User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 370 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 370

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 4, 2015
    10
    ore. You can tell all of her songs came from the heart. The only thing that I have to say is that I don't think "Run The World (Girls)" fits into the album AT ALL. Other than that, the album is flawle
  2. Apr 5, 2015
    10
    Maravilhoso é a palavra que define o 4, lembra muito a cultura Africana e esse R&B com Soul ficou perfeito, os saxofone em algumas das musicas deram um toque choque de monstro, super injustiçado no Grammy e nas vendas merecia muito mais!
  3. Mar 25, 2015
    10
    Beyoncé me arrombou com essa biblia, melhor álbum da carreira, nossa destruiu tudo que a outrazinha la ja fez querida e me conta dos vocais em Start Over? mulher tu humilhou rainha eu te adoro quero muito tomar café com você, te adoro beijos esse dois querida
  4. Mar 14, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the '4' is a perfect blend of maravilhoasas letters with feeling. the vocals of each song leaves a sense of peace , a mixture of soft voice in parts of ' 1 + 1' to the big bucks to 'start over' ... all very well crafted and amazing ... congratulations Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Undoubtedly the best of her album, all tracks can be good and fun, dancing has its moments, its romantic moments, all that is needed in an album, I hope the next it has something inspired by this.
    Highlights: Countdown and Run The World
    Lows: Lay Up Under Me and Rather Die Young
  6. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    4 é o álbum mais lindo, mostra uma ótima evolução musical, como ela está diferente e que consegue sim fazer um disco maravilhoso praticamente sozinha, ótimas composições e a musicalidade é encantadora. Até quem não gosta muito ou torça o nariz diante da cantora não pode negar que esse álbum é rico em qualidade e boa musica.
  7. Jun 20, 2014
    3
    Achei o album fraco e me desapontou,esperava algo melhor depois da recuperação dela em I am...Sasha Fierce maaas nem tudo que é bom dura né,e o pior,4 é meu número favorito.
  8. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Amazing! Her best album so far. Great lyrics, vocals, videos, instrumental... Remind us of the good old R&B. And that's what I most like about this album. While most of the other singers goes to the generic electronic music, Beyoncé is still strong with R&B.

    Highlights: 1 +1, Love On Top, End Of Time, Countdown, Best Thing I Never Had.
  9. May 29, 2014
    10
    The album 4 is a personal favorite, nevertheless Beyonce choose to go with a different sound in which until this day I haven't heard from nobody else. Beyonce is becoming very blatent in what she wants how expressing her emotions in the music. Starting off with her famous 1 +1 ballad she blows listeners away even say words incorrect like "Algelba" in stead of Algebra , to "I Care" whereThe album 4 is a personal favorite, nevertheless Beyonce choose to go with a different sound in which until this day I haven't heard from nobody else. Beyonce is becoming very blatent in what she wants how expressing her emotions in the music. Starting off with her famous 1 +1 ballad she blows listeners away even say words incorrect like "Algelba" in stead of Algebra , to "I Care" where she feels she is the only one in the relationship who cares. She also taps into the early 90's sound with "Love on Top" and ballad sounds with "Rather Die Young" that actually has a beautiful bridge that leads to the end. Beyonce but hard work into this album adding song structure that a lot of artist forgot about. This is why I rated this a Ten Expand
  10. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    Beyoncé was not at his best moment to launch this album, taking influences from The Jackson 5 and Florence and the Machine will not make your stuff sound like something original, much less sophisticated.
  11. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The 4 is the album, Beyoncé's most personal, the album that really shows more of her vocal technique. and it more personal, I love this album, I love her. Perfect! Expand
  12. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé's most surprising album to date. I am not a fan of Beyoncé, but this album sure made me look twice at her featuring good vocals, rhythm and lyrics. Surprisingly good. You can't even tell it's a Beyoncé album, every song's got a story and distinction.
  13. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    This is definitely a departure in her sound compared to I Am... Sasha Fierce. What I love from this album is B's efforts to get back to traditional R&B sound without losing her modern contemporary sound at all. "Start Over" stands out the most for me, but "Dance for You" is the strongest track in the album. Overall, the album is solid and you can actually have a climax from the first toThis is definitely a departure in her sound compared to I Am... Sasha Fierce. What I love from this album is B's efforts to get back to traditional R&B sound without losing her modern contemporary sound at all. "Start Over" stands out the most for me, but "Dance for You" is the strongest track in the album. Overall, the album is solid and you can actually have a climax from the first to last track. Though there are four tracks that kind of ruin the album's harmony for me: "Rather Die Young", "End of Time", "Lay Up Under Me", and "Schoolin' Life". Other than these four, the album is gorgeous! Expand
  14. Nov 4, 2013
    7
    I appreciate the fact that Beyonce experiments and doesn't make generic music. This is one of her most mature work and this album includes some great midtempos. I only missed some uptempos and run the world was a disappointment for me. Overall it's a strong body of work and love on top the best thing i ever had are standout tracks.
  15. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    Looks like Beyoncé has came back stronger than ever with amazing ballads and amazing party anthems all in her masterpiece "4". I really wanted to see more collaborators but she made me believe that she need no other to make her albums sound good. A true masterpiece.
  16. Aug 7, 2013
    3
    Trash. The best song is Countdown. The album is full of ballads and the uptempo songs are annoying. This is Beyonces worst album to date, so don't get it.
  17. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    4 was a labor of love, as Beyonce said and it shows in each ballad, each over the top vocal bridge that she conquers in this album. The album puts R&B music right back on its track with 'I Care' and 'Love On Top'. 'I was here' inspires and 'I miss you' soothes the mind.
    An absolute expression of true and raw emotions through music.....by Mrs. Carter.
  18. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Bow Down It' The Queen!
    Beyonce's Best Album To Date Cant Get Any Better Than This!
  19. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Incredible vocal! Great songs and super Beyonce! This album deserves full 10/10 as you see that's not my personal opinion, most of the people who understand in music can't give it less than that.
  20. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Beyoncé it's not getting worse, she's going up, and this songs are an example of that evolution, the album presents very different songs, with more mature and emotional features, perfects to dance, relax, whatever you want to do! Great work.
  21. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is perhaps arguably 16 grammy award winner , Beyonce's best work to date. the singer dives into a personal pool of emotion , much different from her previous album (I am..sasha fierce) which focused on her alter ego, 4 as the singer says elaborates her most "defining moments". from the dark passionate vocals of "1+1". to the musically diverse harmonies of "countdown" in which the singer switches key octaves simultaneously at the opening of the song, to the simultaneous gloomy vocal harmonies to a guitar rift solo in "I care", 4 is nothing short of perfection. i recommend anyone who appreciates exceptional quality music to purchase this album. it will surely turn ones head to the popular pop/electro/house music that has been a rising trend for some years now, into something more meaningful Expand
  22. Jan 23, 2013
    2
    Everything on the album screams over-the-top feminism, and that would be fine if there was any substance to it. Alas, there isn't. Maybe "I Miss You", but that's about it. Everything else is just not enough. The problem with Be-nonsense is her inability to write anything. Sorry if you're butthurt, but it's just bad. I hated it. Go have some pie.
  23. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    My favourite of Beyoncé's four albums and its thanks to having a wide selection of songs rather than sticking to the one genre being R&B. It starts off slow but has everything once it kicks in with hits like Love On Top and Countdown. Easily her best work!
  24. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Best of her albums. This is clearly the best female work of 2011 and even 2012 ! my song is SCHOOLIN' LIFE and I love so much Love On Top & Party !
  25. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Beyonce's masterpiece. There's not much else to say... She really brought the vocals especially to this album. Some of the ballads are really amazing to listen to
  26. Nov 17, 2012
    7
    This is a very impressive album by all standards, but compare it with B'Day or ...Sasha Fierce and you'll probably be a bit disappointed. All the songs are good, however the only notable standout and potential hit is Best Thing I Never Had. It's a good album which unfortunately lacks potential hit singles.
  27. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    With "4" Beyoncé really proves that she is still the Queen of R&B. The album consists of soaring and emotional ballads like 1+1, I Care, I Miss You, Rather Die Young, I Was Here; amazing midtempos with sensual vocals - Party, Love on Top, Schoolin' Life and risky uptempos like End of Time, Countdown and Run the World (Girls). As a whole, the album is so cohesive and it is a piece of art.
  28. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    This album is a favorite ! Beyonce has amazing vocals, beats, videos, and choreograpy that sets her work apart from anyone else! Beyonce is the modern Janet Jackson and she is dominating for good reason. If you do not like/love this album then you dont know how to identify good music. She goes from sexy to rage to fun in a heartbeat, its so diverse! Buy this album seriously if you haventThis album is a favorite ! Beyonce has amazing vocals, beats, videos, and choreograpy that sets her work apart from anyone else! Beyonce is the modern Janet Jackson and she is dominating for good reason. If you do not like/love this album then you dont know how to identify good music. She goes from sexy to rage to fun in a heartbeat, its so diverse! Buy this album seriously if you havent already! No artist is touching this woman! Expand
  29. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    The best thing about "4" is the production. As a huge Beyonce fan, I've listened to each one of her albums hundreds of times. Looking back, some of her songs aren't as full as they could be, but this is not the case on "4". Every song is produced masterfully. Besides the production, I admire Beyonce for making an album that experiments with different sounds, and nods to so many differentThe best thing about "4" is the production. As a huge Beyonce fan, I've listened to each one of her albums hundreds of times. Looking back, some of her songs aren't as full as they could be, but this is not the case on "4". Every song is produced masterfully. Besides the production, I admire Beyonce for making an album that experiments with different sounds, and nods to so many different musical genres. The best song on the album is "Countdown". It's like the daughter of "Get Me Bodied". It's a jam for sure. It's one of those songs that you instantly enjoy, and never stop enjoying. "End Of Time" finds Beyonce moving beyond the boundaries of her own genre, and is a sonic masterpiece. The horns and drum line hit you right away, and make you wanna get up out of your seat and start marching. When the chorus kicks in, Beyonce's voice soars above the beat. Beyonce has always been great at half - rapping over hardcore beats, and this song further cements her as the queen of Hip Hop/R&B. The album's first half is full of ballads, the two best being "I Care" and the Frank Ocean penned "I Miss You". Beyonce sounds vulnerable, majestic, and commanding. You could throw away "Start Over" and "Rather Die Young", although I am a fan of the latter. "Love On Top" sounds like a mix of Whitney Houston and early Micheal Jackson, and the melody is very catchy, good luck not running around singing this song. The bonus material on the deluxe version is awesome. My favorite track is "Lay Up Under Me". "Schoolin' Life" is the most realistic song about Beyonce's life there could be, and reminds me of Prince. Overall, the album is great, minus one or two throw away tracks, it's definitely worth repeated listens. Highlights: "I Miss You" "I Care" "End of Time" "Countdown" "1+1" "Love On Top". Expand
  30. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    4 is Beyonce's Best album to date! Its sad that its her lowest selling one because this album is so beautiful. Should have won Best R&B album at the Grammys (or at least a nom smh) This album will stay in my heart forever, it has so much diversity that it will be a classic on its own.
  31. Jun 25, 2012
    6
    Beyonce has made an album that will keep her reputation as a powerhouse with vocals, but played it too safe with her songs.

    Highlight: Countdown

    Lowlight: Love on Top

    6/10
  32. May 31, 2012
    9
    Beyonce Show's Us She Can Make A Really Good Album! Her Last Albums Have Been Seen As "Shallow And Bland" This Album Gives You Wanting More From The Queen Of R&B
    I Enjoyed 90% Of The Album
  33. May 20, 2012
    10
    It's so sad how other reviewers rate this album 0 just to tear the general score down. The point of a review is to express your point of view on something, not to influence the general score.
    Hands off Beyonce'! Because the truth is she did it again! In my opinion this is her most complete album under many points of view. Beyoncè allowed artistic freedom to record songs in
    It's so sad how other reviewers rate this album 0 just to tear the general score down. The point of a review is to express your point of view on something, not to influence the general score.
    Hands off Beyonce'! Because the truth is she did it again! In my opinion this is her most complete album under many points of view. Beyoncè allowed artistic freedom to record songs in which she wanted the melody and lyrics to come together naturally. She mixed the 1970s R&B, the 1990s rock â
    Expand
  34. Apr 23, 2012
    8
    If you are not her stan or at least her fan it is impossible to be fond on it from the beginning. After awhile you realize is Beyoncé's best album. I think she could have done a very commercial album which includes very danceable and generic tracks and have # 1's with them but she preferred to not betraying herself as an artist. I think this album make her becoma an icon, sheIf you are not her stan or at least her fan it is impossible to be fond on it from the beginning. After awhile you realize is Beyoncé's best album. I think she could have done a very commercial album which includes very danceable and generic tracks and have # 1's with them but she preferred to not betraying herself as an artist. I think this album make her becoma an icon, she doesn't need of the high positions on charts to get that title. Expand
  35. Apr 14, 2012
    0
    I used to like Beyoncé, but unfortunately I'm so dissapointing with this album, it sounds so boring, repetitive and tired, hopefully her next album will be better.
  36. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is only ONE problem with 4, and it is not Beyoncé's fault, but the listener's. To enjoy this album, you have to listen from the beginning to the end, having in mind that this is Beyoncé's legacy. These are the songs she will still sing 20 years from now. The songs are timeless, meaningful. When I listen to 4, I hear everything a good pop album should be. It feels like a twelve stories building you are visiting, each song taking you higher and deeper into the icon's heart. And when you're done listening to I Was Here, you just feel so empty, that I would have hated this masterpiece if the upbeat Run The World was absent. Even though I hate this song, I think it's a very important part of 4; it allows us to really feel what this whole album is about without suffering from the emptiness and meaninglessness (?) of our lives. This is how I feel about Beyoncé's 4. I feel that she sings to us as an icon, not as a "friend" (which is the case most of the time in other mediocre pop albums) and this is how she does it. She is writing her legacy. Expand
  37. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    4 is the more developed, mature, and experienced sister album of 2006's B'Day. With convincing emotion, shocking vulnerability, and slick cohesive production to tie it altogether, Beyonce delivered the best album of 2011 and also her career.
  38. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    She changed a lot form "I Am.... Sasha Fierce" with this album! Good R&B songs, love her voice, her great voice!!! My favourite track is "Love On Top" And also "End Of Time" is good. ( sorry for my English )
  39. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    4 is the most evolved version of her past albums from B-Day up to I Am... Sasha Fierce. It is a total musical development in R&B. The vocals in Countdown, Love On Top, and Start Over are excellent. On the other hand, the musical and lyrical composition of I Was Here tried to be over-the-top that it does not even catch the emotions of the listeners. What I like most about this album is the4 is the most evolved version of her past albums from B-Day up to I Am... Sasha Fierce. It is a total musical development in R&B. The vocals in Countdown, Love On Top, and Start Over are excellent. On the other hand, the musical and lyrical composition of I Was Here tried to be over-the-top that it does not even catch the emotions of the listeners. What I like most about this album is the musical and strong lyrical compositions of 1+1, Best Thing I Never Had, I Care, Start Over, and Dreaming. These five songs deliver the sensation that will chill everyone's bones. 4 also offered some addictive tracks and danceable beats evidenced by End Of Time and Countdown. Dance For You is also an effective stripteasing slow jam matched with a complete package of vocal power shown by Beyonce Expand
  40. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of 2011. Stunning vocals, great production and amazingly innovative. I believe this is her best album to date. It it amazing how Beyoncé managed to reinvent herself. All of the tracks in this record are incredible, from the up-tempo 'Run the World (Girls)' to the 80's R&B-like 'Love On Top' this album is excellent. The first time I listened to it, I wasOne of the best albums of 2011. Stunning vocals, great production and amazingly innovative. I believe this is her best album to date. It it amazing how Beyoncé managed to reinvent herself. All of the tracks in this record are incredible, from the up-tempo 'Run the World (Girls)' to the 80's R&B-like 'Love On Top' this album is excellent. The first time I listened to it, I was very hesitant and wasn't very sure if it was a good move, but I can assure you that if you give it a chance, you will see how deep and well-developed this album is. I honestly cannot understand how The Recording Academy didn't include this record in the Album of the year nominations. Expand
  41. Jan 21, 2012
    0
    ... over produced to my likings, it just seems like she is yelling and just has no true emotions in it, sadly this album has great lyrics to songs, but the singer lacks in the ability to produce emotions. Poor beyonce, she tried but fell apart. :(
  42. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    Intimate, strong. Flirting with different types of styles, from R&B to brazilian beat, Beyonce's fourth album, named "4" is her very best until now. Her power ballads are sublime, her outrageous voice suits just with the experimental rhythms in some of the songs. The highlight is "Love On Top", a motown based song, remembering the best of Marvin Gaye or James Brown. It is a step ahead inIntimate, strong. Flirting with different types of styles, from R&B to brazilian beat, Beyonce's fourth album, named "4" is her very best until now. Her power ballads are sublime, her outrageous voice suits just with the experimental rhythms in some of the songs. The highlight is "Love On Top", a motown based song, remembering the best of Marvin Gaye or James Brown. It is a step ahead in Knowles's career, and it brought the R&B to a higher level. Expand
  43. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    Much more mature than her new albums. With the exception of "Run The World," the album contains fewer cliche dance numbers as noticed from her previous effort. The album is very well developed and contains the best Beyonce has to offer. Her ballads are the best they have ever been and keep the listener interested with her powerful voice. The overall quality displayed in this album isMuch more mature than her new albums. With the exception of "Run The World," the album contains fewer cliche dance numbers as noticed from her previous effort. The album is very well developed and contains the best Beyonce has to offer. Her ballads are the best they have ever been and keep the listener interested with her powerful voice. The overall quality displayed in this album is visible as Beyonce goes from song to song effortlessly. With songs like "Best Thing I Never Had," "Love On Top," "Party," and "End of Time," the listener notices a much more mature side to Beyonce. She's no longer trying to appeal to the radio with pop songs like that from her previous albums, but more for the listener to enjoy. Overall, it is a timeless album that one can listen to again and again and still feel freshed. Although some songs seem like fillers --Rather Die Young-- the rest of the album shines. Definitely one of the best albums of 2011. Expand
  44. DMB
    Dec 14, 2011
    7
    Beyonces best work. Her prior albums consisted of a few strong singles and alot of album filler. I found myself listening to less than half the album for IASF, BDAY, and DIL. 4 is a solid effort. I dont think its packed full of hits, but aside from Party and Rather Die You, the songs are quality songs. Fav songs: I Care, I Miss You, Start Over, End of Time
  45. Dec 12, 2011
    8
    Beyonce finally gives us a full album that keeps us moving all the way through! She proves on this record that she has a handle on r&b of the past ("Love on Top"), present ("Countdown"), and Future ("End of Time"). Hopefully we didn't write this album off as a result of the poor choice for lead single in "(Girls) Run the World", because nearly every track beats it in listenability.Beyonce finally gives us a full album that keeps us moving all the way through! She proves on this record that she has a handle on r&b of the past ("Love on Top"), present ("Countdown"), and Future ("End of Time"). Hopefully we didn't write this album off as a result of the poor choice for lead single in "(Girls) Run the World", because nearly every track beats it in listenability. Whether you want to party or stay home with someone special, this album has got something perfect for your evening. Expand
  46. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    '4' is Beyonce's best album to date. '4' outdoes 'Dangerously In Love', 'B'Day' and 'I Am... Sasha Fierce' by LEAPS AND BOUNDS. The best R&B album of 2011. It is a crying shame how it was snubbed at the Grammy Nominations. Reminiscent of 70's, 80's and 90's R&B and soul, '4' is a throwback to the days when live instrumentation, brilliant lyricism and exceptional vocal ability ruled'4' is Beyonce's best album to date. '4' outdoes 'Dangerously In Love', 'B'Day' and 'I Am... Sasha Fierce' by LEAPS AND BOUNDS. The best R&B album of 2011. It is a crying shame how it was snubbed at the Grammy Nominations. Reminiscent of 70's, 80's and 90's R&B and soul, '4' is a throwback to the days when live instrumentation, brilliant lyricism and exceptional vocal ability ruled American airwaves instead of auto-tuned, electro-pop, dance crap. Every song is beautifully written, produced and sang. '4' is mostly about monogamy; after listening to this, you will know for a fact that she loves her husband with all her heart. The album is diverse; '4' consists of powerful ballads like '1+1' and 'I Miss You', smooth old-school R&B jams like 'Party' and 'Rather Die Young', rousing girl power anthems like 'Best Thing I Never Had' and 'Run the World (Girls)' (the latter, I am embarrassed to like because I'm a guy) and club bangers like 'Countdown' and 'End of Time'. Beyonce flaunts her astonishing vocal talent on tracks like 'Start Over', 'Love On Top' and 'I Was Here'. The very best songs on '4', however, are the bonus tracks included on the Target Deluxe Edition. 'Lay Up Under Me', a funk-filled song pulled straight out of the disco, 'Schoolin' Life' a fun rock-tinged song reminiscent of Prince and the slow and sexy 'Dance for You' enhance the overall album greatly. Get out of your computer chair, go to the nearest music store and buy '4' now. It is worth every dollar you spend and then some. Expand
  47. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    My girl. Bey. Girl. You put the snooze on us. What are you gonna do to give me my money back for this garbage? Cut me a check girl because I gave you my first week coins too!
  48. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    After YEARS of stealing REAL ARTIST'S music, choreography, and concepts and TAKING CREDIT for them. BeYAWNce is OFFICIALLY done. She's over. The album is a FAILURE. No one cares. OFFICIALLY 4CLOSED.
  49. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    I'd rather die than have to listen to this CD. It's an A1 Certified Hot Mess. The only good song is a REALLY good song called "Miss You" which is a shame it's on this CD. This boring album is what we've come ot expect from the queen of 4closure.
  50. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    I was hoping BeYAWNce had changed her swaggerjacking ways, but it's clear she's only gotten worse. She need to listen to her own song, "Ego," and humble herself for once. Better luck next time, BIONCI.
  51. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    AFTER HEARING THIS ALBUM I CAN TELL YOU I WON'T BE REMEMBERING IT A FEW DAYS FROM NOW. THANK GOD. IT'S AWFUL. I HAD TO SET AN ALARM ON MY CELLPHONE TO WAKE ME UP WHEN IT'S DONE IT BORED ME TO SLEEP.
  52. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    I can't with this album. It was supposed to be flawless and it turned into a giant flop. Very un4tunate. I can't at them not releasing the best song on the album, "End of Time." So pathetic.
  53. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    A tasteless bore of an album. Typical of BeYAWNce. The album was supposed to be her grand artistic statement and it shows that she has no artistry. It's fitting that the album was only nominated for 2 minor Grammy awards. Without the help of her Daddy Papa Knowles, the album was a certified 4lop.
  54. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    I heard a lot of smack from BEYONCE STANS. Saying this and that about 4lop saying it's a "timeless and classic record" PULEAZE. This album is a hot mess. It can't be listened to in one sitting. It's awful and they can write as many fake reviews as they want. The album sucks.
  55. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    Yo not feelin this CD at all. Where's my grrrl at? BEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This CD is a snooze! Grrrl get it togetha!!!!!!!!!!!!!! "Best Hit I Never Had" is good tho
  56. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    If I Can Say One Thing About This Album. It's Bad. Just Bad. Everything Beyonce Stands For: Fun. Dance. Slaying. A Complete. Let Down. Too Many Awkward Ballads And Not Enough Club Bangers. The Songs That Are On Here Are She Screams The Whole Time. She's Trying To Prove She's Not Just A Pop Artist, But That's Why We Love Her.
  57. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    THIS ALBUM WAS WHACK. I can't believe the same artist who gave us "Crazy in Love," "Irreplaceable" and "Single Ladies" made this boring album. It was a step in the wrong direction. All these petty slow songs could have been on a better album
  58. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    The album was an utter disappointment. Bey was trying to make Adele's "21" for R&B and it didn't work. The album's ballads would shine a midst more uptempo songs, but there are only 3 or 4 non-ballad songs on the album making it droning. A huge disappointment
  59. Dec 3, 2011
    8
    This is one of Beyonce's most cohesive works yet. The album is full of R and B Nostalgia. Beyonce has never been more confident vocally and more poignant with emotion. The albums opener 1 + 1 is a true artistic choice that is very admirable. Listening to four sounds like the best elements of R and B from the last 40 years but with a modern twist. Only Beyonce could do this. TheThis is one of Beyonce's most cohesive works yet. The album is full of R and B Nostalgia. Beyonce has never been more confident vocally and more poignant with emotion. The albums opener 1 + 1 is a true artistic choice that is very admirable. Listening to four sounds like the best elements of R and B from the last 40 years but with a modern twist. Only Beyonce could do this. The problem with this album is how it fits into the current market. But an album like this is not for the times, its for the history books. Expand
  60. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Great album. One of the best of the year or even last decade. This isn't about radio hits, it's about REAL music. Beyonce shows off her voice in this one and she can SANG!
  61. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    After a pack full of random styles that was I Am... Sasha Fierce, Beyoncé comes with her most touching, brave and bold record. 4, an album made by their midtempos, is her strongest yet.
  62. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    WOW... Can Beyonce be any better? She's phenomenal. The album is perfect. Her vocals and delivery have never been better. She has nothing left to prove in the music business, she's a LEGEND.
  63. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing album from start to finish. The production, lyrics and vocals are superior to any pop album released in the longest while. Beyonce has outdone herself with '4'
  64. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    First notes of 1+1, the new Beyoncéâ
  65. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    All about that voice! Beyonce shows off her voice on this record. No need for effects or auto-tune, just her pure and real voice! A very rare thing in mainstream pop music today. '4' is a timeless pop record that will stand the test of time.
  66. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I love Beyonce and upon first listen, i wasn't sure how i felt about the album, but after the second & Third listen, I appreciated everything about the album, the production, the songwriting, the lyrical content, and her vocal performances. This is by far he best conceptual album to date.
  67. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    Beyonce has really matured and this album shows it. This is her best album and of course, it reach number one. Nice production, sound, lyrics, and songs. Keep up the good work, B.
  68. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    Personally I don't mind if Beyonce sales are getting lower each album released, that's the trend nowadays. All I know is "4" is her best album to date. Dangerously in love was 70% fillers; B'Day was ok but there were just a few moments of real vocal amazingness; Sasha was overproduced and there were awful contrasts behind the concept of that alter-ego duel. 4 sounds more confident andPersonally I don't mind if Beyonce sales are getting lower each album released, that's the trend nowadays. All I know is "4" is her best album to date. Dangerously in love was 70% fillers; B'Day was ok but there were just a few moments of real vocal amazingness; Sasha was overproduced and there were awful contrasts behind the concept of that alter-ego duel. 4 sounds more confident and honest, there's a bit of everything Beyonce really knows how to do, there seems to be a heart in every song. The trouble with Run the World as a 1st single had happened several times in the history of pop music, it was a risky decision and probably too avant-gard (might sound a cliche, i know) - i guess we weren't ready for such sound in an era of auto-tune and gaga/kesha-esque productions. Expand
  69. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    '4' is Beyonce best vocal offering to date. It shows her growth not only vocally, but as an overall artist. She proves that she is the voice, artist, and performer of our generation. '4' proves Beyonce is rare. Great album, that will stand the test of time.
  70. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I knoe a lot of the songs on this and best thing i never had and run the world girls! Hope she makes another album like this! I really like this style of Beyonce!
  71. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    with this album, beyonce proved her vocal abilities.. she sacrificed making #1 records for making quality music with great lyrics, and in the end we get a product that seems more mature and raw.. the emotion you hear in beyonce's voice is stunning. there are plenty of tracks that deserve recognition including Start Over, I Miss You, 1+1, and I Was Here; but these are DEFINITELY not thewith this album, beyonce proved her vocal abilities.. she sacrificed making #1 records for making quality music with great lyrics, and in the end we get a product that seems more mature and raw.. the emotion you hear in beyonce's voice is stunning. there are plenty of tracks that deserve recognition including Start Over, I Miss You, 1+1, and I Was Here; but these are DEFINITELY not the only hits on the album. i think every single song on the album is amazing in it's own right, and the more you listen to them the more they grow on you. Expand
  72. Aug 29, 2011
    7
    Please excuse my English, I'm a French guy.
    I think this is the first Beyoncé's album I like. The old jam influenced songs give this album some personality. The first time I looked at the cover and the tracklist, I would think this album would be very 'conceptual'. And it is not-so cliché. I love the featuring from Andre 3000, which brings some freshness to
    Please excuse my English, I'm a French guy.
    I think this is the first Beyoncé's album I like. The old jam influenced songs give this album some personality. The first time I looked at the cover and the tracklist, I would think this album would be very 'conceptual'. And it is not-so cliché. I love the featuring from Andre 3000, which brings some freshness to 'Party'. In terms of ballads, I love 'I Was Here', which is very surprising from Beyoncé.

    I also liked the fact that Beyoncé improved herself to choose some producers or writing some excerpts of the songs. Diplo made a good job on 'End of Time'.
    Expand
  73. Aug 29, 2011
    7
    Beyonce is quite possibly one of the best musicians of the modern day world. She has the talent and the looks. With '4' Bey shows her true side, expressing every emotion she has. There is a lot to this album. It's more 'Irreplaceable' than 'Single Ladies'. Most of the songs are soulful and express Beyonce's true side.
  74. Aug 23, 2011
    7
    "4" Was certainly an album no one expected Beyonce to deliver. Its very different than her normal radio friendly filled albums. She basically released every song on her last album. Shes changed and went for a more genuine and raw sound. Very R&B and Soul influenced. Her voice has never shined better than it does here. Unfortunately the album as a whole just doesn't grip me in the way past"4" Was certainly an album no one expected Beyonce to deliver. Its very different than her normal radio friendly filled albums. She basically released every song on her last album. Shes changed and went for a more genuine and raw sound. Very R&B and Soul influenced. Her voice has never shined better than it does here. Unfortunately the album as a whole just doesn't grip me in the way past efforts have but I can feel her emotions oozing from these songs. You wont find a more raw album this year than "4." It's a very retro CD and very risky.
    Standouts: I Care, Love On Top and Countdown
    Expand
  75. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    "4" by Beyonce is one of the best albums I've heard in the past 2 years. Beyonce took a step above everybody with 4. The album sounds nothing like other Beyonce albums, by this album you can tell Beyonce has matured. Imma start with my cons of the album though: in some songs I think Beyonce over sung a little for an example in "Start Over" I expected her to stay at a softer pace longer"4" by Beyonce is one of the best albums I've heard in the past 2 years. Beyonce took a step above everybody with 4. The album sounds nothing like other Beyonce albums, by this album you can tell Beyonce has matured. Imma start with my cons of the album though: in some songs I think Beyonce over sung a little for an example in "Start Over" I expected her to stay at a softer pace longer than she did. Another con on the album is some of its lyrics. In "I Care" she said "see these tears falling down to my ears" that makes no sense and I'm glad she said it only once. In "Rather die young" she sounds a bit stalkerish with lyrics saying "I rather die young then live my life with out you... I rather not live" thats really all of the cons, for the pro's: She matured and this album proves that. Songs like 1+1, I was here and I miss you shows Beyonce maturity in her voice. Her hook on I miss you is epic. My favorite song is "Love on top" it has a Stevie Wonder, Michael Jackson sound to it and Beyonce simply slays every note on that song. Overall the album was good, more women will like this album then her male fans because many of the songs are her being in love except "countdown". For the album itself I would give it an 8 or 8.5 but after listening to the bonus tracks I have no choice but to give her a 10. "Dance for you" is probably the best slow song I've heard in a while maybe since "Disappear" on I am Sasha Fierce. Expand
  76. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    Beyonce's best album to date. She shows she is in a league of her own. Her vocals have never been better. On songs like 'I Was Here,' 'I Care,' 'I Miss You,' she sings with so much conviction and passion. Favorites include Countdown, End of Time & Best Thing I Never Had. Good job Bey.
  77. Aug 10, 2011
    1
    Beyonce got boring. Sure she can sing and dance - but the problem is what shes singing :/
  78. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Beyoncé's best album! 4 is a masterpiece, it doesn't follow the trashy top charters songs nowadays, it's creative, pure, genuine and have such quality that you cannot stop playing it, and it's an album that you can't skip one single song. Everything sounds magical, very deep, we can clearly see that Beyoncé put all her love and soul into this record. She knowsBeyoncé's best album! 4 is a masterpiece, it doesn't follow the trashy top charters songs nowadays, it's creative, pure, genuine and have such quality that you cannot stop playing it, and it's an album that you can't skip one single song. Everything sounds magical, very deep, we can clearly see that Beyoncé put all her love and soul into this record. She knows perfectly what she does, she's the type of woman that you can't predict her next move, she will always surprise you and she can do no wrong, that's only one of the reasons why I respect her so much, she's a huge inspiration for me and so many others.
    It's a perfect album, I bet you won't even be able to choose your favorite track! All hail to the Queen!
    Expand
  79. Aug 1, 2011
    4
    it sounds repetitive and uninspired .she just tried to copy janelle monae.Come one beyonce be creative not just use JZ to produce your album .The first single was terrible and a lot of fans said the same .Run the word girls? come one beyonce that was a terrible single
  80. Jul 28, 2011
    7
    The album isn't the best I've heard from Beyonce. Yet, I cannot say I am bitterly disappointment. The ballads are just heart-nudging! It moves you, it lights a fire within your soul! Songs such as: Dreaming and Best Thing I Never Had are prefect for any season of the year. They resonate, they relate. But, we cannot also forget the dance-a-thons such as: End of Time or Countdown. They areThe album isn't the best I've heard from Beyonce. Yet, I cannot say I am bitterly disappointment. The ballads are just heart-nudging! It moves you, it lights a fire within your soul! Songs such as: Dreaming and Best Thing I Never Had are prefect for any season of the year. They resonate, they relate. But, we cannot also forget the dance-a-thons such as: End of Time or Countdown. They are simply electrifying. The beats are fast and rhythmic and they get your waist in that gyrating sensation! Just give me some more!

    Yet, with the highs, there are lows. Some other songs are simply average, or worst, bad. Still, a fine effort by Queen B---nothing to scoff at, at all!
    Expand
  81. Jul 19, 2011
    6
    The album is a disaster, a wreck, musically terrible. Well, that was before I've listened to the whole album. I understand what Beyonce is trying to do. She doesn't want to be as commercial as on her previous effort. She wants to be seen as a serious artist with serious songs as she left the Gaga-esque field and went with more live-Solange-like instruments and melodies. I've also noticedThe album is a disaster, a wreck, musically terrible. Well, that was before I've listened to the whole album. I understand what Beyonce is trying to do. She doesn't want to be as commercial as on her previous effort. She wants to be seen as a serious artist with serious songs as she left the Gaga-esque field and went with more live-Solange-like instruments and melodies. I've also noticed that she went back to the DC roots (Party, Love on Top). Which is good. The album flows really well. '4' is without a doubt the least commercial Beyonce album ever, and at the same time the most mature album in her career. I'm glad that she distanced herself from all the Pop garbage (Gaga, Britney, Kesha) and took a risk. She took a risk by going back to R'n'B, and artistically, it payed off. Expand
  82. HFK
    Jul 13, 2011
    10
    You can hear that Beyoncé didn't made this album for the money. She experiments with different genres and you can hear those musical influences. This is without a doubt my favourite Beyoncé album. Beyoncé won six Grammy's with her previous album I Am... Sasha Fierce so i predict that she's gonna win twice as much as next year. Probably the best albumYou can hear that Beyoncé didn't made this album for the money. She experiments with different genres and you can hear those musical influences. This is without a doubt my favourite Beyoncé album. Beyoncé won six Grammy's with her previous album I Am... Sasha Fierce so i predict that she's gonna win twice as much as next year. Probably the best album of 2011. Lady GaGa, i bet it sucks to be you right now! Expand
  83. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If Beyoncé wanted to make an album different from the last, she made it! She could mix a lots of rythms as she wanted to. Even though people didn't hope a spectacular performance on charts, the quality of the album guaranteed the success. The best in the CD is End of Time, Love On Top and Run The World (Girls) Expand
  84. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    If you don't like this album, you should really question your taste in music. I love it because it has a different sound. Unlike most of her musical peers, she didn't go the techno-pop route which made me love this album even more. You can tell all of her songs came from the heart. The only thing that I have to say is that I don't think "Run The World (Girls)" fits into the album AT ALL.If you don't like this album, you should really question your taste in music. I love it because it has a different sound. Unlike most of her musical peers, she didn't go the techno-pop route which made me love this album even more. You can tell all of her songs came from the heart. The only thing that I have to say is that I don't think "Run The World (Girls)" fits into the album AT ALL. Other than that, the album is flawless. Expand
  85. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    4 is a classic album that you will be able to enjoy for years to come. Unlike other albums by major artists these days, Beyonce is not aiming to fit in with the current trends with this album and instead is in a lane of her own. The album has a strong old-school, feel-good vibe going on with alot of the songs. With true emotion and a powerful voice beautifully controlled conveyed on most4 is a classic album that you will be able to enjoy for years to come. Unlike other albums by major artists these days, Beyonce is not aiming to fit in with the current trends with this album and instead is in a lane of her own. The album has a strong old-school, feel-good vibe going on with alot of the songs. With true emotion and a powerful voice beautifully controlled conveyed on most songs... 4 is definately not a throw-away album. On first listen some Beyonce fans may be a little underwhelmed by the lack of up-tempos but in the long-run this will be an album they will grow to adore. There are some songs you'll be able to groove to with mom and dad in the car (e.g. Party and Love on Top)... Songs you can sing to your special someone (1+1, Rather Die Young, End of Time). Countdown and Run the World (Girls) are the two modern sounding up-tempos but are just as good and still fit in with the album. Even the deluxe edition songs are just as good. Essentially this is an album worth buying and can be enjoyed by people of all ages.... and if one day you wake up and find your Beyonce 4 missing, don't worry it's most likely in your moms car. LOL Expand
  86. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    "4" is refreshing! It shows Beyoncé's continued growth as an artist. Musically, sonically, vocally, this is unlike anything that we have ever heard from her. I love that this album was unpredictable. Beyoncé has once again allowed us to see her at her very best. There is nothing playing on the airwaves that compares to the genius that is "4". All of"4" is refreshing! It shows Beyoncé's continued growth as an artist. Musically, sonically, vocally, this is unlike anything that we have ever heard from her. I love that this album was unpredictable. Beyoncé has once again allowed us to see her at her very best. There is nothing playing on the airwaves that compares to the genius that is "4". All of Beyoncé's albums are collectable pieces of art, whose value will continue to appreciate with time. This new album "4", is timeless and in my opinion her best work. An instant classic! Many may try, but there is only one Beyoncé! Expand
  87. Jul 7, 2011
    9
    Beyonce has been in the game for almost 15 years now and this album shows how maturer she has become and how much she has grown as an artist. She doesn't want to be just a superstar anymore - she wants to be a legend and she feels like she already is a legend. And legends are allowed to take risks - furthermore, they're supposed to take risks. This album is full of beautiful risks.
    Every
    Beyonce has been in the game for almost 15 years now and this album shows how maturer she has become and how much she has grown as an artist. She doesn't want to be just a superstar anymore - she wants to be a legend and she feels like she already is a legend. And legends are allowed to take risks - furthermore, they're supposed to take risks. This album is full of beautiful risks.
    Every song on the album is such a beautiful piece of art - starting with 1+1, an ode of love with strong vocals, I Care and I Miss You - you get the most emotional side of the love ballads. Best Thing I Never had is one of the highlights of the album with its catchy sound and unforgettable funny lyrics. Party is another funny song. Even though it's not what its title supposes it to be, the song is really nice with some 90s sound. After that we have some more ballads with mid-tempo sound - Rather Die Young and Start Over. Whereas the first impresses with it's melodic beautiful sound, Start Over is one of the strongest songs in vocal terms on the album. After Start Over, we get nothing but potential smashes and solid songs. Love On Top is one of the best here. After it Countdown and End of Time are the ones with the biggest potential to be smash hits and sit on the top of the charts for a while. Both are really melodic and have catchy sound. I Was Here is another vocally strong ballad, which is very appreciated by the fans because of its message. Run The World (Girls) closes the set with style.
    Even though the tracks are really risky because they are so different from everything on the radio, at the end of the day the quality is the thing that matters and an artist like Beyonce deserve all the support and the success, because to have the courage to not follow the trends, but inventing the new trends is what must be appreciated the best.
    Expand
  88. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    This is by far my favorite Beyonce album. I enjoyed every song. I was expecting an album full of the dance songs that all pop artists seem to be doing these days.
    Instead got a cohesive album with some of the best songs I've heard all year.
  89. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    Very entertaining album. So much growth. Any one that thinks otherwise is probably into the RIhanna. Lady Gaga pop rubbish that 10yrs from now, they will be thinking what was i thinking listening to a Gaga or Rihanna music. If you want great lyrical content "4" is the one for you.
  90. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    A dynamic artist serving her most mature and by far diverse album thus far, Beyonce has done it again. In continuing her reign as global icon, '4' introduces a side of Beyonce the world has yet to see. There's no stopping her. This album is definitely one to remember.
  91. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Beyonce has shown growth vocally and artistically with this album. Each song is different sound and is also cohesive. I am a satisfied with the producing, writing and direction she went with this era. Good Job King.
  92. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    I feel that this album is one of the most risky of the year and definitely of Beyoncé's career. She has totally moved away from mainstream trends to bring something that is fresher, more pure, and more exciting than most pop music out now. The album is her most coherent and finds the singer struggling with problems that go deeper than those of the dance floor. The part ofI feel that this album is one of the most risky of the year and definitely of Beyoncé's career. She has totally moved away from mainstream trends to bring something that is fresher, more pure, and more exciting than most pop music out now. The album is her most coherent and finds the singer struggling with problems that go deeper than those of the dance floor. The part of the CD is her singing by far, the showcasing of her remarkable talent that sets her apart from most "singers." Still I wish there were more up-tempos on the album, but I am more than happy with the emotion I am given in the production, songwriting, and her beautiful voice. Expand
  93. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    I'm a guy and i liked this album. I'm straight also. Countdown is my favorite song on the album. that song is great. there are other songs i liked but that one song stood out the most. i liked the album it was weird. 7 out of 10 it wasn't horrible.
  94. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    "4" is a very surprising release from someone who's used to having massive commercial success; it's artful. Instead of focusing on generic lyrics and beats, Beyoncè instead ops for production that won't be found on the radio, but instead come straight from her own creativity. Everything about this album screams "Beyoncè", from the layered vocals, to the relentless"4" is a very surprising release from someone who's used to having massive commercial success; it's artful. Instead of focusing on generic lyrics and beats, Beyoncè instead ops for production that won't be found on the radio, but instead come straight from her own creativity. Everything about this album screams "Beyoncè", from the layered vocals, to the relentless piano, to the sassy "I'm the f*cking best" attitude. If you want something different with some effort put into it, "4" is for you. Expand
  95. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    Fans of B'Day and Sasha Fierce maybe a little crestfallen with this ballad heavy album (if so, look for Run the World (Girls), Countdown, End of Time, and Schoolin' Life) but it shines above most other mainstream albums from this year, and I feel it seems like a perfect sequel to I Am... The mid-tempos show a small glimpse of her hip-hop and dance sound that she boasted in her secondFans of B'Day and Sasha Fierce maybe a little crestfallen with this ballad heavy album (if so, look for Run the World (Girls), Countdown, End of Time, and Schoolin' Life) but it shines above most other mainstream albums from this year, and I feel it seems like a perfect sequel to I Am... The mid-tempos show a small glimpse of her hip-hop and dance sound that she boasted in her second studio album and the signature R&B/Soul ballads are all on par, if not beyond, songs such as "Halo" and "If I Were A Boy". Whether it is a grooving, uplifting dance track or a beautiful soul masterpiece, this album, whether partially or in its entirety, is sure to appeal to most all of old and new Beyoncé fans. Expand
  96. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    Who can improve I am... Sasha Fierce? Only Beyonce cans, And she did it? Maybe yes, maybe not. But who cares? This is a completely new album, different and personal. She has experimented onto herself, "it´s not pop, not r&b...is just everything she loves" PRINCE, WITHNEY HOUSTON, MAJOR LAZER and africans sounds, also 70`s and 80`s sounds... Maybe the songs aren´tWho can improve I am... Sasha Fierce? Only Beyonce cans, And she did it? Maybe yes, maybe not. But who cares? This is a completely new album, different and personal. She has experimented onto herself, "it´s not pop, not r&b...is just everything she loves" PRINCE, WITHNEY HOUSTON, MAJOR LAZER and africans sounds, also 70`s and 80`s sounds... Maybe the songs aren´t hits or full sold succeses...but is "good music" music from the soul, only Beyonce cans do it and sing it. 4 brings us the perfect sounds of a wonderful woman voice, is like watching a Beyonce´s Live Concert, strenght, sensibility, dreams,hope,love... Is just nice, and i can´t stop to watch it, "End Of Time","I Care","Countdown" or "Love on top" are my favourites. I hope one of these songs will be succesful, because Bey has to do it again, she has to conquer all of us, now or never. Expand
  97. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    I have to admit - it took Run The World (Girls) a while until I understood the genious of it. But once I got into it - I couldn't stop listenning to it. Same thing happened with 4. I had to give it a few listens until I realised how good it is. It really is a brilliant album, and Beyonce proves once again that she doesn't gimmics and conterversy in order to put a good album. She only needsI have to admit - it took Run The World (Girls) a while until I understood the genious of it. But once I got into it - I couldn't stop listenning to it. Same thing happened with 4. I had to give it a few listens until I realised how good it is. It really is a brilliant album, and Beyonce proves once again that she doesn't gimmics and conterversy in order to put a good album. She only needs her huge talent. And it works. Expand
  98. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is what we needed from Beyoncé after I Am...Sasha Fierce it's so perfectly hot, I remember listening while I was walking and I was surprised by every song I simply enjoyed every work in every track. Well Done!!! Expand
  99. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    Just when you think you have summed up Beyonce, She comes up with a sound that surpasses genre specification. The production of this album is so good, her vocals are gracioslly well controlled,and the emotions are saw raw,her homaqe to many musical eras work cohesively to produce this masterpiece
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    80
    The lyrics are occasionally hackneyed, but overall 4 is a very strong record indeed. [Sep 2011, p.79]
  2. Aug 16, 2011
    60
    At Glastonbury she dazzled; here she plays it safe. [Sept. 2011, p. 105]
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    70
    While I suspect 4 was made in large part to sound more natural and real, it doesn't succeed entirely. The album is a refreshingly understated change from the constantly banging and bumping sound of modern R&B, but it doesn't really bring us closer to the Queen B.