7th Symphony

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
7th Symphony Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Finnish metal band's seventh album features guest appearances by Gavin Rossdale, Brent Smith, Dave Lombardo, Lacey Mosley, and Joe Duplantier.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Jive
  • Genre(s): Classical, Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Classical Crossover, Neo-Classical Metal, Progressive Metal
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Not Strong Enough
I'm not strong enough to stay away. Can't run from you I just run back to you. Like a moth I'm drawn in to your flame, Say my name, but it's not the... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. With production by Joe Barresi (Coheed and Cambria, Queens of the Stone Age) and Howard Benson (Three Days Grace, My Chemical Romance), Apocalyptica continues to impress with its unique ability to meld classical with metal.
  2. It's all good fun and makes the most of its human components, but there isn't much here that emerges as truly awe-inspiring or anything else other than a jolly good jam between chums. Of course, if that's all that's needed for Apocalyptica to remain among Finland's most popular imports, then for now, at least, it's still job done.
  3. The best track on 7th Symphony is "2010," which features a guest performance by Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo, who drives the music ferociously, a speeding train straight into hell. But too often, using cellos to play metal riffs (as on "Bring Them to Light," which features vocalist Joseph Duplantier of French avant-metallers Gojira) just winds up making the album sound like "A String Tribute To [Insert Metal Band Here]," and not in the cool, rethinking-the-material way that earlier Apocalyptica releases did.
  4. Revolver
    Having tasted success, it's not surprising that most of the vocal tracks on 7th Symphony are decidedly commercial. Almost to counter that, however, Apocalyptica's instrumental pieces are among their heaviest and most grandiose yet. [Sep/Oct 2010, p.90]
  5. 7th Symphony feels like an album that's 60% true artistic vision and 40% simply borrowed from the mainstream to fill out the track listing. If Apocalyptica can craft songwriting that's unique, mature and deep, they should include it on the next album. If not, they should just stick to the instrumentals.
  6. Kerrang!
    The instrumental epics remain compelling, but, as a complete work, this is too enveloped in its diverse attempts to please everyone to truly wow anybody from start to finish. [21 Aug 2010 ,p.51]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of