User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 627 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 627
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MilesL
    Oct 9, 2009
    3
    Zombieland was an utter failure. Saying that it was bad or tired or bland or uninteresting doesn't go far enough in expressing how poor a film it is; it flat-out fails on every generic level which could arguably be ascribed to it. It's not quite a road movie, it's about half of a teen comedy, and it's miles fucking away from what could be considered a proper, or even Zombieland was an utter failure. Saying that it was bad or tired or bland or uninteresting doesn't go far enough in expressing how poor a film it is; it flat-out fails on every generic level which could arguably be ascribed to it. It's not quite a road movie, it's about half of a teen comedy, and it's miles fucking away from what could be considered a proper, or even satirical, zombie flick. It seemed like nothing so much as a desperate attempt to cash in on a niche trope that's experienced something of a renaissance in recent years; the filmmakers obviously had no love for nor understanding of the things that make the genre great. Everything that made Shaun of the Dead so smart and sharp is missing, and what you're left with is a nutless 90 minutes that sort of disinterestedly wanders toward a conclusion without a sense of its own narrative stakes. Which is pretty appropriate, actually, because Zombieland doesn't have stakes. To have stakes you have to follow your film's internal logic, play by the rules you've set out yourself. It never even comes close. There's a cameo smack in the middle of the film that's good for ~10 minutes of chuckles, but the rest is basically filler. In a bad zombie movie, you're at least due some good gruesome fun, but Zombieland doesn't even deliver in that department. And the gratuitous use of the Z-word (and the movie's title, which I think is repeated two or three dozen times) drove me fucking batty. Expand
  2. mikem.
    Oct 11, 2009
    0
    Not scary, not funny. Another geek-love movie that roll out like the all too self-assured romantic comedies of worse years.
  3. AaronA
    Feb 15, 2010
    1
    Whoa, this one sucks ass! Zombies in this film: bad actors with gore makeup shouting and grinning like idiots. They didn't feel like real menace. Wimpy main character also annoys the shit out of me, and makes this movie again less believeable. No way in hell someone like him could survive more than a day... "Fat ones died first". What about nerds with poor physical shape who fuel up Whoa, this one sucks ass! Zombies in this film: bad actors with gore makeup shouting and grinning like idiots. They didn't feel like real menace. Wimpy main character also annoys the shit out of me, and makes this movie again less believeable. No way in hell someone like him could survive more than a day... "Fat ones died first". What about nerds with poor physical shape who fuel up with coke and cereals? Jokes were stupid and not funny, they made me dead serious It all just feels too Hollywoodish... see Shaun of the dead, it got it right. Expand
  4. Ryan
    Feb 9, 2010
    0
    This movie was terrible! It is another cookie cutter movie based on over-done big hollywood cliches. It drags, the plot is boring. This movie sucks!
  5. PJ
    Oct 8, 2009
    1
    Not scary, not funny. Another geek-love movie that roll out like the all too self-assured romantic comedies of worse years. I'm sure people love this film since there are great actors in it doing the best with a dumb plot. I wanted to leave early. OVER-HYPED.
  6. GregS
    Nov 20, 2009
    1
    Let's face it. The Net has been taken over by marketing a-holes. We can believe neither so-called serious critics, nor "the public". This movie, in truth, deserves a 5 or 6 but I wanted to lower the rating. It's not terrible, it's just so-so. But after all the hype I was hoping for something better. As a comedy zombie flick it just doesn't bring it home. So aimless, so Let's face it. The Net has been taken over by marketing a-holes. We can believe neither so-called serious critics, nor "the public". This movie, in truth, deserves a 5 or 6 but I wanted to lower the rating. It's not terrible, it's just so-so. But after all the hype I was hoping for something better. As a comedy zombie flick it just doesn't bring it home. So aimless, so lazy, so lame. Watch Shaun of the Dead if you want to see it done well. To its credit, the cast give 100%. The DP is pretty good, too. The director and writer should be shot at dawn., if not before And as for those damn marketing b*stards? Shooting them would be a waste of good bullets. Oh, and Bill Murray? He's fine. But this little cameo ain't gonna be appearing on any "greatest moments" show, believe me. How I wish I could earn his fee for wandering on-set in silly makeup and slurring three or four lines! Truly, 2009 has been the worst year for movies in my entire life. Expand
  7. TonyS.
    Nov 24, 2009
    2
    It's basically a rip off of Shaun Of The Dead but not as clever, witty or original.
  8. Dec 22, 2011
    3
    Its ok but far from perfect. While the premise of the film was good and the first few minutes were good, It all goes swiftly down hill and actually gets really really boring.
  9. Mar 25, 2012
    3
    A sick and stupid film. Zombieland tries to be funny but just comes across as a stupid movie with lots of gore. Nothing different then any other zombie movie except this one tries to be funny. What a shame.
  10. JonathanG.
    Oct 5, 2009
    2
    1 point for super slow motion, 1 point for "he just kills me". Otherwise, crap.
  11. TylerD.
    Oct 11, 2009
    3
    This movie was not funny at all. Who cares if Bill Murray was in the film? i dont. Woody's character did not make me laugh one time. After the first five minutes of the movie it became nothing more than trash. Shaun of the Dead is the best comedy zombie flick ever made and this movie did not even scrape the surface of that one. Barely any zombies in the film, mostly about some punk This movie was not funny at all. Who cares if Bill Murray was in the film? i dont. Woody's character did not make me laugh one time. After the first five minutes of the movie it became nothing more than trash. Shaun of the Dead is the best comedy zombie flick ever made and this movie did not even scrape the surface of that one. Barely any zombies in the film, mostly about some punk from the movie Adventureland that is not funny at all, he is horrible. It is a love story in a way. i was not impressed at all. Expand
  12. JoshD
    Oct 12, 2009
    0
    First 20 minutes were spectacular, after that it just kinda fizzled in a lame contrivance of yet another boy meets girl story with a frontman more feminine than his love interest.
  13. billc
    Oct 27, 2009
    3
    The perfect film for the 12 to 16 year old male who has no social life and no girl friend.This just happens to be a character in the film as well. Even for a zombie movie this seems pitifly stupid.Does Woody Harrelson have any decent films to his credit besides No Country For old Men?
  14. Aug 15, 2011
    1
    An unintentional antithesis to Dawn Of The Dead. Could've been so much better as it was initially promising. Irritating characters, stupid plot, clichéd, dumbed-down and far too "Hollywood".
  15. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    POINTLESS! it is beyond me how anyone could possible want to direct or produce this so called 'film'. However, if this is not bad enough, people actually watch it and get a sense of entertainment off it.
  16. Jul 12, 2014
    2
    An interesting premise leads to some decent, though shallow situations, which lead to a pretty formulaic ending that feels like a TV movie, and many loose ends are left unsatisfied.

    I couldn't tell if I was watching a satirical poke at zombie movies or a rather mediocre serious take on zombie movies. It seemed like it couldn't make up its mind. It also seemed like it didn't know if it
    An interesting premise leads to some decent, though shallow situations, which lead to a pretty formulaic ending that feels like a TV movie, and many loose ends are left unsatisfied.

    I couldn't tell if I was watching a satirical poke at zombie movies or a rather mediocre serious take on zombie movies. It seemed like it couldn't make up its mind. It also seemed like it didn't know if it was aiming for adult audiences or college age audiences. It sort of hovers in the middle, afraid to offend either party

    These characters are as paper-thin as they come. Having all jumped from the pages of the conglomerated codex of all zombie movies put together, they feel no need to explain their motivations, since it clearly knows you've seen this shlock a hundred times before. Some half-hearted attempts are made at backstory, but they are mostly of the 'tell and don't show' variety

    Bill Murray makes a rather odd appearance, and it just felt like it was saying "We're cultured, we appreciate Bill Murray." Just like many a college student, the movie can't help itself from trying to get your attention and adoration, stroking its own ego at the expense of being a good movie. Would not see again, would not recommend
    Expand
  17. JeffA
    Nov 5, 2009
    4
    Unlikeable characters, pretty dumb, tries to be funny and hip but the writing is really pretty crap.
  18. RobynB
    Nov 6, 2009
    0
    this was the worst "zombie" movie i have ever seen. there was little to no plot, and there was no reason why any of those characters would be alive based on pure stupidity. "lets go to pacific play land and turn on all the lights and rides and NOT expect zombies to attack, especially while we're in a major city. but before we do that let's go to Bill Murray's house with this was the worst "zombie" movie i have ever seen. there was little to no plot, and there was no reason why any of those characters would be alive based on pure stupidity. "lets go to pacific play land and turn on all the lights and rides and NOT expect zombies to attack, especially while we're in a major city. but before we do that let's go to Bill Murray's house with lots of glass windows and hit golf balls and make lots of noise"???????? it just didnt make any sense! i hated this movie to the core. Expand
  19. MiKE
    Feb 12, 2010
    0
    I enjoy the whole zombie idea, where the whole population turns into zombies and its the end of the world. The movie had such a good start! I was ready to enjot it, and then it became boring with a cast of 4 actors!?!? Not funny, no adventure, AVOID
  20. MattT
    Feb 16, 2010
    4
    Not nearly as good as many here and elsewhere are claiming. Both me and my wife agree it was 'alright'. And everyone seems to be gushing about Bill Murray's cameo, but it was really only worh a couple of chuckles, if that. I would say this is worth watching if you don't have to pay for it. Also, turning all of the lights and rides on at an abandoned amusment park and Not nearly as good as many here and elsewhere are claiming. Both me and my wife agree it was 'alright'. And everyone seems to be gushing about Bill Murray's cameo, but it was really only worh a couple of chuckles, if that. I would say this is worth watching if you don't have to pay for it. Also, turning all of the lights and rides on at an abandoned amusment park and not knowing it would attract zombies is pretty stupid. And how exactly were they riding all of the rides anyway with no one to start and stop them? I know I'm being picky but even wacky comedies have to follow some rules or who would give a crap what happened to the characters? Expand
  21. TomR
    Oct 11, 2009
    1
    Very very slow. Is about all I could say about it. I went in expecting a Shaun of the Dead which was great but it was was so boring. We kept hoping that it would get better but after Bill Murry (which was ok but no where as funny as everyone says) May wife and I left. We couldn't figure out how it would get better so we left.
  22. John
    Nov 29, 2009
    4
    Funny coming of age movie but it's characters are quirky but a little too perfect. Predictable once you get the premise.
  23. ShannonC
    Oct 14, 2009
    1
    No plot no story line at all your constantly waiting for something interesting or action worthy to happen. Bill Murray was the funniest part of the movie!!!
  24. Rick
    Dec 26, 2009
    1
    How did this film ever score above 70? It was one of the worst pieces of garbage released in 2009, as far as I'm concerned. LIke 97% of the movie, the stopover at Bill Murray's mansion felt like it was written in to pad out a plot that would not have served adequately for a three-minute cartoon. If films like this can achieve popularity, it helps explain how Britney Spears and How did this film ever score above 70? It was one of the worst pieces of garbage released in 2009, as far as I'm concerned. LIke 97% of the movie, the stopover at Bill Murray's mansion felt like it was written in to pad out a plot that would not have served adequately for a three-minute cartoon. If films like this can achieve popularity, it helps explain how Britney Spears and Ashlee Simpson can become famous. Expand
  25. Fantasy
    Oct 25, 2009
    1
    Not funny at all. Way overrated.
  26. Apr 3, 2015
    1
    Worst zombie movie ever?. They tried to funny but actually, is shameful. I give one point because Emma and Abigail are great actresses. Wouldn't recommend it, or watch it again.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Falling closer in tone to "Shaun of the Dead" than "28 Days Later" or the George Romero movies, Zombieland has its tongue planted firmly in its rancid cheek while still delivering the visceral goodies.
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    70
    Benefiting from the very different but very appealing comedy styles of Woody Harrelson and Jesse Eisenberg even when the script's wit runs thin, this should be catnip to jaded genre fans.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    50
    Fitfully amusing romp directed with little ambition and even less distinction by first-timer Ruben Fleischer.