10,000 Days

  • Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: May 2, 2006
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 434 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 434

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattO
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics are all on pot, not the listeners. They are on something else entirely. One of my favorite albums of all time, and I've listened to far too many different genres, from Kenny Rogers' "First Edition" to "all the damn Li'l's in rap music today." Expand
  2. JHanks
    May 3, 2006
    7
    I gave this a 7 because I expected more from Tool especially after their last album. This deserves a 7, no need to really expound on it. Any Tool fan should agree on the 7.
  3. KeytonE
    May 3, 2006
    9
    If you can't take long songs just go back to your Fall Out Boy and Simple Plan. If you're a fan of Tool you'll love this album. The one review is correct, this is exactly what a Tool album should sound like, but it is definitely unique.
  4. qee
    Oct 6, 2006
    8
    I seriously don't see why people give Zeros...very few albums are worth that low of a score.
  5. JakeH
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Tool again reaches a new level of musicality! Tool has put AEnima and Lateralus in a blender, sprinkled in angst from the war and president and added power to create thIs progressive masterpiece!
  6. ShastaMcNasty.
    May 2, 2006
    8
    Well, the wait is finally over. Another Tool album comes over the horizon to plunge our lives into darkness once again and the results are great, for the most part. Songs like Vicarious and Jambi kick the album off to a rocking start with vintage Tool riffing, more predominant bass playing by Justin Chancellor and Danny Carey is completely on his game (like always!). The 17 minute long Well, the wait is finally over. Another Tool album comes over the horizon to plunge our lives into darkness once again and the results are great, for the most part. Songs like Vicarious and Jambi kick the album off to a rocking start with vintage Tool riffing, more predominant bass playing by Justin Chancellor and Danny Carey is completely on his game (like always!). The 17 minute long Wings/10,000 days epic is haunting, to say the least, with a thunderstorm building in the background while the song builds to a crescendo. I must say that I was taken by surprise by The Pot, with it's Shannon Hoon-esque vocals, and it is definitely one of the highlights on the album for me. However, I was taken aback by Rosetta Stoned (is Maynard rapping at the beginning? hard to tell by the gravelly vox going at 200wpm) and I swear I almost fell asleep by the time Right in Two finally kicked in, but overall I would have to give the album an 8/10. Remniscent of their previous albums, but in a good way - hints of Third Eye splash about while the soundscape rolls into Lateralus-style riffing as touches of Undertow and Opiate abound. So remember that while 8/10 might not seem like the greatest score for a Tool album, it is essentially the same as a 4-star score and certainly better than the critics have given the band so far. 10,000 days must definitely be seen to be heard, especially with the awesome cd packaging and the nifty 3D goggles. Right on! Two thumbs up (sort of) Expand
  7. Systool
    May 3, 2006
    8
    I'm a big TOOL fan and I have to say, like others voters here, that I've been quite surprised of reading some reviews, e.g. the Stylus magazine's... I would say that "10'000 Days" is probably not the best album Tool has ever made (I prefer Lateralus and most of all Aenima) but the band introduced some great parts, especially Justin (bass) who really drives the musical I'm a big TOOL fan and I have to say, like others voters here, that I've been quite surprised of reading some reviews, e.g. the Stylus magazine's... I would say that "10'000 Days" is probably not the best album Tool has ever made (I prefer Lateralus and most of all Aenima) but the band introduced some great parts, especially Justin (bass) who really drives the musical process. Some tracks like "Vicarious" are classic stuff, and "Jambi" and "The Pot" express heavy structures... but songs like "10 000 Days" and "Intension" expose more "psychedelic-like" atmospheres. The main negative point for me is that there are only 11 tracks and intermissions like "Lost Keys" and "Viginti Tres" are quite useless... I would have given a "9" if there was another solid track Expand
  8. Nick
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Better after every listen. Though the album lacks the anthemic, driving sound found on earlier releases, the complexity and movement of the songs really make this a great record. Some may think it's pretentious, but if you sit down and let yourself completely engage in the musical movements, it stands out as Tool's finest work since Aenima.
  9. bobbyf
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Everyone who gave this albulm a negative rating did so because they expected something else of the band .. AND that is not the bands fault .. thats the listeners .. you should not prepare yourself to listen to this cd expecting it to sound like something you have already heard .. open your mind alittle , and make room for something new .. TOOL is one of the only bands out ther being true Everyone who gave this albulm a negative rating did so because they expected something else of the band .. AND that is not the bands fault .. thats the listeners .. you should not prepare yourself to listen to this cd expecting it to sound like something you have already heard .. open your mind alittle , and make room for something new .. TOOL is one of the only bands out ther being true to ther music , its clearly music thats inspired by four diffierent talented personalities meeting and conversing... and as for the guy who refered to cow bells and such .. " every goddamn skin, tom-tom, and cowbell on your drum set" your an idiot , from a succesfull drummers stance - danny is the first drummer doing anything creative for rock since john bonham .. everything he does is tastefull .. and juxtaposed to such idiot iconic prog-rock drummers such as mike portnoy , danny keeps his use of drums and toys to a minimum.. ... BF Expand
  10. StevenG
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    TOOL is far and away the best hard rock band in the world, and 10,000 Days is the best heavy rock album since TOOL's Lateralus. This is just my opinion, for which I will not apologize.
  11. KatM
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Hello people, every good band has an album like this in their career. Where they try something new and pepper it with their old sound. I see this as a transition album. Only bad thing is, we have to wait another 4-5 years to see what they're transitioning to, But if any experiment is worth hearing, it's Tool's.
  12. RussellA
    May 4, 2006
    9
    After giving this one several spins, I have decided: it's pretty dang good. It most certainly is not just a cheap rehash of Lateralus; the band moves in an odd new direction, as should be expected. It's probably not as good as Lateralus, but they have definitely broken new ground. Most impressive was Maynard's vastly expanded range, Jones' mind-bending solos, and After giving this one several spins, I have decided: it's pretty dang good. It most certainly is not just a cheap rehash of Lateralus; the band moves in an odd new direction, as should be expected. It's probably not as good as Lateralus, but they have definitely broken new ground. Most impressive was Maynard's vastly expanded range, Jones' mind-bending solos, and especially Chancellor's absolutely superb bass work. Chancellor really stands out here, especially on the track "The Pot." Expand
  13. JohnH
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Best Tool album (so far).
  14. GaborA
    May 5, 2006
    10
    With 10,000 Days despite it being one of their favorite themes Tool does not evolve. They merely age and with mixed results. The effects on quality is a lack of the consistency which blessed their other albums. With that said the summit pieces of this album are so good they're tear inducing, and i mean that literally. You guys dont have to write another note to retain your spot at With 10,000 Days despite it being one of their favorite themes Tool does not evolve. They merely age and with mixed results. The effects on quality is a lack of the consistency which blessed their other albums. With that said the summit pieces of this album are so good they're tear inducing, and i mean that literally. You guys dont have to write another note to retain your spot at the top for all my lifetime, but please do. Expand
  15. DavidM
    May 5, 2006
    10
    I think that when people start realizing that the 10,000 days album is the begining of something great, and not an extension of APC or previous Tool albums they will realize that this is a great album. Did anybody ever thin that APC sounds like Tool instead of the other way. If I am now mistaken, Tool was around long before APC. Also, in reading the critics reviews, it sounds like they I think that when people start realizing that the 10,000 days album is the begining of something great, and not an extension of APC or previous Tool albums they will realize that this is a great album. Did anybody ever thin that APC sounds like Tool instead of the other way. If I am now mistaken, Tool was around long before APC. Also, in reading the critics reviews, it sounds like they listend to it once and wrote their review. A word of advice to anyone reading this: Listen to the new album 4-6 times AT LEAST, before forming an opinion. 10, 10, 10. Expand
  16. frankie
    May 5, 2006
    10
    another chapter in the Book Of Tool...not one to pass up. Filled with hair raising breakdowns emotional lyrics. Better then any crap band could even dream about, these guys are gonna be in history books if you don't listen with an open mind then you don't deserve to listen at all. Tool is the best hands down.
  17. DanK
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Not as accessible as aenima but fantastic all the same. Similar to Lateralus in that it only has five 'songs' to speak of - but oh! they are as good as anything else they have ever done. Since this is prog metal this amounts to about 35-40mins of audio gold-dust and another 30 of 'interesting' filler. And not in the slightest bit like perfect circle save for the guys Not as accessible as aenima but fantastic all the same. Similar to Lateralus in that it only has five 'songs' to speak of - but oh! they are as good as anything else they have ever done. Since this is prog metal this amounts to about 35-40mins of audio gold-dust and another 30 of 'interesting' filler. And not in the slightest bit like perfect circle save for the guys voice. Off you go! Buy it :) ! Expand
  18. ErwinK
    May 8, 2006
    7
    Like a lot people have said, it does take quite a few listens before you start reaping the benefits of this Tool album. It tends to be a fair bit more mellow compared to their previous albums, with a lot of filler, that at times is pretentious and other times (like in Lipan Conjuring) is completely creepy. Also a lot of the tracks feel more like A Perfect Circle tracks, like Right in Two, Like a lot people have said, it does take quite a few listens before you start reaping the benefits of this Tool album. It tends to be a fair bit more mellow compared to their previous albums, with a lot of filler, that at times is pretentious and other times (like in Lipan Conjuring) is completely creepy. Also a lot of the tracks feel more like A Perfect Circle tracks, like Right in Two, which is completely gorgeous. The Pot is a standard by the numbers Tool track which smacks you in the face with pure rage - probably the best track. The first single Vicarious is OK - it's all about schadenfreude, but nothing new or interesting about it. Rossetta Stoned is probably the most interesting song, with a weird array of tempo changes, strange singing styles, odd lyrics and the most petulant scream I have ever heard from Maynard. Yes like all Tool albums it has unusual rhythm signatures 5/4 7/8 9/8 etc, and a lot of songs go on forever like Wings/10,000 days. It's OK, but not up there with Aenema or Lateralus. Expand
  19. SusanS
    May 9, 2006
    10
    I Love It...it's the best yet!
  20. TheApoc
    May 9, 2006
    10
    This is their best album. If you think that Aenema or Lateralus are better, then I would suggest that you set aside a few hours and listen to this record from top to bottom. It combines all of the best elements of their previous work without rehashing anything. People who were expecting Aenema II, should have saved themselves some time and picked up the new Godsmack album. A band that has This is their best album. If you think that Aenema or Lateralus are better, then I would suggest that you set aside a few hours and listen to this record from top to bottom. It combines all of the best elements of their previous work without rehashing anything. People who were expecting Aenema II, should have saved themselves some time and picked up the new Godsmack album. A band that has truely mastered the art of making every album sound just like the last one. Tool is not that kind of band, and they never will be. Expand
  21. mikeb
    May 9, 2006
    8
    Stunning new album, basically a mash of all their work extended to include more soundscape type tracks. Ignore the people saying they have made a perfect circle record. this is much more heavy and complex. The only similarity is the the vocals which is too be expected. Awesome.
  22. AdamW
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    In a pool of mindless music we've all heard again and again, tool brings to the plate yet another genious endeaver. Yet, not as good as a few previous albums. But tool's back yeahhhhh!!!!
  23. Opeth314
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    Amazing! Again Tool surprises the crowd with intricate and complex sound. I've said to truly appreciate a good Tool album it usually comes on the third or so listening of it...... Plus Maynard seems to have the most fun with album... especially heard on "The Pot"..with more improv than ever!
  24. SeanN
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    I purchsed this album not really knowing what to expect from this new collection of songs, just recently hearing "Vicarious"getting radio play.I am definitely a long time tool fan,so i picked it up.I saw somebody say it will take 2 times to listen to the album before you start to get into it,that is a bit of an understatement! .This is so above any other band,i do agree they are one of I purchsed this album not really knowing what to expect from this new collection of songs, just recently hearing "Vicarious"getting radio play.I am definitely a long time tool fan,so i picked it up.I saw somebody say it will take 2 times to listen to the album before you start to get into it,that is a bit of an understatement! .This is so above any other band,i do agree they are one of the most talented bands of this generation. I have read some reviews,but it is very obvious these people have A.D.D. one guy says there are songs with just 5 minutes of noise,dude c'mon now,there are 9 full songs ,1 intro ,and demonic noise at the end. you really have to get to know this album to appreciate it,it is not poppy,upbeat or mainstrem suitable.It is very hard to interrprut the meanings of the music,but that is why it is addictive and Expand
  25. alvarezl
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Capital masterpiece...
  26. coreys
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    one of tools best.from kick ass bass lines in The Pot all the way to the constantly changing epic that is Rosseta Stoned,then the thought provoking tracks that follow.
  27. CameronD
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    One of the best Tool albums yet if not the best. Danny Carey is the best drummer of today. And when you collaberate that with Maynards singing ability, Adam Jones guitaring, and Justin's bass playing skill, you get the best album to come out in 2006!
  28. ToolFanatic
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    My favorite CD of all time. Danny Carey is the best drummer of this generation. Maynard has one of the most recognizable voices, and when you put that with the distinct sound that Adam, Justin, and Danny bring, you get one of the greatest bands in the past 20 years
  29. LouL
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    03/02/07 - I purchased the cd the day it came out and can not listen to anything else. This album and tour were done to perfection and I appreciate it. Few bands put forth the obvious hard work that it takes to create a masterpiece such as 10K Days. I have not been moved by an album in this manner since I discovered Pink Floyd Animals.
  30. ScottH.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    It may sound redundant at this point in Tool's "legendary" career, but the anticipation of their latest Album, 10,000 Days, was worth the five year wait since their last album of Lateralus in 2001. It's another musical masterpiece to add to the repertoire of sensational albums that the band has released for us all to experience. These guys clearly understand the importance of It may sound redundant at this point in Tool's "legendary" career, but the anticipation of their latest Album, 10,000 Days, was worth the five year wait since their last album of Lateralus in 2001. It's another musical masterpiece to add to the repertoire of sensational albums that the band has released for us all to experience. These guys clearly understand the importance of quality in the art of music vs. taking their audiences money to create snappy singles that get stuck in our mundane minds for a month or two only to re-appear on some game show ten years later in the "one hit wonders" category. 10,000 Days proves, once again, that Tool albums are meant to be experienced in their entirety for a lifetime. No matter what alternative music is doing at the present time of a Tool album releasing, they still rock harder and are more musically talented than any other band around hands down. They're done proving themselves at this point, so if you are a Tool fan, buy this album, sit back and enjoy the latest installment that is TOOL! If you've never owned a Tool album, but appreciate true artistry in music, buy all their albums, experience them, be blown away and never look at alternative music the same again! Expand
  31. kirks
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    I will be listening to this album until the end.
  32. angelv
    Oct 31, 2006
    9
    This album is better every time you listen to it.
  33. AndreP
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Obviously Stylus Magazine doesn't know what the words "Progressive Rock" mean. And the writer from Pitchfork has never listed to A Perfect Circle. The "wannabe-journalists" that wrote those great pieces probably enjoy listening to Nickelback. Great album as usual, Tool always surpases expectations. A little too much "Intermission style" songs, but that is always expected from Tool. Obviously Stylus Magazine doesn't know what the words "Progressive Rock" mean. And the writer from Pitchfork has never listed to A Perfect Circle. The "wannabe-journalists" that wrote those great pieces probably enjoy listening to Nickelback. Great album as usual, Tool always surpases expectations. A little too much "Intermission style" songs, but that is always expected from Tool. But Vicarious, Jambi, The Pot, Rosetta Stoned, 10,000 Days...amazing songs. Go buy this album IMMEDIATELY, otherwise, you'll end up being a Nickelback fan, or an opinianated "journalist". And you wouldn't want to end up like that, would you? Expand
  34. roxannek
    May 2, 2006
    10
    love it!!
