User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 397 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 397
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 9, 2011
    10
    A work of genius in storytelling by David Fincher in what is a phenominal adaption of the killings of the Zodiac killer. Clever casting for the lead roles leads to some outstanding performances by Jake Gyllenhall, Robert Downey Jr. and Mark Ruffalo. The film itself is long, some might say to long but the every detail, big and small is so precise and is key to Fincher conveying his take onA work of genius in storytelling by David Fincher in what is a phenominal adaption of the killings of the Zodiac killer. Clever casting for the lead roles leads to some outstanding performances by Jake Gyllenhall, Robert Downey Jr. and Mark Ruffalo. The film itself is long, some might say to long but the every detail, big and small is so precise and is key to Fincher conveying his take on events and also in showing the effects the Zodiac has on each character. But don't let how long the film is put you off because its so compelling and intense yet intriguing that it keeps you following the story and wanting to see whats going to happen next. Ofcourse the main point of story is based on the murders of the Zodiac killer but the main theme is how the killings affect each character and gradually wares them down with initially, the lack evidence to identify a suspect and then later to make a proper conviction. Downey dazzles as a journalist investigating the murders that brings him new found popularity which leads him down the drugs route due to the frustration and inability to find the man responsible, Ruffalo is is fantastic form and delivers a magestic performance as a cop tasked with finding the Zodiac, Gyllenhall is the surprise of the show for me, his portray of a strange and peculiar yet inspiring cartoonist, Robert, is tremendous, but Finchers choice in John Carroll Lynch as Arthur Leigh Arthur was genius as his depiction of the prime suspect is fabulously creepy and encapsulates the reason why he is the prime suspect to perfection. All in all Zodiac is a truely exceptional piece of filmmaking and something that you simply cannot afford to miss out on. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Knowing the way David Fincher's movies work, I was expecting a twist at the end, and I was disappointed when there wasn't one. However, Zodiac is still terrifyingly creepy, eerie, and its suspense level rises into Hitchcockian territory. Fincher's refusal to tie up loose ends in the movie as far as leads doesn't seek to confuse; instead, it seeks for the viewer to try to solve this case inKnowing the way David Fincher's movies work, I was expecting a twist at the end, and I was disappointed when there wasn't one. However, Zodiac is still terrifyingly creepy, eerie, and its suspense level rises into Hitchcockian territory. Fincher's refusal to tie up loose ends in the movie as far as leads doesn't seek to confuse; instead, it seeks for the viewer to try to solve this case in his/her head. And for that fact alone, this movie stands out above the average genre fare. Expand
  3. ChrisS
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    This movie was amazing. The movie was ver long, but through out the whole movie I never wanted it to end. I was hooked from start to finish. Robert Downey Jr. was incredible. David Fincher is an amazing director (Fight Club is his best work). This movie was terryfing and suspenseful throught the whole movie. I just watched last night, but I could watch it again today and be just as This movie was amazing. The movie was ver long, but through out the whole movie I never wanted it to end. I was hooked from start to finish. Robert Downey Jr. was incredible. David Fincher is an amazing director (Fight Club is his best work). This movie was terryfing and suspenseful throught the whole movie. I just watched last night, but I could watch it again today and be just as excited about it. Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    Treating James Vanderbilt's screenplay with a natural talent of a capable filmmaker by mixing suspenseful sequences with haunting pauses, David Fincher makes of Zodiac a good addition to the thriller genre.
  5. LDM
    Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Incredible film. Suspenseful, engrossing, chilling. Everything about it (acting, script, cinematography, score) is brilliant. Fincher at his absolute best.
  6. Dec 8, 2011
    9
    Zodiac is a near perfect film. While it takes on the same manner of story telling as All the President's Men, it does not quite match the classic film's essence, but all in all it becomes something great. It is a rarity to see a film about a serial killer in today's market not filled with gore and violence for the sake of gore and violence. It also becomes rarer when that film focuses onZodiac is a near perfect film. While it takes on the same manner of story telling as All the President's Men, it does not quite match the classic film's essence, but all in all it becomes something great. It is a rarity to see a film about a serial killer in today's market not filled with gore and violence for the sake of gore and violence. It also becomes rarer when that film focuses on the characters on the outside looking in: the news reporters, the police, etc. Again it becomes rarer when the actors have the capacity to truly bring out their respective character's persona and do so not just well, but beyond the viewer's expectations. Zodiac manages to do all of this while blending together terrific directing and a pace that just flows with the two and a half hour length so that the film remains an interesting, though all around disturbing, tale of humanity's deepest depths of violence and hatred rather than a sluggish bore, even without a focus on gallons of blood and severed limbs. In the end, this is a film that stands in contrast to Saw, Hostel, and all the other blood baths being pushed in front of us. It is a film that is actually good, perhaps more than good. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    Amazing film. The eerie mood created by Fincher leaves you on the edge of your seat the entire time. There may not be much action, but the story still manages to hook you in and keep you interested for the full 150+ minutes. On that note, it may be 150+ minutes, but it certainly does not feel like that in the least.
  8. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Zodiac is an ingenious labyrinth of a film that conveniently hits its climax just as we think its slowing down on us. This is great filmmaking from David Fincher, one of the greats of our time.
  9. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    David Fincher delivers a pretty entertaining thriller with "Zodiac". The story follows several men who become obsessed with the infamous Zodiac Killer and his reign of terror over the San Francisco Bay area during the 60s and 70s. The movie delves deep into what happens to investigators when their cases go unsolved, and how far they'll go to uncover the truth. All in all, I felt thatDavid Fincher delivers a pretty entertaining thriller with "Zodiac". The story follows several men who become obsessed with the infamous Zodiac Killer and his reign of terror over the San Francisco Bay area during the 60s and 70s. The movie delves deep into what happens to investigators when their cases go unsolved, and how far they'll go to uncover the truth. All in all, I felt that "Zodiac" was a pretty well-crafted film - especially in a technical sense. David Fincher implements a number of convoluted CG techniques to recreate the Zodiac Killer murders and certain areas of San Francisco. Fincher also filmed the majority film using the digital Thomsom Viper camera, something that, at the time, was relatively innovative. The acting was pretty great, I felt that every actor delivered their roles with the utmost accuracty. Also, the script seemed very well written and fairly convincing. As a film, "Zodiac" really does it's job of making you feel as though you are chasing after the elusive killer himself. Expand
  10. May 22, 2012
    10
    This isn't your typical Hollywood drivel dominated by special effects, and it's not a film for your typical short-attention-span-moviegoers; instead, it's a riveting analysis of the most definitive evidence in the case. I guess some people found it lacking in the typical blockbuster flash, but in my book that's a really GOOD thing. The characters are all very well-acted, and the screenplayThis isn't your typical Hollywood drivel dominated by special effects, and it's not a film for your typical short-attention-span-moviegoers; instead, it's a riveting analysis of the most definitive evidence in the case. I guess some people found it lacking in the typical blockbuster flash, but in my book that's a really GOOD thing. The characters are all very well-acted, and the screenplay was quite good. As they say, the truth is stranger than fiction, and this presentation of the Zodiac case is truly as compelling as they come. Excellent job. Expand
  11. StevenR.
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    Excellent film. The atmosphere and attention to detail effectively recreate one of the most interesting and unsolved serial killer cases in U.S. history. Fincher did an excellent job with the story.
  12. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Written and flows to pure perfection as good as anything. Performances are top-notch and fincher's exquisite storytelling is dramatic sizzles of fun that involves you in it's business until Zodiac no longer becomes a suspect, it becomes the poetry of determination, charismatic orientation and discussion that rambles without insanity. You don't want it to end; Zodiac reminds us of howWritten and flows to pure perfection as good as anything. Performances are top-notch and fincher's exquisite storytelling is dramatic sizzles of fun that involves you in it's business until Zodiac no longer becomes a suspect, it becomes the poetry of determination, charismatic orientation and discussion that rambles without insanity. You don't want it to end; Zodiac reminds us of how movies should be made, and that sums up the best film of 2007. Expand
  13. DawnA
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    Definitely a great movie. One of the best that I've seen recently. Accurate on the facts, suspenseful. Definitely a must see.
  14. MattK
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Excellent movie, one of the best i've seen in a long time. FIncher is back! Only complaint is that there are no special features/bonuses on this dvd.
