Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 565 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Columbus has made a habit of running from what scares him. Tallahassee doesn't have fears. If he did, he'd kick their ever-living ass. In a world overrun by zombies, these two are perfectly evolved survivors. But now, they're about to stare down the most terrifying prospect of all: eachColumbus has made a habit of running from what scares him. Tallahassee doesn't have fears. If he did, he'd kick their ever-living ass. In a world overrun by zombies, these two are perfectly evolved survivors. But now, they're about to stare down the most terrifying prospect of all: each other. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Elias Savada
    90
    Thankfully there's nothing remotely serious about Zombieland. It's just a heck of carnival attraction (Shoot the ducks/Shoot the zombies) on a roller coaster filled with laughs.
  2. Warts, entrails and all, I had a ball at Zombieland. It’s 81 minutes of my kind of stupid.
  3. At the bone, Zombieland is a polished, very funny road picture shaped by wisenheimer cable-TV sensibilities and starring four likable actors, each with an influential following.
  4. The movie's a ride, basically. It's a slick, funny buddy-flick confection about a dork (Jesse Eisenberg), a Twinkie-loving hick (Harrelson), a hottie (Emma Stone) and a sassy kid (Abigail Breslin) who bicker and bond as they drive cross-country after a zombie plague.
  5. 75
    Zombieland is still the funniest broad comedy since "The Hangover." Its yowling, marching, munching corpses are as scary as grad students and as hilarious as the plot of "G.I. Joe."
  6. 75
    Isn't an especially good horror movie, it succeeds in enough different ways that such a defect hardly matters.
  7. Reviewed by: Ruth McCann
    50
    Zombieland is sometimes funny. But those of us who have teeny coronaries every time something goes bump in Zombieland might have a hard time relaxing for long enough to really enjoy ourselves.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 210
  1. MicksK.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Simply amazing, this is the zombie parody people have never expected to be so good.
  2. BuckmanB
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Best zombie movie ever made! If you like zombie movies, this will be your favorite, hands down. Keep in mind this is not a horror movie, this Best zombie movie ever made! If you like zombie movies, this will be your favorite, hands down. Keep in mind this is not a horror movie, this is a comedy movie. Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    Great zombie comedy/horror film besides Shaun of the Dead. Jesse Eisenberg is great and Woody Harrelson is funny.
  4. ChrisG.
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    Best Zombie film I've seen in 5 yrs. Director sets a nice pace and it flows very well. All the actors had great screen presence and Best Zombie film I've seen in 5 yrs. Director sets a nice pace and it flows very well. All the actors had great screen presence and chemistry with one another. Not to mention it is one of the most original zombie screenplays ever written. Expand
  5. JonB
    Mar 21, 2010
    8
    Anyone who rated this film below a 5 needs to go look in the mirror and smack thier stupid ego-maniacal reflection. I love that one person Anyone who rated this film below a 5 needs to go look in the mirror and smack thier stupid ego-maniacal reflection. I love that one person said the zombies didn't feel like a real menace..... dude it's a comedy. It was pretty funny. It had a hilarious cameo. The saddest part about the bad reviews is that most are from zombie movie fans. Ladies and gentlemen, let us not rip on films that are helping bring zombies back. Zombieland is great for 3 reasons. 1 its funny, and if you dont think its funny, go to the doctor.... you are dying from taking life too seriously. 2 it has zombies, anything with zombies is great, and thier zombies were horribly fantastic. In conclusion, anyone who tried to take zombieland seriously should have read the title of the movie again, and stayed on the couch. The rules won me btw... those were great. and finally, anyone who read this and notices that I only gave 2 examples when I said 3 reasons should skip the doctor and go straight to the ER. Expand
  6. Lge777E
    Oct 2, 2009
    8
    This movie is non-stop FUN, killing Zombies. I guess it doesn't get old when done right and Zombieland was done right. Normally i This movie is non-stop FUN, killing Zombies. I guess it doesn't get old when done right and Zombieland was done right. Normally i dislike this types of movie like Shaun of the Dead and Dawn of the Dead. But Zombieland was funny and well put together toss in Woody and you have a movie worth your hard worked coin. Expand
  7. JoshD
    Oct 12, 2009
    0
    First 20 minutes were spectacular, after that it just kinda fizzled in a lame contrivance of yet another boy meets girl story with a frontman First 20 minutes were spectacular, after that it just kinda fizzled in a lame contrivance of yet another boy meets girl story with a frontman more feminine than his love interest. Expand

See all 210 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000

    Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000 Image
    Published: October 28, 2010
    From Sam Raimi's "Drag Me to Hell" to more comedic efforts like "Shaun of the Dead," the past decade has seen a number of solid new entries in the horror canon. We run down the 15 best-reviewed horror movies from the past ten years.