  35. JamesToolfan
    May 2, 2006
    9
    I'll preface this by saying that I love Tool, but that they are not my all time favorite band. Everyone knows those people who live and die with every word Maynard James Keenan says writes or sings, I'm not one of them. That being said I listen to Tool as much as or more than any other band in a given week, month or year. I have had this album for a little over a week and I'll preface this by saying that I love Tool, but that they are not my all time favorite band. Everyone knows those people who live and die with every word Maynard James Keenan says writes or sings, I'm not one of them. That being said I listen to Tool as much as or more than any other band in a given week, month or year. I have had this album for a little over a week and contrary to what you may have heard or read this is not their best album. I think both Lateralus and Aenima are better albums, however, I think those are two of the greatest albums ever made. I gave this album is a solid 9, there are parts where Tool blows me away with their musicianship, song crafting and originality. In my opinion, the talent in this band rivals any band in music and probably in music history. Their influence will be felt for generations, this album included. That being said this album tends to drag at points and does not have the same "WOW" factor as Tool's previous work. But then again, who does ? The case and artwork are amazing and the album maybe the best album released this year by anyone. I would definitely pick it up if you haven't already. Expand
  36. Jeff
    May 2, 2006
    8
    As a Tool fan, it's unfortunately not as great as expected. But I definately don't regret buying it and encourage others to buy it because it is a whole lot more than just your average album.
  37. RicheP
    May 2, 2006
    8
    this is their most accesible album to date, pure tool that said it relies too much on signature without going past their comfortable boundaries.
  38. VincentT
    May 2, 2006
    9
    How does the new Pearl Jam album (which is crappy at best) have better scores than this? I can't stop listening to this amazing album...Vicarious, Jambi, Wings for Marie (both parts), The Pot, Rosetta Stonned, Right In Two...how can this album be bad? Tool fans will not be disappointed unless they are expecting the second coming of AEnima or Lateralus. I actually think it is as good How does the new Pearl Jam album (which is crappy at best) have better scores than this? I can't stop listening to this amazing album...Vicarious, Jambi, Wings for Marie (both parts), The Pot, Rosetta Stonned, Right In Two...how can this album be bad? Tool fans will not be disappointed unless they are expecting the second coming of AEnima or Lateralus. I actually think it is as good as Lateralus. Expand
  39. JP
    May 2, 2006
    10
    NOT Lateralus 2, NOT Aenima 2. Just different. Open your mind and let it sink. This is an amazing album.
  40. victorr
    May 28, 2006
    10
    It's a Tool record. No more owrds are necessary.
  41. JasonN
    May 3, 2006
    9
    First of all, Maynard is the best rock voice out there right now, simple as that. This is probably not their best cd to date, but after a 5yr wait, I definitely am not complaining. And how does this NOT sound like a Tool album? You could play me the 1st 2 notes of any of the songs and it screams Tool. I don't get it, what are "critics" looking for? Amazing vocals, tight musicianship, First of all, Maynard is the best rock voice out there right now, simple as that. This is probably not their best cd to date, but after a 5yr wait, I definitely am not complaining. And how does this NOT sound like a Tool album? You could play me the 1st 2 notes of any of the songs and it screams Tool. I don't get it, what are "critics" looking for? Amazing vocals, tight musicianship, a distinct sound, etc. Tool is the leader of the pack in my opinion, and unfortunately, the gap between them and the rest of the pack is far to wide. Collapse
  42. MattA
    May 3, 2006
    8
    This is a challenging album. Like previous Tool material these albums take time to sink in and I find it hard to be extreme either way right now. What I am impressed with is how Tool seems to be trying something. I don't know what, but I do know it is something pretty cool. Their power is undeniable and if you like Tool, you will really enjoy this album. 10,000 Days seems like an This is a challenging album. Like previous Tool material these albums take time to sink in and I find it hard to be extreme either way right now. What I am impressed with is how Tool seems to be trying something. I don't know what, but I do know it is something pretty cool. Their power is undeniable and if you like Tool, you will really enjoy this album. 10,000 Days seems like an album that is getting the band back in sink and the NEXT one will blow your mind. In the mean time, this is still a really good listen. Expand
  43. MarginW
    May 3, 2006
    7
    "Vicarious" is a pretty good structured song, fractured by weak drumming. "jambi" is probably the worst song off the album, the ugly, chugging notes are clearly trying to reach the godsmack/nu-metal crowd. Both "wings for marie" and "10,000 days" worked nicely together. The lyrics are heartfelt and personal. "Rosetta-Stoned" and "Right in Two" are great sounding songs, rehased from their "Vicarious" is a pretty good structured song, fractured by weak drumming. "jambi" is probably the worst song off the album, the ugly, chugging notes are clearly trying to reach the godsmack/nu-metal crowd. Both "wings for marie" and "10,000 days" worked nicely together. The lyrics are heartfelt and personal. "Rosetta-Stoned" and "Right in Two" are great sounding songs, rehased from their previous catalogue. The atmosphere and sound effects didn't really bother me. The focus here is more ethereal than pseudo spirituality, right? All in all, musically, this Tool's least impressive record. My major complaint is the sub-par drumming, Danny Carey is probably the most talented modern drummer. The drumming missed all the right stop-and-fire dynamics from the previous records. There isn't much air between the tenor and Jones' polyrythms. Lyrically, it's less embarrasing than Lateralus. Some of the songs sound more like lazy, b-sides off Lateralus. Expand
  44. Antonio
    May 3, 2006
    10
    You can definitely see some of the influences the band were talking about. I don´t know why some people are saying it has filler, in this respect it is like every tool album. Very good in my opinion and a step in the right direction.
  45. JMcDan
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Best music on the shelf since 2001.
  46. BrianK
    May 3, 2006
    8
    Dissapointing to an extent but not a dissapointment, but giving it an 8 for having faults is still damn good, and proves even with not a great Album TOOL still beats a lot of crap already out there... this album starts to grow on you, and it is definitelty meant to listen to with a good sound system or in your car so you can notice all the nuances, subtletys and transitions from Dissapointing to an extent but not a dissapointment, but giving it an 8 for having faults is still damn good, and proves even with not a great Album TOOL still beats a lot of crap already out there... this album starts to grow on you, and it is definitelty meant to listen to with a good sound system or in your car so you can notice all the nuances, subtletys and transitions from progression of the tracks, now my gripe is there is a bit too much ambience that bogs it down "Vicarious", "Pot" "Jambi" and Rosetta Stoned" are to me the best songs, Maynard really tries to find new range vocally in "Pot" but there is just enough familarity in the riffs, beats and voice to make me think of Aneima and Undertow which is good, TOOL seems to be going with the sound and flow of Laterlus, that was apparent when we all first heard Vicarious which opens much like Schism (but is way better than Schism I think), I would of liked more sing song hard driving songs like Pot and Jambi to make up more of the CD, I guess I am a bit picky with this more deep, dense and slow direction bieng I love TOOL so much, but there is quite a bit here which is good.... on another note TOOL should get the best CD packaging of the year award, the view finder combo is a trip, I want to try listening to the album while viewing their art. Expand
  47. AdamJ
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Most music these days is like seeing pictures of the Grand Canyon. They look nice but you don't really feel anything when looking at them. 10,000 Days is like actually going there...
  48. AdereC
    May 3, 2006
    7
    It's more of the same, which is an actual shame for a band like tool. On first listen, I wanted to sing along older lyrics with these new tracks. That's not a good sign. The music doesn't cut it anymore for me. The rating's for their attitude. And the goggles. And Bill Hicks.
  49. JustinS
    May 3, 2006
    8
    Well I can't give it a perfect vote as of yet since I only bought the cd yesterday but I am baffled as to how critics decided on their view of the album only a day after it has been released. I really doubt they have given the album a few listens over, yet probably skimmed through each song with the fast forward button and then made their final opions. Critics are a joke. please read Well I can't give it a perfect vote as of yet since I only bought the cd yesterday but I am baffled as to how critics decided on their view of the album only a day after it has been released. I really doubt they have given the album a few listens over, yet probably skimmed through each song with the fast forward button and then made their final opions. Critics are a joke. please read chuck klosterman for further opions on critics. pitchfork media is also the same medium that rated mars volta's frances the mute a 2 out of 10. haha! what a joke. Expand
  50. Blackshadow
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Another good effort from the band. There is a lot going on with the instrumentation and it takes several listens to fully enjoy it.
  51. BenA
    May 4, 2006
    10
    They have gotten better. The songs are more intricate and layered. The guitar and drum work is amazing, and the changing time signatures really spice things up. This band knows how to play their instruments. They are so taleted, it's hard to listen to anything else without thinking how basic it sounds. The slow songs on the album take time to appreciate, but I think it's a new They have gotten better. The songs are more intricate and layered. The guitar and drum work is amazing, and the changing time signatures really spice things up. This band knows how to play their instruments. They are so taleted, it's hard to listen to anything else without thinking how basic it sounds. The slow songs on the album take time to appreciate, but I think it's a new thing for Tool, and they have grown on me a lot. This album is incredibly consistent and well-paced. A+ Expand
  52. vicg
    May 4, 2006
    9
    I have to disagree with the critics,this is a really good album. I cant really explain why i like it, i just do. I would recommend you listen to it just once and decide for yourself.
  53. chuck
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Excellent cd. Wings for marie and 10,000 days are as good as anything on any previous cd. I think it is more creative lyrically than Lateralus. Nothing is ever going to reach Aenima, that is something I accept, unfortunately tool is expected to surpass it and it probably isn't possible because Aenima was perfect.
  54. ChrisE
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Inspiring and evolving. Amazing album.
