6 Feet Beneath the Moon

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    8
    An avant-garde standard album set not to be loved but to be understood. King Krule gives us his heart, interwoven with the sounds of his head. With every listen one seamlessly flows through the echos and grunts and glitch of his voice, simultaneously flowing in the web of lush sounds- predominantly with the guitar. King Krule however, isn't the first to be different, he simply owns his.An avant-garde standard album set not to be loved but to be understood. King Krule gives us his heart, interwoven with the sounds of his head. With every listen one seamlessly flows through the echos and grunts and glitch of his voice, simultaneously flowing in the web of lush sounds- predominantly with the guitar. King Krule however, isn't the first to be different, he simply owns his. His voice in no way brings down the album, but it does leave you only scratching its surface. Sit back and listen to a king work, knowing fully well that all he has is a crown. How much more can he give before he finally has a kingdom? Time will tell, but for now he reigns over his own. Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    What I love about King Krule is that he is hugely talented, vocally unique, angry and heavy lyrics.
    This is a great debut for the 19-year-old Archy Marshall.
  3. Duu
    Oct 10, 2013
    1
    This albums rating is based on the fact that people who like this are really saying they like something that is different. But at the same time, this is not even music. This is more like spoken word. And as spoken word, it is not even that good. It is just words being rhymed tritely. This music is a joke that only charlatan could come up with.
  4. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    A completely different touch... I believe that there are always people like Archy that appear somewheres in a middle of nowhere, in a middle of a mainstream music era. I may sound hypocritical and cynical but most, if not all, of the bands that appear on the headlines of each and every magazine you rear are either "indie" (and I'm using this word very loosely), synth-pop, alternative orA completely different touch... I believe that there are always people like Archy that appear somewheres in a middle of nowhere, in a middle of a mainstream music era. I may sound hypocritical and cynical but most, if not all, of the bands that appear on the headlines of each and every magazine you rear are either "indie" (and I'm using this word very loosely), synth-pop, alternative or indietronika. Like James Murphy said in "I'm Losing My Edge": "I hear that you and your band have sold your guitars and bought turntables.
    I hear that you and your band have sold your turntables and bought guitars." Modern musicians think that it's critical for you to decide your genre and make music that belongs and fits into description of any successful band of 21st century. Archy's not like that. Many may argue that things that he makes are just a bunch of beat patterns or that people who like this kind of music are arrogant but I should just say, that in my opinion 6 Feet Beneath The Moon provides us with beautiful, immersive rhythm, melody and exemplary lyrics that truly make us connect our humble souls to the one of a ginger englishman, one with a truly sacred heart. This will be a record that will be hated by ones and adored by the others. I belong in the second group. This all is just my opinion but I also secretly want to persuade you to re-listen to this album with lyrics right by your side. Nothing helps you understand the record better that understanding every single world a musician has to say to his audience.
    Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2015
    8
    This is a pretty tight album with really draining emotions that perfectly embodies the discontent and self loathing that follows a bad breakup. It also extends his vocals and aesthetics from his ep.
  6. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Everything about his music seems to connect to those who understand and feel what he does. He also makes his music interesting to listen to if you don't like his lyrics
  7. May 23, 2017
    9
    Love this album, It has such an out of this world yet grounded feel to it. i always imagine walking the empty city streets at night alone. Archie's voice (compimented by his strong accent) is very unique, his singing has an uncanny ring to it. The songs are very energetic, yet at times mellow, full of angst yet full of sorrow. It's a moody and groovy album, which I think is extraordinary.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 27, 2014
    80
    Though a little limited on variation, 6 Feet Beneath The Moon's careful balance between comedown cook and genuine emotion suggests a new king for both club kids and guitar vets has (finally) arisen. [Oct 2013, p.105]
  2. Mojo
    Sep 20, 2013
    80
    When ghost-dub closer bathed In Grey plumbs its valedictory depths and suggests a young Matt Johnson, the loose-but-precise whole seems starkly impressive. [Oct 2013, p.87]
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    40
    There are plenty of nicely recorded aural treats dotted across 6 Feet Beneath The Moon, but they're swimming in a sea of dull mediocrity.