Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 14, 2007
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 37 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
22
Mixed:
8
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ChadS.May 17, 2008
Lightning strikes, and an old man becomes young again. A man who never ages is enough story for one film, but Dominic(Tim Roth), on top of being vampiric, also has conversations with a doppleganger. And then there's his baffling Lightning strikes, and an old man becomes young again. A man who never ages is enough story for one film, but Dominic(Tim Roth), on top of being vampiric, also has conversations with a doppleganger. And then there's his baffling superpower; Dominic has the ability to read books with the wave of a single hand(English majors will read this as an inside joke). If "Youth Without Youth" had a studio mentality, it would be "The Fugitive" with gorgeous cinematography. But then, lightning strikes again, and the film veers into "Altered States" territory. That Dominic would encounter a woman whose lingering byproduct of the electrical jolt, gives him just the right empirical information to finish his life's work, is just too paradigmatic for comfort. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZakiyaKMay 3, 2009
This is one of the most intriguing movie I have ever experienced. It was so immense and captivating. I was drawn into the storyline and felt each scene as unfold.. Professor Dominique's character was so immmensed and realistic. I loved This is one of the most intriguing movie I have ever experienced. It was so immense and captivating. I was drawn into the storyline and felt each scene as unfold.. Professor Dominique's character was so immmensed and realistic. I loved this movie so much! Thank you Francis Coppola.> This was a masterpiece creation. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Lopez17Nov 14, 2010
What is life? Life is a dream that you can sometimes wake up from and then it is not, there is no dream there is nothing but life, how do you define what you are doing or how you are living by simple means? How do you define where you go,What is life? Life is a dream that you can sometimes wake up from and then it is not, there is no dream there is nothing but life, how do you define what you are doing or how you are living by simple means? How do you define where you go, what you do, or whom you meet? What is life but a fleeting thing that begins one moment and then ends the next? However, out of death, there is life and out of life, there is death. There are no clear paths in life except for the ones that we make for ourselves, we try to comprehend the dire state of the situation that we are in, but we do not know the real troubles that this life holds for us. So I ask you if you had the chance to live your youth over again to do it all right to make better choices to change the unchangeable to undo the undoable to make your life something more than what it has turned out, would you?



Francis Ford Coppola's "Youth Without Youth" is a deep, morbid, highly complex, enthralling and mind bending films I have ever seen Coppola has crafted a movie that not only works as a piece of experimental film making but as a piece of expressionism and deep rooted meaning about the true nature of life. How this film plays with the many different emotions is astounding. Throughout the film, there are many questions that Coppola presents for the audience to answer. One of those questions asked is what is there to life and why do us as humans make the choices we do. "Youth without Youth" is an ingenious mix of genres that blends the bleakness of the morals of humanity with the dark and morbid reality of the limitations of life. This film is a fascinating portrayal of how age can be the enemy of our greatest achievements while we may find ourselves loved by millions or have won some prestigious award that makes you famous in time, our accomplishments and the person who achieved them are all but forgotten. In the case of seventy year old, Dominic Matei (Tim Roth) life has seemed to pass him by as a young man he had all the time in the world but now that he has just turned seventy years old it seems like there is no time for anyone or anything. After a lightning bolt strikes the elderly professor, he somehow returned to the days of his youth and given a second chance to rediscover all that time has taken away from him, to rediscover himself, to rediscover love and to finish the work he started so long ago. This film's story and premise so convoluted and disjointed that to try to describe this film would be all but impossible. It is kind of like describing the plot of â
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
MichelC.Jun 1, 2008
They said that there was nudity in the movie, but not enough in my opinion. At the beginning it's quite satisfying with that german spy chick, but it goes dry afterwards. Just when you think he's gonna fuck that Veronica, she grows They said that there was nudity in the movie, but not enough in my opinion. At the beginning it's quite satisfying with that german spy chick, but it goes dry afterwards. Just when you think he's gonna fuck that Veronica, she grows old and you know there's almost 0 chance that you'll see sex again in the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JimJan 4, 2008
I agree one hundred with half of the critics have written--impenetrable. To the other half I say, "The emperor has no clothes."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelBMay 29, 2008
I can't believe I watched the entire thing.....whatever it was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JayH.May 8, 2008
Directors who can't edit their films to a reasonable length due to narcissism drive me crazy. Any movie, such as this one, that has painfully slow moving scenes needs to be edited and shortened. Other than that, the period detail is Directors who can't edit their films to a reasonable length due to narcissism drive me crazy. Any movie, such as this one, that has painfully slow moving scenes needs to be edited and shortened. Other than that, the period detail is exquisite, fine costumes and cinematography. The story is fair, at best. As with so many of Coppola's films, there are flashes of brilliance, accompanied by too much pretension. Perhaps if he would get off his pedestal and actually watch one of his films...(The Godfather trilogy excluded..) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
zeynepMar 23, 2008
It is a film which you cannot fully comprehend while watching it but for me it made sense after visiting the website and reading Coppola's comments on the symbols , the dual personality and the choice of love over knowledge. I believe It is a film which you cannot fully comprehend while watching it but for me it made sense after visiting the website and reading Coppola's comments on the symbols , the dual personality and the choice of love over knowledge. I believe Coppola has made a very universal theme complicated, artful, not so easily comprehended by just seeing the film. It made me think which i mostly like in movies.There's a very smooth story line and i loved the fact that veronica realized laura's wish of helping him finish his work of a lifetime but again he chose love over knowledge. With all his supernatural abilities which may lead to the realization of his dream, he chose love. That is a lesson itself.It is a very simple theme shot so artistically. Depressed it is but I don't believe it's vague. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HenriqueLMay 28, 2008
A enormous work, hard shoting, maybe too long, explendid dry flowers, starring Alexandra Maria Lara.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MichaelE.Feb 12, 2008
Not without moments reminding us that Coppola is a great filmmaker, but "Youth Without Youth" is essentially a non-film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EnriqueFeb 21, 2008
An essentially playful cinematic work of art. I noy totally convincing, it provides an unforgettable cinematographic/visual experience. If you want action, go see another flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RezG.May 12, 2008
I think The Visual version of this novel which written by Caplavoro Di has done , I'm not a fan but I learned so many things from this Production .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanleyKubrickAug 2, 2016
This is a unique film, even in Francis Coppola's diverse body of work, because it's his first surrealist film. Coppola was always interested in other film styles than the realism of his best-known work "The Godfather". In "Rumble Fish" heThis is a unique film, even in Francis Coppola's diverse body of work, because it's his first surrealist film. Coppola was always interested in other film styles than the realism of his best-known work "The Godfather". In "Rumble Fish" he tried for example German Expressionism. In "Apocalyse Now" he already flirted with surrealism, but didn't go as far as he does in "Youth without Youth", which is a fully realized and genuinely surrealist film in many ways. The surrealist tradition of André Breton, Salvador Dali, Luis Bunuel wanted to achieve a dream-like state in the arts, a kind of 'dreaming with open eyes' where you couldn't tell anymore what was 'reality', imagination, fantasy or madness. Surrealism didn't care for coherence, a consistent narrative or 'making sense'. It wanted to destroy the very notion of common sense, identity, reality, ordinary norms and values. Surrealist art works through association and individual imagination, not through conventional logic. "Youth without Youth" tried to do in cinema, what Mircea Eliade's novella did in literature: It's a surrealist work of art, that can't be defined or classified, because it doesn't play by the rules. Coppola himself said, that he was inspired by "Last Year in Marienbad".and it definitely is similar to Alain Resnais' brand of surrealism. I find it impossible to judge this film as 'entertainment', because it tries to be an abstract work of art. Shot mostly in Romania, it's beautiful to watch and the digital cinematography by Mihai Malaimare Jr. is gorgeous. The 'story' is sometimes moving, sometimes funny, sometimes thrilling, but always weird, surprising and unpredictable. It's a rich and strange film, maybe not without flaws, but it goes to places few people have been before. Watch it with an open mind and try to read about surrealism first, then this movie might make more 'sense' to you. If not, it's certainly an experience. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews