User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2014
    8
    Not as impressive as his debut but still a generally strong record. The haunting "9 Crimes" is a fantastic opener but after that the highlights are sandwiched between some material that coasts along. I've always thought there was plenty of very strong Damien Rice material knocking about that should have been included on the album ahead of what ended up on 9. Lisa Hannigan, whose vocalsNot as impressive as his debut but still a generally strong record. The haunting "9 Crimes" is a fantastic opener but after that the highlights are sandwiched between some material that coasts along. I've always thought there was plenty of very strong Damien Rice material knocking about that should have been included on the album ahead of what ended up on 9. Lisa Hannigan, whose vocals lifted "O" to another level is absent for most of the record and this takes away from "9". Despite these flaws there are some great moments here, such is the strength of Rice's songwriting, the only pity is that we know it could have been so much more. Collapse
  2. CarlyH.
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    Pitchfork, i read your review, it was RETARDED. You have no REAL reasons behind hating this album. I hate you, pitchfork.
  3. AdamP.
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    I heard of good music but this is a diffrent level. It arouses more feeling than poetry but tells the story better. Says it as it Is. Elephants was sensional
  4. davidm
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    A quiet distrubing and challenging record. The album is sometimes too extreme for the general listener, but it's a gold mine of emotion when you're ready for it.
  5. TerrellW
    Sep 10, 2007
    9
    This is one of my favorite albums. Don't listen to stupid pitchfork damien is a great song writer and i truly love this album. Coconut skins and Me, My Yoke and I are incredible tracks. 1.9 ha!
  6. Carly
    May 19, 2007
    10
    amazingly beautiful. not as good as O but just about there.
  7. PatrickC
    Feb 18, 2007
    5
    I am a Damien Rice fan, but this is a mentally draining album that I couldn't listen to twice in one week. Disappointing
  8. KeiithG
    Feb 4, 2007
    7
    I truly wanted to love this, but couldn't bring myself to get past the album's many shortcomings.
  9. MarcusB
    Jan 31, 2007
    8
    Good solid Album.
  10. JohnR
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    unreal!
  11. LukeC
    Dec 9, 2006
    9
    Damien Rice confuses. The first sound of his songs suggest an easy listening experience. His songs are not. They are intimate. They are awkwardly honest. They do not restrict themselves to a skewed portrayal of unbalanced beauty. There is awkwardness in the fact that you can identify with not only the beauty, but also every emotion you are not proud of. If you allow yourself to overcome Damien Rice confuses. The first sound of his songs suggest an easy listening experience. His songs are not. They are intimate. They are awkwardly honest. They do not restrict themselves to a skewed portrayal of unbalanced beauty. There is awkwardness in the fact that you can identify with not only the beauty, but also every emotion you are not proud of. If you allow yourself to overcome this, listening to this album can work cathartic. Expand
  12. shims
    Dec 4, 2006
    7
    There is no way to judge "too hard" on anything. If you don't judge hard, you're not judging how you should. Quit screaming at the Simon Cowells for doing their job. 9 isn't as melodic or refined as O and it's hard to keep from comparing them. My favorite track is 9 crimes. While this album is more interesting than O, the songs to do not carry or transcend nearly as There is no way to judge "too hard" on anything. If you don't judge hard, you're not judging how you should. Quit screaming at the Simon Cowells for doing their job. 9 isn't as melodic or refined as O and it's hard to keep from comparing them. My favorite track is 9 crimes. While this album is more interesting than O, the songs to do not carry or transcend nearly as much; there is no connection. There is, however, raw rambles and wordy phrases sweeped by dominant instrumentals. Being genuine and pure is good, but genuine, pure and decipherable is best. O did us the favor of translating his emotions into poignant, articulated English and the music danced around the wrods. 9 simply put it out there. Expand
  13. DeboA
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    This "9" deserves a 10! PItchfork and the other negative critics (while entitled to their opinions) have come down way too hard on the Irishman. It not only is more accessible but surpasses the greatness of "O".
