10,000 Days

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
10,000 Days Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 435 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The dark, proggy, hugely-popular alt-metal outfit fronted by Maynard James Keenan returns with that rarest of things: a new Tool album. It's the band's first release in five years and just their fourth full-length in their 16-year history.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Alternative Press
    100
    As with everything in Tool's oeuvre, 10,000 Days packs enough beauty, heartache and triumph that it will be dissected, studied and envied by younger bands for years to come. [Jul 2006, p.196]
  2. It's probably the most engagingly brilliant heavy metal album that'll be released on a major label all year.
  3. Sounds exactly like you would expect a Tool album to sound.
  4. Uncut
    60
    As daunting as its title suggests. [Jul 2006, p.114]
  5. Stupendously packaged, the music robustly mixed and often achieving new levels of bleak beauty, 10,000 Days is too strong a work to call a disappointment, but the constant need to fill out a CD to 75-80 minutes is threatening to become the band’s undoing.
  6. Neither funny nor thought-provoking, the band strains for touchstones beyond the technicality of prog-metal and rarely achieves them.
  7. "Progressive" doesn’t mean clocking in at over seven minutes no matter what. It doesn’t mean hitting every goddamn skin, tom-tom, and cowbell on your drum set. Being "Progressive" doesn’t justify an album cover that looks like a stoner stumbled upon a documentary on Mayan civilization. I’m not sure, but I think "Progressive" is about growth and change.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 255
  1. MattO
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics are all on pot, not the listeners. They are on something else entirely. One of my favorite albums of all time, and I've listened to far too many different genres, from Kenny Rogers' "First Edition" to "all the damn Li'l's in rap music today." Expand
  2. Rafael
    May 15, 2006
    10
    I think this is an Excellent album. The tracks: Vicarious, Jambi and the Pot are great. There are some fillers, but that is always the case I think this is an Excellent album. The tracks: Vicarious, Jambi and the Pot are great. There are some fillers, but that is always the case on any tool album (except opiate). The art work is interesting and complements other visual effects found in previous tool albums. The score should be a 9, but I gave it a 10 to rectify the average rating. Expand
  3. KenK
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    Wow Tool is the best group of the world and this is the best album of this century, it's amazing and exciting, and feeling in some songs Wow Tool is the best group of the world and this is the best album of this century, it's amazing and exciting, and feeling in some songs this is "10000 Days", this is Tool. Expand
  4. alii
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Is a great albun very dark and moody .I love it It seems like tool did it again!
  5. Jon
    Jun 22, 2006
    9
    I bought it the day it hit, and at first listen I didn't care for it much. All the songs sounded alike and the filler songs like Lipan I bought it the day it hit, and at first listen I didn't care for it much. All the songs sounded alike and the filler songs like Lipan Conjuring only seemed to take away from it even more. But now, after giving it time to wear it's way into me, with every listen this album just gets better and better. Tool's at the top of their game here- even if you don't like the songs, don't underestimate them as musicians and songwriters. When the album is really, really good, like on the Pot, I can simply not get enough of this, and I am not one of the Tool fans that live by their name and their name only. As long as you don't come in to the album with the inclination of "Oh it's Tool and only fans will like it" you are going to come out absolutely amazed. There's no deeper meaning, no super secret mystical message here that will somehow put you headstrong onto the path of enlightenment. This is simply music that surpasses anything any other band is currently creating. Don't listen to the haters. My favorite record of the year by far. Best album cover ever, as well. Expand
  6. JeffB
    May 16, 2006
    7
    I don't know why some of the other people are rating the 'album' low, but I can't stop listening to it. It is definitely I don't know why some of the other people are rating the 'album' low, but I can't stop listening to it. It is definitely an 'experience', and maybe you need to be in the right frame of mind to hear it, but I rate it equal to listening to Pink Foyd's Dark Side of the Moon while watching the Wizard of Oz. Expand
  7. BillT
    May 2, 2006
    0
    More mastubatory tripe from every internet nerd's favorite band. Nothing particularly interesting except for the new level of More mastubatory tripe from every internet nerd's favorite band. Nothing particularly interesting except for the new level of pretentious attained by Maynard James Keenan. Don't let anyone fool you into thinking this rehash is "deep". Expand

See all 255 User Reviews