• Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: May 2, 2006
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 413 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 413

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattO
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics are all on pot, not the listeners. They are on something else entirely. One of my favorite albums of all time, and I've listened to far too many different genres, from Kenny Rogers' "First Edition" to "all the damn Li'l's in rap music today." Expand
  2. KeytonE
    May 3, 2006
    9
    If you can't take long songs just go back to your Fall Out Boy and Simple Plan. If you're a fan of Tool you'll love this album. The one review is correct, this is exactly what a Tool album should sound like, but it is definitely unique.
  3. AndreP
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Obviously Stylus Magazine doesn't know what the words "Progressive Rock" mean. And the writer from Pitchfork has never listed to A Perfect Circle. The "wannabe-journalists" that wrote those great pieces probably enjoy listening to Nickelback. Great album as usual, Tool always surpases expectations. A little too much "Intermission style" songs, but that is always expected from Tool. Obviously Stylus Magazine doesn't know what the words "Progressive Rock" mean. And the writer from Pitchfork has never listed to A Perfect Circle. The "wannabe-journalists" that wrote those great pieces probably enjoy listening to Nickelback. Great album as usual, Tool always surpases expectations. A little too much "Intermission style" songs, but that is always expected from Tool. But Vicarious, Jambi, The Pot, Rosetta Stoned, 10,000 Days...amazing songs. Go buy this album IMMEDIATELY, otherwise, you'll end up being a Nickelback fan, or an opinianated "journalist". And you wouldn't want to end up like that, would you? Expand
  4. DamienA
    May 2, 2006
    10
    An amazing record. A completely reinvented Tool puts out their most bluesy album. The rejection of violence and hope for maintaining peace of mind are the prodominant themes. It will take several listens to get this cd! Like all great records you are not prepared by the radio for innovation.
  5. EricF
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Simply fantastic. Highly complex and detailed, dark and rhythmic yet musical and vulnerable.
  6. alii
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Is a great albun very dark and moody .I love it It seems like tool did it again!
  7. JamesToolfan
    May 2, 2006
    9
    I'll preface this by saying that I love Tool, but that they are not my all time favorite band. Everyone knows those people who live and die with every word Maynard James Keenan says writes or sings, I'm not one of them. That being said I listen to Tool as much as or more than any other band in a given week, month or year. I have had this album for a little over a week and I'll preface this by saying that I love Tool, but that they are not my all time favorite band. Everyone knows those people who live and die with every word Maynard James Keenan says writes or sings, I'm not one of them. That being said I listen to Tool as much as or more than any other band in a given week, month or year. I have had this album for a little over a week and contrary to what you may have heard or read this is not their best album. I think both Lateralus and Aenima are better albums, however, I think those are two of the greatest albums ever made. I gave this album is a solid 9, there are parts where Tool blows me away with their musicianship, song crafting and originality. In my opinion, the talent in this band rivals any band in music and probably in music history. Their influence will be felt for generations, this album included. That being said this album tends to drag at points and does not have the same "WOW" factor as Tool's previous work. But then again, who does ? The case and artwork are amazing and the album maybe the best album released this year by anyone. I would definitely pick it up if you haven't already. Expand
  8. JDWilliams
    May 2, 2006
    10
    The critics are harsh on art i guess...don't understand pitchfork's review. its like they think all these mostly crappy indie bands they are obsessed with will change rock. TOOL has changed rock since the early 90's this CD is a step forward in the journey of the amazing TOOL!! BUY IT
  9. roxannek
    May 2, 2006
    10
    love it!!
  10. [Anonymous]
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Amazing album...Reviews dont know what they are talking about because this album is a grower. Tool has defidently gotton better.
  11. PeteO
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Definitely an epic work that needs time to fully sink in. The level of musicianship and composition here truly shines head and shoulders above just about anything else out there right now. Tool has delivered once again on all levels. Their masterpiece has already been made, but this continues their dedication to delivering top-notch music.
  12. JamesH.
    May 2, 2006
    10
    im pretty sure the critics did not listen to the same cd i did. this cd is not mostly made up of soundscapes or filler tracks, nor is it a perfect circle. it might not be a total departure from lateralus, but why would someone expect a band to totally change its sound? i think this cd is great, its extremely intense, much more personal, and has some really great heavy rock songs in there im pretty sure the critics did not listen to the same cd i did. this cd is not mostly made up of soundscapes or filler tracks, nor is it a perfect circle. it might not be a total departure from lateralus, but why would someone expect a band to totally change its sound? i think this cd is great, its extremely intense, much more personal, and has some really great heavy rock songs in there too. i hate pitchfork media Expand
  13. TravisP
    May 2, 2006
    10
    I love it! From the amazing album cover art and features! To the change of Maynard's voice and stretching himself! To Danny and his amazing drums, with Adam taking a more important role in the album. It is amazing!
  14. max
    May 2, 2006
    9
    First, I don't know what stylus and pitchfork were smoking but it seems like they have an axe to grind with Tool. Maybe they were declined interviews or weren't allowed to hang with the band after a show. This albums is excellent, it may not be Lateralus or AEnema but it is TOOL. I guess since their style changed over the past 4 albums that people expected this to be the album First, I don't know what stylus and pitchfork were smoking but it seems like they have an axe to grind with Tool. Maybe they were declined interviews or weren't allowed to hang with the band after a show. This albums is excellent, it may not be Lateralus or AEnema but it is TOOL. I guess since their style changed over the past 4 albums that people expected this to be the album that redifed music. Maybe they liked the sound they achieved with Lateralus and wanted to expand on it more, not change again. If you look at all their albums each became longer and more elaborate climaxing with Lateralus. They found the sound that they were looking for and now are creating music in that style. Im sure this will grow on people over time but for me it is a welcome addition to my collection and will be played many times over listening to all the little nuances in Dannys drumming as well as the rest of the bands playing. Expand
  15. davidm
    May 2, 2006
    10
    great cd. if you think other wise give it another shot. the music is haunting the lyrics and vocals are downright bone shattering. not in a loud kind of way but maynard once again hits that vunerable human factor in all of us. this is not aenima or lateralus. this is tool and their new cd so dont expect the same. in time just like all their cds it will be seen as a classic. a 10 out of 10 great cd. if you think other wise give it another shot. the music is haunting the lyrics and vocals are downright bone shattering. not in a loud kind of way but maynard once again hits that vunerable human factor in all of us. this is not aenima or lateralus. this is tool and their new cd so dont expect the same. in time just like all their cds it will be seen as a classic. a 10 out of 10 best cd of 2006 by far. great great great cd!!! Expand
  16. VincentT
    May 2, 2006
    9
    How does the new Pearl Jam album (which is crappy at best) have better scores than this? I can't stop listening to this amazing album...Vicarious, Jambi, Wings for Marie (both parts), The Pot, Rosetta Stonned, Right In Two...how can this album be bad? Tool fans will not be disappointed unless they are expecting the second coming of AEnima or Lateralus. I actually think it is as good How does the new Pearl Jam album (which is crappy at best) have better scores than this? I can't stop listening to this amazing album...Vicarious, Jambi, Wings for Marie (both parts), The Pot, Rosetta Stonned, Right In Two...how can this album be bad? Tool fans will not be disappointed unless they are expecting the second coming of AEnima or Lateralus. I actually think it is as good as Lateralus. Expand
  17. JP
    May 2, 2006
    10
    NOT Lateralus 2, NOT Aenima 2. Just different. Open your mind and let it sink. This is an amazing album.
  18. KramerC
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Masterpiece and progression of Tool style. Critics got it all wrong. This album need more than one listen. The more you hear it the more you understand it. Remember Lateralus? It was the same story. People and critics got all weird about it at first, but later on it became number one.
  19. Antonio
    May 3, 2006
    10
    You can definitely see some of the influences the band were talking about. I don´t know why some people are saying it has filler, in this respect it is like every tool album. Very good in my opinion and a step in the right direction.
  20. KatM
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Hello people, every good band has an album like this in their career. Where they try something new and pepper it with their old sound. I see this as a transition album. Only bad thing is, we have to wait another 4-5 years to see what they're transitioning to, But if any experiment is worth hearing, it's Tool's.
  21. AdamJ
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Most music these days is like seeing pictures of the Grand Canyon. They look nice but you don't really feel anything when looking at them. 10,000 Days is like actually going there...
  22. JasonH
    May 3, 2006
    10
    This album reminds me very much of "With Teeth" by NIN. The critics skewered it, but its a perfectly fine album in its own right. This album would have been the ideal follow up to Aenima, but I guess we were all spoiled by Lateralus. Of course Tool wasn't going to do Lateralus all over again. Much like Trent Reznor did on "With Teeth", Tool revisted their earlier work on 10,000 days, This album reminds me very much of "With Teeth" by NIN. The critics skewered it, but its a perfectly fine album in its own right. This album would have been the ideal follow up to Aenima, but I guess we were all spoiled by Lateralus. Of course Tool wasn't going to do Lateralus all over again. Much like Trent Reznor did on "With Teeth", Tool revisted their earlier work on 10,000 days, and then experimented with it. It's a perfect mixture of old and new, with a deeply personal touch. This is a great album, definitely a must have. Don't listen to the critics...if you remember right, they all hated Aenima too... Expand
  23. JesseB
    May 3, 2006
    10
    There have been a lot of poor reviews of this album in the 39 hours since its release, and frankly this upsets me. The main complaints seem to be that the album doesn't flow like Lateralus, or have the hard hitting rhythms of Aenima. I say - Who Cares? We're talking about a band that has put out four distinctly different full length albums in their 16 year history, each of which There have been a lot of poor reviews of this album in the 39 hours since its release, and frankly this upsets me. The main complaints seem to be that the album doesn't flow like Lateralus, or have the hard hitting rhythms of Aenima. I say - Who Cares? We're talking about a band that has put out four distinctly different full length albums in their 16 year history, each of which have their own evolved themes and timbre. This album is a reflection of those things which made us need Tool to begin with, and offers a big middle finger to those casual Tool listeners that think they're dissapointed. Another reviewer said they are too "A perfect circle" like... did it ever occur to him that since Mers de Noms that A Perfect Circle is too Tool like? I'm not saying that is is their best offering to date, but comparing tool albums is pointless. The fact of the matter is that this album ROCKS; and anyone of these critics that want to say otherwise... leran to swim! Expand
  24. patrickdl
    May 3, 2006
    10
    heavy at times, with fantastic interludes, this album is something you won't want to miss. danny's mandala drums are sick, and maynard's play with vocals are an important departure for the band. yea, and pitchfork is the worst thing going.
  25. GeorgeP
    May 3, 2006
    10
    LIsten to this at least twice before forming any opinion. This is a great album. Why? Because its NOT like everything else they've done. It rocks in spots and meditates in others. The packaging is the best I've ever seen. It has an energizing quality that Lateralus had. It is easily the best rock album that will come out this year, not just because I like them, but because years LIsten to this at least twice before forming any opinion. This is a great album. Why? Because its NOT like everything else they've done. It rocks in spots and meditates in others. The packaging is the best I've ever seen. It has an energizing quality that Lateralus had. It is easily the best rock album that will come out this year, not just because I like them, but because years from now when your Strokes and White Stripes Cd's have gathered more dust than a dead man's apartment, you'll be just beginning to grasp the power and depth of this masterpiece! Expand
  26. JasonN
    May 3, 2006
    9
    First of all, Maynard is the best rock voice out there right now, simple as that. This is probably not their best cd to date, but after a 5yr wait, I definitely am not complaining. And how does this NOT sound like a Tool album? You could play me the 1st 2 notes of any of the songs and it screams Tool. I don't get it, what are "critics" looking for? Amazing vocals, tight musicianship, First of all, Maynard is the best rock voice out there right now, simple as that. This is probably not their best cd to date, but after a 5yr wait, I definitely am not complaining. And how does this NOT sound like a Tool album? You could play me the 1st 2 notes of any of the songs and it screams Tool. I don't get it, what are "critics" looking for? Amazing vocals, tight musicianship, a distinct sound, etc. Tool is the leader of the pack in my opinion, and unfortunately, the gap between them and the rest of the pack is far to wide. Collapse
  27. Greg
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Tool is a band that you need to adapt to, you cant just listen to their cd the first time and love it. I admit i was slightly disappointed in it first time i listened, but it grows on me alot more everytime i hear it, just like every other album of theirs. I dont exactly know what to rate it as, because i will probably end up liking it more. I do wish it was harder, because tool is the Tool is a band that you need to adapt to, you cant just listen to their cd the first time and love it. I admit i was slightly disappointed in it first time i listened, but it grows on me alot more everytime i hear it, just like every other album of theirs. I dont exactly know what to rate it as, because i will probably end up liking it more. I do wish it was harder, because tool is the only band that can be incredibly heavy and have a real message unlike just about every other band. That's the only thing that hold it to a 9, except for the fact that i like their previous efforts a little more than this one. And the Bill T kid that gave it a zero, you pretty much just admitted that you're internet nerd. Not only did you listen to the whole cd and rate it, but you even had the nerve to call other tool fans internet nerds, when you're the one whose using fancy words for sperm. Expand
  28. ChrisG
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Bill T is a jackass.
  29. JustinW
    May 3, 2006
    10
    wow, what an album!!! i love how Tools albums always change each time. They keep getting better and better!!! Tool is the best band in the last 20 years!
  30. mikeVO
    May 3, 2006
    9
    I think people are missing the picture here. Comparable to other Tool music it is tough to gauge what 10,000 days is all about. Their are certainaly hints of Tool ripping off some of their old tricks from other albums. But having listened to this album about 6 times now, i realize that the same tricks have merely been fine tuned and that this album has probably 3-4 of the strongest Tool I think people are missing the picture here. Comparable to other Tool music it is tough to gauge what 10,000 days is all about. Their are certainaly hints of Tool ripping off some of their old tricks from other albums. But having listened to this album about 6 times now, i realize that the same tricks have merely been fine tuned and that this album has probably 3-4 of the strongest Tool tracks ever. Jambi is unbelievable, Wings part 1 and 2 are fantastic, The Pot is off the hook. The album just kicks @$$, period. It seems as though people forget that even crappy Tool is better the 90% of the other stuff out there. And thank goodness, this isn't crappy Tool. Give it 3 or 4 listens and you will realize how rock hard 10,00 daqys is! Expand
  31. ClaudioS
    May 3, 2006
    10
    The record begins with the powerful single and gradually takes you in for an auditive journey, only the experienced listener can dare to critisize this album, it is a masterpiece, the sound is as good as it's art and it allows you to truly get hypnotized through time...
  32. tomn
    May 3, 2006
    9
    By far Tool's overall best effort to date. I can see some people not getting it right away, but there is nothing else out there even close to this right now. Replay value is limitless.
  33. NeilC.
    May 3, 2006
    9
    This album, although not as introspective as Lateralus, still has some of Tool's best work to date. Songs like Vicarious and 10,000 Days make the album pleasurable to listen to on repeat, and even what many would consider "filler" material (which Tool is prone to use) keep the album moving along nicely. And of course, Alex Grey's artwork is worth the price of the CD alone.
  34. JMcDan
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Best music on the shelf since 2001.
  35. ChrisE
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Inspiring and evolving. Amazing album.
  36. Sluze
    May 4, 2006
    10
    music is about feeling and interpretation so no one is going to agree completely...having said that you can agree on musicianship and talent and this album proves once again the members of Tool can play some damn good rock songs. from a personal perspective, i feel the record is a reflection of growth for the band the tracks are good 'old school' metal tunes, the lyrics are music is about feeling and interpretation so no one is going to agree completely...having said that you can agree on musicianship and talent and this album proves once again the members of Tool can play some damn good rock songs. from a personal perspective, i feel the record is a reflection of growth for the band the tracks are good 'old school' metal tunes, the lyrics are quite well written and in the end its a record, at it worst, that is better then the corp. rock that is out there right now (ie anything ever done by Nickleback) and at its best makes it into your musical rotation for now. because in the end that's really what it comes down to. if you are going to take the time to ACTUALLY LISTEN (and not judge it by a single you heard a few times on the radio driving to work) to a record and you want to hear it again then the band has done their job. Expand
  37. JohnH
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Best Tool album (so far).
  38. AlexDLT
    May 4, 2006
    10
    For anyone to think that Tool was going to be anything similar to their previous albums, dont understand Tool one *&%damn bit. This CD is nearly perfect in every way, and to my delight I might enjoy just much if not more than Lateralus. The musicians have really taken their personal progression to new heights while I have never heard Maynard so personal. He comes off like he's For anyone to think that Tool was going to be anything similar to their previous albums, dont understand Tool one *&%damn bit. This CD is nearly perfect in every way, and to my delight I might enjoy just much if not more than Lateralus. The musicians have really taken their personal progression to new heights while I have never heard Maynard so personal. He comes off like he's finally divulging to his true fans some deepseeded pain hes lived with for so long. It is powerful and beautiful. Expand
  39. Blackshadow
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Another good effort from the band. There is a lot going on with the instrumentation and it takes several listens to fully enjoy it.
  40. GaryS
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Unbelievable. This one takes patience to truly take shape. Been a fan since Undertow, this is as good as anything they've ever done.
  41. JamesC
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Better than Lateralus, not quite as good as Aenima...
  42. LucL
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Each album presents us with an evolution of the band. Although there are familiar elements of Lateralus here, the band seems determined to break new ground. I especially enjoyed Maynard James Keenan's vocals. He does not hesitate to show off his incredible versatility.
  43. BenA
    May 4, 2006
    10
    They have gotten better. The songs are more intricate and layered. The guitar and drum work is amazing, and the changing time signatures really spice things up. This band knows how to play their instruments. They are so taleted, it's hard to listen to anything else without thinking how basic it sounds. The slow songs on the album take time to appreciate, but I think it's a new They have gotten better. The songs are more intricate and layered. The guitar and drum work is amazing, and the changing time signatures really spice things up. This band knows how to play their instruments. They are so taleted, it's hard to listen to anything else without thinking how basic it sounds. The slow songs on the album take time to appreciate, but I think it's a new thing for Tool, and they have grown on me a lot. This album is incredibly consistent and well-paced. A+ Expand
  44. vicg
    May 4, 2006
    9
    I have to disagree with the critics,this is a really good album. I cant really explain why i like it, i just do. I would recommend you listen to it just once and decide for yourself.
  45. WilliamJ
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Lots of subtle and complex songs which get better with repeated listens, which is what I think we've all come to expect from Tool. Its nice to finally hear Adam show off some of his impressive skill with the guitar. I could do with a few more focused and aggressive tracks and less prog meandering. It's a great album but still doesn't top Aenima.
  46. chuck
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Excellent cd. Wings for marie and 10,000 days are as good as anything on any previous cd. I think it is more creative lyrically than Lateralus. Nothing is ever going to reach Aenima, that is something I accept, unfortunately tool is expected to surpass it and it probably isn't possible because Aenima was perfect.
  47. RussellA
    May 4, 2006
    9
    After giving this one several spins, I have decided: it's pretty dang good. It most certainly is not just a cheap rehash of Lateralus; the band moves in an odd new direction, as should be expected. It's probably not as good as Lateralus, but they have definitely broken new ground. Most impressive was Maynard's vastly expanded range, Jones' mind-bending solos, and After giving this one several spins, I have decided: it's pretty dang good. It most certainly is not just a cheap rehash of Lateralus; the band moves in an odd new direction, as should be expected. It's probably not as good as Lateralus, but they have definitely broken new ground. Most impressive was Maynard's vastly expanded range, Jones' mind-bending solos, and especially Chancellor's absolutely superb bass work. Chancellor really stands out here, especially on the track "The Pot." Expand
  48. frankie
    May 5, 2006
    10
    another chapter in the Book Of Tool...not one to pass up. Filled with hair raising breakdowns emotional lyrics. Better then any crap band could even dream about, these guys are gonna be in history books if you don't listen with an open mind then you don't deserve to listen at all. Tool is the best hands down.
  49. sumsh
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Best. Tool. Album. Ever.
  50. AaronO
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Who are you to waive your finger you must have been out your head.... this stuff is good
  51. DanK
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Not as accessible as aenima but fantastic all the same. Similar to Lateralus in that it only has five 'songs' to speak of - but oh! they are as good as anything else they have ever done. Since this is prog metal this amounts to about 35-40mins of audio gold-dust and another 30 of 'interesting' filler. And not in the slightest bit like perfect circle save for the guys Not as accessible as aenima but fantastic all the same. Similar to Lateralus in that it only has five 'songs' to speak of - but oh! they are as good as anything else they have ever done. Since this is prog metal this amounts to about 35-40mins of audio gold-dust and another 30 of 'interesting' filler. And not in the slightest bit like perfect circle save for the guys voice. Off you go! Buy it :) ! Expand
  52. Nick
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Better after every listen. Though the album lacks the anthemic, driving sound found on earlier releases, the complexity and movement of the songs really make this a great record. Some may think it's pretentious, but if you sit down and let yourself completely engage in the musical movements, it stands out as Tool's finest work since Aenima.
  53. GaborA
    May 5, 2006
    10
    With 10,000 Days despite it being one of their favorite themes Tool does not evolve. They merely age and with mixed results. The effects on quality is a lack of the consistency which blessed their other albums. With that said the summit pieces of this album are so good they're tear inducing, and i mean that literally. You guys dont have to write another note to retain your spot at With 10,000 Days despite it being one of their favorite themes Tool does not evolve. They merely age and with mixed results. The effects on quality is a lack of the consistency which blessed their other albums. With that said the summit pieces of this album are so good they're tear inducing, and i mean that literally. You guys dont have to write another note to retain your spot at the top for all my lifetime, but please do. Expand
  54. PL
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Most of the negative reviews are based on superficial comparisons to old albums. Yes, this album has classic Tool underpinings, but there are new rhythmic structures in there. Maynard isn't always deep and novel. But who is always deep and novel? Tool must put a lot of work into most songs. Anyone who thinks otherwise is too unfamiliar with how hard it is to write music. Also I Most of the negative reviews are based on superficial comparisons to old albums. Yes, this album has classic Tool underpinings, but there are new rhythmic structures in there. Maynard isn't always deep and novel. But who is always deep and novel? Tool must put a lot of work into most songs. Anyone who thinks otherwise is too unfamiliar with how hard it is to write music. Also I noticed that most negative reviews are concerned with fan-bashing. I love that move: "I'm not skilled enough to comment on the music itself, so I'll rip on the fans instead." Expand
  55. ScottS
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Love 10000 Days. I think Opiate and Undertow were Tool's april fool's jokes rather than Lateralus or 10000 Days. Just depends if you can evolve yourself as a person. Thats what they are doing. Rather than just putting out dreggy music for the "unfairly treated youth". This same youth can't seem to evolve from liking that "I hate the world so I'm going to hit my member Love 10000 Days. I think Opiate and Undertow were Tool's april fool's jokes rather than Lateralus or 10000 Days. Just depends if you can evolve yourself as a person. Thats what they are doing. Rather than just putting out dreggy music for the "unfairly treated youth". This same youth can't seem to evolve from liking that "I hate the world so I'm going to hit my member with a hammer" music. This album has alot to offer anyone with an IQ of at least 65 (right above retardation level) and an opened mind. Crucify your ego people, your arrogance and ignorance are so contrived. Evolve! Expand
  56. DavidM
    May 5, 2006
    10
    I think that when people start realizing that the 10,000 days album is the begining of something great, and not an extension of APC or previous Tool albums they will realize that this is a great album. Did anybody ever thin that APC sounds like Tool instead of the other way. If I am now mistaken, Tool was around long before APC. Also, in reading the critics reviews, it sounds like they I think that when people start realizing that the 10,000 days album is the begining of something great, and not an extension of APC or previous Tool albums they will realize that this is a great album. Did anybody ever thin that APC sounds like Tool instead of the other way. If I am now mistaken, Tool was around long before APC. Also, in reading the critics reviews, it sounds like they listend to it once and wrote their review. A word of advice to anyone reading this: Listen to the new album 4-6 times AT LEAST, before forming an opinion. 10, 10, 10. Expand
  57. prask
    May 5, 2006
    10
    great album, period.
  58. bobbyf
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Everyone who gave this albulm a negative rating did so because they expected something else of the band .. AND that is not the bands fault .. thats the listeners .. you should not prepare yourself to listen to this cd expecting it to sound like something you have already heard .. open your mind alittle , and make room for something new .. TOOL is one of the only bands out ther being true Everyone who gave this albulm a negative rating did so because they expected something else of the band .. AND that is not the bands fault .. thats the listeners .. you should not prepare yourself to listen to this cd expecting it to sound like something you have already heard .. open your mind alittle , and make room for something new .. TOOL is one of the only bands out ther being true to ther music , its clearly music thats inspired by four diffierent talented personalities meeting and conversing... and as for the guy who refered to cow bells and such .. " every goddamn skin, tom-tom, and cowbell on your drum set" your an idiot , from a succesfull drummers stance - danny is the first drummer doing anything creative for rock since john bonham .. everything he does is tastefull .. and juxtaposed to such idiot iconic prog-rock drummers such as mike portnoy , danny keeps his use of drums and toys to a minimum.. ... BF Expand
  59. shanet
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Scott s i could have not said it better myself. Honestly if tool were still making music like opiate, and undertow i would not still be a fan.... its the one band that has matured, and the only band that is still in my cd collection, when all the others faded away. I have grown up with tool, and as i have grown so have they. If you like tool, just get it! It's awesome.
  60. EMac
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The criticisms of this album are mostly made out of ignorance. If you believe what the negative reviews have to say, then you aren't somebody who understands what Tool is all about. To say this album is an A Perfect Circle album is obviously not familiar with either band or music itself. The album wasn't quite what I expected and so I was disappointed with it at first. But after The criticisms of this album are mostly made out of ignorance. If you believe what the negative reviews have to say, then you aren't somebody who understands what Tool is all about. To say this album is an A Perfect Circle album is obviously not familiar with either band or music itself. The album wasn't quite what I expected and so I was disappointed with it at first. But after listening to it again I realized that this album is definitely their strongest work yet, and will become my favorite album of theirs. Expand
  61. KevinD
    May 6, 2006
    10
    This Album doesn´t have to do with A Perfect Circle, It´s Tool and it will be always Tool, Is just better than Opiate or Undertow and for sure i know Tool a long time know and i know what i talking aout. 10.000 Days a little bit ohther than the early realeses and they play something new. The album is more darker and sicker and it´s direct in your ears. But. Never get the This Album doesn´t have to do with A Perfect Circle, It´s Tool and it will be always Tool, Is just better than Opiate or Undertow and for sure i know Tool a long time know and i know what i talking aout. 10.000 Days a little bit ohther than the early realeses and they play something new. The album is more darker and sicker and it´s direct in your ears. But. Never get the music like Lateralus, That one is the best and i just think Tool think that too.... Expand
  62. AWall
    May 6, 2006
    10
    amazing.
  63. Brian
    May 7, 2006
    10
    For sure my favorite Tool cd to date if not the best cd I own!
  64. JakeH
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Tool again reaches a new level of musicality! Tool has put AEnima and Lateralus in a blender, sprinkled in angst from the war and president and added power to create thIs progressive masterpiece!
  65. grantc
    May 8, 2006
    10
    wow this album is freaking amazing...anyone that disagrees is seriously retarded.
  66. Qcontagion
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Simply amazing.
  67. EliF
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Love it. The main reason people don't like it is simply because it's not what they expected. Truly a love-it-or-hate it album, I love it, and enjoy it a lot more than Lateralus.
  68. EdgarP
    May 8, 2006
    10
    New sound, perfect quality.
  69. CollinL
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Nothing out there more unique, powerful, and instramentally/vocally absorbing. Another interesting step for these briliant musicians.
  70. TheApoc
    May 9, 2006
    10
    This is their best album. If you think that Aenema or Lateralus are better, then I would suggest that you set aside a few hours and listen to this record from top to bottom. It combines all of the best elements of their previous work without rehashing anything. People who were expecting Aenema II, should have saved themselves some time and picked up the new Godsmack album. A band that has This is their best album. If you think that Aenema or Lateralus are better, then I would suggest that you set aside a few hours and listen to this record from top to bottom. It combines all of the best elements of their previous work without rehashing anything. People who were expecting Aenema II, should have saved themselves some time and picked up the new Godsmack album. A band that has truely mastered the art of making every album sound just like the last one. Tool is not that kind of band, and they never will be. Expand
  71. SusanS
    May 9, 2006
    10
    I Love It...it's the best yet!
  72. KukudiM
    May 9, 2006
    9
    Definitely one of their best albums. It's their most mature yet. If you thought "Third Eye" off of Aenima was a complex song, you'll find at least 3 or 4 comparable ones on this album. Definitely requires multiple listens for full effect..
  73. DanielR.
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Brilliant-Simply brilliant. Before you leave any sort of comment, you must listen to this album and read the lyrics with each song at least 10 times to get the true feeling. This is NOT a "what track do you like" CD. This is, "hey, do you have an hour and a half for an experience?" CD. This is an experience. Who made the law that a song mustn't be over 4 minutes? I bought this CD the Brilliant-Simply brilliant. Before you leave any sort of comment, you must listen to this album and read the lyrics with each song at least 10 times to get the true feeling. This is NOT a "what track do you like" CD. This is, "hey, do you have an hour and a half for an experience?" CD. This is an experience. Who made the law that a song mustn't be over 4 minutes? I bought this CD the day it came out and it hasn't stopped playing since. A Masterpiece! Expand
  74. DanS
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Best Album this year
  75. JustinB
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Overall great album, however still not as brilliant as some of tools previous works but still a hell of a lot better than any of the other crap on the radio these days
  76. A
    May 12, 2006
    10
    If you don't get it, you don't get it. It's solid.
  77. FuquaF
    May 12, 2006
    10
    A sublime mix of spiritual intensity and "eff-you" thunder. If you don't like it, pull six feet of dirt over yourself, you are most likely dead.
  78. Rafael
    May 15, 2006
    10
    I think this is an Excellent album. The tracks: Vicarious, Jambi and the Pot are great. There are some fillers, but that is always the case on any tool album (except opiate). The art work is interesting and complements other visual effects found in previous tool albums. The score should be a 9, but I gave it a 10 to rectify the average rating.