  55. Sluze
    May 4, 2006
    10
    music is about feeling and interpretation so no one is going to agree completely...having said that you can agree on musicianship and talent and this album proves once again the members of Tool can play some damn good rock songs. from a personal perspective, i feel the record is a reflection of growth for the band the tracks are good 'old school' metal tunes, the lyrics are music is about feeling and interpretation so no one is going to agree completely...having said that you can agree on musicianship and talent and this album proves once again the members of Tool can play some damn good rock songs. from a personal perspective, i feel the record is a reflection of growth for the band the tracks are good 'old school' metal tunes, the lyrics are quite well written and in the end its a record, at it worst, that is better then the corp. rock that is out there right now (ie anything ever done by Nickleback) and at its best makes it into your musical rotation for now. because in the end that's really what it comes down to. if you are going to take the time to ACTUALLY LISTEN (and not judge it by a single you heard a few times on the radio driving to work) to a record and you want to hear it again then the band has done their job. Expand
  56. AlexDLT
    May 4, 2006
    10
    For anyone to think that Tool was going to be anything similar to their previous albums, dont understand Tool one *&%damn bit. This CD is nearly perfect in every way, and to my delight I might enjoy just much if not more than Lateralus. The musicians have really taken their personal progression to new heights while I have never heard Maynard so personal. He comes off like he's For anyone to think that Tool was going to be anything similar to their previous albums, dont understand Tool one *&%damn bit. This CD is nearly perfect in every way, and to my delight I might enjoy just much if not more than Lateralus. The musicians have really taken their personal progression to new heights while I have never heard Maynard so personal. He comes off like he's finally divulging to his true fans some deepseeded pain hes lived with for so long. It is powerful and beautiful. Expand
  57. Nightkin
    May 5, 2006
    8
    The best prog-metal album of the year. Their new album shows an evolving Tool; yes carrying over some styles from APC but making it completely their own. In 10,000 Days, Tool does not merely break up and rearrange elements from their old albums (Undertone's heaviness, Aenima's album-art gimmick, lateralus's abstract lyrics, etc.) but reinvents lyrics and riffs with their The best prog-metal album of the year. Their new album shows an evolving Tool; yes carrying over some styles from APC but making it completely their own. In 10,000 Days, Tool does not merely break up and rearrange elements from their old albums (Undertone's heaviness, Aenima's album-art gimmick, lateralus's abstract lyrics, etc.) but reinvents lyrics and riffs with their trademark sound. Like every Tool album, 10,000 ends with an epic track, and I promise you this one will swallow you whole. Not to mention: its CD case's gimmick alone is worth the price of the album. Expand
  58. paul
    May 5, 2006
    8
    Someone should filter Bill T's 0. he obviously has not listened to or bought the album.
  59. sumsh
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Best. Tool. Album. Ever.
  60. AaronO
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Who are you to waive your finger you must have been out your head.... this stuff is good
  61. KevinD
    May 6, 2006
    10
    This Album doesn´t have to do with A Perfect Circle, It´s Tool and it will be always Tool, Is just better than Opiate or Undertow and for sure i know Tool a long time know and i know what i talking aout. 10.000 Days a little bit ohther than the early realeses and they play something new. The album is more darker and sicker and it´s direct in your ears. But. Never get the This Album doesn´t have to do with A Perfect Circle, It´s Tool and it will be always Tool, Is just better than Opiate or Undertow and for sure i know Tool a long time know and i know what i talking aout. 10.000 Days a little bit ohther than the early realeses and they play something new. The album is more darker and sicker and it´s direct in your ears. But. Never get the music like Lateralus, That one is the best and i just think Tool think that too.... Expand
  62. EMac
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The criticisms of this album are mostly made out of ignorance. If you believe what the negative reviews have to say, then you aren't somebody who understands what Tool is all about. To say this album is an A Perfect Circle album is obviously not familiar with either band or music itself. The album wasn't quite what I expected and so I was disappointed with it at first. But after The criticisms of this album are mostly made out of ignorance. If you believe what the negative reviews have to say, then you aren't somebody who understands what Tool is all about. To say this album is an A Perfect Circle album is obviously not familiar with either band or music itself. The album wasn't quite what I expected and so I was disappointed with it at first. But after listening to it again I realized that this album is definitely their strongest work yet, and will become my favorite album of theirs. Expand
  63. BL
    May 6, 2006
    7
    great first half, so so second half
  64. Brian
    May 7, 2006
    10
    For sure my favorite Tool cd to date if not the best cd I own!
  65. EdgarP
    May 8, 2006
    10
    New sound, perfect quality.
  66. Ed
    May 8, 2006
    8
    High-tech tribal metal with lots of pounding on animal skins, guitars used as percussion, mumbling and growling at the moon, etc. It holds up well and improves on repeated listenings. Tool are doing more and more with less and less, and their musical ideas are more subtle, stronger than before. It's dark stuff, but once you get past the silly juvenile posturing in the album's High-tech tribal metal with lots of pounding on animal skins, guitars used as percussion, mumbling and growling at the moon, etc. It holds up well and improves on repeated listenings. Tool are doing more and more with less and less, and their musical ideas are more subtle, stronger than before. It's dark stuff, but once you get past the silly juvenile posturing in the album's artwork, this is a very potent brew indeed. Not always as involving as it wants to be, but there are few bands still working whose sound is identifiable within 3-4 bars, and Tool is one of them. Expand
  67. grantc
    May 8, 2006
    10
    wow this album is freaking amazing...anyone that disagrees is seriously retarded.
  68. Qcontagion
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Simply amazing.
  69. EliF
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Love it. The main reason people don't like it is simply because it's not what they expected. Truly a love-it-or-hate it album, I love it, and enjoy it a lot more than Lateralus.
