• Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: May 2, 2006
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 445 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 445

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. helloWaVe
    Jun 20, 2006
    2
    The Tool fans, of course, are going to say this album is great and if you don't think it's great you're not intelligent or perceptive enough to tell. Tool over the years has managed to narrow down their fans to an island of people that live and die by their name. This is a far cry from the 90's when the bands were so infectious they simply dragged you into their sound. The Tool fans, of course, are going to say this album is great and if you don't think it's great you're not intelligent or perceptive enough to tell. Tool over the years has managed to narrow down their fans to an island of people that live and die by their name. This is a far cry from the 90's when the bands were so infectious they simply dragged you into their sound. You were a fan because you wanted to be (or couldn't help but be one), not because you took an oath. Now, 99% of the surviving 90's bands are shells of their former selves and left us all dreaming about what it used to be like. Tool is a prime example. Ask any die-hard Tool fan to go off to a desert island and choose between 10,000 Days and Undertow--I think a lot of these perfect 10! reviews would disappear in a hurry. So Tool fans, have some guts, this thing sucks. Expand
  2. OsamaBinLadin
    Oct 4, 2006
    3
    You can rate that is if it where just any other bands first CD, or you can rate this from the vantage point of knowing their previous work. From the perspective of the later (alus?) this is a weak record. It has a couple standouts, but are those really standouts, or are they lateralus knee jerks? There truly is nothing new to be found. It seems that Maynard really isn
  3. MagicWindow
    May 3, 2006
    2
    Terrible. Stagnant riffs, awfully ham-fisted lyrics and the production seems to have taken a step back to the Undertow era. This is not a career highlight. The packaging is digusting, too.
  4. JeffQ
    May 5, 2006
    0
    Horrible album of recycled riffs, cliche lyrics, and formulated songs. What happened to Tool?
  5. Raz
    May 7, 2006
    3
    If you've listened to Aenima or Lateralus, then you know the members of Tool are all spectacular musicians. And that being the case, why do they spend their time constantly trying to prove how awesome they are? Most of this album sounds like wanking for wanking sake, with Maynard mostly buried in the mix. Soloing & jamming is only good if you bookend it with songwriting. There are no If you've listened to Aenima or Lateralus, then you know the members of Tool are all spectacular musicians. And that being the case, why do they spend their time constantly trying to prove how awesome they are? Most of this album sounds like wanking for wanking sake, with Maynard mostly buried in the mix. Soloing & jamming is only good if you bookend it with songwriting. There are no tunes here!! ...at least none that measure up anywhere near their last album, and measuring up to the perfect synchronicity of music & message on Aenima may now be past their reach. You can't even properly rock to it, because the band's too busy with stop-starts & time changes to find a riff or groove & ride it. If there's no rhythm to the rock, then it's just useless pummeling. So disappointed. Expand
  6. rottencabbage
    Aug 1, 2006
    1
    One of the most bland, lyrically daft offerings in ages. Experimental? Hardly. Oh goody, they can switch time signatures; can they record a memorable song? The answer is, of course, an emphatic "NO." Tool ape Pink Floyd and the countless other (talentless) metal bands out there, but end up sounding like caustic tripe. I'd rather listen to gifted musicians and lyricists who can One of the most bland, lyrically daft offerings in ages. Experimental? Hardly. Oh goody, they can switch time signatures; can they record a memorable song? The answer is, of course, an emphatic "NO." Tool ape Pink Floyd and the countless other (talentless) metal bands out there, but end up sounding like caustic tripe. I'd rather listen to gifted musicians and lyricists who can actually turn a phrase, thank you very much. There's a reason certain artists are critically acclaimed: did The Arcade Fire, The White Stripes, or Franz Ferdinand ever feel the need to record an album full of meandering, bland, overlong, pretentious twaddle? I didn't think so; they've actually got something worth saying. Of course, Tool fans will devour this like manna from the Heavens, or at least like Maynard James Keenan's constantly regurgitated, consistently meaningless, self-important feces. Another stinker from a band that believes it has Something Important to say; the only ones who pay it any heed, though, are Tool's daft, stoned fanbase. Expand
  7. SteveDouglas
    Jan 12, 2007
    0
    What do you get when you combine and upvoter, a mindless automaton, and a fanboy. You get a tool fan. Their fans may be tasteless mindless followers, but the ratings will never follow the fans.
  8. CCro
    May 2, 2006
    2
    Tool plays a 5 year April Fools joke.
  9. PM
    May 2, 2006
    3
    I have been a huge tool fan for years and have seen them perform several times. But, unfortunately, Pitchfork nailed it. They did make an A Perfect Circle album, with one improvement, Danny Carey on drums. The hole point of A Perfect Circle, in my opinion, was for Maynard to show a different side of himself. But it sounds like he's become confused which band he is singing in. The I have been a huge tool fan for years and have seen them perform several times. But, unfortunately, Pitchfork nailed it. They did make an A Perfect Circle album, with one improvement, Danny Carey on drums. The hole point of A Perfect Circle, in my opinion, was for Maynard to show a different side of himself. But it sounds like he's become confused which band he is singing in. The band is OK at the best of times, on this record, but Maynards vocals are mearly half as powerful or intense as before. The droaning soundscapes were easily ignorable in the past, becaue they were followed by epic, hard hitting rock songs that knocked you on your a**. Now, Tool fans have to sit through eleven minutes of ambient guitar noise, to here another eleven minute tune that never really takes off or delivers. Which is the problem with songs like Vicarious and Jambi, they are so close to exploding and being the glorious rock tunes Tool once made, but instead they hold back, and you feel like you've just wasted ten minutes waiting for something that was never going to happen. Truely Disapointing. Expand
  10. DrunkenMaster
    May 3, 2006
    0
    Tool fans, the band is laughing at you. If you think this CD is worthwhile you are an idiotic sheep. Go back, listen to their previous albums and then put the new one in....it's trash.
  11. ME
    May 3, 2006
    0
    Okay, I don't normally do this (Put a review here without hearing the album) but I've got to. Listen, I hate Tool, and their fans (Pretentious internet nerds, thanks guy). But something I hate more is the fan that raves, thinks that tool is a fucking blessing from God and doesnt capitolize his "I's" or spell gotten "Gotton". Cool guys.
  12. stever
    May 3, 2006
    1
    Been a long time Tool fan and waited with much anticipation for this album but am very disappointed. I think they have finally dropped the ball. I don't know if they're getting pretentious and insulated or the fact that they produced this one themselves but the album is a failure. I've been listening to it repeatedly, desperately reaching for something deeper but the Been a long time Tool fan and waited with much anticipation for this album but am very disappointed. I think they have finally dropped the ball. I don't know if they're getting pretentious and insulated or the fact that they produced this one themselves but the album is a failure. I've been listening to it repeatedly, desperately reaching for something deeper but the structure is the same as the previous, the guitar work very formulaic for Tool and the lyrics bland and cliché. I was really surprised, I thought Tool, especially Maynard with his art/politics stance would take this opportunity in our time and culture and make the watershed political art album of the decade (ie. The Wall). Instead it's just more of the same with a lot of self indulgent atmospheric noise. This is their worst music to date...might be time to consider dissolving the band. They should be embarrassed to release it. And the fans that disagree with this assessment are lying to themselves or are too young to relate to the larger scope and potential of the previous music. And as I'm sure Maynard would agree, there is no greater crime than lying to oneself by pledging blind loyalty to a failed endeavor...no matter how much you'd like to see them succeed. Sorry guys, you lost me on this one but thanks for the oldies. Expand
  13. kd
    May 4, 2006
    2
    very dissapointed
  14. DannyC
    May 4, 2006
    0
    i wanna fuck maynard in the ass with my huuuuuge tool.
  15. DavidH
    May 5, 2006
    0
    Haven't heard it, but I'm sure it sucks, it's fun to laugh at Tool fans. They're morons.
  16. stefdt
    Jun 1, 2006
    0
    kak dissapointing Tool is not the alpha and omega!!!! face that tool fans
  17. graemer
    Jun 23, 2006
    3
    Despite Christian W's claims to the contrary, the only people this album would even potentially interest are braindead 16 year old stoners. You know, all of Tool's fanbase. Utter tripe, and therefore I would recommend that you check out Franz Ferdinand.
  18. TedJ
    Oct 21, 2006
    0
    Tool is music for people who like very bad sounding music, with the following of a religious cult. That doesn't make any of the music good.
  19. DavidA
    Oct 21, 2006
    3
    Deep lyrics should be backed up by great music, something tool still hasn't learned to do.
  20. RichardG
    Oct 21, 2006
    3
    I find it laughable that people clamour to tool, like a flock of mindless sheep.
