Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: August 13, 2004
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 80 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
16
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
grandpajoe6191Oct 19, 2011
"Yu-Gi-Oh: The Movie" is one massively cliched 90 minute advertisement with a great buy-our-cards-to-save-the-damn-planet strategy. Unless if you're one of those small kids who are obsessed with the show and cards, I suggest not watching it.
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
The plot is cliche and the characters are wooden, but the cool thing about Yu-Gi-Oh is seeing how creatively designed some of the creatures are.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
ZilcellJan 7, 2012
I kinda like this franchise, but if you could care less about the Yu-Gi-Oh! cards or show, then this is not right for you. If you are a fan, you will like this movie.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94May 7, 2011
I have been a fan of Yugioh for a few years and I liked this movie, so a 15% isn't the appropriate rating for me. A fine 9/10 would be my highest expectations. The animation was good, The characters were great, and the action scenes with theI have been a fan of Yugioh for a few years and I liked this movie, so a 15% isn't the appropriate rating for me. A fine 9/10 would be my highest expectations. The animation was good, The characters were great, and the action scenes with the Yugioh monsters was pretty well built up. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Falta de genialidade criou-se um filme péssimo.Falta de genialidade criou-se um filme péssimo. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
6
choopyJun 19, 2012
i honestly didn't think this movie was that bad, i mean, it wasn't perfect, but it was good for what it was. something tells me the Japanese version was better though
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
mlangeveldNov 12, 2011
What can I say? If you are a fan, you will enjoy it. Although I would prefer a better plot-line. On the postitive side is that 4Kids used the word 'die' in this movie. I would still have prefered FUNimation dubbing the series.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
7
sonyfanlocoMay 20, 2014
carecio de una historia original pero la batalla estuvo buena pero el argumento no tanto no tiene que ver casi nada con la serie por eso un 7 siendo sinceros
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
1
DanielleOMay 9, 2006
Nice images for the animation, it was artistc. Unfortunately the plot made little sense even to someoen that watched the show and did not match the cardgame. Even Yu-gi-oh fans should be very disappointed by this movie and the lame Deus Ex Nice images for the animation, it was artistc. Unfortunately the plot made little sense even to someoen that watched the show and did not match the cardgame. Even Yu-gi-oh fans should be very disappointed by this movie and the lame Deus Ex Machine of the Blue eyes shining dragon that 3 times seemed to resolve everything. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SamSep 13, 2005
It's a god-awful movie. I can't belive some moron used my name and said it was good. I used to be a ravid Yu-Gi-Oh fan, but after realizing how lame, pahtetic, and dorky the show and game was, I almost puked when I learened about It's a god-awful movie. I can't belive some moron used my name and said it was good. I used to be a ravid Yu-Gi-Oh fan, but after realizing how lame, pahtetic, and dorky the show and game was, I almost puked when I learened about this movie. Absoloutley dreadful. "Straight up for the best movie of the year?" Who gave that guy prozac? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RichardM.Mar 20, 2006
First I find it odd that people rather absoultly hate this movie or ar smitten by it. Nothing will change the fact that the storline is weak. but the animation is at least above average. Especial compared to most of the hand drawn garbage First I find it odd that people rather absoultly hate this movie or ar smitten by it. Nothing will change the fact that the storline is weak. but the animation is at least above average. Especial compared to most of the hand drawn garbage out now. The dueling is confusing. I have never played any card game outside of uno but this last week I started to put the effort into learning so I could play with my 7 year old son and play according to the rules. The confusing mayhem that is the tv movie makes for younger kids blabing out rubbish in an attempt to emulate the cartoon. I have found very little connecting the card game to the tv show outside of a few specialty cards. The parts of the reviews that left me scratching my head is the critics seemed shocked that it was a 90 minute commercial. Everywhere someone is advertising to you. Sporting events, television, even movies that are not nearly as gratutious as Yugioh still use product placement. As adults I figured that was understood. I conclude with I am enjoying playing the card game with my son. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkK.Jan 10, 2009
Manages to be just as bad as the anime itself.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
SilvinoT.Jan 12, 2006
A Very good movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
AustinkDec 27, 2008
Only can be properly rated by one who knows the game. if only they took the path that Pokemon took by screwing the battles and getting right down to a decent storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KentC.Jan 13, 2008
The greatest movie about monster-based card games, kids with BIG hair, drawn out card battles, and dramatic monster card based action ever made. Seriously, it's that amazing. I mean, where else can you watch animated kids who look like The greatest movie about monster-based card games, kids with BIG hair, drawn out card battles, and dramatic monster card based action ever made. Seriously, it's that amazing. I mean, where else can you watch animated kids who look like they should be 30 shout out dramatic lines and literally dictate every card-based move that they do? Also, listen for the On The Waterfront reference, trust me you'll know it when you'll hear it. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
WhyNot?Mar 15, 2009
Okay, let me get one thing straight. Yu-Gi-Oh! The Movie sucks. Now, let me get to the positives. While it is true that the movie is basically a one-and-a-half-hour advertisement, there is a bit more action that you would expect from the Okay, let me get one thing straight. Yu-Gi-Oh! The Movie sucks. Now, let me get to the positives. While it is true that the movie is basically a one-and-a-half-hour advertisement, there is a bit more action that you would expect from the series -- although that isn't saying much, like if you had said one snake was a lot better because you would die in 45 minutes instead of 30 if it bit you. ...Okay, I don't have much more on the positive side. For negatives, it's the same old Yu-Gi-Oh! crap that we've come to begrudgingly love. The voices, for the most part, suck due to 4Kids being a good anime's worst enemy -- and you can quote me on that -- and the plot is extremely confusing. Shouldn't this just be about adults playing a children's card game? Even a promo card or four received from watching it isn't really worth it, once you realize that most Duel Monsters cards are worth crap now. If you want good Yu-Gi-Oh! action, I recommend buying one of the video games -- they are surprisingly good. Yu-Gi-Oh! The Movie gets 8 plot twists out of 100. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GilesG.Mar 28, 2009
Its so awesome how they break the rules they're such gangsters. They're just like " Lets play Blue Eyes" but they can't so they throw the rules right out the window and that's EPICNESSSS!!! Who cares If Yu-Gi has the Its so awesome how they break the rules they're such gangsters. They're just like " Lets play Blue Eyes" but they can't so they throw the rules right out the window and that's EPICNESSSS!!! Who cares If Yu-Gi has the stupidest hair ever, that just makes this movie more gangster. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful
8
JakeJun 22, 2009
I think that this movie is underrated. I liked it because its plot made sense and, for Pete's sake, when it came out you got free rare cards! Anyway, I liked it. But I also liked the Mario movie, and since they were both flops... I have I think that this movie is underrated. I liked it because its plot made sense and, for Pete's sake, when it came out you got free rare cards! Anyway, I liked it. But I also liked the Mario movie, and since they were both flops... I have odd interests. But I digress. This movie is all right, but not the best thing that I've seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TheBlueBadgerJul 28, 2012
Well the obsurd plot is definately fun to make fun of while watching, but the overall story is very boring, especially compared to the first anime. The only character that I even cared about was Pegasus cuz he's a boss. Boring villain, boringWell the obsurd plot is definately fun to make fun of while watching, but the overall story is very boring, especially compared to the first anime. The only character that I even cared about was Pegasus cuz he's a boss. Boring villain, boring plot, not very exciting movie Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
meimizukagexMar 28, 2012
I liked how all they did was bring out their strongest monsters and trash-talk each-other into battle! It doesn't stop there, the movie has merchandise! Yes, they sell cards! This means that if you enjoyed the movie like I did you canI liked how all they did was bring out their strongest monsters and trash-talk each-other into battle! It doesn't stop there, the movie has merchandise! Yes, they sell cards! This means that if you enjoyed the movie like I did you can experience the magic at home with your friends, Somehow I was entertained even though I don't watch the anime. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews