18 Months - Calvin Harris
18 Months Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release from the Scottish producer includes already released hit singles from Rihanna, Kelis, and Ne-Yo, as well as new tracks featuring guest artists such as Florence Welch, Dizzee Rascal, Ellie Goulding, Tinie Tempah, and Example.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    By the end of the year, expect Harris' star to steadily rise as 18 Months continues to devour the calendar-and the universe.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    18 Months neatly packs Calvin's hits from the last year and a half into a solid playlist.
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    63
    Despite that variety [of male collaborations], 18 Months only deepens the impression that Harris is best when linked with a lady; his skills in that area are several times more developed than they are anywhere else.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Harris's production has become increasingly homogenised and, despite the array of vocalists, everything here risks sounding the same.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    58
    This album is less a monument to the human experience and more a harbinger of the rise of the machines.
  6. 50
    Unfortunately, tracks like [Rihanna's "We Found Love"] and, to a lesser extent, Welch's slightly crowded "Sweet Nothing" float like life rafts atop a sugary sea of tunes that will be the soundtrack of television commercials for months to come.
  7. Nov 15, 2012
    20
    18 Months has all the makings of a smash hit, but if you're looking for substance, you're better off looking elsewhere.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. May 12, 2013
    10
    Just forget what the critics say, this album is AMAZING. Look at the user reviews for proof. This album is full of dance gems, which willJust forget what the critics say, this album is AMAZING. Look at the user reviews for proof. This album is full of dance gems, which will never EVER be forgotten. Amazing album, really should have better reception! Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    Just seeing the greatest british artists and others(rihanna) and the special tune of Calvin Harris makes this album perfect. In the nextJust seeing the greatest british artists and others(rihanna) and the special tune of Calvin Harris makes this album perfect. In the next album, he has to create more songs like Feel so Close, his voice is so deep and folk that stays wonderful with the electro Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    I was overly excited to when 18 Months finally released! One thing I didn't like is that I kinda knew what was coming because of all theI was overly excited to when 18 Months finally released! One thing I didn't like is that I kinda knew what was coming because of all the singles that were released before the actual release. They were all great songs although he only sang in one song! Still, its a great album. Best tracks in my opinion: Feel So Close, Sweet Nothing, Lets Go Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    Quite good album, the singles are brilliant, but the rest of the songs are forgettable filler which are pure dance music which bores me, so iQuite good album, the singles are brilliant, but the rest of the songs are forgettable filler which are pure dance music which bores me, so i just listen to the singles Collapse
  5. Feb 22, 2014
    5
    Electronic dance music (EDM) receiving the commercial attention it hasn't seen since the 90s created a compromise of some sort: althoughElectronic dance music (EDM) receiving the commercial attention it hasn't seen since the 90s created a compromise of some sort: although Calvin Harris, David Guetta, Avicii, and Zedd are guaranteed to make some gratuitously, contagiously catchy club anthems, they're uninspiring beyond that. 18 Months has to be one of the safest entries on the market right now. Besides some venturous -- but virtually useless -- solo works, the formula remains the same: have some female -- or occasionally a male or Harris himself -- sing some nonsensically simple lyrics over gleaming choruses before entering the "drop", which is usually just 3 to 5 chords repeated over and over again. Harris' earlier material might have fallen into that category as well, but at least it sounded somewhat refreshing at the time. If it weren't for featured collaborations coming from modern mainstream vocal machines such as Ellie Goulding, Florence Welch, Ne-Yo, or Rihanna, this album wouldn't have made the impact it's made. Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    5
    This guy said that making pop songs was easier than making a sandwich. Well, now I see why he said that. The album? Uninspired forgettableThis guy said that making pop songs was easier than making a sandwich. Well, now I see why he said that. The album? Uninspired forgettable generic tracks. The only track here that is not going be forgotten is "We Found Love". "Let's Go", while weak, may be the seconds best thing on the album, which is something, at least, concerning. Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    1
    It's really sad when you wait for an album for so long, and when it comes, you only like one song. "Bounce" with Kelis is that song. The restIt's really sad when you wait for an album for so long, and when it comes, you only like one song. "Bounce" with Kelis is that song. The rest of the "album" I can throw in the garbage bin. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews