Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for the British rock band is its first with new lead singer Henry Tremain (Stuart Smart left in 2011). The band announced they were transitioning to the name TTNG with this record.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Henry Tremain does a fine job replacing the ever-inventive Stuart Smith on vocals. His lyrics aren't that much fun to sing, but they're nice to read.
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    Though the band's approach is fairly consistent throughout the album, there are instrumental ideas explored with tracks like In The Branches of Yggdrasil and Nice Riff, Clichard, the latter of which takes a shot at some melancholic Richard D. James beat invention.
  3. They still may not make an incredibly fashionable brand of music, but this new record shows that they're pretty great at it.
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    The tracks are less punchy than before and perhaps more subdued, though this is the sort of music that needs to be immersed in and often takes time to truly appreciate.
  5. Jan 25, 2013
    Unfortunately, despite the tightness of this trio's musical interplay, overall suffers from a homogenous sound.
  6. Jan 24, 2013
    The virtuoso musicianship largely eclipses Henry Tremain's insipid vocals. [Feb 2013, p.112]
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    Its fervent technicality can leave it feeling soulless, lacking grit, bite or real emotion. It can become stifling and songs tend to blur together. But there are moments of beauty too.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    "" is the latest musical making of This Town Needs Guns, showcasing a new vocalist with the same funky guitar riffs and odd time"" is the latest musical making of This Town Needs Guns, showcasing a new vocalist with the same funky guitar riffs and odd time signatures. This album definitely doesn't live up to the previous album, "Animals", but it's a damn strong effort and a good one at that. The standout on the album is easily "Havoc in the Forum", which shows a very groovy side similar to the self-titled LP. It is just the one song on the album that will make you bob your head hard and tap your foot, consistently, while air-drumming. Another spotlight song is "Cat Fantastic", the album opener. It definitely showcases the new vocalist's talents and that TTNG is going to be here for a while, with or without Stu. If you consider yourself a hardcore math rock fan or just a indie rock fan in general, this album is a must buy. Collapse