A Bigger Bang

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Sep 6, 2005
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 73
  2. Negative: 9 out of 73

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChuckS
    Sep 23, 2006
    4
    Not much to say about this.........lots of songs but .the lyrics are juvenile without much imagination. The drums and guitars let you know right off its the Stones, however.
  2. steveM
    Sep 8, 2005
    4
    About four tracks show real effort (and kudos on "Sweet Neo Con", easily the best song on the CD). The remaining 12 tracks are anonymous knockoffs sprinkled with lyrics that make Spinal Tap jealous ("the phone kept ringing as we made sweet love"??). Did I really expect more? Foolishly, I did.
  3. BrianK
    Sep 9, 2005
    6
    This sounds more like Tattoo You, Black and Blue and Voodoo Lounge than it does Some Girls. What makes this hard to listen to is the variety of Stones genres on this album. Some blues, some ballads, some punkish-rock, some reggae-influenced pop. That's why it reminds me most of Tattoo You. There are some good rockin' tracks but it gets watered down with some of Jagger's This sounds more like Tattoo You, Black and Blue and Voodoo Lounge than it does Some Girls. What makes this hard to listen to is the variety of Stones genres on this album. Some blues, some ballads, some punkish-rock, some reggae-influenced pop. That's why it reminds me most of Tattoo You. There are some good rockin' tracks but it gets watered down with some of Jagger's Alfie-like soundtrack songs. The best song by far is Keith's "This Place is Empty". Here' are the best songs on this CD in my opinion: Rough Justice (B+) - Sounds like a Some Girls leftover ala the Tattoo You, Emotional Rescue albums. Back of My Hand (A-) - Terrific blues guitar and almost sounds like something off Exile. This Place is Empty (A) - Sounds like a classic Steve Earle song. No doubt this song was 100% written by Keith and pays tribute to his late 60's all-American country influences such as Graham Parsons (again). Oh No Not You Again (B)- This sounds like the early 80's releases which were mostly leftovers from the mid and late 70's studio sessions. Expand
  4. BKracke
    Sep 9, 2005
    6
    Sounds more like Tattoo You and Black and Blue than it does Some Girls. Entertaining, great guitar licks as always but the lyrics are not up to the Stones best work. Also, too much variety in terms of song styles on this CD make it inconsistent and uneven.
  5. AtleticodeRafaela...
    Sep 9, 2005
    4
    Rolling Stones: this album was unnecesary.
  6. CosmoP
    Sep 27, 2005
    4
    Glad to see Rolling Stone magizine still likes to suck dick.
  7. PeterM
    Oct 5, 2005
    6
    A bit disappointing,. I'm in the minority - I preferred their last two albums. Poorly produce, but worth a listen if only for the tightest rhythm section in rock; Jones and Watts are terrific
  8. Rev.Rikard
    Oct 8, 2005
    4
    This album contains the lyric, 'I''ve been traveling, but I don't know where." The content of the album answers Jagger's dillema. The Stones haven't gone anywhere. There is nothing new about his album. It sounds like some old Stone sounds created to make a money-making tour possible. The only positive contribution this album makes to the Stones vast, mostly This album contains the lyric, 'I''ve been traveling, but I don't know where." The content of the album answers Jagger's dillema. The Stones haven't gone anywhere. There is nothing new about his album. It sounds like some old Stone sounds created to make a money-making tour possible. The only positive contribution this album makes to the Stones vast, mostly good, body of work is Jagger's new-found ability to articulate. You can almost understand his every word! In earlier days the Stones could rock you with raw senusality that arose from Richard's powerful, unique manner of playing rythm guitar, accompanied by Jagger's gutteral growl. The lyric didn't have to be understood. Now, in their sixties the lyrics have to matter! Consequently, we have acceptable lyrics and music that has lost it once obvious sexuality. Expand
  9. steveL
    Mar 23, 2006
    6
    I find it a mixed bag. They can still write the riffs but the lyrics are a bit weak. Time to lose Don Was as producer and find someone willing to give orders rather than take them.
  10. Aug 2, 2013
    4
    I dont like this album.I think this is the worst album that rolling stones have ever produced.But a few songs are really good like rough justice and for their age the album is good.So it seems to me this is a bad album but a really good effort for their age
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. A strong, engaging, cohesive Rolling Stones album that finds everybody in prime form.
  2. Some of their best work in nearly two decades.
  3. Billboard
    40
    16 songs of stalwart Stones riffs that almost compensate for generally embarrassing lyrics. [10 Sep 2005]