User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 89
  2. Negative: 2 out of 89

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SallyA
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    Sigur Rós make intensely visual music. The kind that conjures up images of blue skies, lush green Icelandic fields, and androgynous pink pre-teen soccer players (yeah, you remember that video). When in the right mood, I, for one, would be completely content listening to their brand of ethereal dream pop while watching anything at all; a snowfall at dusk, a parking lot at 3 p.m., my Sigur Rós make intensely visual music. The kind that conjures up images of blue skies, lush green Icelandic fields, and androgynous pink pre-teen soccer players (yeah, you remember that video). When in the right mood, I, for one, would be completely content listening to their brand of ethereal dream pop while watching anything at all; a snowfall at dusk, a parking lot at 3 p.m., my Snoop Dogg/Christopher Walken screensaver. Somehow, through the rose-colored filter of their majestic mini-symphonies, it's all equally poignant. Sigur Rós somehow translate painstaking into evocative, slow into moving, and often plainly cinematic into downright cathartic. Using guitar effects and strings (or guitar played with a violin bow), piano, organ, and lightly brushed drums, they make idyllic and otherworldly chamber pieces; fleeting sounds appear and disappear like ghosts before they can be identified - the odd churn of distortion or twinkle of piano keys - but the sum total is undeniably redolent and generally beautiful. The eight tracks that make up the new album are similar in nature to Agaetis Byrjun, yet as the band themselves state, there is a livelier feel among them, as if the band were playing a private concert just for your ears. All tracks are uniquely their own, each having their own surprises and their own set of layers that will be discovered after repeated listens. Among the highlights of the album is the thirteen minute opus of track seven, a song that demonstrates the many musical dimensions that their live experience brings forth. Beginning in a slow rise, with an organ sound leading the way, the song is moved by the drum's increasing beats and the singer's Yorke-esque voice which leads the way for the rising crescendo. The song's final rise is a spectacular combination of drums and cymbals with the infuriating voice of the singer, ultimately leaving the singer alone to echo his voice away in a breathtaking way. The band courteously gives listeners a few seconds of silence before the next song is to begin. Track eight is the heaviest song of the album, which by Sigur's standards is not heavy at all, but the band's furious end of their atmospheric journey is just as intense, hard and frenetic as the hardest of the metal bands. It is impossible to describe in words the beauty that a journey through () perpetuates, so you must simply go and listen...just listen. Expand
  2. TimH
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    As others have already expressed, words cannot serve as measure in talking about this album. The album literally gets better with every listen, like a fine wine, whose complexity still surprises ones palette after many tastes. From the ethereal beauty of Untitled #1 to Raging finale of Untitled #8 this album will invoke the deepest of feelings of out its listener. One the greatest albums As others have already expressed, words cannot serve as measure in talking about this album. The album literally gets better with every listen, like a fine wine, whose complexity still surprises ones palette after many tastes. From the ethereal beauty of Untitled #1 to Raging finale of Untitled #8 this album will invoke the deepest of feelings of out its listener. One the greatest albums ever made. Expand
  3. TKOFOX
    May 22, 2009
    10
    Mmmm... good. i like it when good bands make great music.
  4. JB
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Universal album any one can listen to it and love it. One of the greatest things I have ever heard.
  5. Jun 30, 2013
    9
    I have experienced a set of four Sigur Ros albums in what I would describe as "seasonal". Their most popular album, the previous "Aqaetus Byrjun" felt like Fall. Plenty of emotion and beauty but a sense of heading further into the dark, sparse, and a place void of the light beyond the tunnel.

    Here we have which is just as beautiful but its cold and the saddest album Sigur Ros has
    I have experienced a set of four Sigur Ros albums in what I would describe as "seasonal". Their most popular album, the previous "Aqaetus Byrjun" felt like Fall. Plenty of emotion and beauty but a sense of heading further into the dark, sparse, and a place void of the light beyond the tunnel.

    Here we have which is just as beautiful but its cold and the saddest album Sigur Ros has made to date. And it feels like winter. Even the loud extremes are at a slower plodding 4/4 pace (exception being the last 4 minutes of the album). The arrangements feel like a funeral, and for me, evoke feelings and reflection on things where hope is lost, stuff is gone, and dead linger.

    In no way are these themes depressing in the music on It invites the listener to play with the uncomfortable; to work with uneasy and that which is difficult.

    Track 4 and 8 are indescribably wonderful

    All the rest is fantastic too

    Track 7 is really the only time where you might feel like checking your watch as it does drag

    With "Takk", the album which follows things get lighter and hopeful much like Spring

    A later album, "Endalaust" brings on the cheer and the bright a la Summer in full swing

    All four are completely beautiful works of art.

