14 Shades Of Grey

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 60
  2. Negative: 14 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeStarD.
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    You critics need to listen to an album more then once and actually connect with it. The overal score is appalling! Staind's 14 Shades of Grey is one of my favourite albums. This band has no trouble making you feel the songs emotion and not to mention each songs up-lifting chorus. One finely crafted album that should be listened to by all people, even if you don't like rock, this You critics need to listen to an album more then once and actually connect with it. The overal score is appalling! Staind's 14 Shades of Grey is one of my favourite albums. This band has no trouble making you feel the songs emotion and not to mention each songs up-lifting chorus. One finely crafted album that should be listened to by all people, even if you don't like rock, this album will surely appeal to you. HIGHLY recommended! Expand
  2. LeoR
    Jun 7, 2003
    8
    Really good album. Although I miss the harder edge songs like For You and anything from the Dysfunction album, this is Staind's real sound. I give it an 8 only because the songs "Tonight" and "Reality" sound the same. Also the last song "Intro" should have been replaced by the song "Let It Go" which you can download if you buy the CD. You can't expect every song to be good.
  3. KaluN
    Aug 4, 2003
    9
    This CD apes my tang to pieces. its awesome and i cant stop playing "Price to Play" or "Zoe Jane"
  4. SalmanH
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    Its underrated
  5. JenniferD
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    Awesome!! it ROCKED
  6. NG
    Jun 25, 2003
    8
    If you liked their last cd, you will surely like this one, cause it's better.
  7. joeb
    Jun 28, 2003
    8
    i thought this cd was not their best, but pretty damn good. You just can't stop being addicted, it seems like, to Arrons voice in all the songs. And i agree w/ most of you that i wish they would bring forth their heavier roots back like "dysfunction" or even their VERY first cd tormented. Still, a great cd all around. I recomend any staind fan to buy the cd!
  8. markm
    Jul 19, 2003
    10
    i understand and love this album
  9. RobT
    Sep 12, 2003
    10
    it fuckin rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!111
  10. jean-sébastienl
    Sep 9, 2003
    10
    staind rules and this one was there best yet! this cd makes me hope that they make a 5th cd!
  11. justins
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    great album f*ck the critics, who dont understand anything that has meaning to it
  12. JBTulkinghorn
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    If only the haters would stop hating. This album is outstanding. Any negative review I have seen is weak on detailing the album's faults. There is no filler on this cd. 14 shades of gray is a rare album in today's music world. No sex drugs or violence, only the succinct communication of pent up frustration and resolved and unresolved personal issues. And the band is a crack If only the haters would stop hating. This album is outstanding. Any negative review I have seen is weak on detailing the album's faults. There is no filler on this cd. 14 shades of gray is a rare album in today's music world. No sex drugs or violence, only the succinct communication of pent up frustration and resolved and unresolved personal issues. And the band is a crack outfit to boot. I hope these guys pay no mind to their detractors. Expand
  13. GeorgeBush
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Regardless of what critics and some people who dislike this CD, I absolutely love it. I don't understand why we argue, though: if we like it we'll keep listning 2 it, if u hate it, just forget it. If the haters think it's a waste of time, that's their opinion. Could something they like seem like crap to me? It's possible and likely. I like ANY music, and this Regardless of what critics and some people who dislike this CD, I absolutely love it. I don't understand why we argue, though: if we like it we'll keep listning 2 it, if u hate it, just forget it. If the haters think it's a waste of time, that's their opinion. Could something they like seem like crap to me? It's possible and likely. I like ANY music, and this strikes me close to home. I hold it high on my list, if you don't, then stop criticzing it: NO ONE's MAKING U LISTEN TO IT!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  14. JessicaW
    Jan 1, 2006
    8
    I love Staind, but this cd is not as good as BTC or Dysfunction. There some really great songs like "Fray" and "Blow Away" but the anger has been toned down as a whole on this cd and I Ioved the anger. Still, a good cd overall.
