808s & Heartbreak

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 434 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 434

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Perfect album, I feel like Kanye is going on a journey, that is relatable and compassionate, I feel like I am following in his footsteps through his albums, Street lights is basic, yet the way he sings with so much emotion, it makes it meaningful and important and seem so deep.
  2. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    although many people will disagree i thought that this album was amazing. every song had a great meaning i love every song except for the last one for obvious reasons but this album still deserves a 10. kanye has always been amazing and he has not disappointed with this album.
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Kanye West stares away from his traditional underground rap vibe to make a emotional, powerful album properly titles 8o8 and heartbreak's. A very enjoyable album that is definitely worth a few listens.
  4. Aug 10, 2011
    9
    Screw the haters. This album is epic. Sure, it's not "classic Kanye" but it doesn't matter. Kanye finds a way to make it flow through this synth-pop/auto-tune masterpiece. I love all of Kanye's work but this album stands out. 808s has a totally different feel to it but is still able to keep up with Kanye's existing legacy. I think that this album is the no. 1 or no. 2 Kanye albumScrew the haters. This album is epic. Sure, it's not "classic Kanye" but it doesn't matter. Kanye finds a way to make it flow through this synth-pop/auto-tune masterpiece. I love all of Kanye's work but this album stands out. 808s has a totally different feel to it but is still able to keep up with Kanye's existing legacy. I think that this album is the no. 1 or no. 2 Kanye album ever. The last thing that I love is that Kanye didn't try to repeat this style on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy and continued to make a great album in a different style.

    FAV TRACKS: Welcome to Heartbreak (feat. Kid Cudi), Love Lockdown, RoboCop, Amazing (feat. Young Jeezy)
    Expand
  5. SamSpear
    Nov 28, 2008
    8
    While this album doesn't offer the diversity and catchy hooks that Graduation graced our ears with, 808s offers a refreshing perspective on urban music. Many will criticize his heavy use of synthesized voice, but the critics forget that West's vocals are not the entree he brings to the table.
  6. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Kanye was ahead of his time when making this masterpiece. That's why most people can't understand it. It's the most emotional and honest work he's ever done. His challenge of using only 808s to make the beats was daring and he accomplished, but people don't give him credit. His attempts of trying to express his feelings through the vocal melody with the help of auto-tune were accomplished,Kanye was ahead of his time when making this masterpiece. That's why most people can't understand it. It's the most emotional and honest work he's ever done. His challenge of using only 808s to make the beats was daring and he accomplished, but people don't give him credit. His attempts of trying to express his feelings through the vocal melody with the help of auto-tune were accomplished, but people don't give him credit. The goal of creating beautiful instrumentation with memorable pianos and strings was accomplished, but... guess what? No one gives him credit. This should be the future of music. It's a shame most people just "don't get it". Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    "808s & HB" is what happened when a temporarily-depressed Hip-hop artist made a pop album... and it worked.

    Kanye uses auto-tune in an artistic way rather than an excuse for lack of talent. The auto-tune mixes well with the cold, electronic-influenced production and lyrics, which revolve around different types of heartbreak.
  8. RuneLanghoff
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    only second to college dropout which scores 11 in my book
  9. JeffRicottone
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    Heart breaking honesty and breath taking production. This album will never lose social relevance, while simultaneously putting a chink in the armor of the song wrighter/performer model. Ok ok ok, I didn't laugh, but it did make me cry.
  10. FeipeLima
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Fantastic Album!!
  11. wishmasterownsmysoul
    Feb 15, 2009
    7
    To really prove ur worth as a musician (or an artist in general) you need to break out of your comfort zone. His comfort zone is being an awesome rapper. In this album he is singing thourhg 95% of the songs and the auto-tune in spite of being overused to some extent is definitely catchy. "heartless" & "love lockdown" are the highlights. It is an experiment that has worked well, kind of To really prove ur worth as a musician (or an artist in general) you need to break out of your comfort zone. His comfort zone is being an awesome rapper. In this album he is singing thourhg 95% of the songs and the auto-tune in spite of being overused to some extent is definitely catchy. "heartless" & "love lockdown" are the highlights. It is an experiment that has worked well, kind of reminds me of Outkast's speakerboxx/the love below. A break away from convention that is inspiring. Expand
  12. GB
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    Absolutely listen to it several times. I promise if you like your music real and not paint-by numbers this one will sneak up on you. I have to put it as one of the best albums this year. I will be listening to this one for years.
  13. TravisB
    Aug 4, 2009
    9
    It's not the West we're used to but it's still a very good disc. It always pleases me when artists are able to step out from the same cutout and explore their art. Kanye has produced a great album here, regardless of his previous work and what you guys think he should sound like.
  14. KevinWormley
    Nov 26, 2008
    9
    A brilliant album that is a refreshing change from the norm. I (like many others I'm sure) don't always like the way Kanye acts in the public eye but the man is a genius and this daring album proves it. I found myself satisfied with my purchase after the first two songs and it just got better from there. Track 12 entitled "Pinocchio Story" is quite possibly the best song on the A brilliant album that is a refreshing change from the norm. I (like many others I'm sure) don't always like the way Kanye acts in the public eye but the man is a genius and this daring album proves it. I found myself satisfied with my purchase after the first two songs and it just got better from there. Track 12 entitled "Pinocchio Story" is quite possibly the best song on the album and its supposedly a freestyle he did at a live show in Singapore. Pick this album up if you want a new, refreshing sound that just keeps getting better with each track. Expand
  15. DeboA
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    Surprisingly Brilliant! 808s and Heartbreak find Mr. West doing more soul-searching than ever before, a reflective well sequenced and still has enough beats to be a 'Kanye' album! Not many hip hop/rap artistes would even think to do what he's done with this album and those who would dare to maybe would not have succeeded like he has! Well done, again Kanye!
  16. JJBersch
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    It's simple, what he needed to do, and beautiful. I can't ask for much more from my favorite artist, can I? We finally get to see Kanye more personally.
  17. B.D.Ham
    Dec 7, 2008
    9
    Kanye West is back with his 4th studio album, "808s & Heartbreak". The album is much different compared to previous releases, as West releases an album full of pop beats and the Auto Tune effect. However, if the people giving bad reviews would realize what has happened in his life as of late, they'll see why the album had to be made. His personal life has been a train wreck, and he Kanye West is back with his 4th studio album, "808s & Heartbreak". The album is much different compared to previous releases, as West releases an album full of pop beats and the Auto Tune effect. However, if the people giving bad reviews would realize what has happened in his life as of late, they'll see why the album had to be made. His personal life has been a train wreck, and he pours his heart and soul into the album. 1. Say You Will - One of my personal favorites on the album, West has the PERFECT intro for the album, I really couldn't imagine it being anything else. He creates a dark mood with the track that is perfect to start the CD. Many people have complained about half the song being just instrumental, but it really is a brilliant beat, so it is not a huge deal. 4/5 2. Welcome to Heartbreak - Powerful song, where Kanye implies that he wishes to be a father ("My friend show me pictures of his kids/And all I can show him is pictures of my cribs/"). Another clever beat, and an excellent chorus by Kid Cudi is just icing on the cake. 4/5 3. Heartless - The 2nd single, and an excellent choice. West's lyrics are directed toward his ex-fiance, Alexis Phifer. The beat is very addicting, especially the piano. Another very good chorus makes it one of the best songs on the album. 4.5/5 4. Amazing - Another excellent beat produced by West. Young Jeezy's voice was an excellent contrast to Kanye's robotic Auto Tune voice. Although the chorus can get repetitive, the track is enjoyable. 4/5 5. Love Lockdown - The somewhat controversial choice for 1st single. When the song was released, it was clear this album would be much different than previous Kanye albums, and it got a mixed response. I, personally, did not like the song when it was released, but it grew on me slightly, as it did for others. It is actually on the weaker half of the album, although the drums on the chorus may be the best instrument used on the CD. The lyrics aren't anything special and the outro is a bit long. But overall, it is a decent track. 3.5/5 6. Paranoid - A strange, 80's vibe to the track, and is a sharp contrast from the "heartbreak" concept of the album. The chorus is decent, but not great. West raps more than sings on the track, which is another interesting change. I don't think the track should have happened, not that it is horrible, but it doesn't fit at all with the purpose of the album. 3/5 7. RoboCop - Like Paranoid, the beat is very upbeat, something that hadn't been seen on the first 5 tracks; regardless, it is a very good production. The song is about a girl who tries to find out everything Kanye is doing ("I told her there's some things she don't need to know/ She never let it go"). Like Paranoid, it doesn't seem to fit in with the album, but the concept of the track and the epic chorus are enough to help it pass. 3.5/5 8. Street Lights - Back to heartbreak with this track, and it couldn't come back with a better track. The beat is simple, yet quite enjoyable. West's lyrics are excellent, discussing how moments of life are like street lights passing by. His vocal performance is also one of the best on the album, and it goes perfectly with the beat. What keeps this song from being a REALLY great one, in my mind, is the annoying static in the background of West's voice, which was also present in the last chorus in Love Lockdown. It doesn't mix well with the track. 4/5 9. Bad News - West has stated that this is his favorite track on the album, but it does not work for me. The voice effects are WAY overused on the track, and Kanye's vocals are irritable with them turned on. The beat is decent at best, and although the lyrics are well written and have meaning, it is 1 positive among several negatives. 2.5/5 10. See You In My Nightmares - Possible 3rd single? (It's been rising up on the iTunes Chart) The beat is very good and the screams of "That you know!" are awesome. Wayne's chorus is put together well and his verse has some great lines ("You think yo sh*t don't stank but you are Mrs. PU"). Overall, a very good track, and I wouldn't be surprised if this was the 3rd single. 4/5 11. Coldest Winter - This song is dedicated to Kanye's mother, Donda West, who passed away last year due to surgery complications. The beat and chorus are both excellent, and the emotion on the track is present on this track more strongly than any of the others, which makes it a truly wonderful piece of music. Definite highlight. 4.5/5 12. Pinocchio Story - A live freestyle by West, which is really like an extension to the CD, but in my mind the album wouldn't be complete without it. West tells a wonderful tale of how he wishes he wasn't the famous person he is and how he wishes to be a "real boy", or a normal, everyday person, and compares how he feels to Pinocchio. The lyrics are extremely clever, definetly the best on the album. The song really brings millions of thoughts into your mind, and while not the easiest track to really listen to (no real beat, 6 minutes long), when you are in the mood to hear it, there's nothing like it. And as ironic as it sounds, the best song on the album isn't even an official track. 5/5 Overall, 808s & Heartbreak may not be as good as Kanye's rap albums (and his upcoming 2009 CD will be a return to hip hop, believe me), but it is easily the most original, the most unique, and the most thought-provoking album of the year. From the emotional moodiness of Say You Will, to the Alexis Phifer references in Heartless, to the incredible vocals of Street Lights, and all the way to the unforgettable Pinocchio Story (without that song, the album would have received 8 stars), Kanye West reaches a new height never before discovered in music, and although we will probably never see another album of this subject, we can at least enjoy this for what it is, a masterpiece from the most amazing musician in the world today. Expand
  18. JasonL.
    Nov 27, 2008
    9
    Great album. Even though I'm not always fond of his "me, me, me" attitude, I have to give credit where it is due. This album is a good hard shove in an artistic direction. I love all music but always had a special place for hiphop. This is the direction I would like to see hiphop head in. Not necessarily the synthesized sound, which I do like, but more the artistic nature. Don't Great album. Even though I'm not always fond of his "me, me, me" attitude, I have to give credit where it is due. This album is a good hard shove in an artistic direction. I love all music but always had a special place for hiphop. This is the direction I would like to see hiphop head in. Not necessarily the synthesized sound, which I do like, but more the artistic nature. Don't get me wrong, it's still not quite where I want hiphop to be, but Kanye is opening up a little more than usual on this album, and I'm appreciating it. My favorite track...so far... is no. 2, "Welcome to Heartbreak"! Expand
  19. SteveHeredia
    Nov 27, 2008
    8
    i wasn't sure what to expect from this album after hearing the first single, love lockdown. a definite departure from his previous work. a bold and risky move. i doubt any rapper would or could do something like this, and actually pull it off. it's clear kanye wears his heart on his sleeve and apparently, his music. while i'm sure this album was therapeutic for him and one i wasn't sure what to expect from this album after hearing the first single, love lockdown. a definite departure from his previous work. a bold and risky move. i doubt any rapper would or could do something like this, and actually pull it off. it's clear kanye wears his heart on his sleeve and apparently, his music. while i'm sure this album was therapeutic for him and one he personally needed to make, he managed to make a great album none the less... Expand
  20. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    808's & Heartbreaks is one of the biggest stylistic changes I've ever heard an artist do. Three incredibly ambitious hip hop albums, then a soulful heartbreak record that pushes every one of my pleasure buttons. The way Kanye auto-tune's his voice go perfectly with the tribal drums thudding right behind him. It's a bold move and Ye pulls it off perfectly. His lyrics are his most heartfelt808's & Heartbreaks is one of the biggest stylistic changes I've ever heard an artist do. Three incredibly ambitious hip hop albums, then a soulful heartbreak record that pushes every one of my pleasure buttons. The way Kanye auto-tune's his voice go perfectly with the tribal drums thudding right behind him. It's a bold move and Ye pulls it off perfectly. His lyrics are his most heartfelt he's ever done, ranging from the main topic: Heartbreak, to hypocrisy to consumerism and to feeling as if this fame and fortune has consumed his day to day life and how he just wants to live a normal average American life. It's his soul under his swagger that proves he is more than capable than just great beats and witty flows.

    808's & Heartbreaks is a record that will age greatly and solidify Kanye as one of America's best hip hop artists. A-
    Expand
  21. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    KanYe's 4th studio album takes us in a different direction to his previous work, and it is fantastic. This is why Kanye is top of the game, each album has a different style, each experimenting with new ideas. It keeps him fresh and varied in his style. Some great songs on this album.
  22. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    I've been listening to this album for two years now and i still love it. The sound is unfamiliar and cold compared to Kanye's earlier work and through his auto-tune adjusted vocals he manages to paint raw emotion in thick layers. The production is incredibly on point. This is the album i put on to feed my inner emo on cold winter nights.
  23. May 13, 2011
    8
    Kanye is doing what only a few rappers are trying with this album and that's making an "album". Here is a consistent sound and thematic tone that is somewhat engaging and brave. I love that he uses autotune and creates a world of isolation and still lets emoton leak through. I also love that he's letting the songs breathe too.
  24. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    808s is a musical risk and a musical masterpiece. it's ahead of it's time and I feel it's greatness will be recognized as time passes. Kanye encapsulates his sorrow into one of the most somber records I've ever heard. I feel it has more relevance to post-punk and goth than it does to hip hop. Auto-tune was used to give Kanye a dead emotionless tone to his voice as if he was trying to808s is a musical risk and a musical masterpiece. it's ahead of it's time and I feel it's greatness will be recognized as time passes. Kanye encapsulates his sorrow into one of the most somber records I've ever heard. I feel it has more relevance to post-punk and goth than it does to hip hop. Auto-tune was used to give Kanye a dead emotionless tone to his voice as if he was trying to revive Ian Curtis from Joy Division and the "drum" sound on "Welcome to Heartbreak" and "Coldest Winter" are reminiscent of early Cure records. While sounding emotionless he still manages to make you feel his pain throughout the record. I can't see how people were disappointed or let down because this goes beyond hip-hop and genres. Its a mans musical exploration and it definitely paid off. Expand
  25. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    I feel like this is one of Kanye's strongest albums and in it he really lets you know what his life is going through or what position he was in at the time but not only that, i felt like i got to know him or understand him more by listening to those powerful songs. I actually think he should do another vocal album and strengthen his self in that area.