  15. MarcosF.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    One of the best American movies of recent years, a deep regard into the United States after the September 11th (even if it runs in previous decades)
  16. RD.
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Hi I liked the movie. Gyllenhall, Downey Jr and Ruffalo's performances are fabulous. But the scene stealer is John Carroll Lynch as Arthur Leigh Allen. Although, he is there for only 5-6 minutes he is too creepy. Brilliant movie by Fincher who also directed the brilliant Seven and Fight Club(1999). Although it is a bit slow, it is rewarding. DO not expect anything, you will be Hi I liked the movie. Gyllenhall, Downey Jr and Ruffalo's performances are fabulous. But the scene stealer is John Carroll Lynch as Arthur Leigh Allen. Although, he is there for only 5-6 minutes he is too creepy. Brilliant movie by Fincher who also directed the brilliant Seven and Fight Club(1999). Although it is a bit slow, it is rewarding. DO not expect anything, you will be singing its raves. Those who way it is bakwaas are people who either do not like such intricate and grim movies or those who have very short attention span(no offense to anybody, it is your taste). Brilliant! Expand
  17. MikeP.
    Feb 20, 2008
    9
    Beautifully done, has me guessing the whole way not much better movies out there!
  18. MonaE.
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    Master storytelling - impecable acting.
  19. Christian
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    A grown-up movie for once from Fincher, which is not meant as an insult. Fight Club is great and Seven has its' charms, but Zodiac is the sight of a filmmaker finding the humanity in his characters and giving them the respect they deserve. the first ten minutes will absolutely terrify you, and from there you are riveted, more or less or the next two hours. Fincher doesn't flinch A grown-up movie for once from Fincher, which is not meant as an insult. Fight Club is great and Seven has its' charms, but Zodiac is the sight of a filmmaker finding the humanity in his characters and giving them the respect they deserve. the first ten minutes will absolutely terrify you, and from there you are riveted, more or less or the next two hours. Fincher doesn't flinch from the violence (has he ever?), but he doesn't linger either, like he did previously. It isn't perfect, due to a few scenes not quite adding up or adding to the plot, which may have been the point. One gets the sense this is a multiple viewing technique that will pay dividends in the future. Expand
  20. MichaelL.
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    God, what a bunch of pinheads critics can be. Zodiac is "unsatisfying"? "No resolution"? "About a writer rather than a killer?" Newsflash...the crime was never solved! This is a brilliant, subtle film by sledgehammer director Fincher, and it's a welcome change. With enough "Se7en" clones to fill an entire video store, how nice to be cerebrally challenged! This, none the less, is one God, what a bunch of pinheads critics can be. Zodiac is "unsatisfying"? "No resolution"? "About a writer rather than a killer?" Newsflash...the crime was never solved! This is a brilliant, subtle film by sledgehammer director Fincher, and it's a welcome change. With enough "Se7en" clones to fill an entire video store, how nice to be cerebrally challenged! This, none the less, is one of the creepiest film in recent memory--gave me honest to God nightmares. Bravo to Fincher and the uniformly excellent cast. And whoever chose "Hurdy Gurdy Man" as soundtrack material is a genius--I'll never be able to listen to Donovan again. Expand
  21. Westo
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    for anyone expecting to sit down for a 90 minute hyper-stylized blood orgy, i can understand some people checking their watches. but if you go in ready to invest three hours in an intricate and brilliantly sequenced crime drama i guarantee you will be totally blown away. i loved everything about this movie; the pacing, the acting, the cinematography, and screenplay were all tuned to for anyone expecting to sit down for a 90 minute hyper-stylized blood orgy, i can understand some people checking their watches. but if you go in ready to invest three hours in an intricate and brilliantly sequenced crime drama i guarantee you will be totally blown away. i loved everything about this movie; the pacing, the acting, the cinematography, and screenplay were all tuned to perfection. i have as much OCD and ADD as the rest of those living in western society and this movie still kept me on the edge of my seat just through the sheer passion of the characters themselves. fight club and se7en were great of course but i thought this really stood out as a masterpiece for david fincher and a mature piece of really highly focused storytelling that doesn't drag for a second. Expand
  22. ChadS.
    May 2, 2007
    10
    They started the meeting without him. You hear the off-camera voice of the editor-in-chief as Robert(Jake Gyllenhaal) enters the San Francisco Chronicle building; a pan finally delivers him into the conference room. He's tardy, but it doesn't matter. The movie can get by without him, for now. "Zodiac", up to this point, is a police procedural and a workplace drama. How the They started the meeting without him. You hear the off-camera voice of the editor-in-chief as Robert(Jake Gyllenhaal) enters the San Francisco Chronicle building; a pan finally delivers him into the conference room. He's tardy, but it doesn't matter. The movie can get by without him, for now. "Zodiac", up to this point, is a police procedural and a workplace drama. How the screenplay transforms the cartoonist into a pro-active character for the stretch run is what makes "Zodiac" so exciting; to see the low-man at the Chronicle emerge out of Paul Avery's shadow. "Zodiac" is really an underdog story. It's kind of like watching "Rudy". Expand
  23. JakeV.B.
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Fincher's best film to date. His depiction of the havoc wreaked by Zodiak upon those given the task or personal obsession of catching him, in many ways psychologically akin to The Shinning, is so devastating that he wisely gives little time to the actual killings. We watch the pursuing characters as their task gradually grinds them down, and Fincher's attention to the details, Fincher's best film to date. His depiction of the havoc wreaked by Zodiak upon those given the task or personal obsession of catching him, in many ways psychologically akin to The Shinning, is so devastating that he wisely gives little time to the actual killings. We watch the pursuing characters as their task gradually grinds them down, and Fincher's attention to the details, large and small, reveals a confidence in his choice of the film's direction which places him among the very best of his profession. Gambling with a fairly long running time, Fincher's excellent cast executes the director's plan almost flawlessly. I've never been a fan of Mark Ruffalo or his acting, but Fincher puts him squarely in the spotlight and he delivers the performance of his life. Some may see this film as a boring, overlong police procedural , lacking the intensity generated by the expected blood-letting, but I don't.. Fincher's made some very decent films, but nothing like this. It's a renewed pleasure to find a director whose films are identified by his name a la Stanley Kubrick. Now let's see if Fincher can consistently produce a product at least equal to this film. Expand
  24. DanF.
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    To be honest, I did check my watch, but only because I thought we were hitting the climax (which we were an hour away from.) Beautiful looking, never boring, great performances, SPECTACULAR storyline (and huge bonus that its true.)
  25. William
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    A sprawling masterpiece by the one and only David Fincher. He digs deep beneath our skins and creates a film for the ages. It features oscar worthy performaces from Jake Gyllenhaal, Mark Ruffalo, and Robert Downey Jr.. The story takes hold of us and refuses to let go until the very end which is left open ended. Was Leigh the killer or was it someone else. The obsession that took over A sprawling masterpiece by the one and only David Fincher. He digs deep beneath our skins and creates a film for the ages. It features oscar worthy performaces from Jake Gyllenhaal, Mark Ruffalo, and Robert Downey Jr.. The story takes hold of us and refuses to let go until the very end which is left open ended. Was Leigh the killer or was it someone else. The obsession that took over these people ruined their lives anthe press egged it on. Their own obsession with getting the scoop transformed the Zodiac into a celebrity. They messed with everyone's minds and clues were messed around and people gave false testimonials only turning the case into a twisted never ending Labyrinth. Come oscar time next year this film should definitely be remebered. It is taut and thrilling and meticulous. Fincher, welcome to perfection. Expand
  26. DavidL.
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    Go into this film with the right attitude, expecting to have to think and you'll find one of the most rewarding films of the past 10 years.
  27. AitorE.
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Zodiac is more than a thriller, it´s definetly THE thriller. Fincher builds a huge, monumental story where there isn´t such a thing. He invades your mind with tones of information that never shows itself confusing, but brilliantly dispensed. Mark Ruffalo demonstrates once again the great actor he is, while Jake Gyllenhaal stand the weight of a relevant role efficiently. Zodiac is more than a thriller, it´s definetly THE thriller. Fincher builds a huge, monumental story where there isn´t such a thing. He invades your mind with tones of information that never shows itself confusing, but brilliantly dispensed. Mark Ruffalo demonstrates once again the great actor he is, while Jake Gyllenhaal stand the weight of a relevant role efficiently. Summaring, Zodiac cannot be considered anything but a masterpiece of a director that loves his work and cinema. (the lake couple assassination, best filmed murder in history). Expand
  28. JayM.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    This strange, obsessive film by David Fincher is the perfect match of material and directorial personality. Given to compulsive retakes and meticulous preparation and long shoots, Mr. Fincher finds his alter ego in his characters compulsions yielding a masterwork nearly unmatched in recent cinema. One of the 3 or 4 best films of 2007.
  29. Nik
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    When I went to see Zodiac, I went alone, driven by boredom; at the time I just wanted something to do, so I thought I'd go see a movie, didn't think there was anything playing, but I noticed Zodiac had very favorable reviews, so I decided to see that, but I was NOT expecting what I saw. Zodiac is one of the most finely crafted motion pictures of all-time, I can't believe When I went to see Zodiac, I went alone, driven by boredom; at the time I just wanted something to do, so I thought I'd go see a movie, didn't think there was anything playing, but I noticed Zodiac had very favorable reviews, so I decided to see that, but I was NOT expecting what I saw. Zodiac is one of the most finely crafted motion pictures of all-time, I can't believe that's not even more praised by the critics and audience circles. The film is absolute brilliance, armed only with what was written in the books, and what the evidence tells us, the film manages to keep you mesmerized throughout it's entire 150+ running time (that is if you're mature enough to handle it). And even though i went in knowing that there wouldn't be any conclusion, somehow the film kept making me think "they're gonna fin him this time". And even though they didn't, I came out not remembering the last time I was so satisfied by a film. Probably the best I've seen since Sideways (which came out late in 04'). Expand
  30. PeterM.
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    This was a great movie, from the groundbreaking filming methods and shots, to the great acting from Robert Downey Jr. It did not feel two and a half hours at all! The movie moved along at a perfect pace, and was never difficult to follow. The killings were brutal, but did not affect the mood off the movie too drastically. The music was fitting, and the cinematography was groundbreaking to This was a great movie, from the groundbreaking filming methods and shots, to the great acting from Robert Downey Jr. It did not feel two and a half hours at all! The movie moved along at a perfect pace, and was never difficult to follow. The killings were brutal, but did not affect the mood off the movie too drastically. The music was fitting, and the cinematography was groundbreaking to say the least. The scene on the Golden Gate Bridge was incredible! GREAT MOVIE. Highly Recomended. Expand
  31. MarkB.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Director David Fincher is certainly both a sick puppy and an odd duck. Who else would begin Alien3 by, in the first few minutes, unceremoniously killing off little Newt, the surrogate daughter figure that Sigourney Weaver's Riplet spent all of Aliens trying to protect? Who else deserves the credit/ blame for Se7en, the inadvertent father of the torture-porn genre that later brought Director David Fincher is certainly both a sick puppy and an odd duck. Who else would begin Alien3 by, in the first few minutes, unceremoniously killing off little Newt, the surrogate daughter figure that Sigourney Weaver's Riplet spent all of Aliens trying to protect? Who else deserves the credit/ blame for Se7en, the inadvertent father of the torture-porn genre that later brought us Saw and all its sequels and knockoffs? Who else's directorial vision could mesh so perfectly with Fight Club author Chuck Palahniuk's VERY uniquely quirky, nightmarish and nihilistic voice? And the most fascinating thing about Fincher is that with Zodiac he proves himself to be a total trickster; just when you think you've got him pegged as a tremendously skilled but thoroughly heartless sadist, he upends all expectations by making his most humane movie to date...and it's about a serial killer! Long, obsessively meticulous and thoroughly fascinating, Fincher's Zodiac isn't as concerned about the Zodiac Killer's murders (which are depicted with extreme empathy for the victims) but with the trail of LIVING casualties left in his wake as newspapermen and cops, unable to track him down or absolutely identify him, suffer the destruction of careers, marriages and physical and mental health in their obsessive, Ahab-like pursuit. (San Fransisco Chronicle reporter Paul Avery, played by Robert Downey Jr. in a performance that certainly would've netted him a Best Supporting Actor Oscar nomination next year had this movie been released a little later and made a lot more, arguably suffers the most, but it's hard not to watch the same paper's editorial cartoonist Robert graysmith, played by Jake Gyllenhaal, torpedo his ten-year marriage by completely ignoring it in pursuit of Zodiac without concluding that his obsession is the most disturbing...especially given that his wife, Melanie, is played by Chloe Sevigny who, wearing overalls in half the movie and huge glasses throughout, would handily defeat any litter of kittens in an adorableness runoff.) The tragedy of Avery's, Graysmith's and police inspector David Toschi's (Mark Ruffalo) repeatedly frustrated attempts to nail Zodiac's identity lies in the time period; in just a few years the use of advanced computer cross-checking and other capabilities, extremely sensitive DNA testing capacities that would've probably caught Zodiac's slightest glitch, and all sorts of other aids to detection that all CSI viewers thoroughly take for granted would have all but assured that they'd get their man and make it stick. That's why the genius of Fincher's direction lies in his making this as much a period piece as any Jane Austen adaptation; just as Fincher cleverly communicated our culture's dependence on and worship of consumerism in Fight Club by including a brand name in nearly every shot, here he features in almost every frame a visual or verbal reference to an objest or item that would be totally at home thirty or so years ago but totally alien today. (My two favorite references: a comment by the San Fransisco police noting that one of their offices hasn't got one of those newfangled fax machines...and Avery, at a pivotal point, playing around with a brand new, almost unbearably exciting 1975 video game known as "Pong".) Admittedly, sitting through a nearly three hour movie dealing with a series of crimes that never quite gets solved, therefore effectively denying the audience an emotional release it's perfectly reasonable to want and expect at the movies is a tough way to spend a Saturday night after a long hard work week, so this movie's disappointing box office was not only inevitable but somewhat understandable. But to those who take the chance (and who later rally around this film, making it the cult item it'll undoubtedly become) Zodiac is not only one of the best films about the 1970s ever made (without so much as a single Bee Gees record in it) but can comfortably be mentioned in a breath with Robert Altman's Nashville and Francis Ford Coppola's first two Godfather movies as one of the great epics OF the 1970s. Expand
  32. EricC.
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    David Fincher is a very interesting director. Some of his films have been horribly under rated (Alien 3) and some over rated (Panic Room). But he showed definatitively that he was a special director with Seven. Now he has shown that he is one of the best. He doesn't really revive his signature bleak-and-gritty style, but simple camera and lighting tricks, while nothing new, were David Fincher is a very interesting director. Some of his films have been horribly under rated (Alien 3) and some over rated (Panic Room). But he showed definatitively that he was a special director with Seven. Now he has shown that he is one of the best. He doesn't really revive his signature bleak-and-gritty style, but simple camera and lighting tricks, while nothing new, were impressively done. But what really made this movie was the cast, all amazingly casted. Jake Gyllenhaal was amazing, and if you don't see how than you should go back to Wild Hogs and Norbit. Here is his best outing since his amazing performance as Donnie Darko (if you've never seen it, don't judge it). And it's too bad for the people who didn't have the patience to enjoy to wild story. Quick and underplayed plot twists kept things very exciting. I can't wait for Fincher's next project. Expand
  33. MauriceJOhnson
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    A terrifying, brilliant film along the lines of The Silence of the Lambs. It is truly revolutionary and unforgettable in several ways. Both directed and crafted to absolute perfection and acted with complete grace and dignity by Robert Downey Jr, who delivers a Oscar Nomination worthy performance and the young and very promising Jake Ghyenhaal. The movie is a masterpiece. Missing it wouldA terrifying, brilliant film along the lines of The Silence of the Lambs. It is truly revolutionary and unforgettable in several ways. Both directed and crafted to absolute perfection and acted with complete grace and dignity by Robert Downey Jr, who delivers a Oscar Nomination worthy performance and the young and very promising Jake Ghyenhaal. The movie is a masterpiece. Missing it would be insane. Expand
  34. TonyB.
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    A terrifying, brilliant film along the lines of The Silence of the Lambs. It is truly revolutionary and unforgettable in several ways. Both directed and crafted to absolute perfection and acted with complete grace and dignity by Robert Downey Jr, who delivers a Oscar Nomination worthy performance and the young and very promising Jake Ghyenhaal. The movie is a masterpiece. Missing it would A terrifying, brilliant film along the lines of The Silence of the Lambs. It is truly revolutionary and unforgettable in several ways. Both directed and crafted to absolute perfection and acted with complete grace and dignity by Robert Downey Jr, who delivers a Oscar Nomination worthy performance and the young and very promising Jake Ghyenhaal. The movie is a masterpiece. Missing it would be insane. Based on the actual case files of one of the most intriguing unsolved crimes in the nation's history, Zodiac is a thriller from David Fincher, director of "Seven" and "Fight Club." As a serial killer terrifies the San Francisco Bay Area and taunts police with his ciphers and letters, investigators in four jurisdictions search for the murderer. The case will become an obsession for four men as their lives and careers are built and destroyed by the endless trail of clues. Zodiac exhausts more than one genre. Termite art par excellence, it burrows for the sake of burrowing, as fascinated by its own nooks and crannies as "Inland Empire." The film never veers from its stoically gripping, police-blotter tone, yet it begins to take on the quality of a dream. In Zodiac, working from a script by James Vanderbilt, Fincher has decidedly toned down his act. His straight-ahead, methodical direction isn't as flagrantly unsettling as much of his previous work, but it's more psychologically layered. In this film, for the first time, we feel for his characters when they bleed. Expand
  35. DonaldR.
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    Dark, detailed and dreamlike, Zodiac creeps into you like a ghost. I have not stopped thinking of this film since seeing it. Fincher has done a brilliant job of capturing everything about the time and place of this story, and his actors have delivered performances that are wise and nuanced. This is magnificent filmmaking and one of the best, satisfying films I've ever seen. Bravo!
  36. BillyS.
    Mar 8, 2007
    9
    No way in hell can you make a 2 hour and 40 minute movie about an unsolved serial-killer case that spends nearly two and a half hours on the investigation without seeing the killer but focuses on its effect on the two cops and two reporters who become consumed with finding him, no way could the story grow more and more gripping with a hypnotic intensity, no way could the setting of Snn No way in hell can you make a 2 hour and 40 minute movie about an unsolved serial-killer case that spends nearly two and a half hours on the investigation without seeing the killer but focuses on its effect on the two cops and two reporters who become consumed with finding him, no way could the story grow more and more gripping with a hypnotic intensity, no way could the setting of Snn Francisco in the late 60's and early 70's be so perfectly recreated to the finest detail in its production design, music, and cinematography, and no way could Jake Gyllenhaal, Mark Ruffalo, Robert Downey Jr. and Brian Cox give award worthy performances when everyone is waiting to see the Zodiac Killer. No way! What's that you say? David Fincher directed it... oh, i see, nevermind. Expand
  37. JoeyB
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    That wondrous rarity - a studio backed auteur masterpiece. Brilliant.
  38. SteveK
    Sep 19, 2007
    9
    First off, this is a detective movie, NOT a slasher/thriller/horror movie. If you go in expecting a slasher, after the first 30 minutes or so, you will be disappointed. Fincher is a master story-teller. It's fascinating, gripping stuff. It takes a more mature film-watching pallate, meaning there are not a lot of car crashes and special effects. Teeny-boppers who are overstimulated on First off, this is a detective movie, NOT a slasher/thriller/horror movie. If you go in expecting a slasher, after the first 30 minutes or so, you will be disappointed. Fincher is a master story-teller. It's fascinating, gripping stuff. It takes a more mature film-watching pallate, meaning there are not a lot of car crashes and special effects. Teeny-boppers who are overstimulated on MTV probably will not enjoy this one. The suspense is woven into the story appropriately adding a chilling menace that is present throughout the pic. Great movie, another triumph for David Fincher. Expand
  39. LeeM.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    The best thriller of the last 10 years by some distance.
  40. ChessL
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    This was a great movie in my perspective, all those that think this movie was a total shrek, well you can all suck it.
  41. HenriM.
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    The most chilling film I've seen in recent years. Not only does Fincher meticulously recreates the atmosphere and mood of the 70's, he gives a brilliant insight on obsession, and examines how the murder case took over people's lives. It's also technically superb, with great performances all around.
  42. Gray
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    Excellent. Just got back from an early screening in Boston, and I'm really happy with it. A very restrained effort from Fincher, despite it's length. A great script keeps all the happenings from ever getting confusing, and keeps the film enthralling for it's entire runtime.
  43. KyleS.
    Feb 27, 2007
    9
    Saw this at a screening, not expecting to like it and it was great. Tense, well-acted, and very thought provoking. Really enjoyed it.
  44. JoeyM.
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    A surprisingly gripping and well acted account of a dark period in California history. What was fascinating for me was remembering how different it was back in that period. Pulling over because somebody was honking at you? Not being surprised when they offered to help? Not driving off when a stranger comes driving up? Zodiac was able to take advantage of people because they didn't A surprisingly gripping and well acted account of a dark period in California history. What was fascinating for me was remembering how different it was back in that period. Pulling over because somebody was honking at you? Not being surprised when they offered to help? Not driving off when a stranger comes driving up? Zodiac was able to take advantage of people because they didn't expect that type of behavior from strangers back then - and he is, at least in part, responsible for the fact that we just don't trust each other as much as we used to. A fascinating film about a cultural turning point. Expand
  45. PaulK.
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    This is a long one...but the pacing helps. Solid acting all around, with enough thrills to satisfy fans of Fincher's previous work. If you are fascinated with the zodiac killer, you will dig this and for the uninitiated, you will most likely be fascinated, after watching.
