808s & Heartbreak

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 474 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 474

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WillD
    Feb 5, 2009
    2
    This album straight sucks...plain and simple. I want my money back! This is not the Kanye West I paid 15.00 to hear.
  2. TaariqueD
    Mar 20, 2009
    1
    Here's what I think: how about we give it a 1 for Heartless? It's catchy until you've listened to it for a few times. As for the rest of the album: no thanks. Some artists CAN decide to try another genre and do a good job with it, but others (like Kanye West) should keep doing what they're good at, or at least make some very high-production songs in their new genre. I Here's what I think: how about we give it a 1 for Heartless? It's catchy until you've listened to it for a few times. As for the rest of the album: no thanks. Some artists CAN decide to try another genre and do a good job with it, but others (like Kanye West) should keep doing what they're good at, or at least make some very high-production songs in their new genre. I don't know, but I think this style is better suited to Mariah Carey or Beyoncé. For a (now ex-) rapper to be singing songs like these, even if they do come from the heart, just doesn't fit. Expand
  3. JimmyBluntz
    Nov 26, 2008
    2
    How the mighty have fallen, the innovator is now the imitator. Kayne used to be the breath of fresh air in an otherwise played out, commercialized genre. I can respect Kanye doing something off the beaten path of his usual, but is it really necessary to use the Vocal Auto-Tuner on every track? This album feels like it was thrown together to be released for the Christmas sales rush. Why How the mighty have fallen, the innovator is now the imitator. Kayne used to be the breath of fresh air in an otherwise played out, commercialized genre. I can respect Kanye doing something off the beaten path of his usual, but is it really necessary to use the Vocal Auto-Tuner on every track? This album feels like it was thrown together to be released for the Christmas sales rush. Why else would he abuse the vocal auto-tuner that is so popular right now? I mean, Jim Jones now has a track out that uses this crap. I like Dip-Set, but come on! There are going to be people that say this album is genius and that Kanye ventured out to create something different, and yet others that feel they wasted their money on straight garbage (myself included). There are maybe 2 tracks that I could somewhat listen to all the way (I have yet to listen to the entire album just because I can't stand this commercial garbage). Kayne, you went 2 for 12, a 16% total rating. I went into this album expecting great things, but all I got was a lot of Heartbreak. Expand
  4. kkrana
    Nov 28, 2008
    0
    no comments.....
  5. RossAldentaler
    Nov 29, 2008
    0
    This album is terrible, Kanye should have saved it until after he was dead.
  6. OshinoKaitoro
    Dec 2, 2008
    0
    I cannot shallow this sh*t.
  7. AnthonyAmato
    Dec 4, 2008
    0
    very happy that there is a option to give a zero for an album. if there was ever an album made that was a disgrace to hip hop and deserved a zero, this is one. what a waste of time. when you are not that good of a rapper and you put something like this out, your career should be in big trouble. i hope he stops polluting our airwaves soon with this garbage
  8. Undergroundmystery
    Aug 25, 2009
    0
    Heartless, is a maybe upgrade to 1 until i heard it more than twice. Kanye was good until he got his hands on some money and now he wants some more and more and it becomes about money not the music, like it was when he first started sad to see one of my favorite emcees drop down this low.
  9. jaffarraza
    Nov 28, 2008
    1
    this sucked. i shit on kanye for making a pop album after the success he's attained in hiphop
  10. MichaelPhilip
    Dec 15, 2008
    0
    shocking shocking album, that auto-tune is seriously annoying
  11. VinhPham
    Dec 2, 2008
    0
    Why on earth can a singer create this type of art?
  12. drunkestepdaddad
    Dec 3, 2008
    0
    kw sucks.
  13. CamelDubois
    Nov 25, 2008
    3
    Not good, very bad.
  14. AnonymousMC
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    sit down and shut it kanye, this blows !
  15. alex
    Nov 28, 2008
    2
    Kayne sold out..this auto tune nonsense is getting out of hand
  16. JustinD
    Nov 28, 2008
    1
    This is the first big failure Kanye West has ever had. Auto tune is ruining rap, and slowly taking the best artists with it.
  17. GrantThornhill
    Nov 29, 2008
    0
    Kanye West is a genius; therefore, he feels the need to try new things. However, Kanye's abandonment of rap in favor of only using autotune and tribal drums is a regrettable choice that has yielded forgettable, if not unlistenable, songs. Kanye shouldn't worry too much though; Neil Yound and Bob Dylan also made some terrible albums during their experimental phases and they are Kanye West is a genius; therefore, he feels the need to try new things. However, Kanye's abandonment of rap in favor of only using autotune and tribal drums is a regrettable choice that has yielded forgettable, if not unlistenable, songs. Kanye shouldn't worry too much though; Neil Yound and Bob Dylan also made some terrible albums during their experimental phases and they are still considered to be among the best musicians of all time. If Kanye wants to be remembered like Michael Jackson, he should focus on improving his raps rather than abandoning them to become a crappier version of TPAIN. Expand
  18. DerekReiff
    Nov 29, 2008
    2
    This slow stuff isn't his best
  19. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    0
    WHY KANYE! WHY! The biggest WTF record of his career and the auto-tune, don't get me started on the auto-tune. This is his worst and will probably be his worst LP of his career when he's all done. Not to mention his worst producing effort so far. All his greatest attributes go to waste. Sorry folks, just a poor effort from one of Hip-Hop's biggest talents.
  20. Sep 4, 2011
    2
    This is Kanye's weakest album. I found most of the songs intolerable, and the rest of it was simply boring. The only track I enjoyed was the single Love Lockdown, even if it has a similar vibe to the rest of the album.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Kanye West’s fourth album 808s and Heartbreak follows the crowd rather than leads it. Where he steps, the footprints of T-Pain are readily visible. His use of auto-tune throughout the album is heavy, and in songs like Heartless and Love Lockdown its use is appealing.
  2. The resounding verdict is that it’s a surprising, but bold and brave progression from last year’s confused "Graduation."
  3. It might seem harsh but let's hope he doesn't find too much happiness in the meantime. Loneliness is proving quite the muse.