  26. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    one of kanyes strongest performances, although weaker than graduation this is still a great listen. there are dark and depressing vibes throughout this album but still doesnt ruin it for me.
  27. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    Initial skeptics would be wise to listen to the album in its entirety because its minimalist and stark compositions actually work better on the album than in the majority of the singles from this album. 'Paranoid' remains Kanye's best pop single by far, while 'Coldest Winter' and 'Robocop' provide further evidence of the electronic genius bubbling under what has become an unfairly maligned album.
  28. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Its simple science. He was clear with the title of what the mood was. He created multiple ways of making us feel what the theme was. Regardless if you enjoy Kanye or not, its hard to dispute that.
  29. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    Terrific album, unlike any other of Kanyes releases. The album is unique in that it's beats are much more 'electronic' and 'depressive', yet oh so catchy.
    As usual, Kanyes emotions and feelings are portrayed in song, and it was during a difficult time that the album was made, so it's simple to understand it's depressive stance. Really good album.
  30. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    808s and Heartbreak is the Kid A of hip-hop. Fans didn't expect this coming. Maybe nobody did. But its sparse beats and minimalist production have a stunning effect. Nobody has used Autotune this well; maybe nobody ever will. This album is packed with emotion, honesty ("Welcome to Heartbreak", "Bad News") and idiosyncratic styles ("Street Lights"), but is balanced with more mainstream808s and Heartbreak is the Kid A of hip-hop. Fans didn't expect this coming. Maybe nobody did. But its sparse beats and minimalist production have a stunning effect. Nobody has used Autotune this well; maybe nobody ever will. This album is packed with emotion, honesty ("Welcome to Heartbreak", "Bad News") and idiosyncratic styles ("Street Lights"), but is balanced with more mainstream appeal ("Heartless", "Love Lockdown"). This album has paved the way for more emotional rappers like Drake. It's an underrated classic. Expand
  31. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    You can hear the pain and sorrow that Kanye was experiencing as you listen to the album. 808s & Heartbreak is heavily underrated, as it is probably the greatest Auto-Tuned album of all time. It felt impossible for this album to be as good as it ended up being. This may be widely considered Kanye's worst studio album, but it's still pretty damn good.
  32. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Kanye's most underrated album. Period. Yeezus might possibly challenge it in years to come but right now, this is it. The songwriting, sample choices and subject matter are on point for me. I know that this album gets a lot of hate, but it's for the wrong reasons. I think that people hate it not because it was a bad album, but because it was a lane change and the fact that it wasKanye's most underrated album. Period. Yeezus might possibly challenge it in years to come but right now, this is it. The songwriting, sample choices and subject matter are on point for me. I know that this album gets a lot of hate, but it's for the wrong reasons. I think that people hate it not because it was a bad album, but because it was a lane change and the fact that it was inconsistent with his previous 3 efforts and the beast of an album that followed. But that does not take away from the brilliance of it. However, that's a small portion of why this album deserves a 10.

    This album has had such a profound effect on Hip-Hop and R'n'B, it's unreal. It's because of 808s that rappers have become more emotional with their lyrics. Some artists this album influenced includes but is not restricted to:
    Frank Ocean
    The Weeknd
    B.o.B
    Kid Cudi
    DRAKE. BIG TIME. So Far Gone and Take Care are oozing with 808s influence!
    Another small portion of why this album deserves a 10.

    The biggest reason this album ranks so high for me is because it's a huge turning point in Kanye's career. He made an album as to how he FELT at the time and alienated a large portion of his audience in a potential career killing move and made it out alive. Not many artists can not only come back after such an experiment, but produce such a magnificent Opus in it's wake.

    This album will get the praise and recognition it truly deserves in due time.
    Expand
  33. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    A challenging, icy-cold, yet radio-friendly album, 808s & Heartbreak features some of West's most personal, most experimental, and most brilliant work to date.
  34. Aoi
    Oct 12, 2013
    9
    I love this thing. The autotune with the 808s works very well and it's so melodic and it just works and just wow kanye well done. Poor lyrics but when listening to this thing don't treat it as a rap album. The singing is a part of the beat.
  35. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    Kanye took a different approach with 808's and it was a huge success. I love the fact that Kanye can put out an album where he does little to no rapping and make it a great record. This may not be his best album, but the unique direction he took with this album was a successful one
  36. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    This album is not really rap anymore, but Kanye West is at his best. He's like a lonely prince, with a spleen glorified by Auto tune, which gives poignant tones to his voice. 808s and heartbreak is really mind-blowing, displaying Kanye's vulnerability and blues, as futuristic as primitive. The guests are awesome, like Young Jeezy on "Amazing", simply amazing.
  37. May 24, 2014
    9
    Amazing album, even better than Yeezus. West's training following a beautiful dark twisted fantasy. Vocoder ans Autotune are used very well and Kanye show the world he could sing: Chapeau.
  38. Aug 14, 2010
    7
    A surprisingly alright album from one who is known to do better.

    After the loss of his mother and the breakup with his girlfriend, Kanye was living in the doldrums for a while. And this album is the result of his sad soul poured on to a 12-track compact disc. Critics didn't expect much except failure for 808s. The idea of a good rapper doing a whole album in Auto-Tune seems pretty hard
    A surprisingly alright album from one who is known to do better.

    After the loss of his mother and the breakup with his girlfriend, Kanye was living in the doldrums for a while. And this album is the result of his sad soul poured on to a 12-track compact disc.

    Critics didn't expect much except failure for 808s. The idea of a good rapper doing a whole album in Auto-Tune seems pretty hard to swallow. But the day Love Lockdown premiered, I knew that the track was different yet beautiful and that the album would not be as bad as it was predicted to be. The bass like beat and Kanye's poignant lyrics and vocals really put me in a trance. A few months later when Heartless came out, I felt more than ready for the album.

    It isn't that bad. Ye gives pain at its most futuristic and most painful. He is a heartbroken robot searching for love while also lamenting it. His emotions are so real even if they are transmitted from this weird box. It only emphasizes his dark situation. He tries to comfort himself saying he feels great and unafraid but we all know the room of despair he keeps within.

    But the album is repetitive not just in content but also in production. Beats feel overused and at times boring. And guest spots don't really help much save for Kid Cudi's chorus on Welcome To Heartbreak. Otherwise, Young Jeezy and Lil Wayne don't seem like right choices for a melancholic album like this (really, a slow and overrated rapper and a high-pitched Weezy who wants to be a singer).

    But Ye still shines on an otherwise decent album. It definitely isn't the statement of his career but it is a good look at the egoistic Louis Vuitton Don's heart.
    Expand
  39. Apr 4, 2011
    8
    Whether you like the autotune or not, you gotta hand it Kanye for at least not trying to make music that sells. This was a brave record to make and I give him props for that. He is by far one of the greatest artist of the past 10 years and yes this CD have been better, but its still good. He tried something else, good for him.
  40. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    Kanye West is a talented rapper, and there is not many of those out there. This time he is going a more pop route and instead of rap-offs he does more serious and meaningful things in his cd. and I respect that.
    B
  41. Preston
    Nov 29, 2008
    8
    Wow, I feel like a lot of reviewers just don't get this album. Or they are unable to separate the product from its creator. I like it a lot. Simple in both its theory and execution, it is as easy to enjoy as it must have been for Kanye West to create. Comparable to Thom Yorke's the Eraser but for pop audiences.
  42. NamahotoRidajo
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    Without a doubt one of the best albums of the year, up there with In Rainbows
  43. JimFraederichs
    Nov 30, 2008
    7
    Different. Not really rap. Kanye listens to too much Daft Punk. Personally, I'm intrigued by this album, musically, I'm kinda bored with it. It's basically a Hip-hop/emo album.
