+ - Ed Sheeran
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 83
    Gentle standouts like "The A Team" and "Small Bump" cast a quieter spell. [22 Jun 2012, p.64]
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    80
    Fresh-faced wunderkind aces his debut. [Oct 2011, p.118]
  3. 80
    He's a bona fide hitmaker with a colossal YouTube following, working in the argot and style of his own generation
  4. Sep 23, 2011
    60
    Sheeran's strength is his melodic ability, a way with a really strong, radio-friendly tune, as on The City or Grade 8. You can't help wishing he'd put said ability to slightly more edgy use.
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    60
    His debut's failure to capitalize on his unique selling point means it's likely to leave everyone else nonplussed.
  6. Sep 23, 2011
    50
    + will give Sheeran's rabid fanbase a lot to love, but it'll also make him an easy target for critics hungry for new directions in pop, as it fails to really gel the man's loves of folk and rap.
  7. Sep 23, 2011
    50
    Ed Sheeran is an impressive talent, but his juvenile lyrics and lightweight sensibility make him a tough sell to any one old enough to drink.
  8. 40
    There's little here that's moves on from the kind of trip-hop balladeers that abounded in the late '90s or indeed the singer-songwriters that Sheeran admires such as Damien Rice or James Morrison.
  9. Sep 23, 2011
    40
    Half-rapped banalities about watching Shrek 12 times and being "crap at computer games" will certainly win hearts, but perhaps only those of a certain age.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Ed Sheeran is a musical genius. His lyrics are perfection. The music he makes is original and unmistakable, he is like no other. This album proves how talented his is, if I could only listen to one album for the rest of my life it would be this one, it is an excellent album, if you say or think otherwise, you need your hearing check. His voice is amazing, he is so very talented. If you haven't gotten this album yet, I have no idea what you are waiting for. This album is sheer perfection. It is absolutely flawless. I have no idea why there are bad reviews on this album, those people clearly have horrible taste in anything and everything. This album is amazing, I promise you. Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Perfect album. Every song has something special, loveable in it. I love his voice, I love his lyrics, I love his music! One of the best albums ever made! I don't understand, how you cannot like this CD. Full Review »
  3. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    An excellent debut album from Britain's breakthrough artist of 2011. I knew of Ed Sheeran before he got his break but as a fully fledged artist he has delivered a fantastic first album. Lead single "A-Team" is one of, if not the best song thus far this year it's a bittersweet, deep meaningful song and even now I still love the sound of it. "You Need Me, I Don't Need You" is more upbeat and delivers an edgier sound. + generally is an outstanding album as there is not a bad song on it "Drunk", "U.N.I", "Small Bump" and "Kiss Me" all spring to mind but the standout song and one of the best of the year is "Lego House" a beautiful song which is lyrically genius and continues to be on replay within the household it's a terrific tune and has a real fun video starring Rupert Grint (aka Ron Weasley to Harry Potter fans). A must have album for sure and one thing that's certain as this is just the beginning a bright future for Ed Sheeran. Full Review »