  70. StephenB
    Jun 1, 2006
    8
    This album will be Tool's Wish You were Here in that it will recieve mixed reviews now but in time will be viewed as one of thier finest works. It's not perfect and neither is the band that wrote it. I'm so sick of pretentious fans and critics who look down thier noses at this record because Tool haven't disappeared up thier own *AHEM* like Radiohead have. The thing This album will be Tool's Wish You were Here in that it will recieve mixed reviews now but in time will be viewed as one of thier finest works. It's not perfect and neither is the band that wrote it. I'm so sick of pretentious fans and critics who look down thier noses at this record because Tool haven't disappeared up thier own *AHEM* like Radiohead have. The thing that seperates Tool from other progressive groups is that dispite thier enourmous creativity they are still grounded and this album proves that. Expand
  71. christianw
    Jun 15, 2006
    8
    May not have the (unsurpassed anywhere) shelf life of lateralus, but is surely their darkest album yet, whiah is a very good thing. The guitar solo on Jambi is positively evil, Vicarious has some wonderful death-metal chords and just when you think things couldn't get any darker they hit you with Right in Two. People who react with hostility to this album probably dont have the May not have the (unsurpassed anywhere) shelf life of lateralus, but is surely their darkest album yet, whiah is a very good thing. The guitar solo on Jambi is positively evil, Vicarious has some wonderful death-metal chords and just when you think things couldn't get any darker they hit you with Right in Two. People who react with hostility to this album probably dont have the angsty leanings and superior cranial capacity of the Tool fan. They should go listen to Franz Ferdinand, they probably reckon that stuff's on the cutting edge. Pity for them. Expand
  72. ThemistoclesC
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Bold, powerful, epic, emotional - this album is truly a journey. After the technical triumph of Lateralus, TOOL return to their warmer Aenima/Undertow sound with lyrics more upfront and personal than ever before. Some people dislike the so called "filler" - I think it's integral to the album's cohesion...
  73. Sly
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Tools best album to date. Buy it now.
  74. JasonE
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    As with all of Tool's music, you need to listen to it many times before it really hits home. When I first heard it, it sounded choppy and was boring in the intermission tracks. But each time I've listened, I enjoyed it more and more. It is truly a phenomenal album. Most albums you enjoy less as you wear them out; this album keeps getting better. "Vicarious" could be Tool's As with all of Tool's music, you need to listen to it many times before it really hits home. When I first heard it, it sounded choppy and was boring in the intermission tracks. But each time I've listened, I enjoyed it more and more. It is truly a phenomenal album. Most albums you enjoy less as you wear them out; this album keeps getting better. "Vicarious" could be Tool's best track yet. It builds and builds until the very end of the song. For the person that griped that "Vicarious" was boring because it was simply about the downfalls of TV....open your mind. As with all of Tool's lyrics, it is deeper than that: It is also about how survival itself relies on killing and destroying; that is the circle of life. The remaining tracks span the musical range from soft emotional intensity ("Wings") to heavy hitting ("Jambi", "The Pot") to a more complex intensity ("Rosetta Stoned"). I personal think this is Tool's 2nd best album, next to Aenima. I have one word of advice to all those listening to this album -- listen to it many times before you judge it (and write a review)! Expand
  75. GMoney
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    Very intelligent and intense. Not for the fast-food-mentality crowd.
  76. JoshuaW
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    REally don't want to get too deep into this one. its an amazing album. and if i had to rate it on the richter it would be a 10.1, whilst the other tool albums [ except undertow] would all be 10.9's.
  77. JohannS
    Jun 7, 2006
    9
    Great album.
  78. wwsd?satan
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    This Album rates a 10 easily against what is sold as music now a days! But if I put this against later works by Tool, than it gets a 7. I was hopping for an Album as Challenging as Aenima and was disappoint by what i heard...But, Tool was never about making covers of themself, so i Quickly drop the thought. This is a great Album and if you're new to Tool pick it up! But Aenima in My This Album rates a 10 easily against what is sold as music now a days! But if I put this against later works by Tool, than it gets a 7. I was hopping for an Album as Challenging as Aenima and was disappoint by what i heard...But, Tool was never about making covers of themself, so i Quickly drop the thought. This is a great Album and if you're new to Tool pick it up! But Aenima in My opinion was Amazing and after 10 years I can still find something new! Aenima was Tools must complete and i was hoping this would be the case for 10000 Days but was let down...The art for this cd is easily worth the price paid and the cd is just a added bonus! :-D Expand
  79. DannyS
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    well, the album has slowly absorbed me, by no means is it immediate...but god what a grower. what a track Rosetta Stoned is, where Maynard appears to be 'off his head' after being left in a hospitals reception - but stand out must be Right in Two, lyrically awesome. if you get a chance to catch them live - grab it with both hands FABULOUS
  80. BruinsFan247
    Aug 7, 2006
    7
    Tool is one of the most talented bands of this generation. There sound is unique, vocals by Mr. Keenan are top notch (when they are present). Im a huge Tool fan and Ive been waiting for this album for as long as everyone else. I must say I was a little dissappointed. They seem to have a trend growing of mindless dribble (tracks of about 5 minutes of just noises). There are actually only Tool is one of the most talented bands of this generation. There sound is unique, vocals by Mr. Keenan are top notch (when they are present). Im a huge Tool fan and Ive been waiting for this album for as long as everyone else. I must say I was a little dissappointed. They seem to have a trend growing of mindless dribble (tracks of about 5 minutes of just noises). There are actually only about 4-5 real tracks on the album, that annoys me. I love Tool, and I want to hear more songs like Vicarious and The Pot, Where are they? Expand
  81. MinnaarP
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    Brilliant. Stand out tracks include The Pot and Vicarious.
  82. JustinC
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    One of the best fucking albums ever, all you Tool haters just shut the hell up. I mean no shit your going to give the album a bad rating if you don't like the band. So just keep your mouth shut. Fuck!
  83. ZachL
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    My favorite Tool album yet. The entire CD is chock full of engaging and thoughtful tracks, some mellow and some upbeat. It is, in my opinion, perfect.
