18 Months - Calvin Harris
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2014
    5
    Electronic dance music (EDM) receiving the commercial attention it hasn't seen since the 90s created a compromise of some sort: although Calvin Harris, David Guetta, Avicii, and Zedd are guaranteed to make some gratuitously, contagiously catchy club anthems, they're uninspiring beyond that. 18 Months has to be one of the safest entries on the market right now. Besides some venturous -- but virtually useless -- solo works, the formula remains the same: have some female -- or occasionally a male or Harris himself -- sing some nonsensically simple lyrics over gleaming choruses before entering the "drop", which is usually just 3 to 5 chords repeated over and over again. Harris' earlier material might have fallen into that category as well, but at least it sounded somewhat refreshing at the time. If it weren't for featured collaborations coming from modern mainstream vocal machines such as Ellie Goulding, Florence Welch, Ne-Yo, or Rihanna, this album wouldn't have made the impact it's made. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    7
    The album is a very interesting take on progressive house sound. There are several tracks that appeal strongly: "Feel So Close", "We'll Be Coming Back", "Drinking from the Bottle", "Sweet Nothing", and sure, "We Found Love". Harris' production is smooth and dynamics, though when lyrics and vocals come into play some don't work out really well, especially the Ne-Yo featured track, "Let's Go". The album is enjoyable but only half of it is great. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    4
    You know I was a little disappointed because some of the songs were just lacking personality. I loved Calvin's beats and I think Calvin is one of the best in his business. But lets be honest here this album was a disappointment. The stand outs sweet nothing and I need your love. But the rest are not special. Sorry Calvin
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    1
    It's really sad when you wait for an album for so long, and when it comes, you only like one song. "Bounce" with Kelis is that song. The rest of the "album" I can throw in the garbage bin.
  5. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    I was overly excited to when 18 Months finally released! One thing I didn't like is that I kinda knew what was coming because of all the singles that were released before the actual release. They were all great songs although he only sang in one song! Still, its a great album. Best tracks in my opinion: Feel So Close, Sweet Nothing, Lets Go
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    5
    This guy said that making pop songs was easier than making a sandwich. Well, now I see why he said that. The album? Uninspired forgettable generic tracks. The only track here that is not going be forgotten is "We Found Love". "Let's Go", while weak, may be the seconds best thing on the album, which is something, at least, concerning.
  7. May 12, 2013
    10
    Just forget what the critics say, this album is AMAZING. Look at the user reviews for proof. This album is full of dance gems, which will never EVER be forgotten. Amazing album, really should have better reception!
  8. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    Quite good album, the singles are brilliant, but the rest of the songs are forgettable filler which are pure dance music which bores me, so i just listen to the singles
  9. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Calvin created a new style of electronic, I think he's better than David Guetta, him songs makes ballads to relaxing and deep beats. Very worked and simple album.
  10. Duu
    Feb 4, 2013
    4
    This music is rather competently made, but 90% of the music is uninspired. This music was 100% made for the lowest common denominator listener, especially drunk college students. Considering the amount of talented singers on this album, they add almost nothing to the tracks which are inherently stiff and uninteresting music, with the levels to everything turned all the way up. The songs on this album have no appeal other than being really loud and regular, so that if you are trying to dance when drunk, you are likely to be able to dance on beat. This music is basically background music turned up really loud. Collapse
  11. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    Just seeing the greatest british artists and others(rihanna) and the special tune of Calvin Harris makes this album perfect. In the next album, he has to create more songs like Feel so Close, his voice is so deep and folk that stays wonderful with the electro
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    50
    While 18 Months, Harris’s third solo full-length, is pretty much the hit-making monster that launched him in to the world spotlight, the truth of the matter is that it feels like a rather compromised vision of who he is an artist, sacrificing his quirkiness for a brooding new persona that starts to get stale over the course of a complete full-length.
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    40
    this sounds like the soundtrack to the hell of cheese-ball Las Vegas bottle service clubs.
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    40
    In a half-hearted effort to dilute the homogeneity, Harris grouts 18 Months with flimsy instrumentals, as if to create the illusion of a proper album. He's not fooling anyone--maybe not even himself. [Dec 2012, p.108]