  21. StefanosP
    Oct 2, 2006
    1
    After reading some of the mindless and pathetic criticism here (Lolz!Tool fanz are just like...nerdz ya know!) combined with the large amount of positive reviews from fans you might think this is a decent album. It's not. I've been a Toolfan for quite a while now, listened to and loved almost all of their work, but this album was just very, very dissapointing. Lots of After reading some of the mindless and pathetic criticism here (Lolz!Tool fanz are just like...nerdz ya know!) combined with the large amount of positive reviews from fans you might think this is a decent album. It's not. I've been a Toolfan for quite a while now, listened to and loved almost all of their work, but this album was just very, very dissapointing. Lots of meaningless noise, uninspiring music that never seems to reach a climax (but has plenty of anti-climaxes) and very bland lyrics. This is nowhere near the quality of albums like Aenima or Lateralus. In fact, this sounds more like clippings they found on the floor in the editing room and then stuck together. Tool is supposed to be progressive. 10,000 days certainly isn't. It sounds like bits op Lateralus stuck together and supplemented with loads and loads of noise. Maynards voice just falls away in this orgy of noise, in fact, when you finally hear him singing he just sounds like another layer of noise. Never thought I would say this about Tool, but this is just plain old crap. Oh and by the way, what's up with the Franz Ferdinand-Tool comparison? Dont get me wrong, I love Franz Ferdinand, but saying that Franz Ferdinand is much deeper and more progressive then Tool is only making yourself look silly. Expand
  22. jlc
    May 15, 2006
    3
    disappointing and boring... And we waited 5 yearsfor this...oh well.
  23. BillT
    May 2, 2006
    0
    More mastubatory tripe from every internet nerd's favorite band. Nothing particularly interesting except for the new level of pretentious attained by Maynard James Keenan. Don't let anyone fool you into thinking this rehash is "deep".
  24. Josh
    May 25, 2006
    3
    As much as Tool fans would have you believe otherwise, this album is not *DEEP* in any sense of the word. The music is contrived and tedious. The songs take a couple of listens to really grasp, sure, but it's not because they're so complex and intricate. They're just really long and repetitive. There are a couple of attempts at climaxes that sound uninspired and fall flat. As much as Tool fans would have you believe otherwise, this album is not *DEEP* in any sense of the word. The music is contrived and tedious. The songs take a couple of listens to really grasp, sure, but it's not because they're so complex and intricate. They're just really long and repetitive. There are a couple of attempts at climaxes that sound uninspired and fall flat. Not to mention the lyrics on this album are completely awful. "I own the TV 'cause tragedy thrills me"? "Foot in mouth and head up ass so what ya talkin' 'bout"? "God damn, shit the bed!"? Haha. You've got to be kidding me. So much for those contentions that "Maynard is a lyrical genius!1111". Couple that with more pointless filler tracks and a campy "skit" on Blame Hoffman, and what you have is an album that's filled with maybe 30 minutes of worthwhile music and a whole lot of wank. Mayard and the band are too full of themselves for their own good. Next time guys, focus on writing concise, unique, inspired rock tunes and maybe you'll have something. Expand
  25. MarcoM
    May 27, 2006
    2
    Is anybody compared songs "H" and "Third Eye" from Aenima with a "Rosetta Stoned"? There are parts from these songs.
  26. Rich
    May 3, 2006
    3
    Are we listening to the same CD? This CD stinks. Not what I would expect from Tool. Great recording session though nice clean crisp and clear. No sense of dirrection for me though, does nothing for me. A couple of good songs, but most of the CD is noise to me. And um, guys.... the rainstorm effect has been done by someone else called the Doors. Ide give it a lower score than 3, but its Are we listening to the same CD? This CD stinks. Not what I would expect from Tool. Great recording session though nice clean crisp and clear. No sense of dirrection for me though, does nothing for me. A couple of good songs, but most of the CD is noise to me. And um, guys.... the rainstorm effect has been done by someone else called the Doors. Ide give it a lower score than 3, but its not country music..... yet. Expand
  27. RobD
    May 3, 2006
    1
    It bored me to tears and I like their old stuff.
  28. DevinB
    May 4, 2006
    2
    Overwraught and underthought garbage. Stylus magazine really nailed it.
  29. RustWrena
    May 4, 2006
    0
    worst album ever
  30. RobR
    Nov 22, 2006
    2
    The lyrics are cringingly trite and hollow, the music is pedestrian, the only thing this joke of a band have going for them is the good production and the distinctive, well-refined sound of the instruments themselves.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. It's not only a step forward for the band, but a re-embracing of the epic-length rock songs found at the roots of early heavy metal.
  2. When Tool sounds as good as it does on ["Jambi" and "The Pot"] it's hard to get enough. Which makes it all the more baffling that a surprisingly large chunk of the disc is given over to mood-enhancing soundscapes like "Lost Keys" and "Vigniti Tres."
  3. Sounds exactly like you would expect a Tool album to sound.