4 - Beyonce
4 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The aptly titled fourth studio album from the pop songstress has both dance-floor-ready jams and down-tempo tunes that are a bit tamer than those in the last album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. 90
    Between doing more of the same old goodness and boiling everything down to its most essential lethality, Beyoncé also makes room on the album for more grandiose tracks that would sound right at home in Broadway musicals.
  2. Jun 30, 2011
    Those ["Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It)," "Get Me Bodied," "Crazy in Love" and "Baby Boy"] were also songs that other singers could have plausibly released and made their own. Most of 4, though, no one else could get away with, or would even want to try.
  3. Aug 18, 2011
    The lyrics are occasionally hackneyed, but overall 4 is a very strong record indeed. [Sep 2011, p.79]
  4. 75
    Vocally, she's never sounded better - throaty and precise - but the songs here just aren't her equal.
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    4 might be her strangest rec­ord. It's a big-budget megapop album with an A list of guest stars (Kanye West, André 3000) and songwriter-producers (Tricky Stewart, the-Dream, Diplo, Ryan Tedder, Diane Warren). Yet it's as eccentric-- as unmistakably personal and quirky--as anything that Sufjan Stevens ever cooked up in his bedroom.
  6. Jun 27, 2011
    She reportedly considered 70-plus songs and hired a variety of collaborators, ranging from Babyface to M.I.A. producer Switch, and yet the album feels skimpy, half-finished.
  7. Jul 18, 2011
    Where this album should be fresh and current, it sounds tired, repetitive and uninspired.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 152
  1. Jun 28, 2011
    4 is the more developed, mature, and experienced sister album of 2006's B'Day. With convincing emotion, shocking vulnerability, and slick cohesive production to tie it altogether, Beyonce delivered the best album of 2011 and also her career. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2011
    If you don't like this album, you should really question your taste in music. I love it because it has a different sound. Unlike most of her musical peers, she didn't go the techno-pop route which made me love this album even more. You can tell all of her songs came from the heart. The only thing that I have to say is that I don't think "Run The World (Girls)" fits into the album AT ALL. Other than that, the album is flawless. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The 4 is the album, Beyoncé's most personal, the album that really shows more of her vocal technique. and it more personal, I love this album, I love her. Perfect! Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2011
    Classic, timeless, different, soulful, mature, experienced and incredible album. The best album Beyoncé has released to date, expanding on her previous masterpieces to create a completely new 'brand' of music unique to 'King B'. I love it...'Miss You', 'I Care', 'End of Time' and 'Countdown' are personal highlights. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2011
    I feel that this album is one of the most risky of the year and definitely of Beyoncé's career. She has totally moved away from mainstream trends to bring something that is fresher, more pure, and more exciting than most pop music out now. The album is her most coherent and finds the singer struggling with problems that go deeper than those of the dance floor. The part of the CD is her singing by far, the showcasing of her remarkable talent that sets her apart from most "singers." Still I wish there were more up-tempos on the album, but I am more than happy with the emotion I am given in the production, songwriting, and her beautiful voice. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2012
    If you are not her stan or at least her fan it is impossible to be fond on it from the beginning. After awhile you realize is Beyoncé's best album. I think she could have done a very commercial album which includes very danceable and generic tracks and have # 1's with them but she preferred to not betraying herself as an artist. I think this album make her becoma an icon, she doesn't need of the high positions on charts to get that title. Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2011
    After YEARS of stealing REAL ARTIST'S music, choreography, and concepts and TAKING CREDIT for them. BeYAWNce is OFFICIALLY done. She's over. The album is a FAILURE. No one cares. OFFICIALLY 4CLOSED. Expand

See all 152 User Reviews