really good, its funny, witty and has a original story. This movie is also based on a Novel of the same name. The acting is pretty good Michael Cera Is AMAZING! He plays himself a shy teenager like in most movies, and he also plays Francois Dillinger his alter-ego a bad ass mafia troublemaker dude who smokes alot. and MAn he nails it! this movie is nice, its a good teen movie, has some awkward scenes but really enjoyed it. GO CHECK IT OUT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
StevenFFeb 23, 2013
Youth In Revolt is the sort of film that perhaps asks too much of the viewer, there is different things going on around the central character of Nick Twisp, played by Michael Cera, who we finally see a glimpse of a different sort ofYouth In Revolt is the sort of film that perhaps asks too much of the viewer, there is different things going on around the central character of Nick Twisp, played by Michael Cera, who we finally see a glimpse of a different sort of character. There are different things going on and plenty of characters to maybe forget, but Youth In Revolt is careful not too mimic other split personality films, and for that, it does it brilliantly.
Nick goes along to a family 'vacation', which is actually his mother and her boyfriend evading a few sailors who her boyfriend, Jerry, who is played by Zach Galifianakis (who doesn't get nearly enough screen time) sold a dodgy car to. At their retreat, he meets the free spirited Sheeni Saunders, (Porta Doubledaywho, and in typical Cera fashion, he falls in love, with the girl, but this time the plot is a little different.
When he is forced to move back to Oakland, Nick decides to create an alter-ego, Francois Dillinger, who is everything Nick cannot be, smooth, sexy, crude, and downright badass. Heard it before, well what is striking about this take on an alter-ego is Nicks awareness of Francois being there, and embracing him, its quite the unique comedy element that is perfect for the film, building Nick's confidence,while still letting him enjoy the finer things in life.
The limited screen time of Justin Long was just unnecessary, he brought very little to his part but I suppose he can't be blamed, this really is where the plot went on a downward spiral, it was just messy, muddled with not very much happening in terms of a plot and character development.
Youth in Revolt isn't a bad film, but it fails in terms of driving and delivering a sound story, it loses its way on too many occasions and introduces an array of characters who are unnecessary and wasted, Justin Long, Zach Galifianakis, Ray Liotta and the talented Steve Buscemi in particular, a powerful cast, but with very little to do.
Michael Cera does excel in his role and it was good to see a more confident role for him, but it is a case of being too comfortable in the same persona, and I would welcome a change of pace.
Its has its moments, but this film needed to deliver its story with a more progressive attitude, rather than stray on vital moments.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
Michael Cera has to be the gayest man in America. He is so awkward in these romantic comedies, that he actually comes across as loveable. It is by shear talent that he thrives in these types of movies and that they become as good as they are.Michael Cera has to be the gayest man in America. He is so awkward in these romantic comedies, that he actually comes across as loveable. It is by shear talent that he thrives in these types of movies and that they become as good as they are. In order to be with his new girlfriend, Nick Twisp (Cera), needs to get kicked out of his house. Through a hidden persona he didn't know he had, he gets his wish, and that's when the adventure really begins. This movie makes up for a story that's been done, by throwing everything they've got at you. There are a ton of cameos, one liners, strange twists, mushrooms, and even some animation. Romantic comedies, definitely not my thing, but Youth In Revolt is something different. The writer really goes out of his way to make his simple story and his ordinary character something special. It actually turned out to be a pretty entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Oct 16, 2015
In a kind of "Fight Club" meets "Rushmore" mish-mash, the film "Youth In Revolt" does merit offbeat laughs and high-art drama, but it also clearly seems like a condensed, streamlined film version of a novel with much more expressive scope to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BradySmithJan 20, 2013
A very funny movie. It's more smartly written than most teen comedies and has a unique tone. It gets too dirty at times though, and is rightly rated R. I also think it should have been longer. It's a good comedy if you're old enough toA very funny movie. It's more smartly written than most teen comedies and has a unique tone. It gets too dirty at times though, and is rightly rated R. I also think it should have been longer. It's a good comedy if you're old enough to watch it though, and I think it's pretty memorable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ninja_dolphinJul 16, 2013
A fairly enjoyable movie that is worth a watch on Netflix but not a full purchase by any means. Michael Cera is great in the role and provides some laughs with his two personas. The rest of the characters all feel unlikable and mean spiritedA fairly enjoyable movie that is worth a watch on Netflix but not a full purchase by any means. Michael Cera is great in the role and provides some laughs with his two personas. The rest of the characters all feel unlikable and mean spirited however. The movie has a few stand out memorable moments eclipsed by some unfunny gags. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
M0vieAddictJul 30, 2013
Maybe it's because Nick Twisp reminds me a little of myself... Michael Cera plays another awkward role (which he always does well) as a teenager who struggles without seeing his true love. Youth In Revolt is smart, sophisticated and charmingMaybe it's because Nick Twisp reminds me a little of myself... Michael Cera plays another awkward role (which he always does well) as a teenager who struggles without seeing his true love. Youth In Revolt is smart, sophisticated and charming reminding me of similar movies such as Adventureland and Easy A. It's not a laugh out loud comedy but it does deliver a warming, relatable character in the split personality of Nick Twisp. Even when he's causing trouble, you feel like rooting for Cera. When he's not, you almost feel the frustration his character is going through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TechnoElfAug 14, 2015
I don't know why I love this film but I do. It may be how Michael Cera portray Nick Twisp. It may be the Indie charm this film has. It may be its odd humour, different characters or its not so typical romance. Its a different coming of ageI don't know why I love this film but I do. It may be how Michael Cera portray Nick Twisp. It may be the Indie charm this film has. It may be its odd humour, different characters or its not so typical romance. Its a different coming of age film filled with love, laughter & its lavishing indie twist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Berry-TanJan 13, 2016
Michael Cera as a mustache evil alter ego is entertaining enough, but the rest of the boy-ruins-his-life-for-a-girl story is: This film was so bad, It didn't get better or funnier. Michael Cera does well as Nick Twisp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews