Youth Without Youth

Youth Without Youth Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Dominic Matei is an aging professor of linguistics who finds his youth miraculously restored after surviving a cataclysmic event. Dominic's physical rejuvenation and apparent immortality is matched by a highly evolved intellect, which attracts the attention of Nazi scientists and forces himDominic Matei is an aging professor of linguistics who finds his youth miraculously restored after surviving a cataclysmic event. Dominic's physical rejuvenation and apparent immortality is matched by a highly evolved intellect, which attracts the attention of Nazi scientists and forces him into exile. While on the run, he reunites with his lost love, Laura, and works to complete his research into the origins of human language. When his research threatens Laura's health, Dominic is forced to choose between his life's work and the great love of his life. (Sony Classics) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. 75
    This film's playful visual language pulls you in rather than shuts you out; it isn't difficult to decipher, and it enables Coppola and his editor, Walter Murch, to navigate the story's many realms with a directness and dexterity that are refreshing.
  2. In this film Mr. Coppola blurs dreams and everyday life and suggests that through visual and narrative experimentation he has begun the search for new ways of making meaning, new holy places for him and for us. He may not have found them yet, but, then, he’s just waking up.
  3. How's this for a ringing endorsement: Watching Youth Without Youth, Francis Ford Coppola's first film in nearly a decade, is like taking a philosophy exam. A really tiring philosophy exam, where the questions are elegantly phrased but damn confounding and not really conducive to right answers.
  4. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    50
    A vast, lumbering white elephant of a movie--but I sort of love it.
  5. Unfortunately, "Youth" becomes so lost in its own conceptual, convoluted vortex, it becomes virtually incomprehensible. Coppola proves that even the best of our film artists can lose sight of what this medium is all about: entertaining, enlightening and including its audience.
  6. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    40
    Not quite a complete write-off, but basically a folly.
  7. 0
    It's merely nutty, a picture that appears to have been made by an individual who has fallen off the edge of reason. Watching it was misery.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Aug 2, 2016
    10
    This is a unique film, even in Francis Coppola's diverse body of work, because it's his first surrealist film. Coppola was always interestedThis is a unique film, even in Francis Coppola's diverse body of work, because it's his first surrealist film. Coppola was always interested in other film styles than the realism of his best-known work "The Godfather". In "Rumble Fish" he tried for example German Expressionism. In "Apocalyse Now" he already flirted with surrealism, but didn't go as far as he does in "Youth without Youth", which is a fully realized and genuinely surrealist film in many ways. The surrealist tradition of André Breton, Salvador Dali, Luis Bunuel wanted to achieve a dream-like state in the arts, a kind of 'dreaming with open eyes' where you couldn't tell anymore what was 'reality', imagination, fantasy or madness. Surrealism didn't care for coherence, a consistent narrative or 'making sense'. It wanted to destroy the very notion of common sense, identity, reality, ordinary norms and values. Surrealist art works through association and individual imagination, not through conventional logic. "Youth without Youth" tried to do in cinema, what Mircea Eliade's novella did in literature: It's a surrealist work of art, that can't be defined or classified, because it doesn't play by the rules. Coppola himself said, that he was inspired by "Last Year in Marienbad".and it definitely is similar to Alain Resnais' brand of surrealism. I find it impossible to judge this film as 'entertainment', because it tries to be an abstract work of art. Shot mostly in Romania, it's beautiful to watch and the digital cinematography by Mihai Malaimare Jr. is gorgeous. The 'story' is sometimes moving, sometimes funny, sometimes thrilling, but always weird, surprising and unpredictable. It's a rich and strange film, maybe not without flaws, but it goes to places few people have been before. Watch it with an open mind and try to read about surrealism first, then this movie might make more 'sense' to you. If not, it's certainly an experience. 10/10 Expand
  2. ZakiyaK
    May 3, 2009
    10
    This is one of the most intriguing movie I have ever experienced. It was so immense and captivating. I was drawn into the storyline and felt This is one of the most intriguing movie I have ever experienced. It was so immense and captivating. I was drawn into the storyline and felt each scene as unfold.. Professor Dominique's character was so immmensed and realistic. I loved this movie so much! Thank you Francis Coppola.> This was a masterpiece creation. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    What is life? Life is a dream that you can sometimes wake up from and then it is not, there is no dream there is nothing but life, how do youWhat is life? Life is a dream that you can sometimes wake up from and then it is not, there is no dream there is nothing but life, how do you define what you are doing or how you are living by simple means? How do you define where you go, what you do, or whom you meet? What is life but a fleeting thing that begins one moment and then ends the next? However, out of death, there is life and out of life, there is death. There are no clear paths in life except for the ones that we make for ourselves, we try to comprehend the dire state of the situation that we are in, but we do not know the real troubles that this life holds for us. So I ask you if you had the chance to live your youth over again to do it all right to make better choices to change the unchangeable to undo the undoable to make your life something more than what it has turned out, would you?



    Francis Ford Coppola's "Youth Without Youth" is a deep, morbid, highly complex, enthralling and mind bending films I have ever seen Coppola has crafted a movie that not only works as a piece of experimental film making but as a piece of expressionism and deep rooted meaning about the true nature of life. How this film plays with the many different emotions is astounding. Throughout the film, there are many questions that Coppola presents for the audience to answer. One of those questions asked is what is there to life and why do us as humans make the choices we do. "Youth without Youth" is an ingenious mix of genres that blends the bleakness of the morals of humanity with the dark and morbid reality of the limitations of life. This film is a fascinating portrayal of how age can be the enemy of our greatest achievements while we may find ourselves loved by millions or have won some prestigious award that makes you famous in time, our accomplishments and the person who achieved them are all but forgotten. In the case of seventy year old, Dominic Matei (Tim Roth) life has seemed to pass him by as a young man he had all the time in the world but now that he has just turned seventy years old it seems like there is no time for anyone or anything. After a lightning bolt strikes the elderly professor, he somehow returned to the days of his youth and given a second chance to rediscover all that time has taken away from him, to rediscover himself, to rediscover love and to finish the work he started so long ago. This film's story and premise so convoluted and disjointed that to try to describe this film would be all but impossible. It is kind of like describing the plot of â
    Expand
  4. HenriqueL
    May 28, 2008
    7
    A enormous work, hard shoting, maybe too long, explendid dry flowers, starring Alexandra Maria Lara.
  5. ChadS.
    May 17, 2008
    4
    Lightning strikes, and an old man becomes young again. A man who never ages is enough story for one film, but Dominic(Tim Roth), on top of Lightning strikes, and an old man becomes young again. A man who never ages is enough story for one film, but Dominic(Tim Roth), on top of being vampiric, also has conversations with a doppleganger. And then there's his baffling superpower; Dominic has the ability to read books with the wave of a single hand(English majors will read this as an inside joke). If "Youth Without Youth" had a studio mentality, it would be "The Fugitive" with gorgeous cinematography. But then, lightning strikes again, and the film veers into "Altered States" territory. That Dominic would encounter a woman whose lingering byproduct of the electrical jolt, gives him just the right empirical information to finish his life's work, is just too paradigmatic for comfort. Expand
  6. JayH.
    May 8, 2008
    4
    Directors who can't edit their films to a reasonable length due to narcissism drive me crazy. Any movie, such as this one, that has Directors who can't edit their films to a reasonable length due to narcissism drive me crazy. Any movie, such as this one, that has painfully slow moving scenes needs to be edited and shortened. Other than that, the period detail is exquisite, fine costumes and cinematography. The story is fair, at best. As with so many of Coppola's films, there are flashes of brilliance, accompanied by too much pretension. Perhaps if he would get off his pedestal and actually watch one of his films...(The Godfather trilogy excluded..) Expand
  7. MichaelB
    May 29, 2008
    2
    I can't believe I watched the entire thing.....whatever it was.

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.