• Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: May 2, 2006
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 413 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 413

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattO
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics are all on pot, not the listeners. They are on something else entirely. One of my favorite albums of all time, and I've listened to far too many different genres, from Kenny Rogers' "First Edition" to "all the damn Li'l's in rap music today." Expand
  2. PM
    May 2, 2006
    3
    I have been a huge tool fan for years and have seen them perform several times. But, unfortunately, Pitchfork nailed it. They did make an A Perfect Circle album, with one improvement, Danny Carey on drums. The hole point of A Perfect Circle, in my opinion, was for Maynard to show a different side of himself. But it sounds like he's become confused which band he is singing in. The I have been a huge tool fan for years and have seen them perform several times. But, unfortunately, Pitchfork nailed it. They did make an A Perfect Circle album, with one improvement, Danny Carey on drums. The hole point of A Perfect Circle, in my opinion, was for Maynard to show a different side of himself. But it sounds like he's become confused which band he is singing in. The band is OK at the best of times, on this record, but Maynards vocals are mearly half as powerful or intense as before. The droaning soundscapes were easily ignorable in the past, becaue they were followed by epic, hard hitting rock songs that knocked you on your a**. Now, Tool fans have to sit through eleven minutes of ambient guitar noise, to here another eleven minute tune that never really takes off or delivers. Which is the problem with songs like Vicarious and Jambi, they are so close to exploding and being the glorious rock tunes Tool once made, but instead they hold back, and you feel like you've just wasted ten minutes waiting for something that was never going to happen. Truely Disapointing. Expand
  3. JHanks
    May 3, 2006
    7
    I gave this a 7 because I expected more from Tool especially after their last album. This deserves a 7, no need to really expound on it. Any Tool fan should agree on the 7.
  4. MikeP
    Apr 21, 2008
    5
    Your comments are meaningless ..beware the new world order.
  5. RichardG
    Oct 21, 2006
    3
    I find it laughable that people clamour to tool, like a flock of mindless sheep.
  6. ME
    May 3, 2006
    0
    Okay, I don't normally do this (Put a review here without hearing the album) but I've got to. Listen, I hate Tool, and their fans (Pretentious internet nerds, thanks guy). But something I hate more is the fan that raves, thinks that tool is a fucking blessing from God and doesnt capitolize his "I's" or spell gotten "Gotton". Cool guys.
  7. KeytonE
    May 3, 2006
    9
    If you can't take long songs just go back to your Fall Out Boy and Simple Plan. If you're a fan of Tool you'll love this album. The one review is correct, this is exactly what a Tool album should sound like, but it is definitely unique.
  8. rottencabbage
    Aug 1, 2006
    1
    One of the most bland, lyrically daft offerings in ages. Experimental? Hardly. Oh goody, they can switch time signatures; can they record a memorable song? The answer is, of course, an emphatic "NO." Tool ape Pink Floyd and the countless other (talentless) metal bands out there, but end up sounding like caustic tripe. I'd rather listen to gifted musicians and lyricists who can One of the most bland, lyrically daft offerings in ages. Experimental? Hardly. Oh goody, they can switch time signatures; can they record a memorable song? The answer is, of course, an emphatic "NO." Tool ape Pink Floyd and the countless other (talentless) metal bands out there, but end up sounding like caustic tripe. I'd rather listen to gifted musicians and lyricists who can actually turn a phrase, thank you very much. There's a reason certain artists are critically acclaimed: did The Arcade Fire, The White Stripes, or Franz Ferdinand ever feel the need to record an album full of meandering, bland, overlong, pretentious twaddle? I didn't think so; they've actually got something worth saying. Of course, Tool fans will devour this like manna from the Heavens, or at least like Maynard James Keenan's constantly regurgitated, consistently meaningless, self-important feces. Another stinker from a band that believes it has Something Important to say; the only ones who pay it any heed, though, are Tool's daft, stoned fanbase. Expand
  9. DougC
    Nov 25, 2006
    3
    All the pomp and pretention of Pink Floyd's classic Atom Heart Mother - minus the strings, horns, chorus, and interesting musical ideas. High concept with the emphasis on the HIGH. The CD package (featuring Alex Grey's hypercool psychedelic artwork) with 3D viewer and all, is way more fun than the sonic silliness it contains.
  10. AndreP
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Obviously Stylus Magazine doesn't know what the words "Progressive Rock" mean. And the writer from Pitchfork has never listed to A Perfect Circle. The "wannabe-journalists" that wrote those great pieces probably enjoy listening to Nickelback. Great album as usual, Tool always surpases expectations. A little too much "Intermission style" songs, but that is always expected from Tool. Obviously Stylus Magazine doesn't know what the words "Progressive Rock" mean. And the writer from Pitchfork has never listed to A Perfect Circle. The "wannabe-journalists" that wrote those great pieces probably enjoy listening to Nickelback. Great album as usual, Tool always surpases expectations. A little too much "Intermission style" songs, but that is always expected from Tool. But Vicarious, Jambi, The Pot, Rosetta Stoned, 10,000 Days...amazing songs. Go buy this album IMMEDIATELY, otherwise, you'll end up being a Nickelback fan, or an opinianated "journalist". And you wouldn't want to end up like that, would you? Expand
  11. DamienA
    May 2, 2006
    10
    An amazing record. A completely reinvented Tool puts out their most bluesy album. The rejection of violence and hope for maintaining peace of mind are the prodominant themes. It will take several listens to get this cd! Like all great records you are not prepared by the radio for innovation.
  12. EricF
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Simply fantastic. Highly complex and detailed, dark and rhythmic yet musical and vulnerable.
  13. alii
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Is a great albun very dark and moody .I love it It seems like tool did it again!
  14. JamesToolfan
    May 2, 2006
    9
    I'll preface this by saying that I love Tool, but that they are not my all time favorite band. Everyone knows those people who live and die with every word Maynard James Keenan says writes or sings, I'm not one of them. That being said I listen to Tool as much as or more than any other band in a given week, month or year. I have had this album for a little over a week and I'll preface this by saying that I love Tool, but that they are not my all time favorite band. Everyone knows those people who live and die with every word Maynard James Keenan says writes or sings, I'm not one of them. That being said I listen to Tool as much as or more than any other band in a given week, month or year. I have had this album for a little over a week and contrary to what you may have heard or read this is not their best album. I think both Lateralus and Aenima are better albums, however, I think those are two of the greatest albums ever made. I gave this album is a solid 9, there are parts where Tool blows me away with their musicianship, song crafting and originality. In my opinion, the talent in this band rivals any band in music and probably in music history. Their influence will be felt for generations, this album included. That being said this album tends to drag at points and does not have the same "WOW" factor as Tool's previous work. But then again, who does ? The case and artwork are amazing and the album maybe the best album released this year by anyone. I would definitely pick it up if you haven't already. Expand
  15. JDWilliams
    May 2, 2006
    10
    The critics are harsh on art i guess...don't understand pitchfork's review. its like they think all these mostly crappy indie bands they are obsessed with will change rock. TOOL has changed rock since the early 90's this CD is a step forward in the journey of the amazing TOOL!! BUY IT
  16. roxannek
    May 2, 2006
    10
    love it!!
  17. BillT
    May 2, 2006
    0
    More mastubatory tripe from every internet nerd's favorite band. Nothing particularly interesting except for the new level of pretentious attained by Maynard James Keenan. Don't let anyone fool you into thinking this rehash is "deep".
  18. [Anonymous]
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Amazing album...Reviews dont know what they are talking about because this album is a grower. Tool has defidently gotton better.
  19. PeteO
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Definitely an epic work that needs time to fully sink in. The level of musicianship and composition here truly shines head and shoulders above just about anything else out there right now. Tool has delivered once again on all levels. Their masterpiece has already been made, but this continues their dedication to delivering top-notch music.
  20. JamesH.
    May 2, 2006
    10
    im pretty sure the critics did not listen to the same cd i did. this cd is not mostly made up of soundscapes or filler tracks, nor is it a perfect circle. it might not be a total departure from lateralus, but why would someone expect a band to totally change its sound? i think this cd is great, its extremely intense, much more personal, and has some really great heavy rock songs in there im pretty sure the critics did not listen to the same cd i did. this cd is not mostly made up of soundscapes or filler tracks, nor is it a perfect circle. it might not be a total departure from lateralus, but why would someone expect a band to totally change its sound? i think this cd is great, its extremely intense, much more personal, and has some really great heavy rock songs in there too. i hate pitchfork media Expand
  21. CCro
    May 2, 2006
    2
    Tool plays a 5 year April Fools joke.
  22. Jeff
    May 2, 2006
    8
    As a Tool fan, it's unfortunately not as great as expected. But I definately don't regret buying it and encourage others to buy it because it is a whole lot more than just your average album.
  23. TravisP
    May 2, 2006
    10
    I love it! From the amazing album cover art and features! To the change of Maynard's voice and stretching himself! To Danny and his amazing drums, with Adam taking a more important role in the album. It is amazing!
  24. max
    May 2, 2006
    9
    First, I don't know what stylus and pitchfork were smoking but it seems like they have an axe to grind with Tool. Maybe they were declined interviews or weren't allowed to hang with the band after a show. This albums is excellent, it may not be Lateralus or AEnema but it is TOOL. I guess since their style changed over the past 4 albums that people expected this to be the album First, I don't know what stylus and pitchfork were smoking but it seems like they have an axe to grind with Tool. Maybe they were declined interviews or weren't allowed to hang with the band after a show. This albums is excellent, it may not be Lateralus or AEnema but it is TOOL. I guess since their style changed over the past 4 albums that people expected this to be the album that redifed music. Maybe they liked the sound they achieved with Lateralus and wanted to expand on it more, not change again. If you look at all their albums each became longer and more elaborate climaxing with Lateralus. They found the sound that they were looking for and now are creating music in that style. Im sure this will grow on people over time but for me it is a welcome addition to my collection and will be played many times over listening to all the little nuances in Dannys drumming as well as the rest of the bands playing. Expand
  25. Christopher
    May 2, 2006
    5
    Lateralus was an excellent album. One of the best of the past 10 years. Unfortunately, this is nowhere close to it. There are a few good songs, but nothing that comes even close to their last two records. Huge disappointment.
  26. ShastaMcNasty.
    May 2, 2006
    8
    Well, the wait is finally over. Another Tool album comes over the horizon to plunge our lives into darkness once again and the results are great, for the most part. Songs like Vicarious and Jambi kick the album off to a rocking start with vintage Tool riffing, more predominant bass playing by Justin Chancellor and Danny Carey is completely on his game (like always!). The 17 minute long Well, the wait is finally over. Another Tool album comes over the horizon to plunge our lives into darkness once again and the results are great, for the most part. Songs like Vicarious and Jambi kick the album off to a rocking start with vintage Tool riffing, more predominant bass playing by Justin Chancellor and Danny Carey is completely on his game (like always!). The 17 minute long Wings/10,000 days epic is haunting, to say the least, with a thunderstorm building in the background while the song builds to a crescendo. I must say that I was taken by surprise by The Pot, with it's Shannon Hoon-esque vocals, and it is definitely one of the highlights on the album for me. However, I was taken aback by Rosetta Stoned (is Maynard rapping at the beginning? hard to tell by the gravelly vox going at 200wpm) and I swear I almost fell asleep by the time Right in Two finally kicked in, but overall I would have to give the album an 8/10. Remniscent of their previous albums, but in a good way - hints of Third Eye splash about while the soundscape rolls into Lateralus-style riffing as touches of Undertow and Opiate abound. So remember that while 8/10 might not seem like the greatest score for a Tool album, it is essentially the same as a 4-star score and certainly better than the critics have given the band so far. 10,000 days must definitely be seen to be heard, especially with the awesome cd packaging and the nifty 3D goggles. Right on! Two thumbs up (sort of) Expand
  27. RicheP
    May 2, 2006
    8
    this is their most accesible album to date, pure tool that said it relies too much on signature without going past their comfortable boundaries.
  28. davidm
    May 2, 2006
    10
    great cd. if you think other wise give it another shot. the music is haunting the lyrics and vocals are downright bone shattering. not in a loud kind of way but maynard once again hits that vunerable human factor in all of us. this is not aenima or lateralus. this is tool and their new cd so dont expect the same. in time just like all their cds it will be seen as a classic. a 10 out of 10 great cd. if you think other wise give it another shot. the music is haunting the lyrics and vocals are downright bone shattering. not in a loud kind of way but maynard once again hits that vunerable human factor in all of us. this is not aenima or lateralus. this is tool and their new cd so dont expect the same. in time just like all their cds it will be seen as a classic. a 10 out of 10 best cd of 2006 by far. great great great cd!!! Expand
  29. VincentT
    May 2, 2006
    9
    How does the new Pearl Jam album (which is crappy at best) have better scores than this? I can't stop listening to this amazing album...Vicarious, Jambi, Wings for Marie (both parts), The Pot, Rosetta Stonned, Right In Two...how can this album be bad? Tool fans will not be disappointed unless they are expecting the second coming of AEnima or Lateralus. I actually think it is as good How does the new Pearl Jam album (which is crappy at best) have better scores than this? I can't stop listening to this amazing album...Vicarious, Jambi, Wings for Marie (both parts), The Pot, Rosetta Stonned, Right In Two...how can this album be bad? Tool fans will not be disappointed unless they are expecting the second coming of AEnima or Lateralus. I actually think it is as good as Lateralus. Expand
  30. JP
    May 2, 2006
    10
    NOT Lateralus 2, NOT Aenima 2. Just different. Open your mind and let it sink. This is an amazing album.
  31. Hein
    May 2, 2006
    4
    Most overrated band over the last 25 years.
  32. KramerC
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Masterpiece and progression of Tool style. Critics got it all wrong. This album need more than one listen. The more you hear it the more you understand it. Remember Lateralus? It was the same story. People and critics got all weird about it at first, but later on it became number one.
  33. Ryan
    May 2, 2006
    8
    The people that are voting low obviously are not tool fans...if you are a tool fan than there is nothing not to like overall. However, it gets an 8 because its not better than some of their previous work and it gets a little slow toward the middle, but overall...IT ROCKS...if you like tool.
  34. Systool
    May 3, 2006
    8
    I'm a big TOOL fan and I have to say, like others voters here, that I've been quite surprised of reading some reviews, e.g. the Stylus magazine's... I would say that "10'000 Days" is probably not the best album Tool has ever made (I prefer Lateralus and most of all Aenima) but the band introduced some great parts, especially Justin (bass) who really drives the musical I'm a big TOOL fan and I have to say, like others voters here, that I've been quite surprised of reading some reviews, e.g. the Stylus magazine's... I would say that "10'000 Days" is probably not the best album Tool has ever made (I prefer Lateralus and most of all Aenima) but the band introduced some great parts, especially Justin (bass) who really drives the musical process. Some tracks like "Vicarious" are classic stuff, and "Jambi" and "The Pot" express heavy structures... but songs like "10 000 Days" and "Intension" expose more "psychedelic-like" atmospheres. The main negative point for me is that there are only 11 tracks and intermissions like "Lost Keys" and "Viginti Tres" are quite useless... I would have given a "9" if there was another solid track Expand
  35. Antonio
    May 3, 2006
    10
    You can definitely see some of the influences the band were talking about. I don´t know why some people are saying it has filler, in this respect it is like every tool album. Very good in my opinion and a step in the right direction.
  36. KatM
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Hello people, every good band has an album like this in their career. Where they try something new and pepper it with their old sound. I see this as a transition album. Only bad thing is, we have to wait another 4-5 years to see what they're transitioning to, But if any experiment is worth hearing, it's Tool's.
  37. BrianK
    May 3, 2006
    8
    Dissapointing to an extent but not a dissapointment, but giving it an 8 for having faults is still damn good, and proves even with not a great Album TOOL still beats a lot of crap already out there... this album starts to grow on you, and it is definitelty meant to listen to with a good sound system or in your car so you can notice all the nuances, subtletys and transitions from Dissapointing to an extent but not a dissapointment, but giving it an 8 for having faults is still damn good, and proves even with not a great Album TOOL still beats a lot of crap already out there... this album starts to grow on you, and it is definitelty meant to listen to with a good sound system or in your car so you can notice all the nuances, subtletys and transitions from progression of the tracks, now my gripe is there is a bit too much ambience that bogs it down "Vicarious", "Pot" "Jambi" and Rosetta Stoned" are to me the best songs, Maynard really tries to find new range vocally in "Pot" but there is just enough familarity in the riffs, beats and voice to make me think of Aneima and Undertow which is good, TOOL seems to be going with the sound and flow of Laterlus, that was apparent when we all first heard Vicarious which opens much like Schism (but is way better than Schism I think), I would of liked more sing song hard driving songs like Pot and Jambi to make up more of the CD, I guess I am a bit picky with this more deep, dense and slow direction bieng I love TOOL so much, but there is quite a bit here which is good.... on another note TOOL should get the best CD packaging of the year award, the view finder combo is a trip, I want to try listening to the album while viewing their art. Expand
  38. AdamJ
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Most music these days is like seeing pictures of the Grand Canyon. They look nice but you don't really feel anything when looking at them. 10,000 Days is like actually going there...
  39. stever
    May 3, 2006
    1
    Been a long time Tool fan and waited with much anticipation for this album but am very disappointed. I think they have finally dropped the ball. I don't know if they're getting pretentious and insulated or the fact that they produced this one themselves but the album is a failure. I've been listening to it repeatedly, desperately reaching for something deeper but the Been a long time Tool fan and waited with much anticipation for this album but am very disappointed. I think they have finally dropped the ball. I don't know if they're getting pretentious and insulated or the fact that they produced this one themselves but the album is a failure. I've been listening to it repeatedly, desperately reaching for something deeper but the structure is the same as the previous, the guitar work very formulaic for Tool and the lyrics bland and cliché. I was really surprised, I thought Tool, especially Maynard with his art/politics stance would take this opportunity in our time and culture and make the watershed political art album of the decade (ie. The Wall). Instead it's just more of the same with a lot of self indulgent atmospheric noise. This is their worst music to date...might be time to consider dissolving the band. They should be embarrassed to release it. And the fans that disagree with this assessment are lying to themselves or are too young to relate to the larger scope and potential of the previous music. And as I'm sure Maynard would agree, there is no greater crime than lying to oneself by pledging blind loyalty to a failed endeavor...no matter how much you'd like to see them succeed. Sorry guys, you lost me on this one but thanks for the oldies. Expand
  40. MagicWindow
    May 3, 2006
    2
    Terrible. Stagnant riffs, awfully ham-fisted lyrics and the production seems to have taken a step back to the Undertow era. This is not a career highlight. The packaging is digusting, too.
  41. AdereC
    May 3, 2006
    7
    It's more of the same, which is an actual shame for a band like tool. On first listen, I wanted to sing along older lyrics with these new tracks. That's not a good sign. The music doesn't cut it anymore for me. The rating's for their attitude. And the goggles. And Bill Hicks.
  42. JustinS
    May 3, 2006
    8
    Well I can't give it a perfect vote as of yet since I only bought the cd yesterday but I am baffled as to how critics decided on their view of the album only a day after it has been released. I really doubt they have given the album a few listens over, yet probably skimmed through each song with the fast forward button and then made their final opions. Critics are a joke. please read Well I can't give it a perfect vote as of yet since I only bought the cd yesterday but I am baffled as to how critics decided on their view of the album only a day after it has been released. I really doubt they have given the album a few listens over, yet probably skimmed through each song with the fast forward button and then made their final opions. Critics are a joke. please read chuck klosterman for further opions on critics. pitchfork media is also the same medium that rated mars volta's frances the mute a 2 out of 10. haha! what a joke. Expand
  43. DrunkenMaster
    May 3, 2006
    0
    Tool fans, the band is laughing at you. If you think this CD is worthwhile you are an idiotic sheep. Go back, listen to their previous albums and then put the new one in....it's trash.
  44. JasonH
    May 3, 2006
    10
    This album reminds me very much of "With Teeth" by NIN. The critics skewered it, but its a perfectly fine album in its own right. This album would have been the ideal follow up to Aenima, but I guess we were all spoiled by Lateralus. Of course Tool wasn't going to do Lateralus all over again. Much like Trent Reznor did on "With Teeth", Tool revisted their earlier work on 10,000 days, This album reminds me very much of "With Teeth" by NIN. The critics skewered it, but its a perfectly fine album in its own right. This album would have been the ideal follow up to Aenima, but I guess we were all spoiled by Lateralus. Of course Tool wasn't going to do Lateralus all over again. Much like Trent Reznor did on "With Teeth", Tool revisted their earlier work on 10,000 days, and then experimented with it. It's a perfect mixture of old and new, with a deeply personal touch. This is a great album, definitely a must have. Don't listen to the critics...if you remember right, they all hated Aenima too... Expand
  45. JesseB
    May 3, 2006
    10
    There have been a lot of poor reviews of this album in the 39 hours since its release, and frankly this upsets me. The main complaints seem to be that the album doesn't flow like Lateralus, or have the hard hitting rhythms of Aenima. I say - Who Cares? We're talking about a band that has put out four distinctly different full length albums in their 16 year history, each of which There have been a lot of poor reviews of this album in the 39 hours since its release, and frankly this upsets me. The main complaints seem to be that the album doesn't flow like Lateralus, or have the hard hitting rhythms of Aenima. I say - Who Cares? We're talking about a band that has put out four distinctly different full length albums in their 16 year history, each of which have their own evolved themes and timbre. This album is a reflection of those things which made us need Tool to begin with, and offers a big middle finger to those casual Tool listeners that think they're dissapointed. Another reviewer said they are too "A perfect circle" like... did it ever occur to him that since Mers de Noms that A Perfect Circle is too Tool like? I'm not saying that is is their best offering to date, but comparing tool albums is pointless. The fact of the matter is that this album ROCKS; and anyone of these critics that want to say otherwise... leran to swim! Expand
  46. patrickdl
    May 3, 2006
    10
    heavy at times, with fantastic interludes, this album is something you won't want to miss. danny's mandala drums are sick, and maynard's play with vocals are an important departure for the band. yea, and pitchfork is the worst thing going.
  47. GeorgeP
    May 3, 2006
    10
    LIsten to this at least twice before forming any opinion. This is a great album. Why? Because its NOT like everything else they've done. It rocks in spots and meditates in others. The packaging is the best I've ever seen. It has an energizing quality that Lateralus had. It is easily the best rock album that will come out this year, not just because I like them, but because years LIsten to this at least twice before forming any opinion. This is a great album. Why? Because its NOT like everything else they've done. It rocks in spots and meditates in others. The packaging is the best I've ever seen. It has an energizing quality that Lateralus had. It is easily the best rock album that will come out this year, not just because I like them, but because years from now when your Strokes and White Stripes Cd's have gathered more dust than a dead man's apartment, you'll be just beginning to grasp the power and depth of this masterpiece! Expand
  48. Rich
    May 3, 2006
    3
    Are we listening to the same CD? This CD stinks. Not what I would expect from Tool. Great recording session though nice clean crisp and clear. No sense of dirrection for me though, does nothing for me. A couple of good songs, but most of the CD is noise to me. And um, guys.... the rainstorm effect has been done by someone else called the Doors. Ide give it a lower score than 3, but its Are we listening to the same CD? This CD stinks. Not what I would expect from Tool. Great recording session though nice clean crisp and clear. No sense of dirrection for me though, does nothing for me. A couple of good songs, but most of the CD is noise to me. And um, guys.... the rainstorm effect has been done by someone else called the Doors. Ide give it a lower score than 3, but its not country music..... yet. Expand
  49. Alex
    May 3, 2006
    5
    it's not that bad.... problem is, it's not that good either.
  50. JasonN
    May 3, 2006
    9
    First of all, Maynard is the best rock voice out there right now, simple as that. This is probably not their best cd to date, but after a 5yr wait, I definitely am not complaining. And how does this NOT sound like a Tool album? You could play me the 1st 2 notes of any of the songs and it screams Tool. I don't get it, what are "critics" looking for? Amazing vocals, tight musicianship, First of all, Maynard is the best rock voice out there right now, simple as that. This is probably not their best cd to date, but after a 5yr wait, I definitely am not complaining. And how does this NOT sound like a Tool album? You could play me the 1st 2 notes of any of the songs and it screams Tool. I don't get it, what are "critics" looking for? Amazing vocals, tight musicianship, a distinct sound, etc. Tool is the leader of the pack in my opinion, and unfortunately, the gap between them and the rest of the pack is far to wide. Expand
  51. Greg
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Tool is a band that you need to adapt to, you cant just listen to their cd the first time and love it. I admit i was slightly disappointed in it first time i listened, but it grows on me alot more everytime i hear it, just like every other album of theirs. I dont exactly know what to rate it as, because i will probably end up liking it more. I do wish it was harder, because tool is the Tool is a band that you need to adapt to, you cant just listen to their cd the first time and love it. I admit i was slightly disappointed in it first time i listened, but it grows on me alot more everytime i hear it, just like every other album of theirs. I dont exactly know what to rate it as, because i will probably end up liking it more. I do wish it was harder, because tool is the only band that can be incredibly heavy and have a real message unlike just about every other band. That's the only thing that hold it to a 9, except for the fact that i like their previous efforts a little more than this one. And the Bill T kid that gave it a zero, you pretty much just admitted that you're internet nerd. Not only did you listen to the whole cd and rate it, but you even had the nerve to call other tool fans internet nerds, when you're the one whose using fancy words for sperm. Expand
  52. ChrisG
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Bill T is a jackass.
  53. JustinW
    May 3, 2006
    10
    wow, what an album!!! i love how Tools albums always change each time. They keep getting better and better!!! Tool is the best band in the last 20 years!
  54. mikeVO
    May 3, 2006
    9
    I think people are missing the picture here. Comparable to other Tool music it is tough to gauge what 10,000 days is all about. Their are certainaly hints of Tool ripping off some of their old tricks from other albums. But having listened to this album about 6 times now, i realize that the same tricks have merely been fine tuned and that this album has probably 3-4 of the strongest Tool I think people are missing the picture here. Comparable to other Tool music it is tough to gauge what 10,000 days is all about. Their are certainaly hints of Tool ripping off some of their old tricks from other albums. But having listened to this album about 6 times now, i realize that the same tricks have merely been fine tuned and that this album has probably 3-4 of the strongest Tool tracks ever. Jambi is unbelievable, Wings part 1 and 2 are fantastic, The Pot is off the hook. The album just kicks @$$, period. It seems as though people forget that even crappy Tool is better the 90% of the other stuff out there. And thank goodness, this isn't crappy Tool. Give it 3 or 4 listens and you will realize how rock hard 10,00 daqys is! Expand
  55. ClaudioS
    May 3, 2006
    10
    The record begins with the powerful single and gradually takes you in for an auditive journey, only the experienced listener can dare to critisize this album, it is a masterpiece, the sound is as good as it's art and it allows you to truly get hypnotized through time...
  56. MattA
    May 3, 2006
    8
    This is a challenging album. Like previous Tool material these albums take time to sink in and I find it hard to be extreme either way right now. What I am impressed with is how Tool seems to be trying something. I don't know what, but I do know it is something pretty cool. Their power is undeniable and if you like Tool, you will really enjoy this album. 10,000 Days seems like an This is a challenging album. Like previous Tool material these albums take time to sink in and I find it hard to be extreme either way right now. What I am impressed with is how Tool seems to be trying something. I don't know what, but I do know it is something pretty cool. Their power is undeniable and if you like Tool, you will really enjoy this album. 10,000 Days seems like an album that is getting the band back in sink and the NEXT one will blow your mind. In the mean time, this is still a really good listen. Expand
  57. MarginW
    May 3, 2006
    7
    "Vicarious" is a pretty good structured song, fractured by weak drumming. "jambi" is probably the worst song off the album, the ugly, chugging notes are clearly trying to reach the godsmack/nu-metal crowd. Both "wings for marie" and "10,000 days" worked nicely together. The lyrics are heartfelt and personal. "Rosetta-Stoned" and "Right in Two" are great sounding songs, rehased from their "Vicarious" is a pretty good structured song, fractured by weak drumming. "jambi" is probably the worst song off the album, the ugly, chugging notes are clearly trying to reach the godsmack/nu-metal crowd. Both "wings for marie" and "10,000 days" worked nicely together. The lyrics are heartfelt and personal. "Rosetta-Stoned" and "Right in Two" are great sounding songs, rehased from their previous catalogue. The atmosphere and sound effects didn't really bother me. The focus here is more ethereal than pseudo spirituality, right? All in all, musically, this Tool's least impressive record. My major complaint is the sub-par drumming, Danny Carey is probably the most talented modern drummer. The drumming missed all the right stop-and-fire dynamics from the previous records. There isn't much air between the tenor and Jones' polyrythms. Lyrically, it's less embarrasing than Lateralus. Some of the songs sound more like lazy, b-sides off Lateralus. Expand
  58. tomn
    May 3, 2006
    9
    By far Tool's overall best effort to date. I can see some people not getting it right away, but there is nothing else out there even close to this right now. Replay value is limitless.
  59. NeilC.
    May 3, 2006
    9
    This album, although not as introspective as Lateralus, still has some of Tool's best work to date. Songs like Vicarious and 10,000 Days make the album pleasurable to listen to on repeat, and even what many would consider "filler" material (which Tool is prone to use) keep the album moving along nicely. And of course, Alex Grey's artwork is worth the price of the CD alone.
  60. FredericP
    May 3, 2006
    6
    I hate pitchfork media to. But this is the worst record of tool. And i guess the worst record cover of all time, No joke. by the way, who really cares about a perfect circle. Tool is the shit. Nothing compare. Maybe from the "outside",pitchfork are doin great in that sens.
  61. RobD
    May 3, 2006
    1
    It bored me to tears and I like their old stuff.
  62. JMcDan
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Best music on the shelf since 2001.
  63. Sparky
    May 4, 2006
    4
    This album is a mess. Maynard attempts a song cycle on "Separation" as the flip side of the Lateralus "unity" theme, and manages lyrics that range from uncomfortably personal ("Wings for Marie") to simplistic ("Vicarious") to inane (everything else). Not only is it weird that the band that encouraged religious exploration is embracing Judeo-christian mythology ("10,000 days", "Right in This album is a mess. Maynard attempts a song cycle on "Separation" as the flip side of the Lateralus "unity" theme, and manages lyrics that range from uncomfortably personal ("Wings for Marie") to simplistic ("Vicarious") to inane (everything else). Not only is it weird that the band that encouraged religious exploration is embracing Judeo-christian mythology ("10,000 days", "Right in Two"), none of it exhibits the sense of humor and play that colored their previous records. Gone is the meta level joke of Art Bell phone calls, Sacred geometry and negative ions, and in its place are "whatchoo talkin bout" and "sh- the bed again". Musically its all over the place: there's an attempt to impose a definable hook and song structure to "Vicarious" and "right in two", but "Jambi" is nearly unlistenable, and nothing else coheres in any interesting way: "intention" drones on with no creshendo, "rosetta stoned" plays like a collection of random toolish riffs and sounds. The band is at least honest with the failure: the janus faced cover art speaks to the confusion and lack of direction exhibited here. Pull out your copy of Lateralus and listen to that instead. Maybe the mysticsm of 2012 will inspire a better record 7 years from now when they issue a follow up to this one. Expand
  64. ChrisE
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Inspiring and evolving. Amazing album.
  65. Sluze
    May 4, 2006
    10
    music is about feeling and interpretation so no one is going to agree completely...having said that you can agree on musicianship and talent and this album proves once again the members of Tool can play some damn good rock songs. from a personal perspective, i feel the record is a reflection of growth for the band the tracks are good 'old school' metal tunes, the lyrics are music is about feeling and interpretation so no one is going to agree completely...having said that you can agree on musicianship and talent and this album proves once again the members of Tool can play some damn good rock songs. from a personal perspective, i feel the record is a reflection of growth for the band the tracks are good 'old school' metal tunes, the lyrics are quite well written and in the end its a record, at it worst, that is better then the corp. rock that is out there right now (ie anything ever done by Nickleback) and at its best makes it into your musical rotation for now. because in the end that's really what it comes down to. if you are going to take the time to ACTUALLY LISTEN (and not judge it by a single you heard a few times on the radio driving to work) to a record and you want to hear it again then the band has done their job. Expand
  66. JohnH
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Best Tool album (so far).
  67. AlexDLT
    May 4, 2006
    10
    For anyone to think that Tool was going to be anything similar to their previous albums, dont understand Tool one *&%damn bit. This CD is nearly perfect in every way, and to my delight I might enjoy just much if not more than Lateralus. The musicians have really taken their personal progression to new heights while I have never heard Maynard so personal. He comes off like he's For anyone to think that Tool was going to be anything similar to their previous albums, dont understand Tool one *&%damn bit. This CD is nearly perfect in every way, and to my delight I might enjoy just much if not more than Lateralus. The musicians have really taken their personal progression to new heights while I have never heard Maynard so personal. He comes off like he's finally divulging to his true fans some deepseeded pain hes lived with for so long. It is powerful and beautiful. Expand
  68. DannyC
    May 4, 2006
    0
    i wanna fuck maynard in the ass with my huuuuuge tool.
  69. Blackshadow
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Another good effort from the band. There is a lot going on with the instrumentation and it takes several listens to fully enjoy it.
  70. SydneyY
    May 4, 2006
    5
    What you are buying here is an EP in disguise as a 70+ minute rock album. I loved Tool's last three, but there is just too much wasted space on this album. Tracks 3 and 7 just feature the same riff over and over, and tracks 6, 9 and 11 are just wasted space with no purpose. That leaves tracks 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 and 10 as the only real songs, and track 8 sounds like a Slipknot song. At What you are buying here is an EP in disguise as a 70+ minute rock album. I loved Tool's last three, but there is just too much wasted space on this album. Tracks 3 and 7 just feature the same riff over and over, and tracks 6, 9 and 11 are just wasted space with no purpose. That leaves tracks 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 and 10 as the only real songs, and track 8 sounds like a Slipknot song. At least tracks 1 and 2 are awesome and 4, 5 and 10 are okay. The packaging is way more interesting than this album was. So its really been a five year wait for a Tool EP. Expand
  71. GaryS
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Unbelievable. This one takes patience to truly take shape. Been a fan since Undertow, this is as good as anything they've ever done.
  72. JamesC
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Better than Lateralus, not quite as good as Aenima...