  46. AaronS.
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    David Fincher's most fully realized film to date. In the past, the director's visual style occasionally rubbed your nose in it's technique-'Zodiac' is a near perfect display of admirable directorial restraint. Instead of just another serial killer thriller-Fincher and his very fine cast create an elegant mood piece about obession, the media and the '70s. David Fincher's most fully realized film to date. In the past, the director's visual style occasionally rubbed your nose in it's technique-'Zodiac' is a near perfect display of admirable directorial restraint. Instead of just another serial killer thriller-Fincher and his very fine cast create an elegant mood piece about obession, the media and the '70s. Excellent film that I hope many will take a chance to seek out. Sure to be one of the year's cinematic highlights come December when the top ten lists roll around. Expand
  47. Pooja
    Mar 8, 2007
    9
    I thought it was a great movie. The plot was great and the acting was great. The only complaint is that it was a little bit to long. If it was slightly short it would have been a 10
  48. Josak
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie. I rented it and watched it 3 times over the weekend (can't remember the last time I've done that). Absolutely gripping; it keeps you hooked from start to finish. Everything about it is pure quality: the way its constructed, the acting, everything plays out perfectly. Best of all, it keeps you at the edge of your seat wanting to know what happens I absolutely loved this movie. I rented it and watched it 3 times over the weekend (can't remember the last time I've done that). Absolutely gripping; it keeps you hooked from start to finish. Everything about it is pure quality: the way its constructed, the acting, everything plays out perfectly. Best of all, it keeps you at the edge of your seat wanting to know what happens next. And the fact that it's a true story and the killer was never caught, makes it all the more suspenseful and scary. This is my favorite movie of the year and probably the best I've seen in long while. Expand
  49. ScottS.
    Feb 13, 2008
    9
    Great film a little complicated to follow in places due to the many names and dates used but it will keep you guessing throughout. Highly enjoyable.
  50. Matthew
    Feb 27, 2007
    9
    Fincher rebounds from the "One watch only" predictability of Panic Room. He's back on top. The movie is long and full of important dialog, so I think a lot of people won't like it. It's a thinker. I'll be adding this to my expanding Fincher Shelf, with SE7EN, The Game and Fight Club.
  51. PaulG.
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    My attention never flagged, even though the movie approached three hours. That in itself is high commendation. A great detective story. Wall Street Journal's Morgenstern has his head stuck in the stock reports.
  52. JimD.
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    This is not your typical Hollywood
  53. ScottW.
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    Deep, long story and with a frightfull grip, Zodiac is a movie that you can get lost in. Its what movies are for.You will become obsessed yourself, with the case during the show right up to the end. If you like David Fincher films and have not checked out Zodiac. Please do. This one is one of his best. A 9.5 for me.
  54. David
    Apr 19, 2008
    10
    Brilliant. Just because it isn't a typical slam-blam chaotic action-filled, gory serial killer movie, doesn't mean it won't send chills up your spine at times. Zodiac is at once a newspaper movie, a serial killer film, and a meditation on the often excruciatingly frustrating results from hours and hours of police work. See it now.
  55. FilipeM.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Right after I've seen the movie, I felt compelled to come here and leave the maximum rating. Ok, it's a looooooong movie, but thanks to Fincher's direction never gets boring and when you think that it's almost in the end, you get a new thrill. Besides that, there's the great character performed by Downey Jr. that chew the scenery by outstanding acting in his Right after I've seen the movie, I felt compelled to come here and leave the maximum rating. Ok, it's a looooooong movie, but thanks to Fincher's direction never gets boring and when you think that it's almost in the end, you get a new thrill. Besides that, there's the great character performed by Downey Jr. that chew the scenery by outstanding acting in his scenes. Seriously, if you're still reading this, don't waste any more time and GO WATCH THIS MOVIE! Expand
  56. Mar 10, 2015
    10
    Zodiac is what you would expect a proper brilliant mystery-thriller to be. It is a **** edge of the seat, and more importantly, a film based on curiosity. Anti-climactic, yes, but it's a true story. Very few movies have such a good anti-climax.
  57. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    This movie right here is a true edge of your seat thriller. This movie shows you a guy who could be the zodiac but right when you think you've solved it and found the guy who really is the zodiac it turns you in a different direction and shows you another guy and everything you thought you knew about the other guy turns out to be false and not true. Great Suspense Thriller. LOVE IT!!!!!
  58. Jan 23, 2015
    9
    Zodiac is an intense experience, it has a tense, gripping, ominous, visceral and suspenseful atmosphere throughout, and it features solid acting from its lead actors, and a typically strong direction from Fincher.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Firing on all cylinders as a creepy thriller, police procedural and "All the President's Men"-style investigative newsroom drama, the smart, extremely vivid production oozes period authenticity.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Conveying an astonishing array of information across a long narrative arc while still maintaining dramatic rhythm and tension, this adaptation of Robert Graysmith's bestseller reps by far director David Fincher's most mature and accomplished work.
  3. Reviewed by: Nathan Lee
    100
    Zodiac exhausts more than one genre. Termite art par excellence, it burrows for the sake of burrowing, as fascinated by its own nooks and crannies as "Inland Empire."