+ - Ed Sheeran
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 96
  2. Negative: 9 out of 96

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    An excellent debut album from Britain's breakthrough artist of 2011. I knew of Ed Sheeran before he got his break but as a fully fledged artist he has delivered a fantastic first album. Lead single "A-Team" is one of, if not the best song thus far this year it's a bittersweet, deep meaningful song and even now I still love the sound of it. "You Need Me, I Don't Need You" is more upbeat and delivers an edgier sound. + generally is an outstanding album as there is not a bad song on it "Drunk", "U.N.I", "Small Bump" and "Kiss Me" all spring to mind but the standout song and one of the best of the year is "Lego House" a beautiful song which is lyrically genius and continues to be on replay within the household it's a terrific tune and has a real fun video starring Rupert Grint (aka Ron Weasley to Harry Potter fans). A must have album for sure and one thing that's certain as this is just the beginning a bright future for Ed Sheeran. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Perfect album. Every song has something special, loveable in it. I love his voice, I love his lyrics, I love his music! One of the best albums ever made! I don't understand, how you cannot like this CD.
  3. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Ed Sheeran is a musical genius. His lyrics are perfection. The music he makes is original and unmistakable, he is like no other. This album proves how talented his is, if I could only listen to one album for the rest of my life it would be this one, it is an excellent album, if you say or think otherwise, you need your hearing check. His voice is amazing, he is so very talented. If you haven't gotten this album yet, I have no idea what you are waiting for. This album is sheer perfection. It is absolutely flawless. I have no idea why there are bad reviews on this album, those people clearly have horrible taste in anything and everything. This album is amazing, I promise you. Collapse
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This album is perfect for relaxing. It sounds a bit like a Jason Mraz but more folk. I loved it, there isn't only a song that i don't like. It's ok that he doesn't have the best vocal of the year, but he knows how to use it and have such a great talent. "Wake Me Up" is THE song of the album for me, for being so simple and seems to be completely improvised. "The A Team" "Lego House" "You Need Me I Don't Need You" are the perfect singles for this album because it shows exactly what you gonna hear. Congratulations Ed, perfect album Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    If you can excuse the often cheesy lyrics and subject matter, Sheeran has provided a memorable and surprisingly emotional album filled to the brim with tearjerker moments and goosebumps-worthy vocals.
  6. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Great album!nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
  7. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Ed Sheeran is my favorite artist. He sings so beautifully and has true talent. I love this album so much. All the songs on this album are really good. I can't wait for his next album, I hope its as great as this one.
  8. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    Álbum brilhante que fala sobre amor e vida real de um modo muito angelical, sem contar o vocal brilhante desse britânico.
    As músicas tem um toque de verdade, que fazem com que você se apaixone instantaneamente, querendo ouvir esse CD que parece simples, mas na verdade tem muito "+".
    Destaque para: The A Team, Drunk e Lego House.
  9. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    An excellent debut album that has lyrics so wonderful and creative. A lot feelings of love and pain. Ed Sheeran is one of the best songwriter of UK. Its all.
  10. Oct 23, 2012
    7
    While I wouldn't call it the most versatile album I've ever heard, there aren't any really low moments on this album. Every song is at least solid. Ed has a nice voice, and is a good lyricist, and he seems to be well suited for this type of music. There are some fun, enjoyable songs on here, like U.N.I., which has a really good beat to it, and Wake Me Up, which combines humor and emotion in its lyrics, but the real heart of the album is in the two songs. "The A Team", which provides a heart breaking depiction of drug abuse on the life of a woman, performed and written beautifully by Ed, and "Small Bump" about the process of someone looking forward to the birth of their child. While other than those two, most of the songs aren't going to be remembered several years from now, the entire album shows an incredible about of lyrical and musical potential from Ed as an artist, and I'm looking forward to seeing what he has in store for the future. Expand
  11. Jan 5, 2012
    7
    Ed Sheeran's full debut album, for those who were fans of Ed prior to the A-team charting this was the most anticipated album of 2011. His previous release; The No. 5 Collaborations Project, was for me - ignoring the fact it was only an EP - probably my album of 2011. To hear of a white kid with a guitar try and make music with grime greats like Wiley, Sway and Wretch 32, you'd laugh and envision a car crash coming. however it turned out to be simply incredible, it made grime, and rap music in general accessible for everyone. Unfortunately for Ed, trying to please his original fans with what turned out to be + I don't believe turned out as well as it could have. It echoed James Blunt or James Morrison too much, it should have had something more edgy. the highlights of the album are Small Bump which is so beautiful and emotional, and the City, which had an electric guitar added for the + version of it. Reports suggest Ed will not release another full album in 2012, but he is working on another EP which he said will be collaborative, which is definitely going to be something to look out for. As an album on its own, however, + does have gorgeous guitars all over it and Eds beautifuk voice. Expand
  12. Jun 20, 2012
    1
    meh. he has potencial... but i feel like the concept is really weak and the topics dont match. the ginger needs more time, taylor swift sponsoring him help with exposure so that is good i guess
  13. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    A nice uplifting album, but you need to be in the mood for it as everything does more or less sounds the same, maybe a bit more variety in the next album?
  14. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    I initially heard Ed Sheeran with The A Team and You Need Me I Don't Need You, from these singles I presumed he would discuss other taboo subjects and make people listen. When I downloaded + I was slightly disappointed, I felt like I, as an avid R&B and soul lover was fooled by his singles, as his album had little to no variation. I felt like I was bombarded with the same style of instrumentation with little to no effort on dynamics throughout the record except the end of the record with Give Me Love's bridge which I thought was unnecessary and to be frank, a little to late. I will compliment his style of writing and ability to tell a story like no other artist. Despite the lack of instrumentation and dynamics, Sheeran has an undoubted bond with the guitar that creates sparks of dynamics which I would've loved to hear with different instruments. It is his style and I should not complain. He uses what he has to the best of his ability. I am worried about his next album, will his sophomore effort feel like his first just with different ordering of words and guitar chords? It is something we have to witness. Favourite song: Lego House Best Lyrics: Give Me Live Most Catchy: The City
    Most interesting: Grade 8
    Expand
  15. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    The songs are good for a nice evening when you feel like doing nothing, the sound is relaxing and the lyrics come as a story told by your mother before going to bed. On the whole I liked the album "+" a lot but I do agree that the songs are too much alike and sometimes it might feel like the lyrics are a little childish. Although Ed Sheeran is a great performer and has a beautiful voice so in concerts he might change a little the lyrics and the sound of some songs. Favorite songs: Give Me Love and You Need Me I Don't Need You
    Also I expect a lot more from his next album since he has a huge potential and I think we are going to hear a lot from this ginger lad in the next years.
    Expand
  16. Nov 7, 2013
    6
    Although in most moments Ed seems a bit boring, normal and without unattractive, over the course of the journey he uses this to his favor. And that just shows us less generic than it appears.
  17. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Sheeran is talented as hell, that's for sure. His songwriting is like the male version of Taylor Swift in the sense that it's just so smooth and personal. The story is simple and very easy to relate to. "The A Team" opens up the album perfectly while "Give Me Love" is the perfect closing number. The only thing that keeps me from giving a 10 is the production of two tracks: "U.N.I." and "The City". If these two were meats, I'd say they're undercooked and slightly bland; especially when served together with the other tracks. Expand
  18. Apr 14, 2014
    7
    While Ed fails in changing a little of rhythm and structure in his songs, he makes it up in voice and style that mixes pop-acoustic melodies with indie folk gritty-but-soft-voiced tunes and cool semi raps. It's an above-the-average album but needs something more to be considered a great piece. Anyway, there's a solid basis to keep on working out.
  19. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    Ed Sheeran's "+" is the perfect album to listen to when you're enjoying relaxing day. It's definitely one of my favorite albums out there and I can't wait to see what Ed does with his next album.
  20. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    Amazing Album, Amazing Songs and an Amazing Artist. Legohouse was obviously the highlight of this record I hope to see more of this artist in the future
  21. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    The album is just so perfect. His voice is so unique and makes u want to hear it 24/7. And I love the fact that he goes for a more acustic sound yet he manage to do upbeat songs like "You Need Me, I Don't Need You". Ed sure is such a talented musician and I can´t wait to hear more about him.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 83
    Gentle standouts like "The A Team" and "Small Bump" cast a quieter spell. [22 Jun 2012, p.64]
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    80
    Fresh-faced wunderkind aces his debut. [Oct 2011, p.118]
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    50
    + will give Sheeran's rabid fanbase a lot to love, but it'll also make him an easy target for critics hungry for new directions in pop, as it fails to really gel the man's loves of folk and rap.