  44. AjayD
    Jan 14, 2009
    7
    I am disappointed with kanye this time! There are some standout tracks like heartless, amazing, see you in my nightmares, robocop! over produced and lacks emotions.
  45. VincentMeeko
    Nov 29, 2008
    8
    Kanye never really had the best rap flow in my opinion, he was always doing his own thing vocal-wise. I'm not too surprised that he went the electro-pop route, and am just happy that he exceeded expectations with this album. The two awesome singles so far are on the weaker side of the album... Welcome to Heartbreak, Paranoid, Robo Cop (which is light years better than the leaked Kanye never really had the best rap flow in my opinion, he was always doing his own thing vocal-wise. I'm not too surprised that he went the electro-pop route, and am just happy that he exceeded expectations with this album. The two awesome singles so far are on the weaker side of the album... Welcome to Heartbreak, Paranoid, Robo Cop (which is light years better than the leaked unmastered version) and See You In My Nightmares (I lol'd a bit when Lil Wayne broke it down, he's boss though) were the highlights for me. Expand
  46. ChristianPowers
    Nov 30, 2008
    9
    Great album in concept and in execution. Proves West is truly an artist.
  47. sergiodevcic
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    this is future, this cd will change the music as the form we have been used to. i'm not surprised it was done by Kanye, the man simply has outgrown the rap...ps-i bet he listened to Burial while making Bad News :-) go, Kanye, go!
  48. ipsed.
    Aug 25, 2009
    7
    Kanye is a exceptional at metaphors. A successful genre move!
  49. Armen
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    An amazing album. There is emotional depth and artistic growth here. Indeed an excellent record.
  50. FoenixirFeng
    Nov 26, 2008
    9
    it's hard to say "love this album", but still i can't ignore the accomplishment Kanye made in it, i gave it 9, and it ranks 3rd among my Kanye collections, only behind the college dropout and late registration.
  51. BlakeJackson
    Nov 26, 2008
    9
    This album is a melancholic masterpiece. Why do people keep comparing it to T-Pain? It's not all about the Antares auto-tune, folks.
  52. MelesaWangerin
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    Loved it because it's so different then what everyone else is doing, especially in hip-hop. Brilliant. Although, the lyrics lacked in some areas. The music and he's singing made up for it. Great job Kanye!
  53. samanthab
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    he is awesome no matter what
  54. danielm
    Apr 12, 2009
    8
    Truly fantastic.. not the kanye everyone is used to, but the way the album flows from track 1 to his bonuses, its amazing, so amazing. Truly inspirational. Fishsticks.
  55. PeterF
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    Best "hip-hop" album of the century. I don´t know if it is because of my feelings when I heard this, or just because it is really good. But one thing - Welcome To Heartbreak is genial track.. Love or hate Kanye, love or hate 808s, but I love them both.
  56. Greg
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Much better than I'd anticipated, the unique style lends itself perfectly to the material. Lyrics are not that strong but they get the message across and can be endearing yet annoying at the same time. Hip Hop's (Ryan Adams') Heartbreaker?
  57. titusdemyers
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    MASTERPIECE
  58. GerardoSánchez
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    just perfect
  59. AndrewG
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    Underrated as far as I'm concerned. 'Street Lights' is a real standout, but I am particularly feeling some of the weirder tracks: 'Paranoid', 'See You in My Nightmares' f/ Lil Wayne, 'Robocop' (which has a Christmas-music-like feel to it on the album, unlike the leaked track). Certainly a radical departure though, and may not appeal to fans of Underrated as far as I'm concerned. 'Street Lights' is a real standout, but I am particularly feeling some of the weirder tracks: 'Paranoid', 'See You in My Nightmares' f/ Lil Wayne, 'Robocop' (which has a Christmas-music-like feel to it on the album, unlike the leaked track). Certainly a radical departure though, and may not appeal to fans of his trademarked chipmunk soul. Expand
  60. nataliedonald
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    Listen to it 3 times over. Just sit down, close your eyes, and listen. I guarantee you will get over all the misconceptions about this album. Sure, he over uses the voice audacity machine. But this is an amazing album, truly heartfelt.