    One of the most unique bands I have ever had the pleasure of listening to
    Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    For die-hard fans of Radiohead's "Kid A" and Björk's "Vespertine" albums, this LP sums up all your hopes and dreams. Every track visually depicts the life of diverse humanity and internal thought. Every sound speaks of the dark and light that will make way and seep through your thoughts. Vast, epic, ethereal, compelling, challenging, original, artistic, wordless, innovative,For die-hard fans of Radiohead's "Kid A" and Björk's "Vespertine" albums, this LP sums up all your hopes and dreams. Every track visually depicts the life of diverse humanity and internal thought. Every sound speaks of the dark and light that will make way and seep through your thoughts. Vast, epic, ethereal, compelling, challenging, original, artistic, wordless, innovative, and forward-thinking, the band will leave you in awe and expect some sort of change to your life. Expand
  7. AlessandroS.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    this album was born in another planet!!!!!
  8. ChrisR
    Oct 6, 2007
    9
    It's the music of sweet dreams.
  9. Dados
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    This is an album where happiness and sadness, melody and noise, darkness and light collide. two brackets tell you everything. i suggest you name the tracks as you feel. that way the album becomes even more intimate.
  10. DadoS
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    A different world where darkness and light, silence and noise, happiness and sadness collide. two brackets tell you everything.
  11. KonstantinosA.
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Although in essence it's "Agaetis Byrjun, Part 2" it is one of the best albums of the last 2 years... Spectacular!
  12. duanes
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    an amazing symphony of emotion, 8 movemnts which together take you on a 72-minute ride that leaves you exhausted and yet exhillerated. my favorite album of 2002, hands down.
  13. DMcComas
    Nov 3, 2002
    10
    Amazing, innovative, and compelling yet relaxing. A must buy.
  14. delmarhuxx
    Nov 5, 2002
    10
    this stuff is dope. reminds me of the first time i ever heard sugar hill gang or biz markie but with less beats and more odd singing like a girl. one of the dopest hip hop joints ever. this guy flow is tight! back iceland every time baby!
  15. TonyJ
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    The more I listen to this album, the more it takes over my life. Quite powerful stuff.
  16. TraustiA.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    1 word: Amazing. OK that's what it is
  17. FabioC.
    Oct 31, 2002
    9
    an extraordinary work of desperate poetry and ambition, that hurts and delight the soul just like the best art does. it´s not a record: it´s a mood, an empty landscape of sounds in which these young guys let their tears and cries flow like a still river. art, more than music.
  18. [Anonymous]
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    Cool
  19. CalvinI.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    i would like to point out that it lacks the experimentalism of agetis byjryn but in leaving that it also gains substance and has much more of a kid a meets new age kind of sound, but it makes it to be the most lovely background music in recent memory, especailly if youlisten to this "album" while in a busy city, since you can find a song to fit almost any situation. Overall, better than i would like to point out that it lacks the experimentalism of agetis byjryn but in leaving that it also gains substance and has much more of a kid a meets new age kind of sound, but it makes it to be the most lovely background music in recent memory, especailly if youlisten to this "album" while in a busy city, since you can find a song to fit almost any situation. Overall, better than the last but as sonically primitive as radioheads 3rd album. Expand
  20. ChadP
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    really wanted to write a review of this album right after I heard it for the first time, but for once, I actually showed restraint. I decided to listen to it over and over -- to immerse myself in it (for that is truly the only way to describe what happens to a listener who is in the grips of Sigur Ros) -- before setting pen to paper, so to speak. The first time I listened to ( ), I would really wanted to write a review of this album right after I heard it for the first time, but for once, I actually showed restraint. I decided to listen to it over and over -- to immerse myself in it (for that is truly the only way to describe what happens to a listener who is in the grips of Sigur Ros) -- before setting pen to paper, so to speak. The first time I listened to ( ), I would have rated it five stars and shouted out its gorgeous wunderability to any and all who would listen to me. And after listening to it for a couple of days, I like it even more. Ten times more. But perhaps I am building it up just a bit. This is not, and will not be, everyone's cup of tea. That's why there are different flavors. Believe me, if you buy this CD based on my gushing review, you can't be mad and say I didn't warn you. This is music of a kind you probably haven't heard much of before. It floats around you, fills in spaces that most music can't touch, and transports you to a different place in time, a time all at once beautiful, aching, emotional, and nostalgic. And all of this without the aid of words. For you see, the lead singer for Sigur Ros sings entirely in "Hopelandish," a self-invented language that mixes pure Icelandic with several other languages (including some English even). This band is beyond pretentious and still I don't hate them. In fact, the impossibility of "understanding" the lyrics on ( ) in a conventional manner of thought is, in one sense, what elevates Sigur Ros above so many other artists sculpting the same kind of music. Since nothing is understood, it's up to you to decide what is being said or not said, or, if all else fails, to just give yourself completely up to the sheer emotion of the singer's high, pure voice. Vocals here are used as an instrument, like any other in the band, and together the combination is sheer aural pleasure. But of course, there are people who will absolutely hate this album. There is a distinctively love/hate relationship built into the fibre of the music itself, because there is no way you could "kind of" like or "sort of" not like Sigur Ros, especially with ( ). All eight of the songs are untitled, and flow together into a wonderfully cohesive whole -- and you're either completely with it or completely not. Pick a side. Please try and pick the right one though. And now is the point where I wonder how I can possibly review a CD that has no real title and no song titles. It could get quite old quite fast for me to start comparing "Untitled #1" with "Untitled #6," even I would start to get confused at some point. But in a sense, that's the precise reason why the album works so well, without the distraction of song titles or "real" lyrics, the album is almost like eight different parts of a single (and very modern, experimental) symphony. This is an album that all but demands you listen to all in one sitting. There are no singles here. The songs are not randomly placed on the disc. They are meant to be heard in sequence, to experience the rolling waves of their progression to a loud and powerful conclusion. Very few bands can actually change the way you look at music and the way it can affect you emotionally. Sigur Ros is one of those bands. Unfortunately, they proclaim themselves to be one of those bands, have in fact declared that they will (or at least aspire to) change the face of music forever. Which, they probably won't, not in this lifetime anyway -- if for nothing else than the old maxim that states true genius is always years ahead of the crowd. And this, you see, might well be true genius Expand
  21. ElsaM
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    Writing about Sigur Ros is probably one of the hardest thing a critic ever has to face. Their music is so unique that finding words that describe air are hard to come by. Some people may never understand the beauty that is Sigur Ros; as some people will never understand the beauty of a darkened winter night sky lit up with distant galaxies. It's as though all the songs are touched by Writing about Sigur Ros is probably one of the hardest thing a critic ever has to face. Their music is so unique that finding words that describe air are hard to come by. Some people may never understand the beauty that is Sigur Ros; as some people will never understand the beauty of a darkened winter night sky lit up with distant galaxies. It's as though all the songs are touched by a bit of magic, and that doesn't happen very often. This album dares. It is bold. It is not afraid, and at the same time it seems fragile and delicate. This album has new emotions for SIGUR ROS--sadness, even full-blown rage at the end of Track 8. The first group of four songs is closer to the old SIGUR ROS, more delicately beautiful, and while mournful at times, also uplifting. Track 2/Track 3 are the perfect examples of this, especially Track 3, which is a pure instrumental (no singing at all), with a gorgeous piano sequence. It's one part elegy, one part celebration. For all its sadness, it slowly builds up an amazing amount of power, and even as it dies away, you can't help that remaining sense of lingering joy. It is achingly bittersweet. Over the second half of ( ), SIGUR ROS moves into its new emotional territory. Discord, heavy, brooding arrangements, and much more anguished, sometimes bitter vocals set this section apart. I appreciate the Hammond organ, which becomes more prominent on the second half of the album. Track 5 in particular shows them off well. You have to be patient to listen to ( )as the songs build very gradually to a crescendo that does not always come. Track 7 moves closer to bitterness--and then there is the explosion in Track 8. At first it sounds like it will be a triumphant closing anthem and then--WHAM! I've heard few better expressions of such blinding anger...it's actually stronger because it has no recognizeable words. Rather than a momentary and someday laughable teenage-angsty outburst, this is an expression of pure emotion itself. That is why I can appreciate it so much as SIGUR ROS explodes into rage with JONSI's chilling voice hovering over the chaos. There is no easy way to put it, they aren't immediately an accessible sound, ( ) is darker then Ágætis Byrjun. Sigur Rós puts considerable energy into generating original compositions that I feel draws their power from emotion generated through the music and vocals, rather then the music itself. This could spell danger for impatient or shallow listeners, it takes more then a few listens to really get into ( ) Expand
  22. AgaetisByrjun
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Best album I've ever heard
  23. ColinB
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    This album is absolutely amazing. I actually feel quite sorry for the people who can't appreciate it. It is seep and it is moving and if you can't feel it then... I first heard it when I was sober but if you listen to it when you are stoned and switch all the lights off in the room and just lie there it's like nothing you've ever experienced before.
  24. NunoA
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    Best concept album since Dark Side of the Moon (sorry for the Radiohead fans :p)
