Yu-Gi-Oh!: The Movie

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 93
  2. Negative: 37 out of 93

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JeannaM.
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    This movie had the greatest montser and the best duel between Anmibs and Yami while Kabia was knocked out and at the end yugi is right but he and kabia work together to defeat Darzt in the waking the drangons seriers.
  2. MacMan
    Aug 25, 2004
    10
    Anyone who likes YuGiOh the series will love this film. Regardless of age. This film has all the action and twists in it to make it appeal to anyone, expecially those who are already fans of YuGiOh. The reviewers dont know what there talking about. Because they cant undertand it. Onece they undertand the film they will love it. Anyway thats just my opinion. Others may hate the film. Thats Anyone who likes YuGiOh the series will love this film. Regardless of age. This film has all the action and twists in it to make it appeal to anyone, expecially those who are already fans of YuGiOh. The reviewers dont know what there talking about. Because they cant undertand it. Onece they undertand the film they will love it. Anyway thats just my opinion. Others may hate the film. Thats alright too. It just doesn't apeal to you if you dont like it. In myh case case YuGiOh The Movie apeals to me. Have Fun watching the film, i did! Expand
  3. YgO_fan62349!!!
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    Omg this movie is teh bestes t movie i have seeen all summer. Joey was at his actingest best but i thought it soundeded like they changed the voice actor who voiced the YUgi. regardless, this movie tops my list as the grestest so far among all the movies i have seen.
  4. RyanS.
    Aug 15, 2004
    10
    This is a exellent movie and kids all around the globe should see it!
  5. SilvinoT.
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    A Very good movie.
  6. KekkonenU.
    Dec 18, 2004
    10
    Straight up the best movie of the year!
  7. GilesG.
    Mar 28, 2009
    10
    Its so awesome how they break the rules they're such gangsters. They're just like " Lets play Blue Eyes" but they can't so they throw the rules right out the window and that's EPICNESSSS!!! Who cares If Yu-Gi has the stupidest hair ever, that just makes this movie more gangster.
  8. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    What can I say? If you are a fan, you will enjoy it. Although I would prefer a better plot-line. On the postitive side is that 4Kids used the word 'die' in this movie. I would still have prefered FUNimation dubbing the series.
  9. Sam
    Aug 15, 2004
    9
    I loved it, but I'm a yu- Gi-Oh fan so no suprise. Can't blame yhe 14, cause adults don't get it.
  10. ZulumE.
    Aug 27, 2004
    9
    It is cool!
  11. ZeeshA.
    Aug 15, 2004
    9
    This was terrific. I went in with low expectations (it's still a shame they changed the voice of Yugi), but this movie rocked! Those 89 minutes went by so fast, I sat in the theater and watched it again. This is even better than the second Pokemon film, although Alien vs. Predator is still your best bet for a good time at the movies.
  12. May 7, 2011
    9
    I have been a fan of Yugioh for a few years and I liked this movie, so a 15% isn't the appropriate rating for me. A fine 9/10 would be my highest expectations. The animation was good, The characters were great, and the action scenes with the Yugioh monsters was pretty well built up.
  13. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    I liked how all they did was bring out their strongest monsters and trash-talk each-other into battle! It doesn't stop there, the movie has merchandise! Yes, they sell cards! This means that if you enjoyed the movie like I did you can experience the magic at home with your friends, Somehow I was entertained even though I don't watch the anime.
  14. RichardM.
    Mar 20, 2006
    8
    First I find it odd that people rather absoultly hate this movie or ar smitten by it. Nothing will change the fact that the storline is weak. but the animation is at least above average. Especial compared to most of the hand drawn garbage out now. The dueling is confusing. I have never played any card game outside of uno but this last week I started to put the effort into learning so I First I find it odd that people rather absoultly hate this movie or ar smitten by it. Nothing will change the fact that the storline is weak. but the animation is at least above average. Especial compared to most of the hand drawn garbage out now. The dueling is confusing. I have never played any card game outside of uno but this last week I started to put the effort into learning so I could play with my 7 year old son and play according to the rules. The confusing mayhem that is the tv movie makes for younger kids blabing out rubbish in an attempt to emulate the cartoon. I have found very little connecting the card game to the tv show outside of a few specialty cards. The parts of the reviews that left me scratching my head is the critics seemed shocked that it was a 90 minute commercial. Everywhere someone is advertising to you. Sporting events, television, even movies that are not nearly as gratutious as Yugioh still use product placement. As adults I figured that was understood. I conclude with I am enjoying playing the card game with my son. Expand
  15. Jake
    Jun 22, 2009
    8
    I think that this movie is underrated. I liked it because its plot made sense and, for Pete's sake, when it came out you got free rare cards! Anyway, I liked it. But I also liked the Mario movie, and since they were both flops... I have odd interests. But I digress. This movie is all right, but not the best thing that I've seen.
  16. ChuckM.
    Aug 30, 2004
    7
    When I described this plot to my wife, she was interested. At its heart, the movie is intriguing: good vs. evil, rivalries stirred up by an ancient, unknown enemy to serve a darker purpose and heroic sacrifice to save one's friends. What prevented her from seeing it was the Yu-gi-oh format, which she detests. I like it, so I enjoyed the movie. This was an entertaining way to spend a When I described this plot to my wife, she was interested. At its heart, the movie is intriguing: good vs. evil, rivalries stirred up by an ancient, unknown enemy to serve a darker purpose and heroic sacrifice to save one's friends. What prevented her from seeing it was the Yu-gi-oh format, which she detests. I like it, so I enjoyed the movie. This was an entertaining way to spend a couple of hours, and the movie was worth the matinee price to see it. Expand
  17. BIZKIT
    Aug 13, 2004
    7
    Any YGO fan will enjoy this movie, as I enjoyed it, although a bit of confusion is in the movie though.
  18. May 20, 2014
    7
    carecio de una historia original pero la batalla estuvo buena pero el argumento no tanto no tiene que ver casi nada con la serie por eso un 7 siendo sinceros
  19. Austink
    Dec 27, 2008
    6
    Only can be properly rated by one who knows the game. if only they took the path that Pokemon took by screwing the battles and getting right down to a decent storyline.
  20. Jun 19, 2012
    6
    i honestly didn't think this movie was that bad, i mean, it wasn't perfect, but it was good for what it was. something tells me the Japanese version was better though
  21. Jan 7, 2012
    5
    I kinda like this franchise, but if you could care less about the Yu-Gi-Oh! cards or show, then this is not right for you. If you are a fan, you will like this movie.
  22. Nov 12, 2012
    5
    The plot is cliche and the characters are wooden, but the cool thing about Yu-Gi-Oh is seeing how creatively designed some of the creatures are.
  23. MarkK.
    Jan 10, 2009
    4
    Manages to be just as bad as the anime itself.
  24. Jul 28, 2012
    4
    Well the obsurd plot is definately fun to make fun of while watching, but the overall story is very boring, especially compared to the first anime. The only character that I even cared about was Pegasus cuz he's a boss. Boring villain, boring plot, not very exciting movie
  25. KentC.
    Jan 13, 2008
    3
    The greatest movie about monster-based card games, kids with BIG hair, drawn out card battles, and dramatic monster card based action ever made. Seriously, it's that amazing. I mean, where else can you watch animated kids who look like they should be 30 shout out dramatic lines and literally dictate every card-based move that they do? Also, listen for the On The Waterfront reference, The greatest movie about monster-based card games, kids with BIG hair, drawn out card battles, and dramatic monster card based action ever made. Seriously, it's that amazing. I mean, where else can you watch animated kids who look like they should be 30 shout out dramatic lines and literally dictate every card-based move that they do? Also, listen for the On The Waterfront reference, trust me you'll know it when you'll hear it. Expand
  26. Jan 6, 2014
    3
    Falta de genialidade criou-se um filme p├ęssimo.
  27. SangHeeJ.
    Jan 20, 2005
    2
    A wonderful film that captivated and energized...my younger brother. Terribly done with about a ninety-minute card game, no explanation, and nothing captivating. There's no reason for anybody who isn't obsessive over the card game to come close to the theater.
  28. Oct 19, 2011
    2
    "Yu-Gi-Oh: The Movie" is one massively cliched 90 minute advertisement with a great buy-our-cards-to-save-the-damn-planet strategy. Unless if you're one of those small kids who are obsessed with the show and cards, I suggest not watching it.
  29. DanielleO
    May 9, 2006
    1
    Nice images for the animation, it was artistc. Unfortunately the plot made little sense even to someoen that watched the show and did not match the cardgame. Even Yu-gi-oh fans should be very disappointed by this movie and the lame Deus Ex Machine of the Blue eyes shining dragon that 3 times seemed to resolve everything.
  30. SomeSmartass
    Dec 23, 2004
    1
    How can you like this without: A) Supporting the game B) Supporting the show C) Being age 5-15 D) Being high E) Being the stupidest person I've ever met.
  31. WhyNot?
    Mar 15, 2009
    1
    Okay, let me get one thing straight. Yu-Gi-Oh! The Movie sucks. Now, let me get to the positives. While it is true that the movie is basically a one-and-a-half-hour advertisement, there is a bit more action that you would expect from the series -- although that isn't saying much, like if you had said one snake was a lot better because you would die in 45 minutes instead of 30 if it Okay, let me get one thing straight. Yu-Gi-Oh! The Movie sucks. Now, let me get to the positives. While it is true that the movie is basically a one-and-a-half-hour advertisement, there is a bit more action that you would expect from the series -- although that isn't saying much, like if you had said one snake was a lot better because you would die in 45 minutes instead of 30 if it bit you. ...Okay, I don't have much more on the positive side. For negatives, it's the same old Yu-Gi-Oh! crap that we've come to begrudgingly love. The voices, for the most part, suck due to 4Kids being a good anime's worst enemy -- and you can quote me on that -- and the plot is extremely confusing. Shouldn't this just be about adults playing a children's card game? Even a promo card or four received from watching it isn't really worth it, once you realize that most Duel Monsters cards are worth crap now. If you want good Yu-Gi-Oh! action, I recommend buying one of the video games -- they are surprisingly good. Yu-Gi-Oh! The Movie gets 8 plot twists out of 100. Expand
  32. LisaS.
    Sep 8, 2004
    0
    Hated it!
  33. [Anonymous]
    Aug 22, 2004
    0
    This is the worst movie. Worst than House of the Dead. I give it an Zero 0 Period.
  34. Sam
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    It's a god-awful movie. I can't belive some moron used my name and said it was good. I used to be a ravid Yu-Gi-Oh fan, but after realizing how lame, pahtetic, and dorky the show and game was, I almost puked when I learened about this movie. Absoloutley dreadful. "Straight up for the best movie of the year?" Who gave that guy prozac?
  35. JohnnyB
    Aug 14, 2004
    0
    A 90 minute commercial about why you need to buy their product.
  36. ChristianS.
    May 22, 2005
    0
    The movie was a big waste of my time how can someone ever like it. It makes the tv yugioh shows look dumb. For 90 minutes the only thing they did was duel. They should not make any more yugioh movies ever just the tv shows.
  37. TomI.
    Aug 19, 2004
    0
    Sounds to me like we have some "Critic Defiers" in our midst. You know the type; they WANT to sit through odious dreck to make it seem as though they "get" something we critics don't. This movie in incoherent, cloying, and worst of all a hypnotic "Manchurian Candidate" style brain programmer for children. "I aquire Bucket Face with Swamp Mouth Doopy Poopy Shorts activated!".
  38. ThomY.
    Aug 21, 2004
    0
    If I were a card collector, I'd be appalled to have this primitive and pornographic bloodbath presume to speak for me.
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 16 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    20
    No doubt its small fans are thrilled, but even young kids will have to be pretty undemanding to enjoy this mess.
  2. Reviewed by: Lily Burk
    20
    If your child forces you to go to Yu-Gi-Oh!, remember that there's no law against iPods in movie theaters.
  3. 38
    Shallow and repetitive.