  61. timothykelly
    Dec 29, 2008
    9
    The songs really provide a glimpse into Kanye's feelings. My only problem is that the songs are repetitive. If he had mixed the Autotune'd singing with his old style of rapping, this album truly would have been a masterwork.
  62. jk
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    All honesty and grit. Somebody tell Scott Plagenhoef and the copycats over on stereogum to shut it up.
  63. robh
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece far above the intellect and musicianship of the average hip hop fan who will still believe that late registration is his masterpiece.
  64. eliasarias
    Nov 25, 2008
    7
    for any one who ever had their heartbroken, you can relate to the confusion of what hes expressing.
  65. DAVIDCarrillo
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    He took a gamble with this album and hit the jack pot.
  66. Ryan
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Kanye steps outside of his comfort zone and actually sings with the aid of Auto-Tune. Kanye addresses all of his problems that he has been faced with in the past year. Breaking up with his girlfriend and the death of his mother are central points of his album. Kanye even gives a tribute to his mother on Coldest Winter. All in all Kanye's experimental album actually works very well Kanye steps outside of his comfort zone and actually sings with the aid of Auto-Tune. Kanye addresses all of his problems that he has been faced with in the past year. Breaking up with his girlfriend and the death of his mother are central points of his album. Kanye even gives a tribute to his mother on Coldest Winter. All in all Kanye's experimental album actually works very well and those that were disappointed with this album should not dispair because next Kanye is releasing an album which he raps on. Expand
  67. ww@ww.ww
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    w
  68. EvK
    Nov 26, 2008
    9
    Best album he has yet made.
  69. SeanSmith
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    With his 4th album Kanye manages to deliver a piece of music that will be able to stand the test of time. Kanye perfectly captures the feeling of "Heartbreak". The cold emptiness that is inside of everyone when a person that you love leaves you. Through the use of 808 drums in combination with auto-tune and distortion effects he creates exactly this atmosphere. The album is perfect from With his 4th album Kanye manages to deliver a piece of music that will be able to stand the test of time. Kanye perfectly captures the feeling of "Heartbreak". The cold emptiness that is inside of everyone when a person that you love leaves you. Through the use of 808 drums in combination with auto-tune and distortion effects he creates exactly this atmosphere. The album is perfect from beginning to end. It just sucks you in and doesn't let you out until it's over. This is Kanye's Thriller, Joshua Tree or Nevermind. He's now in one league with the greatest artists in the world. Maybe he's even one step ahead of them. Expand
  70. JosephA
    Nov 28, 2008
    8
    I think it sounds great, to me very much one of the most interesting and bold releases of 2008; very original & unique. I like it a lot.
  71. JoeyJohnson
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    This is depper than most people believe. Give it time and it will grow on you.
  72. danielw
    Dec 11, 2008
    10
    Album of the year, IMHO. In time, this will come to be seen as hip hop's Sargent Pepper, an album that extends the range of an entire musical idiom. This is a hip hop album, to be sure, but one that seems to have breathed in elements of myriad other musical styles and integrated them into its DNA. I can't stop listening to it.
  73. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    Whether he meant it or not, Kanye transitions from rap to a more pop like setting. To me this was pretty cool but for others this transition might feel sloppy and boring. Whatever the case, Kanye still provides meaning and brilliant imaginative lyrics to this different type of album.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Kanye West’s fourth album 808s and Heartbreak follows the crowd rather than leads it. Where he steps, the footprints of T-Pain are readily visible. His use of auto-tune throughout the album is heavy, and in songs like Heartless and Love Lockdown its use is appealing.
  2. The resounding verdict is that it’s a surprising, but bold and brave progression from last year’s confused "Graduation."
  3. It might seem harsh but let's hope he doesn't find too much happiness in the meantime. Loneliness is proving quite the muse.