  84. clydeg
    Mar 1, 2007
    8
    Definately not Tools best work, but better than most of the music thats out there. Maybe Meynard and the boys can call Willie G and the rest of the self professed musical geniuses and get some pointers for the next album. Better yet maybe they should just go out and buy Willies albums and then they'll know how to do it right the next time.
  85. paulof
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    .....different, but they can always lunch the real substitute for lateralus....
  86. knucklesfumpa
    Apr 6, 2007
    9
    aenima is more epic 10,000 days is more soulful
  87. notanetgeekx
    Apr 6, 2007
    9
    i love tool but u dorks have too much time on ur hands suck bon jovi's dick u fat lazy virgin , moms basement livin ,fat no life havin wish u had a stink fist to to smell . i say good day
  88. BobbyMon
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    It's TOOL
  89. ColinM
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    Awesome album...Maynard wrote some great lyrics for this album and of course the music is masterly put together. You cannot say enough about the talents of Danny Carey!!
  90. Bryan
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Great album, not as good as the earlier ones like lateralus or aenima but awesome.
  91. student
    Sep 17, 2008
    8
    It was no lateralus, but still great. half of the cd is awesome and half is filler.. who cares. as for the people who said "go listen to franz ferdninand and the killers" and shit like that.. get a clue.
  92. Dogstarr
    Mar 19, 2009
    9
    This one would deserve a 10 if only Lateralus and Aenima didn't exist, yet the critics seem to have given it fairly low scores. I guess you either appreciate the best heavy band since Zeppelin, or you don't quite get it. Oh well, if you like heavy rock at all, you have no real choice, you need to get it.
  93. jhonatanm
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    the best album of the year!!!!!
  94. JhonatanY
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    Me parece uno de los mejores discos que he escuchado, demuestran toda la madurez de la banda, recuerdese que es un disco que busca reunir a los fans se trata de una obra de gran valia que va mas alla del Lateralus, tiene temas pesados como melodicos como "Vicarious", "The Pot", regoge lo oscuro del "AEnema" con "Rosetta Stoned" y uno de los mejores temas de TOOL : "10000 Days" and "wings Me parece uno de los mejores discos que he escuchado, demuestran toda la madurez de la banda, recuerdese que es un disco que busca reunir a los fans se trata de una obra de gran valia que va mas alla del Lateralus, tiene temas pesados como melodicos como "Vicarious", "The Pot", regoge lo oscuro del "AEnema" con "Rosetta Stoned" y uno de los mejores temas de TOOL : "10000 Days" and "wings for Marie". Expand
  95. JImmyR
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    That's a great album the songs are diferent from "Lateralus", "Wings for Marie" and "10000 Days (Wings Part 2)" are the best songs of the disc and of Tool, great!!!, they explore new sounds and new experiences, "Rosetta Stoned" remenber "AEnema", and "Vicarious", "Lateralus" and some bass from "Undertow" a great album.
  96. KenK
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    Wow Tool is the best group of the world and this is the best album of this century, it's amazing and exciting, and feeling in some songs this is "10000 Days", this is Tool.
  97. StephenT
    Dec 12, 2006
    10
    One of these dudes actually compared Tool to Staind and Godsmack in his review. What a douche-bag.
  98. KenS
    Oct 20, 2006
    9
    Well, I am not a Tool fan prior to this CD, so my rating is not based on everything else they've released, or expectations of the progressive experts. Rock is rock, the initial definition of rock, the being of rock, and its reality. This cd does take you on trip, and the ride is great. The lyrics are important, but the music must guide the jouney, and Tool obviously understands this. Well, I am not a Tool fan prior to this CD, so my rating is not based on everything else they've released, or expectations of the progressive experts. Rock is rock, the initial definition of rock, the being of rock, and its reality. This cd does take you on trip, and the ride is great. The lyrics are important, but the music must guide the jouney, and Tool obviously understands this. Listen to it, don't just hear it, and enjoy! Expand
  99. DanielR.
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Brilliant-Simply brilliant. Before you leave any sort of comment, you must listen to this album and read the lyrics with each song at least 10 times to get the true feeling. This is NOT a "what track do you like" CD. This is, "hey, do you have an hour and a half for an experience?" CD. This is an experience. Who made the law that a song mustn't be over 4 minutes? I bought this CD the Brilliant-Simply brilliant. Before you leave any sort of comment, you must listen to this album and read the lyrics with each song at least 10 times to get the true feeling. This is NOT a "what track do you like" CD. This is, "hey, do you have an hour and a half for an experience?" CD. This is an experience. Who made the law that a song mustn't be over 4 minutes? I bought this CD the day it came out and it hasn't stopped playing since. A Masterpiece! Expand
  100. Rafael
    May 15, 2006
    10
    I think this is an Excellent album. The tracks: Vicarious, Jambi and the Pot are great. There are some fillers, but that is always the case on any tool album (except opiate). The art work is interesting and complements other visual effects found in previous tool albums. The score should be a 9, but I gave it a 10 to rectify the average rating.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. It's not only a step forward for the band, but a re-embracing of the epic-length rock songs found at the roots of early heavy metal.
  2. When Tool sounds as good as it does on ["Jambi" and "The Pot"] it's hard to get enough. Which makes it all the more baffling that a surprisingly large chunk of the disc is given over to mood-enhancing soundscapes like "Lost Keys" and "Vigniti Tres."
  3. Sounds exactly like you would expect a Tool album to sound.