  73. kd
    May 4, 2006
    2
    very dissapointed
  74. ZapB
    May 4, 2006
    5
    This album gets a 5. That's an average.. I give the songs written by TOOL a 10. I give the songs written by Yoko Ono a 0.. (number 9, number 9, number 9)
  75. LucL
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Each album presents us with an evolution of the band. Although there are familiar elements of Lateralus here, the band seems determined to break new ground. I especially enjoyed Maynard James Keenan's vocals. He does not hesitate to show off his incredible versatility.
  76. DevinB
    May 4, 2006
    2
    Overwraught and underthought garbage. Stylus magazine really nailed it.
  77. BenA
    May 4, 2006
    10
    They have gotten better. The songs are more intricate and layered. The guitar and drum work is amazing, and the changing time signatures really spice things up. This band knows how to play their instruments. They are so taleted, it's hard to listen to anything else without thinking how basic it sounds. The slow songs on the album take time to appreciate, but I think it's a new They have gotten better. The songs are more intricate and layered. The guitar and drum work is amazing, and the changing time signatures really spice things up. This band knows how to play their instruments. They are so taleted, it's hard to listen to anything else without thinking how basic it sounds. The slow songs on the album take time to appreciate, but I think it's a new thing for Tool, and they have grown on me a lot. This album is incredibly consistent and well-paced. A+ Expand
  78. RustWrena
    May 4, 2006
    0
    worst album ever
  79. vicg
    May 4, 2006
    9
    I have to disagree with the critics,this is a really good album. I cant really explain why i like it, i just do. I would recommend you listen to it just once and decide for yourself.
  80. NathanD
    May 4, 2006
    5
    As a long time TOOL fan, i must say i was very dissapointed. i think the album is a huge step back not only stylistically but artistically as well. the thing i admire most about TOOL is their insane ability to grow leaps and bounds with each progessive album, Maynards abillity to challenge vocal structure and create lyrical genius, and the bands amazing timing structures while executing As a long time TOOL fan, i must say i was very dissapointed. i think the album is a huge step back not only stylistically but artistically as well. the thing i admire most about TOOL is their insane ability to grow leaps and bounds with each progessive album, Maynards abillity to challenge vocal structure and create lyrical genius, and the bands amazing timing structures while executing an overall level of musicianship and progession that makes the long time between albums bearable. this album did very little of this. to me it sounds like alot of undertow mixed in with influence from bands like disturbed, staind and apc, most def. a step back. i didnt feel the creativity, the excitment or geniune emotion that has been the hallmark of each TOOL album, and was perhaps perfect with Lateralus. i think Maynard for the most part dumbed down his lyrics, i was depressed with a lot of Adams seemingly uninspired riffs. Overall i feel this album could have been made by any other band, and TOOL is anything but. and as a long time die hard TOOL fan, it pains me, and dissapoints me but i have to give it a 5. Expand
  81. WilliamJ
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Lots of subtle and complex songs which get better with repeated listens, which is what I think we've all come to expect from Tool. Its nice to finally hear Adam show off some of his impressive skill with the guitar. I could do with a few more focused and aggressive tracks and less prog meandering. It's a great album but still doesn't top Aenima.
  82. chuck
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Excellent cd. Wings for marie and 10,000 days are as good as anything on any previous cd. I think it is more creative lyrically than Lateralus. Nothing is ever going to reach Aenima, that is something I accept, unfortunately tool is expected to surpass it and it probably isn't possible because Aenima was perfect.
  83. RussellA
    May 4, 2006
    9
    After giving this one several spins, I have decided: it's pretty dang good. It most certainly is not just a cheap rehash of Lateralus; the band moves in an odd new direction, as should be expected. It's probably not as good as Lateralus, but they have definitely broken new ground. Most impressive was Maynard's vastly expanded range, Jones' mind-bending solos, and After giving this one several spins, I have decided: it's pretty dang good. It most certainly is not just a cheap rehash of Lateralus; the band moves in an odd new direction, as should be expected. It's probably not as good as Lateralus, but they have definitely broken new ground. Most impressive was Maynard's vastly expanded range, Jones' mind-bending solos, and especially Chancellor's absolutely superb bass work. Chancellor really stands out here, especially on the track "The Pot." Expand
  84. Will
    May 4, 2006
    6
    Some of it works well. . .but only because it sounds a lot like Lateralus. The best trick the devil ever played was making the world believe he didn't exist. Well, the best trick Maynard ever played was making people think that he is actually "deep, dark, and mysterious". He'll probably make a pretty penny off this album tho, and his ego will once again be inflated by every Some of it works well. . .but only because it sounds a lot like Lateralus. The best trick the devil ever played was making the world believe he didn't exist. Well, the best trick Maynard ever played was making people think that he is actually "deep, dark, and mysterious". He'll probably make a pretty penny off this album tho, and his ego will once again be inflated by every other geek that tries to pick up something godlike from the re-hashed lyrics. Yes, Maynard like it up the rear. . .big deal. Expand
  85. frankie
    May 5, 2006
    10
    another chapter in the Book Of Tool...not one to pass up. Filled with hair raising breakdowns emotional lyrics. Better then any crap band could even dream about, these guys are gonna be in history books if you don't listen with an open mind then you don't deserve to listen at all. Tool is the best hands down.
  86. paul
    May 5, 2006
    8
    Someone should filter Bill T's 0. he obviously has not listened to or bought the album.
  87. sumsh
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Best. Tool. Album. Ever.
  88. DavidH
    May 5, 2006
    0
    Haven't heard it, but I'm sure it sucks, it's fun to laugh at Tool fans. They're morons.
