21 - Adele
  • Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
21 Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 326 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British singer’s sophomore album is full of soul and pop rhythms, comparable to Amy Winehouse and Duffy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Jan 27, 2011
    100
    21 is simply stunning. After only a handful of plays, it feels like you've always known it.
  2. Mar 4, 2011
    90
    There's not a slacker in the bunch on 21, which is hard enough for many an artist to pull off at 31 – or even 51 – much less at an age when they're still too young to rent a car on their own
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    80
    A progressive, grown-up second collection, it ought to ensure Adele is around for 23, 25, 27 and beyond.
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    80
    Hearing a voice that grows scratchy and threatens to break and has not been tampered with, has not been slicked over in a studio, a voice that reveals all that can be found within a person and also seems to hold something back, to suggest another truth just behind the veil.
  5. Feb 1, 2011
    70
    For all of her posturing and ruminations on life, love and other such considerations, you may well ask yourself whether she is merely playing a part and recycling old themes or if she has the experience she so eloquently sings about.
  6. Apr 7, 2011
    70
    Her sound is undeniably more mature than what you would typically expect from a 21-year-old, but tracks like "Don't You Remember" make you wonder if the overall vibe is more mature than it should be.
  7. 40
    Things begin well enough with the single "Rolling in the Deep", with its thumping piano quadruplets and gospelly backing vocals, and continues reasonably with the galumphing Tom Waits-style arrangement of "Rumour Has It"; until, two-thirds of the way through the song, it grinds to a halt for a slower, torchy middle eight.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 94
  2. Negative: 19 out of 94
  1. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite artists of all time, soulful, true to herself, genuine, moving, and every track is so enjoyable and wonderful, done with so much respect to original artists when a cover is done I love you Adele! Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    OK first off.. Amy and Duffy?? wth are you smoking..
    This woman is in a class of her own and a truly rare talent.
    I preordered her latest
    release and im blown away...It will leave you captivated and wanting more. Expand
  3. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    Adele is such a good artist. Beautiful voice and music and she's the 2nd best singer (The Weeknd is the first). I bought this album for my mom and she loved it i checked it out it was one of the best albums of 2011 Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Adele. She's truly been a breath of fresh air this year. She's managed to let her slower songs take over peoples playlists in a time where dance songs run rampant. She's managed to bridge the gap and appeal to both young audiences and the older adult audience. Her strong voice and mopey sad love songs ave captivated many. "21" is a really solid album. Adele manages to drag you into her pit of despair. What's remarkable is her ability to get the audience to genuinely understand and feel for her. I do need to point out that she gets screechy a few times (it's noticeable on "I'll Be Waiting.") The standout on the album is most definitely "Set Fire to the Rain." Its one of the greatest songs I've come across this year. Its powerful and epic which makes it the black sheep of the album but it strangely finds it place and fits. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2012
    7
    Good album. Some of the songs feel a little repetitive on repeat listens. Her silky voice commands attention. But after a while the songs are a bit 'samesy' Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2012
    5
    It gave me mixed feelings while listening to it. Only 4 songs (Rolling In The Deep, Set Fire To The Rain, Someone Like You, Rumour Has It) make this album somehow interesting, the rest of them are so monotonous. I just cannot understand why it is so much overrated. OK, Adele is a good artist with a nice voice but this overexposure of her really makes me wonder why. An average job. Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2012
    0
    Boring album. Boring songs. Boring singer. Boring clips. Just one or two good songs, love, break up, love, break up, love, break up, love, break up, so boring. Expand

See all 94 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. 2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: November 29, 2011
    Between now and January, we'll be collecting top 10 lists published by major music critics, publications, and websites, and tallying their cumulative picks to determine the best albums of 2011. Check back here daily to get an updated scorecard.