  25. AlexA
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Those of you owning this album, keep it safe, 'cause there's none and there will most probably be no other like it and sooner or later you will realize this. It's music straight from and to the heart and soul. It's beautifull, moving, captivating and makes me cry every time I listen to it. I really cannot understand those arguing SR sound either pretendius or boring. Those of you owning this album, keep it safe, 'cause there's none and there will most probably be no other like it and sooner or later you will realize this. It's music straight from and to the heart and soul. It's beautifull, moving, captivating and makes me cry every time I listen to it. I really cannot understand those arguing SR sound either pretendius or boring. IMO, their sound is intimate, clean and trustfully honest. There's is not a single moment in the whole album I will cut out. Also, there's nothing that will interpose between you and the music; no lyrics, no track names and no words you can understand, just you and the music. There are very few albums out there that can accomplish what this album does brilliantly, to touch you so deeply. Actually, you're buying something you can't buy and you won't forget. So, for me, this is just perfect. Expand
  26. idealcrashv
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    you're either going to love it or hate it. the thing is, if you've still got a bit of soul left in you. you're gonna love it. regardless of the fact that it may not be as diverse as agaetis byrjun or von, and all that other stuff. just listen to it and see for yourself.
  27. crash
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    quite possibly the prettiest album since this mortal coil's 'it'll end in tears'. From the music to the artwork, a first class ride into ambient-melodic bliss
  28. JesseR
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    An amazing album that gets better the more you listen to it. I saw them live recently and they could be the best band in the world right now.
  29. grumD
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    Yes, i've heard the other albums, and they are good. But this one does it best. The songs on the cd are really good, but if you've ever seen sigur ros live its just something out of this world. They put allot of work into it all, id give it 20 if i could.
  30. flashgordon
    Nov 14, 2002
    10
    i think the first time i listened to this cd i didnt know how to respond. But after the 4th listen, i knew i had found something special. I dont think sigur ros could have had any better of a follow up to agaetis byrjun than this. They sacrfice simplicity for orchestral beauty, and already this is one of my top albums. Word of advice: get some good headphones and turn up the volume. I i think the first time i listened to this cd i didnt know how to respond. But after the 4th listen, i knew i had found something special. I dont think sigur ros could have had any better of a follow up to agaetis byrjun than this. They sacrfice simplicity for orchestral beauty, and already this is one of my top albums. Word of advice: get some good headphones and turn up the volume. I still cant stop my self from trying to immitate orri (the drummer) during the final track, popplagio. this is some good stuff. dont pass it up. :D Expand
  31. JosephM
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    This album may alienate some listeneres who were expecting more of the same polished sound. It is more meditative and stripped down then their previous efforts. It is definitely a step in the right direction and may take some patience to fully appreciate. Once you do, their is nothing else like it. It is quite an adventure. I can't wait to hear the next one already!
  32. JacobD
    Dec 17, 2002
    10
    This is the first album I've purchased in a year, for whatever reason, I never buy CD's. I'd heard a little Sigur Ros from my friend Sam, and I liked it, so, I decided to go out on a limb and purchase () by Sigur Ros. Best Goddamned fifteen bucks I've ever spent! The ambience and mood that this album creates is absolutely spectactular. Jon Por has the most beautiful This is the first album I've purchased in a year, for whatever reason, I never buy CD's. I'd heard a little Sigur Ros from my friend Sam, and I liked it, so, I decided to go out on a limb and purchase () by Sigur Ros. Best Goddamned fifteen bucks I've ever spent! The ambience and mood that this album creates is absolutely spectactular. Jon Por has the most beautiful voice ever, and he plays a better bowed guitar than Jimmy Page did, or at least uses the bow more effectively that Jimmy Page. Everytime I listen to this disc, which has been everyday now, I am swept and taken by various emotions, depending on how I'm feeling. When I first listened to it, Track one made me want to cry, I didn't, but I felt the emotions boiling inside me. This is the first modern band (read: post grunge) that I've gotten excited about! Fantastic! Now, if you'll excuse me, I've got some Icelandic vocab words to study. Expand
  33. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Normally I'm not the type of guy for such short reviews, but this album is simply EPIC.
  34. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    This record is one of the best ever done. It is unique, as every Sigur Rós's album. It is incredible, one of the most moving albums of contemporary music.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. An overblown, overhyped dreamy swirl of sound that can't commit itself to being anything.
  2. A decent follow-up from a band who has already proven themselves capable of much, much more.
  3. 80
    Charming and enrapturing, adrift in its own unique, invented world. [#11, p.142]