• Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2008
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 170

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    A strong start for this talented musician. Although a lot of her lyrics are somewhat simplistic and tread the same ground (love lost and found), her voice is a real treat to listen to, regardless.
  2. NormF.
    Feb 21, 2008
    8
    I agree with those reviewers who say that in her songwriting, she is in an early stage of development. But her singing is excellent, and her songwriting tends toward an ambitious range musically that bodes well for the future. A very solid first effort.
  3. DarrisT.
    Jul 29, 2008
    7
    If you liked laid back songs that can relax you, this is a great album for you. Many of the songs have great lyrics that are deep and a welcome from you average Hot 100 artist. To Make You Feel My Love Tired First Love Chasing Pavenments Cold Shoulder Hometown Glory Great songs.
  4. JohnM.
    Feb 7, 2009
    9
    Given her tender years (let's not forget that she was a mere 19 when this album was recorded), it's not surprising that, lyrically, the songs are only adequate; that said, Adele's clearly a talented songwriter who's only going to get better as she continues to mature and hone her craft. But in terms of musicianship - that SPECTACULAR voice - those BRILLIANT vocal Given her tender years (let's not forget that she was a mere 19 when this album was recorded), it's not surprising that, lyrically, the songs are only adequate; that said, Adele's clearly a talented songwriter who's only going to get better as she continues to mature and hone her craft. But in terms of musicianship - that SPECTACULAR voice - those BRILLIANT vocal arrangements - this album instantly establishes Adele as a MAJOR talent who, should we all be so lucky, is likely to be around for decades to come... . Expand
  5. BillL.
    Nov 27, 2008
    9
    This album sounds better after several playings. The artist is young and a little unfinsihed at this stage but is very talented and has a good voice and style for singing soul. I have come to really appreciate the album and play it frequently now. The music has real character and is cut above the polished but empty faire that is typically served up from recording studios these days.
  6. JOHnA.
    Aug 19, 2008
    8
    Adele shines on this exquisite debut. She has an amazingly gifted voice, which soars throughout the well produced and written songs. Catchy songs like Best for Last, Chasing Pavements, and Melt MY Heart to Stone show that this 19 year old has a mature side. Doesn't matter what critics say. this album is incredible. This album is most suitable for people who have just broken up with Adele shines on this exquisite debut. She has an amazingly gifted voice, which soars throughout the well produced and written songs. Catchy songs like Best for Last, Chasing Pavements, and Melt MY Heart to Stone show that this 19 year old has a mature side. Doesn't matter what critics say. this album is incredible. This album is most suitable for people who have just broken up with someone or feel free now that they are no longer with someone. Every song on this album is good, although there are three that could be considered "fillers". Overall, an 8 out of 10. Mostly for Adele's voice and 4 outstanding songs. Buy the album, if you life Duffy, Winehouse and Norah Jones, you will not be let down. Expand
  7. May 24, 2011
    8
    Compared to '21', this album lacks many nice songs and songs to keep people wanting to continue listening to the album in its whole entirety. ''Chasing Pavements'' is the main highlight to the album.
  8. Aug 2, 2011
    6
    No more than her second album, "19" introduces to us, the soulful Adele voice, though it doesn't sound so much "soul" in the record. "Chasing Pavements", "Melt My Heart To Stone" and "Hometown Glory" are really the highlights of "19", with great lyrics and contagious pop rhythms. Lyrics are not so well creative in the rest of the songs and sometimes, they tend to be repetitive and tooNo more than her second album, "19" introduces to us, the soulful Adele voice, though it doesn't sound so much "soul" in the record. "Chasing Pavements", "Melt My Heart To Stone" and "Hometown Glory" are really the highlights of "19", with great lyrics and contagious pop rhythms. Lyrics are not so well creative in the rest of the songs and sometimes, they tend to be repetitive and too simple, though Adele's voice amazingly keeps you listening the entire album track by track. Expand
  9. Oct 1, 2012
    7
    Her next album, "21", is way better than this one. But it does have really solid songs and her vocals in this album is spectacular. A very good album overall..........
  10. May 14, 2012
    10
    In my humble opinion, one of the most addicting albums I've ever heard. I wont bore you with mundane details, but its just flat out easy listening at its finest. It's bursting with personality. My only minor complaint is that track 7 "First Love" is underwhelming and feels a little out of place, but its still a solid song. Give this album a listen!
  11. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    I first heard the song on this album is Chasing Pavenments and Hometown Glory. Then listen "Daydreamer, Now and Then, and Cold Shoulder". I love it. Then I listened to the song "Right as Rain" kind of music in this song sounds like "Amy Winehouse. Overall this album 19, Adele gave a very brilliant musicality. She has a beautiful soulful voice.
    Adele is also a great songwriter. "19" is one
    I first heard the song on this album is Chasing Pavenments and Hometown Glory. Then listen "Daydreamer, Now and Then, and Cold Shoulder". I love it. Then I listened to the song "Right as Rain" kind of music in this song sounds like "Amy Winehouse. Overall this album 19, Adele gave a very brilliant musicality. She has a beautiful soulful voice.
    Adele is also a great songwriter. "19" is one that must be listened to albums of all time ......
    Expand
  12. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite artists of all time soulful, genuine, moving, passionate, real, wonderful, emotional i love you Adele and God bless your baby and family!
  13. May 30, 2014
    10
    "19" introduced us to the amazing singer-songwriter Adele. With songs that are just emotionally satisfying as they are catchy; it just shows that this woman is here to stay.
  14. JohnZ.
    Mar 7, 2008
    8
    Almost masterpiece
  15. JoshR.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Amazing!! Adele has an amazing voice for the age of 19! expect more great things from her in the future!!
  16. Pete
    Apr 8, 2008
    9
    Super album, Adele can write songs!
  17. Cripes
    Feb 28, 2008
    3
    Dull Dull Dull, She may have a great voice and Chasing Pavements may be good but this is easily the dullest album I have heard in a couple of years....shame
  18. PaoloFromMilano
    Apr 2, 2008
    5
    Boring, dear Adele try again!
  19. MitchellZ.
    May 1, 2008
    5
    Good voice, ok arrangements, but overall... snore!
  20. KenH.
    Jun 20, 2008
    5
    Music for teenage girls. Anyone else will likely roll eyes at the lyrics. The music is plodding and uninteresting. She has a nice voice but its going to be years before she develops into an artist and will she even still be making CD's in 5 years?
  21. D.Ranged
    Feb 21, 2008
    1
    Toss this garbage out!!! Overrated, overhyped bland faux-Jazz singer who is too bland and too uncreative for words. Basically a poor man's Amy Winehouse, just like Kate Nash is a poor man's Lily Allen. Chasing Pavements might possibly be one of the most abhorrent and nauseating song out there.
  22. [Anonymous]
    Feb 22, 2008
    4
    Very boring and mediocre.
  23. RichardJ.
    Apr 22, 2008
    5
    Boring, Dull and not imaginative in anyway, This is like Kate Nash doing Jazz, quirky but doesn't merit a good album, I have heard Adele on the music scene for over two years and her music and her voice just doesn't interest me and this is no masterpiece, she is still 19 so she will get better...personally listen to Billie Holiday it is more interesting tonally and writing wise.
  24. Jan 20, 2012
    4
    Adele's voice is something to behold, but the majority of the songs on '19' take major turns in the wrong direction and end up sounding like a whiny, annoying teenager making nonsensical claims about her love life. However, there are still times where she can be a good songwriter, both 'Chasing Pavements' and 'Hometown Glory' are exceptional tunes, but the rest of '19' is dull and uncomfortable.
  25. BlairS.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    An excellent debut from a gorgeous voice.
  26. James
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Shockingly good and necessary listening once a day for last weeks.
  27. DitoA.
    Feb 22, 2008
    9
    Very good pop album
  28. sara
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    She has a wonderful soulful phrasing.
  29. KenF.
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    Great album. Emotionally moving. With this kind of beginning, I'm looking forward to her having a long career.
  30. DanielW.
    Apr 11, 2008
    9
    Wonderful tunes and a voice that keeps growing on u!
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. A beyond stellar debut in both quality and originality.
  2. As is to be expected given Adele's tender years, thematically things are a bit monochrome.... All this, however, is forgiven with a listen to the highlights, such as the sweet acoustic guitar-led 'Daydreamer.'
  3. The co-writes--not as many as you might’ve expected--generally boom from the speakers. The self-penned efforts are bare-boned, erratically excellent but frustratingly blighted by Adele’s penchant for going beyond her capabilities as a vocalist.