• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2003
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ruth
    Jun 25, 2003
    3
    only because i didnt hear of the new songs off it yet.. I only heard "INTUITION" and i like that one..
  2. LaurenS
    Jul 26, 2003
    0
    It makes me SICK to see a talented, self-propelled singer/songwriter such as Jewel abandon her roots and lazily meander through a music career, being led by the nose through the valley of mediocrity (otherwise known as pop-music) by money hungry music producers. She has COMPLETELY lost any respect I had for her music talent. Now she is no better than any other media slave....shall we It makes me SICK to see a talented, self-propelled singer/songwriter such as Jewel abandon her roots and lazily meander through a music career, being led by the nose through the valley of mediocrity (otherwise known as pop-music) by money hungry music producers. She has COMPLETELY lost any respect I had for her music talent. Now she is no better than any other media slave....shall we begin referring to her as JewelSpears? Don't, I repeat, DON'T support this less than half-assed effort to make music.....DO NOT BUY THIS CD!!!! Expand
  3. Tom
    Jun 10, 2003
    0
    have you seen the tracklisting? what is this, a joke? Stand Run 2 U Intuition Leave the Lights On 2 Find U Fragile Heart Doin' Fine 2 Become 1 Haunted Sweet Temptation Yes U Can U & Me = Love America Becoming
  4. MikeG
    Jun 14, 2003
    0
    Sub-Shakira rubbish. A waste of good talent with horrendous over-production and platitude-laden lyrics. An abomination.
  5. DavidW
    May 30, 2004
    1
    This CD makes me very sad. Jewel has given into the devil on her shoulder and become what sells. Sluts. I have never been able to respect artists like Britney Spears, Shakira, (recent) Madonna, Christina, etc. There CDs sell because guys wanna do them and girls want to be them. Jewekl Was different. In a sea of american idol pop bullshit, there was always the comforting acustic sounds of This CD makes me very sad. Jewel has given into the devil on her shoulder and become what sells. Sluts. I have never been able to respect artists like Britney Spears, Shakira, (recent) Madonna, Christina, etc. There CDs sell because guys wanna do them and girls want to be them. Jewekl Was different. In a sea of american idol pop bullshit, there was always the comforting acustic sounds of Jewel. Was she for the masses? Probably not. Because the masses like whats trendy, popular, and sexy. They don't want a docile respectful poet who writes her own songs, who plays her own instruments, and who can really touch your heart. This type of garbage can be produced by anyone with a microphone, an ibook, and a copy of garage band. You can make any voice sound "great" with effects. But very few can actually sing from the heart and without effects like Jewel does. She didn't need a pop album! She was fine the way she was. My question for Jewel is: Who will save your soul? Expand
  6. Lisa
    Jun 19, 2003
    1
    I only give her a "1" because the lyrics, minus the overproduction and synthesizers, are o.k. But this is truly the biggest disappointment of the year. I was a HUGE Jewel fan before 0304 and this ruined her for me. A disaster.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Sellout move or not, ''0304'''s unexpected dance-pop vibrancy makes it Jewel's best album -- or, for detractors, her least unbearable.
  2. Uncut
    80
    The tunes are stunning, her voice has never sounded better and she makes serious points few others would dare in a pop context. [Oct 2003, p.114]
  3. Q Magazine
    70
    She has never sounded brighter or more infectious. [Nov 2003, p.117]