• Record Label: Anticon
  • Release Date: May 3, 2005
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BryanS
    May 10, 2005
    9
    The Notwist made a name for themselves in 2003 with the release of the prolific, ground-breaking Neon Golden. 13+God sees the delightful synthesis of these masters and members of the underground label Anticon. I was blown away at first listen. The hooks in these songs are absolute genius, the lyrics are highlighted by both their intelligence and their depth, the music is simply stunning, The Notwist made a name for themselves in 2003 with the release of the prolific, ground-breaking Neon Golden. 13+God sees the delightful synthesis of these masters and members of the underground label Anticon. I was blown away at first listen. The hooks in these songs are absolute genius, the lyrics are highlighted by both their intelligence and their depth, the music is simply stunning, and the presentation is almost perfect; one magnificent track placed right after another. This, in my opinion, is definately one of the years best releases to date. Whether or not this is better than Neon Golden I don't know, but I certainly wasn't disappointed with 13+God. Expand
  2. KevinH
    May 6, 2005
    4
    One of the most boring releases of the year so far. Utter crap.
  3. DrunkenMaster
    May 9, 2005
    9
    This in amazingly beautiful CD, spare and gorgeous, is filled with stream of consciousness lyrics that will appeal mostly to other artists, intellectuals and literary types. If you think P. Diddy and Lil Jon are the best thing in hiphop this is not for you. But then again, if you like P. Diddy you probably don't read much either.
  4. DoseOne
    May 7, 2005
    2
    this is the worst album since Snow Patrol
  5. jefft
    Jun 26, 2005
    8
    Great album...
  6. wizza
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Hopefully Timeless. I absoilutely LOVE this record.
  7. joshh
    May 23, 2005
    10
    at first doseone's vocals seem a bit abrassive, but after a few listens this album really comes to life. A big step forward for both the Notwist and Themselves.
  8. VladA.
    May 5, 2005
    9
    Solid! Didn't even both wit reviews before getting this one as The Notwist can do no wrong. The sound is much less upbeat than Neon Golden and rooted in Anticon's experimental hip hop (except Men of Station) but this is definitely a rewarding listen.
  9. WillO.
    May 8, 2005
    10
    the notwist with themselves is one of the most odd yet still functioning mashups i have heard. very lush in the atmosphere and sometimes harsh in the rapping, producing contrast that is powerful and lovely at the same time.
  10. Remi-EricF
    Jul 12, 2005
    9
    Eerily beautiful, this album sounds like a bunch of scared guys lost in the woods on a dark night, with djs howling at the moon.
  11. Kellyp
    Aug 19, 2005
    7
    This album blew me away the first time I heard it. I would call it good "alone time" music.
  12. BobbyG
    Sep 16, 2005
    1
    An amazing band (notwist) tainted with the sounds of the devil.
  13. NickS
    Sep 25, 2005
    8
    Great album, makes the Notwist and themselves kind of sound like Hood's Cold House, yet creepier. It's definitely a scary album to listen to but hypnotic at the same time. Some great tracks on here. Begins to repeat itself a little though, that's the only drawback. If you want a comparison, think the Notwists Shrink album twisted devilishly.
  14. DavM
    Jan 26, 2006
    8
    cLOUDDEAD's Vocal with beter beatz then there Self titled and "10" CDs.
  15. JessicaB
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    This album is a thousand times better than anything The Notwist or Themselves has ever done seperately.
  16. Artaxiad
    May 11, 2005
    9
    Whilst '13 & God' is exactly what I expected when I mentally formulated a Notwist and Themselves collision, I have no reason to use that against this collaborative project. It's intellectually layered, as both of these artists are, and it takes a few listenings to acscertain the little quirks and each halve's respective meanderings. All in all, though, it does the trick.
  17. Shazoo
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    At first the collaboration of these 2 diverse groups may give you a shiver but the finished product is something that you'll be playing over again.
  18. CosmoPrelog
    Jun 16, 2005
    3
    Thank God for ear plugs.
  19. brandi
    Mar 29, 2006
    9
    all around good music
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. May 24, 2011
    90
    It's an unusual back-and-forth that delivers rapturous results on the seven piece band's sophomore record Own Your Ghost.
  2. 13&God represents less a marriage of rock and rap than it does a meeting of weird with slightly-less-weird.
  3. Fans of each respective artist may scratch their head a bit when first hearing 13 & God, but it will mostly make sense after awhile. If it doesn't, it's probably not supposed to.