+++ (Crosses) - +++ (Crosses)
+++ (Crosses) Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Shaun Lopez, Chino Moreno, Chuck Doom
  • Summary: This is the full-length debut for the side project formed by Deftones' Chino Moreno Far's Shaun Lopez. and Chuck Doom.
  • Record Label: Sumerian Records
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Trip-Hop, Electronica, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Electronic, Post-Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 11, 2014
    There’s a zip and kick to it, with big melodies (huge in the case of ‘Blk Stallion’) and clever turns of pace.
  2. Feb 20, 2014
    With the track order shuffled entirely, it almost plays like a greatest hits album: Closer examination reveals cohesive new context for the collection, one that's more satisfying than anything we've heard from the trio before. [Mar 2014, p.88]
  3. Mar 10, 2014
    A very accomplished, multifaceted, genre-dodging outing. [8 Feb 2014, p.52]
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    ††† is a solid effort that stands on its own merit rather than simply cruising on the cultural cache of its members.
  5. Feb 10, 2014
    The record is overlong and the arrangements are a bit too familiar. Still, these brooding tracks are compelling as they merge into a coherent whole.
  6. Feb 10, 2014
    It meets its pre-release hype head on, and comes away the winner.
  7. Feb 12, 2014
    While ††† may be on the same scale as Deftones, they’re not a replacement, and it stands to reason that Moreno can ascend to the heights of their previous work. But on †††, it’s like he never had wings.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 20, 2014
    im a massive deftones fan and i have listen to this album around ten times now and im in love with it, what crosses is really to me is just all the slow songs you hear on a deftones album add a little pop and electronic to it and you have crosses and i love it Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2014
    This album deserves between eight and nine,I'd love to give it a solid nine,but there are a bit too many fillers (Though what's a filler for me may be a great track for someone else). Anyways, this is,in my opinion, best album release since Moby's Innocents.
    Also, if you haven't heard it already, you simply must check out Frontiers and Bermuda Locket, for me easily the best from this album.
  3. Feb 15, 2014
    http://bit.ly/1eAMw18 This is a great debut album that could easily have been better but still hits the mark just fine. With the Deftones on hiatus I will happily listen to any music Crosses release. Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2014
    Crosses' debut LP is a nicely honed record. Good vocals and harmonies, and elements of industrial rock music here. I found it some what similar to early Nine Inch Nails and obviously Deftones in a way. Overall it's decent, but not incredibly worthwhile or meaningful. Expand