• Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Jun 11, 2013
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    100
    In its eight track, Ozzy, Tony, and bassist Geezer Butler have managed to once again capture that special essence which makes them so magical. And it's bloody fantastic. [1 Jun 2013, p.52]
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    The influence of early Sabbath has become so omnipresent that it's come back to influence its very creators 40 years later, but the results are unexpectedly brilliant, apocalyptic, and essential for any die-hard metal fan.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    Here, every riff is full of life, the chemistry popping out in the open spaces, Ozzy's melancholy once again finally, and fittingly, overtop the soundtrack of metallic joy and madness, the whole thing combining to create a perfect metal sound the way only the masters can.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    I have prayed to God for almost a decade I am 20 that Ozzy would reunite with Sabbath and create one last masterpiece album. Thank you GodI have prayed to God for almost a decade I am 20 that Ozzy would reunite with Sabbath and create one last masterpiece album. Thank you God and Black Sabbath for now my dream has come true. The album closes with a similar rain that started of the first album, my life is now complete :)
    This will be the last Sabbath album to be created with the real front-man Sir Osbourne, so I hope fans do not ignore it and actually go and purchase it to show that love for real rock music still exists.
    My last point is that Bill Ward not being on the album is a shame but not a reason to not love the album, if he did not want to accept the terms presented to him then he should be looked down on not the rest of the band, and Wilks plays very well on 13 so no complaints only praise from me. The album deserves a 9 but I give it a ten to balance out the 1's many angry pro bill ward fan-boys will put under the rating, please do not do that for it is very unfair and childish... may the true metal gods live forever in our souls!
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    Pretty good album considering they haven't put out a true Black Sabbath album since the late 70's. Geezer's lyrics and Iommi's riffs are asPretty good album considering they haven't put out a true Black Sabbath album since the late 70's. Geezer's lyrics and Iommi's riffs are as spot on as they have ever been. Ozzy's vocals are surprising pretty clean. While Sabbath will never again put out songs like they did in the early 70's, they prove with this release they can still rock with the best of them. The only problem that I can see with "13" is that Ozzy's vocals are pretty forward. It just sounds like his vocals are louder than what they should be. I wish they would of included some of the bonus tracks. The bonus tracks are better than some songs on the album. Full Review »
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    It takes me two songs to forget that this a "new" Black Sabbath album, and that Ozzy Osbourne is 65 years old. It takes me three songs to stopIt takes me two songs to forget that this a "new" Black Sabbath album, and that Ozzy Osbourne is 65 years old. It takes me three songs to stop comparing it to the likes of Soundgarden's and Megadeth's etc. etc. recent reboots. It takes me four songs to actually start enjoying the "metal." And by the time the album is finished I actually start to like it. That said, the songs the band has chosen to promote as "singles" leaves me a bit mystified. "Is God Dead?" More like is Ozzy Osbourne on oxygen? No, he isn't. And for some reason I'm unable to take this album as seriously as I'd like to. And yet, it has some really authentic "Sabbath" moments that could have happened at any time over the last 40 years. A unique conundrum we may no experience for another half century (unless the two remaining Beatles get back together). Full Review »