  15. DustinK
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    I hate how people say that a band is horrible and has no idea what music says. I hate death metal and rock, but just because i don't like them I don't say they lack tallent and that they suck. All it is, is a matter of opinion. If you don't like an albulm fine mention, but dont talk crap about them. I think its a great albulm. Riffs are good and so is lyrics as always. Not I hate how people say that a band is horrible and has no idea what music says. I hate death metal and rock, but just because i don't like them I don't say they lack tallent and that they suck. All it is, is a matter of opinion. If you don't like an albulm fine mention, but dont talk crap about them. I think its a great albulm. Riffs are good and so is lyrics as always. Not everyone is the same though so don't disrespect a bands music just b/c you dont like the style. Great albulm guys, not displeased w/ it at all. Expand
  16. joel
    Aug 22, 2003
    10
    All you fuckin critics who said this album sucked are dead wrong. You have to listen to shit more than once to feel what they are trying to express. "14 Shades of Grey" is one of the best albums of the year, and Aaron Lewis probably has one of the best voices in the record industry. Do us all a favor and actually listen to the music next time before you bash an album that should All you fuckin critics who said this album sucked are dead wrong. You have to listen to shit more than once to feel what they are trying to express. "14 Shades of Grey" is one of the best albums of the year, and Aaron Lewis probably has one of the best voices in the record industry. Do us all a favor and actually listen to the music next time before you bash an album that should definately be owned. And oh yea, I thought every song on this album rocked. Expand
  17. StaindRules
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    The only album that can top this is Break the Cycle...oh, also by Staind. These fucking critics obviosly are shallow and have no ability to relate to anything deeper than "hot for teacher" snort another line rock.
  18. DanG
    Apr 24, 2004
    10
    Incredible music with incredible lyrics. This CD is one of the few really great rock albums out there today. If you listen to the critics on this one you would be missing out on one the best albums I have heard in all my life.
  19. JamesO
    Sep 25, 2006
    7
    Stainds got 3 albums, this is the worst, but is still a good album, the critics clearly have a lack for any enthuasm with involving themsleves in the lyrics. Staind have a great vocalist, and there guitarists are great aswell. This album is not great, but it's not bad. Get Chapter V - You'll be impressed ;)
  20. ChrisH
    Jan 12, 2007
    7
    It's easy to NOT like Staind. Aaron Lewis has no charisma on or off stage. Nu-metal as a movement is characterized by an overwhelming frat-boy stereotype. And I can't think of Staind without thinking of Limp Bizkit. That being said, this is a fabulous album, better than "Break the Cycle." Aaron Lewis is a great singer/songwriter. Maybe he would've been more respected if he It's easy to NOT like Staind. Aaron Lewis has no charisma on or off stage. Nu-metal as a movement is characterized by an overwhelming frat-boy stereotype. And I can't think of Staind without thinking of Limp Bizkit. That being said, this is a fabulous album, better than "Break the Cycle." Aaron Lewis is a great singer/songwriter. Maybe he would've been more respected if he took to folk music or pretentious indie rock. The fact that this is a hard rock album doesn't diminish it's worth. "How About You" is lyrically and musiclly Staind at their pinnacle (maybe with the exception of "Home"). The hooks in a song like "So Far Away" are undeniable. And the tributes to his daughter ("Zoe Jane") and Layne Staley ("Layne") really make this an album of contrasts. Yeah, there's not much frat-boy drudge like "Mudshovel," but there are some good tunes on this album. Expand
  21. ClayD
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    Staind has helped me through alot of my life and anyone out there saying that Staind sucks you have no clue what your miss out on.. one of the greatest bands of the history and today...
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. '14 Shades of Grey' features no standout moments or highlights, just a formulaic, plodding, sixty plus moribund minutes that make this album about an hour too long. Avoid at all costs, even if you're a member of Staind's family.
  2. Those who connect with Staind will likely find this more consistently satisfying than Break the Cycle.
  3. Uncut
    40
    At times this album seems interminable. [Aug 2003, p.116]