  14. MichaelS
    Nov 18, 2006
    6
    Too melodromatic and overproduced to be any good. He apprently wasn't able to come up with any great bedroom guitar tunes over the past four years that rival blower's daughter, cannonball, older chests, etc. so he came to the studio with the bare bones of songs and relied on orchestration and layering to make them sound epic. embarassing.
  15. danielles.
    Nov 14, 2006
    8
    Not as good as 'O' but there are still many great tracks in this album ....still possesses the raw and haunting aura that we love ...my favorite track is 'Dogs'
  16. yorick
    Nov 14, 2006
    9
    very great album, daringly original... Nobody expected more of he same, i certainly didn't expect anything better... the songs have even become more personal, some of the lyrics cut like a laser through steel.. O was a more polished beauty, this at times is jeff buckley raw... so plain painful that one feels we have to worry about Mr Rice's well being. It is however also hopeful very great album, daringly original... Nobody expected more of he same, i certainly didn't expect anything better... the songs have even become more personal, some of the lyrics cut like a laser through steel.. O was a more polished beauty, this at times is jeff buckley raw... so plain painful that one feels we have to worry about Mr Rice's well being. It is however also hopeful and down to earth. We couldn't have wished for more for that dreaded second album. Expand
  17. AhmedS
    Nov 14, 2006
    9
    This album is just great. It has chilling and powerful lyrics with the opening track "9 crimes". Haven't heard some of the latter tracks, but the upper half is just amazing. Well worth getting...i mean if you liked the 1st, most likely the 2nd album will do you real good.
  18. TomN
    Nov 14, 2006
    7
    This album is not nearly as strong as "O". It feels like a lazy rehash of his prior work. I wanted to see a little more refinement in this album and instead I feel we got a messy allover the place album. That said Damien Rice is still one hell of a singer and performer and his voice carries most of the songs.
  19. StephenC
    Nov 14, 2006
    9
    "Anticipation has a habit to set you up. For dissapointment..." but i wasn't dissapointed by Rice's second album. Just like his debut he soars with passion and integrity (unlike a lot of solos today). He hasn't surpassed songs like 'Ami' but the album is still a pleasure to the eardrum.
  20. DougR.
    Nov 13, 2006
    9
    The greatest singer/songwriter of the last 3 decades, in my opinion, is back. Although this album didn't turn out to be the angry rock album he initially intended ("Rootless Tree" and "MMYI" notwithstanding) it's even more musically diverse and largely different in feel from "o" in that the prominence of guitar to piano has reversed. The similarity several critics are hearing The greatest singer/songwriter of the last 3 decades, in my opinion, is back. Although this album didn't turn out to be the angry rock album he initially intended ("Rootless Tree" and "MMYI" notwithstanding) it's even more musically diverse and largely different in feel from "o" in that the prominence of guitar to piano has reversed. The similarity several critics are hearing probably stems from 2 songs which are intentional continuations: "Elephant" (previously titled "Blower's Daughter pt.2" and "Sleep, Don't Weep" (the coda of "Cold Water"). Not as instantly engrossing as his debut, this record will nevertheless leave just as lasting an impression of his depth and genius after just a few spins. Expand
  21. MattD.
    Nov 13, 2006
    3
    Will likely turn off some of his old fans, and not get him any new ones. Here, he not only has ho-hum playing, but a few songs have a bad tortured man routine.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Not quite as endearing as his raw and seductive 2002 debut.
  2. "9" picks up where the ubiquitous and two-million selling "O" left off. Hoarse howling to acoustic guitar strumming; folksy plucking to bleeding heart mutterings; Radiohead-a-like moments pull of portentous, look-at-me pauses and full band crescendos.
  3. Rice stands apart from the pack because of the genuine beauty and eccentricity of his tunes.