  89. AaronO
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Who are you to waive your finger you must have been out your head.... this stuff is good
  90. DanK
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Not as accessible as aenima but fantastic all the same. Similar to Lateralus in that it only has five 'songs' to speak of - but oh! they are as good as anything else they have ever done. Since this is prog metal this amounts to about 35-40mins of audio gold-dust and another 30 of 'interesting' filler. And not in the slightest bit like perfect circle save for the guys Not as accessible as aenima but fantastic all the same. Similar to Lateralus in that it only has five 'songs' to speak of - but oh! they are as good as anything else they have ever done. Since this is prog metal this amounts to about 35-40mins of audio gold-dust and another 30 of 'interesting' filler. And not in the slightest bit like perfect circle save for the guys voice. Off you go! Buy it :) ! Expand
  91. Nick
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Better after every listen. Though the album lacks the anthemic, driving sound found on earlier releases, the complexity and movement of the songs really make this a great record. Some may think it's pretentious, but if you sit down and let yourself completely engage in the musical movements, it stands out as Tool's finest work since Aenima.
  92. GaborA
    May 5, 2006
    10
    With 10,000 Days despite it being one of their favorite themes Tool does not evolve. They merely age and with mixed results. The effects on quality is a lack of the consistency which blessed their other albums. With that said the summit pieces of this album are so good they're tear inducing, and i mean that literally. You guys dont have to write another note to retain your spot at With 10,000 Days despite it being one of their favorite themes Tool does not evolve. They merely age and with mixed results. The effects on quality is a lack of the consistency which blessed their other albums. With that said the summit pieces of this album are so good they're tear inducing, and i mean that literally. You guys dont have to write another note to retain your spot at the top for all my lifetime, but please do. Expand
  93. BenT
    May 5, 2006
    5
    Tool's standard melodies come together disjointedly to create the first weak album in their catalog (compared to other tool records). Most of the record sounds like perfect circle out-takes.
  94. PL
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Most of the negative reviews are based on superficial comparisons to old albums. Yes, this album has classic Tool underpinings, but there are new rhythmic structures in there. Maynard isn't always deep and novel. But who is always deep and novel? Tool must put a lot of work into most songs. Anyone who thinks otherwise is too unfamiliar with how hard it is to write music. Also I Most of the negative reviews are based on superficial comparisons to old albums. Yes, this album has classic Tool underpinings, but there are new rhythmic structures in there. Maynard isn't always deep and novel. But who is always deep and novel? Tool must put a lot of work into most songs. Anyone who thinks otherwise is too unfamiliar with how hard it is to write music. Also I noticed that most negative reviews are concerned with fan-bashing. I love that move: "I'm not skilled enough to comment on the music itself, so I'll rip on the fans instead." Expand
  95. ScottS
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Love 10000 Days. I think Opiate and Undertow were Tool's april fool's jokes rather than Lateralus or 10000 Days. Just depends if you can evolve yourself as a person. Thats what they are doing. Rather than just putting out dreggy music for the "unfairly treated youth". This same youth can't seem to evolve from liking that "I hate the world so I'm going to hit my member Love 10000 Days. I think Opiate and Undertow were Tool's april fool's jokes rather than Lateralus or 10000 Days. Just depends if you can evolve yourself as a person. Thats what they are doing. Rather than just putting out dreggy music for the "unfairly treated youth". This same youth can't seem to evolve from liking that "I hate the world so I'm going to hit my member with a hammer" music. This album has alot to offer anyone with an IQ of at least 65 (right above retardation level) and an opened mind. Crucify your ego people, your arrogance and ignorance are so contrived. Evolve! Expand
  96. DavidM
    May 5, 2006
    10
    I think that when people start realizing that the 10,000 days album is the begining of something great, and not an extension of APC or previous Tool albums they will realize that this is a great album. Did anybody ever thin that APC sounds like Tool instead of the other way. If I am now mistaken, Tool was around long before APC. Also, in reading the critics reviews, it sounds like they I think that when people start realizing that the 10,000 days album is the begining of something great, and not an extension of APC or previous Tool albums they will realize that this is a great album. Did anybody ever thin that APC sounds like Tool instead of the other way. If I am now mistaken, Tool was around long before APC. Also, in reading the critics reviews, it sounds like they listend to it once and wrote their review. A word of advice to anyone reading this: Listen to the new album 4-6 times AT LEAST, before forming an opinion. 10, 10, 10. Expand
  97. prask
    May 5, 2006
    10
    great album, period.
  98. JeffQ
    May 5, 2006
    0
    Horrible album of recycled riffs, cliche lyrics, and formulated songs. What happened to Tool?
  99. bobbyf
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Everyone who gave this albulm a negative rating did so because they expected something else of the band .. AND that is not the bands fault .. thats the listeners .. you should not prepare yourself to listen to this cd expecting it to sound like something you have already heard .. open your mind alittle , and make room for something new .. TOOL is one of the only bands out ther being true Everyone who gave this albulm a negative rating did so because they expected something else of the band .. AND that is not the bands fault .. thats the listeners .. you should not prepare yourself to listen to this cd expecting it to sound like something you have already heard .. open your mind alittle , and make room for something new .. TOOL is one of the only bands out ther being true to ther music , its clearly music thats inspired by four diffierent talented personalities meeting and conversing... and as for the guy who refered to cow bells and such .. " every goddamn skin, tom-tom, and cowbell on your drum set" your an idiot , from a succesfull drummers stance - danny is the first drummer doing anything creative for rock since john bonham .. everything he does is tastefull .. and juxtaposed to such idiot iconic prog-rock drummers such as mike portnoy , danny keeps his use of drums and toys to a minimum.. ... BF Expand
  100. shanet
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Scott s i could have not said it better myself. Honestly if tool were still making music like opiate, and undertow i would not still be a fan.... its the one band that has matured, and the only band that is still in my cd collection, when all the others faded away. I have grown up with tool, and as i have grown so have they. If you like tool, just get it! It's awesome.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. It's not only a step forward for the band, but a re-embracing of the epic-length rock songs found at the roots of early heavy metal.
  2. When Tool sounds as good as it does on ["Jambi" and "The Pot"] it's hard to get enough. Which makes it all the more baffling that a surprisingly large chunk of the disc is given over to mood-enhancing soundscapes like "Lost Keys" and "Vigniti Tres."
  3. Sounds exactly like you would expect a Tool album to sound.