3121

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 1 out of 62

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EileenK
    Mar 30, 2006
    9
    Much sexier than Musicology. Made me want to dance, bump, and grind. Hopefully he'll tour. A high energry Prince album that calls DMSR to mind.
  2. mcnuts
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    Wasnt too much of a Prince fan int he past but the dis is great, manages to capture the 1980s sound but update it. Still cheesy but it is Prince
  3. FrankC
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    This is a awesome album. This album is for the die hard fans and the new fans and genertion
  4. CordellB
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    After attending A night with Prince in Cleveland Ohio a few years ago I can't wait to see him perform the new songs from 3121. This is Prince at his finest with a broad range of familiar sounds that we all loved and still do. His Royal badness is still the best.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Apr 4, 2006
    7
    On my first listen of this record, I must say that the start far outclasses the end. Of the 12 tracks on this album, for me, 3 are very good and 2 are good. From the odd title track to the next 3, things looked very good. I've heard, elsewhere, that the songs are reminiscent of Prince's previous works. I can fully understand where these sentiments come from. 3121, the song, On my first listen of this record, I must say that the start far outclasses the end. Of the 12 tracks on this album, for me, 3 are very good and 2 are good. From the odd title track to the next 3, things looked very good. I've heard, elsewhere, that the songs are reminiscent of Prince's previous works. I can fully understand where these sentiments come from. 3121, the song, sounds like something that would have belonged on LoveSexy (it's got that sort of feel). Lolita, the name put me off I must admit, is probably one of the best tracks on this album (reminding me of a bootleg track called Schoolyard. Sounds like something he would have written 15 odd years ago). Very catchy. That's the thing with Prince, even if the lyrics are rubbish the music can on occassion redeem the situation. This brings me to the lyrics. Oh dear. Really, nothing on here will make you go wow...that's clever. It's mostly the music that does it here. Last memorable track, with great lyrics, was "The love we make" from the Emancipation album. Where is that Prince? Why can't he do more like that? Still, the next track "te amo Corazon", it's a swishy bosa nova track. Perfectly fine and I have no problems with it. Perhaps written for his wife? The 4th track, Black sweat, is good...very good. Takes a little getting used to but it's so different, so original, that "I am loving it big time" as they say in Swedish porn films voiced over by English speaking actors....It's a laugh. Very danceable...and if remixed...could become a floor filler...where's Pharrel when you need him? From this point on, though, things go a bit "filler". In that the next 3 tracks (Incense and candles, Love and Satisfied) are just to keep your interest piqued until track 8 (Fury - more of that later). I've heard these filler tracks too many times before to care...in fact didn't care for it the first time...don't care for it now. Incense and candles could have been taken from his "squiggle" album but modernised a bit. It's o.k....and fine filler fodder. "Love" on the other hand....oh dear. Now, like probably most of the people reading this, I am a big Prince fan. My knowledge of his released and unreleased tracks is second to none (trust me). Love is very reminiscent of a song called "LoveSign" (which was given to Nona Gaye and which was plain awful). The lyrics are marginally better but really that's not saying much. Why write a track called "Love" and write music and lyrics like this? O.k. there are 2 seconds in there of something that reminds me of a great song (from the COME album) called Loose....but I just fishing for compliments where none should be given...anyway 'nuff said. Satisfied is this thing that Prince seems to try practically every album. Probably started with "Scandalous" from the Batman soundtrack. It's that slow melodious night spent having slow sex type of music. He's done something similar with "Insatiable" and countless others. Why bother? It's been done to death. Something new please! These 3 filler tracks are o.k. to keep you going to track 8. Track 8 is very very good. It's called "Fury" and likelihood is that you've seen him perform it live. A back to guitar based music. Very catchy. Could easily belong on the Sign o' the times album (yes it is that good). I like this one. The next track, "The word" is a bible track...decent ditty but I can't really be bothered with this "God" related music that Prince pumps out. I'm sure it's very close to his heart but...hmmm....at least with "Seven" there was some decent music...this is o.k....but sounds like a weak reject from the "COME" album. Tis o.k. "Beautiful, Loved & Blessed" is a track that's been released by Tamar (his current protege). She's a good looking woman but don't let that distract you from a run of the mill filler. Again Tis o.k....but it is some week **** compared to his past glories. Another "God" related track. "The Dance" has an interesting melody....but he must work on the words more....it's no good doing basic rhyming schemes and getting away with it. He could have done much more with given tune. Less words. Less shrilling....oh I don't know...put it this way...this is forgettable. The last track, as I read somewhere, is very much reminiscent of a track from Musicology called "Dear Mr Man"...in it's idealogical lyrics. You let's be one nation under the groove kinda stuff. Boring. Lolita, Black Sweat and Fury are the best tracks on this album. 3121 and te amo corazon are fine. The rest is forgettable. I'm not totally disapointed. Nope...because here we have a glimpse of what Prince is capable of (with the 3 tracks I mentioned). He just needs to cut down on the preaching, same ole same ole ballads and start getting his lyrics in order. Because once his music is mixed with his great lyrics you get one the best albums of all time....c.f...Sign o' the times. We nearly got that with "Emancipation"...except on that occassion restraint was called for. He went overboard with content. Next time, hopefully, we'll get more of the good stuff and less of the routine. Listen to "The love we make" on the Emancipation album for something trully amazing. Expand
  6. RyanS.
    Mar 21, 2006
    8
    Pure Prince! So its not his best, but how could it be? Who could beat Purple Rain? But regardless he's still the purple the one, and this album is pure purple through and through.
  7. AntonJ
    Mar 20, 2006
    8
    Prince's most consistent work in a long while. Definitely a strong album - proves his testament to the art craft he innovated in the 80s.
  8. JonathanD.
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    The man is a genius, many songs on this CD are completely performed by Prince alone, awesome.
  9. Ian
    Mar 20, 2006
    9
    This album arguably his best in 11 years. While Musicology brought Prince back to the mainstream, 3121 is a more adventurous and tighter affair. The title track alone is an immediate classic. The album is not perfect, but it is a thoroughly enjoyable release and Prince sounds like he's truly enjoying himself and comfortable with his past for the first time in ages.
  10. DaveR
    Mar 30, 2006
    8
    "Sam M" gives the record a "3" and says that "Beautiful Loved and Blessed" is the best song--the blandest and most MOR ballad on the record. I also dislike when people just grandstand and say it's "bad," with vague, silly criticisms like "the hooks belong on a Disney soundtrack" that are not only inaccurate, the offer no insight into the music; I don't think Prince is an artist "Sam M" gives the record a "3" and says that "Beautiful Loved and Blessed" is the best song--the blandest and most MOR ballad on the record. I also dislike when people just grandstand and say it's "bad," with vague, silly criticisms like "the hooks belong on a Disney soundtrack" that are not only inaccurate, the offer no insight into the music; I don't think Prince is an artist where you qualify his new records: "its good, but not as good as..." since his back catalog of songs are great, but not a peak of such excellence that they can never be reached ever again; I'd recommend this record, even if the second half is a bit slower, as it has some great songs. I agree with the people who say he should experiment more, though. Expand
  11. KarlK
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    Really listen to the album and you will see like most who are great, they make what they do look easy so we assume the effort of creativity is missing but in reality who else can do what Prince does.
  12. SethB
    Apr 10, 2006
    9
    Gary T, said it all! That's SO true, except I LOVED Graffitti Bridge. I'm still giving 3121 spins though, had it about a month. "The Word" is looking like my fav.
  13. Hein
    Apr 30, 2006
    9
    Great eclectic Prince record in Topform. Another proof that Pitchfork doesn't have music in their guts.
  14. GaryT
    Apr 6, 2006
    8
    You can never critique a Prince CD for the first month or two. I wasn't too happy with Graffiti Bridge, New Power Soul, or Lovesexy when they first came out. I still don't know what I think of Musicology.Now through the years I can practically sing atleast 8 songs off each album word for word. I can tel you this too. You can put any random 5 CD's in your stereo and each You can never critique a Prince CD for the first month or two. I wasn't too happy with Graffiti Bridge, New Power Soul, or Lovesexy when they first came out. I still don't know what I think of Musicology.Now through the years I can practically sing atleast 8 songs off each album word for word. I can tel you this too. You can put any random 5 CD's in your stereo and each album has a different sound. That's what I love about the guy. I can't think of one(not even one) who has such a diverse range as Prince.l Expand
  15. SeanC
    Apr 6, 2006
    9
    Sounds great, new and old school, its Prince.
  16. Vanessa
    May 20, 2006
    10
    Prince combines old and new styles in this album. It is full of energy and as usual the songs are very different. This album is worth having (as are most of his albums)!
  17. codedelphi
    Jun 11, 2006
    7
    Having been a Prince fan (obsessive!) for nigh on 20 years, I have everything this genius has ever been involved in (Madhouse anyone?). I also know that the quality control on many Prince projects is often caught napping. So it was with great trepidation that I purchased 3121 and, yes, Prince has managed to not let me down again. This is a good album with some outstanding tracks which Having been a Prince fan (obsessive!) for nigh on 20 years, I have everything this genius has ever been involved in (Madhouse anyone?). I also know that the quality control on many Prince projects is often caught napping. So it was with great trepidation that I purchased 3121 and, yes, Prince has managed to not let me down again. This is a good album with some outstanding tracks which threaten but never quite manage to demonstrate a full return to form. It is the album of a prodigy (a term used too often when describing Prince I'm afraid) who has his gear sitting on cruise control - it manages to get to its destination effectively enough but doesn't provide a thrilling drive. Unfortunately if I continued this terrible metaphor I could describe Prince as a Ferrari of the funk/pop music world but too often recently he has felt more like a family hatchback. I don't wish to continue this metaphor however... Expand
  18. Adam
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Prince is king. This album is even better than Musicology which I loved. No one is in his league!
  19. JulioB
    Mar 24, 2006
    9
    3121 is fun to listen to and improves with each listen. The songs work well as an album and span so many different styles. Sounds fresh and familiar at the same time. This undeniably Prince. That's a good thing.
  20. AlejandroS
    Mar 24, 2006
    9
    Prince has made excellent, good and not so good albums. This album is far better than his latest comercial releases, Musicology (2004) & The Rainbow Children (2001), and I give the album 9 points out of 10 because of marvellous songs like 3121, Black Sweat, Satisfied, Fury, Lolita or Te Amo Corazon.
  21. JamesS
    Mar 25, 2006
    9
    I definately don't agree with Entertainment Weekly, this new Prince album is not elf-indulgent. I don't even know what elf-indulgent means, but I think EW is taking a jab at Prince for being short and black. Good job EW, real mature.
  22. tyronew
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    i think that this is classic, prince at his best! 3121 is a fresh and enjoyable cd for all ages. there is something on here for everyone, who loves music.
  23. JamesF
    Mar 26, 2006
    9
    Prince hits a high point on this album... It may not be Purple Rain or the Sign O the Times, but it definitely is a well balanced and well written album... This man continues to hold reign as the Pop Prince...
  24. vant
    Mar 26, 2006
    9
    Some strong tunes, nothing groundbreaking, gets better each time you hear it... but don't all his albums.
  25. AznPrince
    Mar 27, 2006
    8
    this album is certainly uncomparable to his best work on purple rain but it is still pretty good
  26. BJNichols
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    As a long time fan who was gettin tired of mediocre albums, Musicology had some great Prince songs but not an album I played as a whole. 3121 is so much fun and has a higher all-song listening ratio for me. There are at least 5 great songs and 3 really good ones. I've enjoyed it more than Musicology as a whole. It's great to have spiritual, sexy Prince back having fun and making As a long time fan who was gettin tired of mediocre albums, Musicology had some great Prince songs but not an album I played as a whole. 3121 is so much fun and has a higher all-song listening ratio for me. There are at least 5 great songs and 3 really good ones. I've enjoyed it more than Musicology as a whole. It's great to have spiritual, sexy Prince back having fun and making me dance. Expand
  27. PeturD
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    Musical genious. will this man never run out of ideas for a song? hope not! Love it
  28. WPBeing
    Mar 31, 2006
    8
    This is a pop album. And as a pop album it is amazing in scope, style and joy. Is it a best for Prince? Absolutely not. Is it a best in pop music 2006? It certainly is. Love, 3121, Fury, Black Sweat are amongst his best dance tunes in many years. And, no obvious filler tracks, or tracks that need skipping. Although that vocoder or whatever it is called on Insence and candles ...
  29. derrickJ
    Jul 1, 2006
    9
    He is getting back to form. The ballads are the bomb! This is a close to killer cd. The purple King still has it but there is always a bridge we must cross. If he gives the devoted fans all we want(Lovesexy) he will lose the world. He is in an aweful fix becasue even when he dumbs down for his audience, they want him dumber!! Prince, find total satisfaction in God and let the wanna bee He is getting back to form. The ballads are the bomb! This is a close to killer cd. The purple King still has it but there is always a bridge we must cross. If he gives the devoted fans all we want(Lovesexy) he will lose the world. He is in an aweful fix becasue even when he dumbs down for his audience, they want him dumber!! Prince, find total satisfaction in God and let the wanna bee fans drown in your brillance. Expand
  30. MCJC
    Jul 21, 2006
    8
    great album. no touching 'Black Sweat'.
  31. MikeL
    Aug 20, 2007
    7
    It took awhile to grow on me, but this is arguably Prince's best album since "The Truth" (released in 1996 with "Crystal Ball" and unfortunately OOP). Pretty solid stuff, 8 of 12 tracks are keepers. 4 just plain suck, and they're mainly the slow ones. Of the ballads, only "Satisfied" is worth returning to - it's classic, slow-burning Prince.
  32. JosephA
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    This is really a great record. I gotta admit I was skeptical ,but it actually manages to be better than Musicology, and I thought that one was great too!
  33. rolfl
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    classic and expiremental prince worthy songs on this album!!
  34. T.L.Horne
    Mar 25, 2006
    9
    As always with Prince, his best CDs are filled with diversity. The critics don't always like that, but, I certainly do. Can't wait for the tour to hear these live!
  35. joHNw
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    Prince is great and this is the way music should be!!
  36. arpiap
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    A good classic Prince album, with some outstanding tracks and a brilliant interpretation. And he's 47!
  37. EricS
    Mar 29, 2006
    8
    I'll call Prince on crap when I hear it, but this is not it. One listen and you know he's still putting it out. There's a moment or two when you feel like he could have taken a more creative turn rather than fall into his familiar style, but not many. A highlight for me is Lolita.
  38. GeorgeOver
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    It's great to hear he is doin' it his way, and it's workin'
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. A testament to the singer's versatility and musicianship.
  2. Uneven? No question. Entertaining? Is the rain purple?
  3. Prince is at his best when his music is unmistakably his. Half of the tracks on 3121 could not have been made by anyone else, but the slushy R&B ballads are not amongst them.