  79. MattMatt
    May 18, 2006
    9
    The album is awesome, and as with so many things, completely over-analyized. If part of your complaints about the album involve songs being "too long" etc, then there's really no hope for you to ever become a Tool fan. They've had 7+ mintue songs on every album including Undertow; they're not likely to change that. The songs are beautifully crafted, and lovingly played, The album is awesome, and as with so many things, completely over-analyized. If part of your complaints about the album involve songs being "too long" etc, then there's really no hope for you to ever become a Tool fan. They've had 7+ mintue songs on every album including Undertow; they're not likely to change that. The songs are beautifully crafted, and lovingly played, with more straightforward lyrics than in some previous offerings. The only negative I can really point out on this album is its close sound to Lateralus. I don't sense as much of a directional shift as there was from Undertow -> Aenima, or from Aemina -> Lateralus. Though as with all Tool records, they take a very long time to digest and fully appreciate. Any reviews less than a year after it's been out won't be truely comprehensive. Expand
  80. Pink
    May 18, 2006
    10
    I've waited 5 years for 10,000 days to come out. I think it's everything i expected and more. I don't think lost keys,lipan conjuring, and viginti tres are fillers, in fact how dare you call them fillers, they help to set the mood of the album. Tool writes their albums the way you'd watch a movie, you sit and watch the whole thing, but in this case you listen to the I've waited 5 years for 10,000 days to come out. I think it's everything i expected and more. I don't think lost keys,lipan conjuring, and viginti tres are fillers, in fact how dare you call them fillers, they help to set the mood of the album. Tool writes their albums the way you'd watch a movie, you sit and watch the whole thing, but in this case you listen to the whole thing. 10,000 days is really deep, and it really takes you further than any other Tool album has. These people who are so quick to say, "disappointing and boring...., and we waited five years for this, oh well" in my opinion weren't really into Tool in the first place. What i really hate is the A Perfect Circle comparison, Tool has been out what. 14 years longer than APC? And then you compare one of the most Instrumentally gifted, emotional bands of our time, to some two year fling, that's really low. I love this album, and as a musician, i can totally understand why they took 5 years to do it. Actually i think all you people want to hear is them just playing rocking tunes, and some body said that sometimes you just need a straight forward rock album, that rocks the whole way through. NOT TOOL, they explore emotion, various time signatures, if you need straight 4/4 timing, listen to Green Day, Tool is not for you, but who am i to say who can and can't listen to Tool, I'm just a really lucky person to have such a great band out there while i'm alive. Maybe you should rethink your opinions on 10,000 days, or you should just go listen to the new Pearl Jam. Pink Expand
  81. JoshG
    May 19, 2006
    9
    Another longtime Tool fan here. It really baffles me why people have to go apeshit about there being a few noise tracks. You're not meant to sit around and listen to them over and over again...and they really add something to the album as an experience. 10,000 days (Wings pt. 2) is a side of Maynard we have never seen before, I think it's one of the most emotional songs Another longtime Tool fan here. It really baffles me why people have to go apeshit about there being a few noise tracks. You're not meant to sit around and listen to them over and over again...and they really add something to the album as an experience. 10,000 days (Wings pt. 2) is a side of Maynard we have never seen before, I think it's one of the most emotional songs I've listened to in the last couple years. I mean sure it's not as 100% solid as Lateralus or Aenima, but those are impossible albums to top. I'm just ecstatic that this album is as interesting as it did. Expand
  82. adamf
    May 20, 2006
    10
    album of the decade thus far...real musicians can truly appreciate this album for its complexity and depth...5 years? it was well worth it.
  83. ToddF
    May 27, 2006
    9
    Great album, not as good as some of the past albums, but still amazing as hell
  84. victorr
    May 28, 2006
    10
    It's a Tool record. No more owrds are necessary.
  85. LARRYS
    May 29, 2006
    10
    When I first starting listening to this cd I was a little dissapointed considering it was a five year work in progress. LIke other Tool fans I was expecting the band to be in your face. Realizing the band has matured and my listening process has been nonstop, this album is one of my favorite Tool cd's to date. It's nearly impossible to compare Undertow or Anemia to their newer When I first starting listening to this cd I was a little dissapointed considering it was a five year work in progress. LIke other Tool fans I was expecting the band to be in your face. Realizing the band has matured and my listening process has been nonstop, this album is one of my favorite Tool cd's to date. It's nearly impossible to compare Undertow or Anemia to their newer cd's, but understanding the bands purpose on this record is amazing in it's self. Maynard's voice is still melodic and powerful, although there are times you expect him to break out his angry voice and insted it comes out in a soothing way. Adam and Justin are unbelievable as always on guitar. Danny Carey on drums is very underated and in my eyes still proves he is one of the best around. I gave this cd a ten because , honestly I can't take this cd out. An unbelievable cd and a must buy. Expand
  86. roxannek
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    love it!!
  87. GMoney
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    Very intelligent and intense. Not for the fast-food-mentality crowd.
  88. RaulG
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    Tool's new album 10,000 Days is perfect. It captures the mind and sends it to places where it is not always welcomed. Although at first listen, many Tool fans may be put off by some pieces, it is this which shows the prowess of Tool. The band is making music that most can not comprehend. 10,000 Days sounds like what music will sound like in the future, say 27 years from now.
  89. JoshuaW
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    REally don't want to get too deep into this one. its an amazing album. and if i had to rate it on the richter it would be a 10.1, whilst the other tool albums [ except undertow] would all be 10.9's.
  90. JohannS
    Jun 7, 2006
    9
    Great album.
  91. wwsd?satan
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    This Album rates a 10 easily against what is sold as music now a days! But if I put this against later works by Tool, than it gets a 7. I was hopping for an Album as Challenging as Aenima and was disappoint by what i heard...But, Tool was never about making covers of themself, so i Quickly drop the thought. This is a great Album and if you're new to Tool pick it up! But Aenima in My This Album rates a 10 easily against what is sold as music now a days! But if I put this against later works by Tool, than it gets a 7. I was hopping for an Album as Challenging as Aenima and was disappoint by what i heard...But, Tool was never about making covers of themself, so i Quickly drop the thought. This is a great Album and if you're new to Tool pick it up! But Aenima in My opinion was Amazing and after 10 years I can still find something new! Aenima was Tools must complete and i was hoping this would be the case for 10000 Days but was let down...The art for this cd is easily worth the price paid and the cd is just a added bonus! :-D Expand
  92. Brendon
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    Is a fantatsic album. As soon as i put in the cd player and heard the intro to vicarious i was just completely engrossed in the song. the intro just caught my attention and i instantly new that TOOL had just produced another inspiring and awesome listening experience. followed by the rest of the songs all the signature tool beats where there. danny carey awesome drumming with his little Is a fantatsic album. As soon as i put in the cd player and heard the intro to vicarious i was just completely engrossed in the song. the intro just caught my attention and i instantly new that TOOL had just produced another inspiring and awesome listening experience. followed by the rest of the songs all the signature tool beats where there. danny carey awesome drumming with his little signature fills and drum techniques and the guitar with that deep solid and also melodic tunes and the bass the all important instrument of tool. Bass guitar providing the foundation for the songs with its melodic and angelic eerie sounding slow riffs. and maynard had done fantastically with the lyrics. 10 out of 10 for me. fantastic album. Brendon Expand
  93. MattP
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Beenlistening to it for several weeks now and like most Tool work the album takes repeated listening to fully appreciate. And now my favorite song changes from day to day, the album simply rocks, is not for the 30-second-attention-span crowd, and is being severly underrated by the critics but thats nothing new for Tool. Cant wait to experience it live.
  94. ToolFan
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    wow this album is awesome.. i dunno what critics try to do but.. i could lsiten to thsi album for the rest of my life just like any other tool album.. maynards voice just fits the tune so perfectly it doesnt seem real.. he can alter his voice to fit anything and danny carey does a great job on his solos.. like in wings for maire.. they have a very solid and good beat just overall.. if you wow this album is awesome.. i dunno what critics try to do but.. i could lsiten to thsi album for the rest of my life just like any other tool album.. maynards voice just fits the tune so perfectly it doesnt seem real.. he can alter his voice to fit anything and danny carey does a great job on his solos.. like in wings for maire.. they have a very solid and good beat just overall.. if you even LIKE tool youd LOVE this album Expand
  95. Eric
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    amazing album that was well worth the wait, and even better live (Fox Theater, Detroit May 15). can't wait to hear more of it on tour later this summer. To Tool fans: this is preaching to the choir, but there are some real ignint motherfuckers out there reviewing music; the mainstream disrespect is nothing new. it's annoying, but inconsequential. To the negatives, and the people amazing album that was well worth the wait, and even better live (Fox Theater, Detroit May 15). can't wait to hear more of it on tour later this summer. To Tool fans: this is preaching to the choir, but there are some real ignint motherfuckers out there reviewing music; the mainstream disrespect is nothing new. it's annoying, but inconsequential. To the negatives, and the people who accuse Tool and its fans of pretention and arrogance: The Pot on 10,000 Days is dedicated to you. thanks for your opinion, have fun waiting for the new nickelback album. Expand
  96. Sly
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Tools best album to date. Buy it now.
  97. ThemistoclesC
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Bold, powerful, epic, emotional - this album is truly a journey. After the technical triumph of Lateralus, TOOL return to their warmer Aenima/Undertow sound with lyrics more upfront and personal than ever before. Some people dislike the so called "filler" - I think it's integral to the album's cohesion...
  98. Jon
    Jun 22, 2006
    9
    I bought it the day it hit, and at first listen I didn't care for it much. All the songs sounded alike and the filler songs like Lipan Conjuring only seemed to take away from it even more. But now, after giving it time to wear it's way into me, with every listen this album just gets better and better. Tool's at the top of their game here- even if you don't like the I bought it the day it hit, and at first listen I didn't care for it much. All the songs sounded alike and the filler songs like Lipan Conjuring only seemed to take away from it even more. But now, after giving it time to wear it's way into me, with every listen this album just gets better and better. Tool's at the top of their game here- even if you don't like the songs, don't underestimate them as musicians and songwriters. When the album is really, really good, like on the Pot, I can simply not get enough of this, and I am not one of the Tool fans that live by their name and their name only. As long as you don't come in to the album with the inclination of "Oh it's Tool and only fans will like it" you are going to come out absolutely amazed. There's no deeper meaning, no super secret mystical message here that will somehow put you headstrong onto the path of enlightenment. This is simply music that surpasses anything any other band is currently creating. Don't listen to the haters. My favorite record of the year by far. Best album cover ever, as well. Expand
  99. AndyO
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    It's not Lateralus II, but that's a good thing. After the initial shock of the new sound, wears off, give it another listen, it's an excellent album. All it lacks is a cohesive "album" feel, so I'd give 9.5/10, so I round up on the generous side for my favorite band.
  100. DennisD
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    This is definately the best album I heard for years, even surpassing Lateralus... It has everything, from the politically laden, over strange trips, to the pure heartache of loosing family members. The way he honors his mom, whoose choises and beleifs in live he didn't agree with (and all but ridiculed with APC's "Judith"), is just amazing.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. It's not only a step forward for the band, but a re-embracing of the epic-length rock songs found at the roots of early heavy metal.
  2. When Tool sounds as good as it does on ["Jambi" and "The Pot"] it's hard to get enough. Which makes it all the more baffling that a surprisingly large chunk of the disc is given over to mood-enhancing soundscapes like "Lost Keys" and "Vigniti Tres."
  3. Sounds exactly like you would expect a Tool album to sound.